Fridley, MN 
Riverfront Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: playrecords Hole #9 (Taken 6/2019)
-- / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Solid urban park course

1    9/15/2019   9/16/2019
Review By: Bobafred78
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent signage. Well-groomed. Efficient layout and use of space available.
Cons: Only 13 holes...just play twice!
Other Thoughts: Really like this new (to me) course. Excellent design with two tee pads on most holes and multiple pin placements. Very good use of the space and fairways have many route choices. Park is kept up nicely and a glimpse of the river here and there doesn't hurt. "Island" hole is a great feature! Can't wait to play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Easy Flowing 13 Holes

2-4    9/10/2019   9/10/2019
Review By: DoubleHyzer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Easy to find and navigate
• Practice basket
• Two teepads per hole (blue/red)
• Three possible pin positions (big map by hole 1 tells you what position is current)
• Fair but tough lines
• Baskets have directions to the next tees in them
• Island hole (unique and fun for a 13-hole course)
• Good mix of distances and lines
• Very well maintained, nice paths
• Hard to lose a disc
Cons:
• Rubber tees could be concrete. I played the day after some rain and ate **** on one of the pads
• Only 13 holes. Not really a con but wish the quality extended to 18 holes but not much they could do
• Blue tees have a decent walk between some holes. Not bad at all but worth mentioning
Other Thoughts: A very nice and well maintained 13-hole course. Wish they could have put the same quality into an 18-hole course cause this course is great. None of the cons are that big of an issue. Very easy flowing and fair lines where you have a chance at every hole if you hit the right line. I will be coming back to work on my forehand (RHFH) lines as there are quite a few holes for them. Side note: this course could maybe be listed as moderately wooded?? I also update the blue tees to include all 3 pin positions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Riverside is a cool little 13 hole course.

1    8/18/2019   8/18/2019
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 59  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the plus side:

•Signage - there are detailed signs on each tee pad. Some even have specialized instruction, such as the island hole #12.

•Multiple tee pads - There is enough difference between the two shots to make it interesting. There is a clear difficulty difference between the two as well, blue hander than red.

•Related to signage, but there are color coded directional indicators to the next tee in the bottom of each basket. Great stuff.

•Dynamic Veteran baskets - nice and fat and catch a lot of discs. Never threw on them before, but like them a lot.

•Variety - threw almost all 18 discs in my bag. Even get a chance to go big on 13. However, there isn't much need for high speed drivers here. I love the island hole, #12.

•Tee pad brushes - mounted on a hook next to every tee pad. What a nice touch.

•Easy access off of the interstate. Trash and restroom available.

•Extremely clean and well-maintained.
Cons: Wouldn't necessarily call t a con - more midddling.

•Tee pads. They are nice and big, but I am not a fan of rubber. It rained hard the night before, and even after using the brush to remove the puddles, I still damn near broke my neck on one with a major slip.

•13 holes. No idea what the logistics would be to bump it up to 18, but given that it has a river on one edge, probably not happening. Very industrial on the other side.
Other Thoughts: Overall impression:

This is a fun disc golf course - it is close enough to many other courses to make an appetizer or dessert of it, which I bundled with Bethel. It is pretty easy, which can also be a plus depending on how bad other courses may have treated you. I love a course where you can show up and play without a map, and easily navigate to the next hole, and Riverfront has it in spades. 13 holes is better than 9, and if I was looking for a quick fix in the north Metro of Minneapolis, this would be a repeat customer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Place to be seen!!

2-4    7/7/2019   7/8/2019
Review By: Rogue007
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful property and park,Great mix of woods and grass holes with enough challenge for all!! Two rubber mat Tees each hole with Three basket locations (Veteran Baskets) Waste Recycling containers each hole. Restrooms Picnic Tables and Shelters at start of course. Super signage at each Tee, Nice views of Mississippi River (Not in play) Bring a picnic basket beautiful park.
Cons: Can be busy! at times. Has walk path near some holes (Look out for walkers and bikes) New course with tree stumps marked with Red paint!! (Watch when walking)
Other Thoughts: This is a fun!! course with a good challenge for all but the best,If even a couple more holes could be added it would rate even higher!! If you live in the Twin Cities this is one you have to play several times!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Riverfront

2-4    7/5/2019   7/5/2019
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 81  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 24.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun rec style course. There are two tees each hole and three possible pin positions (The day I played the course it was in pin positions A). The tees are solid and the baskets and pin positions are pretty good.

There is good use of terrain, including trees and solid use of the limited elevation. The rough exists, but it not too bad. It would be hard to lose a disc.

For rec play there was enough distance and challenge, and even pretty good players will find some fun shot shaping required.

Navigation is a snap, with maps at the tee and arrows in the baskets pointing to the two different pads. Overall flow of the course is pretty good, with only a couple minor annoyances.

The course was well mowed and maintained. It is a pretty course and park and there is plenty of parking, restrooms and such on sight.
Cons: 13 holes. It is obvious how that ended up at that number, because that is how much space they had and they used it all. But still, magically add five holes and you have a darn good course.

The holes are fairly easy, you have to work to deviate too much from par (I managed to double bogey one hole in my two rounds, and that was playing poorly, and only because I somehow parked a disc in tree, sigh).

Despite the name there is no water on the course and you only get a couple glimpses of the river.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a fun course. Playing alone it took me about 45 minutes each time through, so it is not very long. There was a fair amount of people out for a new course, so expect it to be busy during peak hours.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.