Flower Mound, TX 
Heritage Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: logic Hole #11 (Taken 2/2019)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Heritage Park DGC

1    11/23/2020   11/23/2020
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 191  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 12.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heritage Park was a fantastic course. Great teesigns, Veteran baskets and challenging holes. Really challenging course that makes you consistently put shots together to shoot well. There are also not too many holes that are makable in 2 shots so you really have to take advantage of your opportunities to counter balance the 4's you take throughout the round. Eric does a really nice job of making use of all the land he had to work with. Lots of elevation, tight wooded shots, a creek, blindshots. In terms of the elevation, there are downhill shots, uphill, up and over ridges as well. Really nicely done. Heritage lets you bring out all the discs in your bag of tricks with RHBH, RHFH, flex shots etc.. Pedestrians don't really come into play during the course besides 16 and 17 but the sidewalk is literally 5 feet in front of you so obvious if someone is approaching. Course is centrally located, where it is easily accessible for people across the metroplex.
Cons: Navigation was an issue for first time course goers like myself. Hole 1 to hole 2 was a little confusing. I was looking at the map provided on the site and saw it was across the street. Not realizing you could go underneath the bridge opposed to crossing the street. I figured it out when coming back when going from 17 to 18. Another navigation issue I ran into was after hole three, there was a red sign that said hole 4 this way (over the bridge) I followed it not realizing that was for the alternative 9 hole course. Thankfully, I ran into some other players and they accurately directed me to 4's teepad. There are also quite a few holes you have to run halfway up the fairway to see where the basket is located (but this is also fun shots since it is different than most courses in DFW). A few more RHFH shots would of been a nice touch as well.

The only other thing I can think of, is after a rain some of the holes would be really difficult going up and down the elevation. Course may not be playable at that point.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fantastic course, I will definitely play it again. The few cons that I mentioned above won't really matter in the future for me as I will know how to navigate the course and where the baskets are located. I look forward to better taking advantage of the opportunities I provided myself. This is one of the better courses in the metroplex. I can see this becoming one I play pretty frequently.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ambitious, Adventurous Design Amid Rugged Terrain

5+    4/1/2020   10/12/2020
Review By: dgaficionado
Played: 219  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 30.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ trees and elevation changes offer a considerable challenge
+ course demands both power and finesse shots
+ excellent use of available land
+ well maintained, especially considering terrain
Cons:
- blind tee shots on roughly half of holes require familiarity with course or need to walk fairways to find baskets
- ubiquity of blind shots plus challenging terrain increases odds of losing sight of throws, thus requiring additional time to find discs
- punishing roughs, especially downhill roughs, on several holes can be unforgiving
- often crowded due to its popularity
Other Thoughts:
INFO
Park land suitable mainly for hiking trails due to its varied terrain was reimagined to create a dedicated disc golf course that now lies on the outskirts of ball fields and a dog park, beside runoff creeks, within copious stands of trees and between meandering sidewalks. The course starts near the entrance of Heritage Park and quickly crosses under Garden Ridge Blvd to continue with hole #2. Subsequent holes proceed northward alongside a shallow creek and then turn around on the other side to ribbon back and forth until finally returning under the boulevard to finish with hole #18.

EVAL
Distinctive stone tee box signs appropriately introduce players to the adventurous design and rugged terrain of this ambitious course. Holes progress up and down gullies, over meadows and between trees with interesting elevation changes not only from hole to hole but also down several fairways. Holes play longer than expected thanks both to these elevation challenges and the plethora of trees on most every hole. Rounds of play test straight drives and shaped shots, long throws and short shots plus everything in between. It's a small hike to walk this course and a big challenge to throw it well. This is an exciting course with many nooks and crannies to explore, especially when throws go wide of intended targets.

NOTE
This 18-hole course doubles as a 9-hole course by designating holes #1-3 and #13-18 as an alternate layout for a shorter 9-hole round. Actual layout of hole #15 differs from its tee sign description: the layout is now a dogleg right shot. (Apparently, the sign was printed before the layout was finalized.)

LAYOUT
The first hole, a straight shot cut through trees, leads toward a boulevard across which hole #2 sits.
[A path downhill from #1 leads under a bridge to #2's tee.]
Hole #2 is a blind, uphill, dogleg left shot into trees with the potential for bad throws to roll away.
At the bottom of the hill, hole #3 exits the trees.
The next three holes, #4-6, follow along a mostly open path for maintenance vehicles, and ends with a throw across the creek to an uphill basket.
[A short walk along the ramped sidewalk on the other side of the creek leads to the next hole.]
Hole #7 opens up past its initial narrow gap of trees into a wide, grassy basin beside a ball field.
Hole #8 stays in the open and throws across a drainage ditch, whereas #9 returns into the tree line at very awkward angle.
The next few holes lie entirely within the trees with generous fairways carved out. #10 is a downhill dogleg left. #11 throws slightly downhill past a stony rockfall. #12 sits atop a ridge with precipitous drop offs on either side and an equally treacherous green. # 13 throws slightly uphill.
Coming out of the woods temporarily and across a sidewalk lies #14 with a basket which is planted very near to an outfield wall for yet another ball field.
Across another sidewalk, #15 requires a dogleg right throw to a basket parked close to Spinks Rd.
#16 is a downhill dogleg right into trees.
[Follow the sidewalk across the creek and to the left to #17.]
The next to last hole throws up hill at first and straight through a path in the trees towards the boulevard.
[Cross back under the bridge near #2 and across the casual water creek to reach #18.]
The last hole throws from under the bridge uphill through the trees to finish.
[A short walk remains to return to the start of the course.]

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Nailed it!

2-4    7/3/2020   7/4/2020
Review By: dwalk77
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- This course feels like it was designed by a pro (and it was). When I play this course, I feel immersed in the sport of disc golf.
- The holes are secluded from pedestrians
- It's wooded golf, which is not the norm for these parts
- The nature itself is top notch. Other than a huge sidewalk that winds through the park, for the most part you're excluded from civilization. No visible houses or roads, just you, the basket, and nature.
- There are several throws that make you pause and think. It's technical with options.
- If you miss your line, you'll be punished. There are consequences for bad shots. On the flip side, if you execute a good shot, it can feel very rewarding
- The wooded/technical theme is consistent throughout. it's not half wooded/half open...you get the full experience
- Even though it's easy to miss the fairway, unless you go way off line, it's usually fairly easy to find your disc. Lost discs haven't been a big concern for me
- Veteran baskets are great

Cons:
- It doesn't drain well. if it's rained recently, you'll probably want to wait a few weeks...or be ready to get muddy.
- I wouldn't recommend for beginners. If you're new to disc golf, I'd recommend an easier/more open course to start out on
- If your group is larger than 2, it's going to take a while. A long round isn't necessarily a bad thing, but in the Texas heat it adds up. If you have multiple people hacking their way through, it can also add a lot of time.
Other Thoughts:
I love it. For me personally, it's more of an occasional course than a regular one. That's b/c my skill level isn't there yet and hitting trees sucks. But I want to keep this in my rotation b/c it's great practice and a good barometer as to how I'm progressing and what weaknesses I have

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Feels like the Hill Country

1    8/8/2019   8/9/2019
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2020
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -awesome piece of land with great natural features for golf: tight woods, lots of mild elevation changes, a creek
-good equipment: Veteran baskets (most have arrows to the next tee), concrete tees, pretty good signs (more on that later)
-a variety of challenging shots but leans heavily on straight tunnels and hyzer finishes
-the hole lengths only range from 219' to 423' but the heavily wooded fairways make a number of holes feel longer
-the park itself is very nice with restrooms, water fountains, and is also surrounded by other parks with all kinds of sports fields and such
-plenty of parking
-practice basket in the parking lot (if you're standing at hole 1, it's directly behind you)
-walking paths throughout that do not interfere with the course
Cons: -i wish the baskets were numbered, why would you not do that? most of them have arrows toward the next tee built into the pan but at least one noticeably did not; i think it was hole 6...
-and after hole 6 really needs some navigational help, the longer walk to hole 7 follows a concrete walking path but there is no sign telling you that you're headed the right direction
-some of the tee signs are a bit inaccurate/deceptive regarding the line or exact basket location, particularly hole 15 where the basket is much further right than it looks (the opening you see straight-ish ahead is not the gap, it's further right)
-a few baskets and next tees are a bit close together, it's not that bad except for holes 2-3 where the basket for 2 has a steep drop-off behind it and tee 3 is right at the bottom of that descent
-the design is definitely very RHBH friendly; only holes 15 & 16 require a forehand
Other Thoughts: Heritage Park is a large, very well-maintained city park with a disc golf course that is mostly secluded from other park users. There are walking paths throughout but the course design expertly avoids interference with them for the most part (it's there on 1, 16, 17 but in clear view). It also makes great use of the heavy woods and erratic, mild elevation changes. A creek is also in play on a handful of holes. It is in a small ravine so while it's not too deep, accessing it in certain places can be tricky.

The holes are mostly challenging with lots of tight lines in narrow tunnels. It is definitely reminiscent of an Austin course, maybe comparable to parts of Wilco, Searight, or Rivery. While there are a variety of fairway shapes due to the trees, there is a preponderance of left-finishing shots. There are many flex-hyzers in the more wooded fairways and dogleg lefts on the wider tunnels. Luckily the variety of elevation changes prevent the course from feeling too repetitive. There are two forehand holes, 15 and 16, where a forehand spike and a forehand skip are the birdie plays, respectively. Hole 5 moves to the right but it's more of a backhand turnover shot. Several holes will definitely reward accurate overhand shots.

Holes 7 and 8 (both 423', the 2 longest holes) play in an open area and are a nice last chance to air one out before heading into the tighter woods for nearly the rest of the round. The stretch from 11-13 has the most narrow fairways and some of the most interesting elevation. Hole 18 is a cool finishing hole that moves steeply uphill once you reach halfway up the fairway. There are a number of memorable holes and the challenge is mostly white level with a few shorter, blue level shots mixed in for good measure. There is certainly something that could go wrong on any given hole so bad shots will be punished. The pars are pretty soft for the pro level but right on for AM2/AM3. I think the rating is right at 3.75 but for now at least I'm rounding up for the new car smell.

Heritage Park is a great addition to the course lineup on the north side of DFW. It's more challenging than most of the other nearby courses and it's a beautiful walk too. The course is still pretty much brand new but it looks like some of the rough is already receding. Time will tell how it stands up to the weather, it seems to get pretty muddy, but I look forward to many more rounds and figuring out some of these lines. Thanks, Emac!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

PLAY THIS ASAP!

1    7/15/2019   7/15/2019
Review By: SillyPeddy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 7/26/2019
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Variety of shots off the tee
- High bombs and tight lanes make a great mix
- Very scenic
- Great baskets with next tee arrows
- None of the baskets feel out of place!
Course maps are wonderful
Cons: - Signs made it seem like the OB were closer than actually were.
Other Thoughts: The basket placement on a few of the holes makes for some awesome views with the sun popping through in the backdrop.
Super fun park to play

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Challenge

1    4/2/2019   7/2/2019
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great challenge, but still playable for the average or better player. Great elevation changes as well as challenging, but mostly well-defined fairways. Course is well marked and maintained. Good blend of water holes, but these are small streams where retrieving your disc is not too difficult.
Clean restroom facilities and water fountains at parking area.
Cons: The only con to me was that several holes are blind from the tee. This is only a problem the first time you play the course. After that, you should know where you are going.
Other Thoughts: This course is on a par with the top 2-3 courses in the DFW area, and much needed in the northern part of the metroplex. This site rounds off all scores to .5. I would give it a 4.8 if I could.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good solid course

5+    6/23/2019   6/24/2019
Review By: 34blast
Played: 42  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 23.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hilly and lot's of terrain change
Technical
Trees
Tunnels
Good Tees
Good baskets with arrows on the bottom pointing to next basket
Warm up basket by parking west of hole 1
Cons: Off the fairway can be really rough, thick thorns and burrs
Mosquitoes now
Chiggers are bad in the tall grass (I regret not spraying down with spray)

Other Thoughts: The first time I played I thought this was a definite 5 star course. After playing it many times, I would say between 3.5 and 4 stars. There is only 1 hole #8 where you can really air it out without fear. This can be a very punishing course if you are out of practice or a beginner. My biggest complaint is when it is busy it is a super slow moving course. I don't think it is too cart friendly either.

My scores here have varied wildly. I'm usually pretty consistent, but I have scored from 57 to 72. 3's can be easy if the first throw is good, if the first throw is bad, it's pretty easy to double bogey


Tips -
warm up good as hole #1 is challenging and requires a long straight throw
Bring deet in summer if you have to go off or you will get chiggers like me
Watch for sharp thorns off of fairways or your legs will get all cut up like mine
First time out, you might go look where the baskets are many are blind shots

I suggest to read the hole info and pictures before playing. Below are my notes
Hole 1 - long tunnel show with OB sidewalk near basket. I made 2 once, but alot of 4s
Hole 2 - Walk down under the bridget tee is under the bridget it is a blind uphill shot. I found a flex shot to be most effective for RHBH
Hole 3 is a shorter hole from the bottom of a creek bed. You can't see the basket but it is to the left. There are 2 paths to go out wide right on hyzer or through narrow trees then left
Hole 4 - Is about 300 feet straight then the basket sits halfway up a steep hill. Creek on the right and trees on each side of tunnel
Hole 5 - is about 250 straight then a slight right for maybe another 50
Hole 6 is probably the easiest hole. Just over 200 feet I would say, straight hot over a small valley. Creek on right
Hole 7 - Another blind shot, the basket is over 400 feet away but one issue. There are very tall trees about 100 - 150 feet away. You need to sky it over the trees for best results. Once over trees it is clean fairway and grass
Hole 8 - is longer and downhill over 400, trees on right and baseball field on left. Basket is halfway up a steep hill.
Hole 9 - another blind shot. I have taken 3 effective strategies big sky hyzer over the trees or a mid to half way. Then big left up a hill
Hole 10 - fairly long tunnel then big left.
Hole 11 - is a crazy tree shots. There are trees everywhere and a creek on the right. My strategy has been a flex once again
Hole 12 - is alot like 11 but fewer initial trees
Hole 13 - almost like 11 except the basket is up a very steep small hill, putting is not easy
Hole 14 - Isn't too difficult. You need to throw it about 200 feet straight then about 30 feet to the left about 45 degrees
Hole 15 - you guessed it blind shot. It starts straight then turns right then staightens again. A forehand or turnover will work for the first shot. Then a skilled upshot and you can get a 3. I have not seen anyone get a 2 yet
Hole 16 - Another blind shot. This hole is short maybe 175 straight then 75 to the right
Hole 17 - My least favorite hole. It is like the reverse of #1, but I play at night an it seems like I'm always looking into the sun from a sunken position on the tee.
Hole 18 - is my favorite hole. You throw from under the bridge up the creek bed way up hill with trees in the way



7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Course in the Middle of DFW

1    4/9/2019   4/13/2019
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 284  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 8.8 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Heritgae Park is a brand new course smack dab in the middle of the DFW metroplex. It is an awesome park, with a great disc golf course that meanders away from many of the park activities other than the walking trail.

This really is not a course to let loose. It demands a good amount of length combined with carefully placed shots to score well. Most of the holes have brush on both sides. Though, there is a good amount of parity in terms of hole length, from short <200' to more long nearly 500' holes.

There is a good amount of elevation here, and the course utilizes it well. Many shots need an uphill carry, so the hole plays a lot longer. Hole 17 is a great example of this as it is a shorter par 4, but has a pretty significant uphill throw off the tee.

The course has brand new Discatcher baskets, nice sized concrete tee pads and tee signs pasted on giant stones. It very much feels like an Austin style course in the middle of DFW, which is definitely a good thing in this case.
Cons: A lot of the holes have a favor towards RHBH player as they play from right to left. This could be because of who designed the course, and his preference towards almost exclusive backhand shots.

Navigation is a bit tricky, there is a shorter 9 hole loop you can play with a few of the first and last holes. I did not realize this, so once I got done with hole 3, I saw a sign pointing me towards hole 4, but then it took me to hole 13, but it's marked as hole #4 on the 9 hole layout, so that was not too much fun.

The walk from 1 to 2 and then 17 to 18 is a little wonky. For a new player to this course, I walked across the busy road without realizing I could have taken a trail on the underpass. There could be a sign after hole 1 signalling where you should go to avoid crossing the busy road.

In other places around the course, the navigation was still tricky. From basket 6 to tee 7, you just assume you are walking the right direction on the concrete walking path without any signs signalling you are right.

The mesquite thorns are no joke in the brush. I had one go all the way through my shoe and a disc. Be cautious and keep it in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: From a sheer disc golf perspective, this was an awesome course. There was a new challenge at each hole. Though with the navigation issues faced, I do not think I could give this higher than a 3.5. Still, this course is definitely worth checking out. It will only get better with time as it still is a little rough around the edges.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great new course

2-4    3/16/2019   3/16/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 187  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 36.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Fabulous piece of land with a ton of elevation changes. Sometimes, you are throwing downhill and uphill on the same hole. This is a beautiful place to walk/hike, even if you are not playing disc golf.
-- A fairly narrow creek is in play on a bunch of holes on the front nine. You can retrieve your disc from there, but you will pay a price.
-- The park itself is tremendous, with first-rate facilities (restrooms) and excellent walking paths.
-- While there are not truly long holes, hole variation of 220-430ish with plenty of trees and forced (often tight) lines gives you plenty of variation.I threw mids off some tees on longer holes because I knew I couldn't reach the basket, so I opted to try for placement over distance.
Cons: -- The rough is really rough. While there are a few places that seem like jail, this is more of an issue of briers so thick you will leave some DNA recovering your disc.
-- Some tees are too close to the preceding basket. This was especially true on the front nine. Three/four and 5/6 are the biggest examples.
-- The sign on 15 indicates a nearly straight shot from tee to basket when in reality, the path is a pretty hard right turn for RHBH throwers.
-- The pro of uphill and downhill can be a con because it is frequently difficult to see whether the hole is clear. We frequently had to walk ahead to see, and once (No. 12) we overlooked a group down in a ravine and plunked another disc golfer.
-- Holes 2-17 are across the road from 1 and 18 and the parking. That (and some other issues) create some long walks between holes. It also creates an issue that forces people walking from 17 to 18 to walk directly through the No. 2 tee. When it happened to us on No. 2, I assumed we were dealing with a lazy or lost group. Nope. They were following directions.
Other Thoughts: -- I have listed more cons that pros for a 4-disc rating, but the pros are so strong that they outweigh many of the cons. And some of the cons will get better with time and play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Play this course!

2-4    2/24/2019   3/15/2019
Review By: RedbirdinTX
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 3/17/2019
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wooded course that has great elevation changes but also lets you throw big. The course is challenging and long. I would not recommend beginners come out to this course. The baskets are brand new, the tee pads are fresh and the facilities are nice. There is a plumbed toilet for both sexes at the beginning of this course with 2 water fountains. The course is laid out very well and the baskets have arrows in the bottom to show you where the next hole is.
Cons: This course needs the mesquite thorns cut out ASAP. Throwing in the rough can break your spirit quickly if you allow it. When it rains, this course is muddy and seems to have some drying issues. This will probably not be true in the warmer months. The pads will be muddy, rain or shine.
Other Thoughts: Like many have said, this course is difficult. However, it is the best course on the north side of Dallas. (I still love you Lake Park, but it is true) This is a true gem, and if they take care of the thorn issue, this course would get a 4.5. When you play, bring a snack and a good amount of water. Our foursomes were carrying a near 3 hour game time.
Edit: Left a dangling sentence that needed me to finish up my thought.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.