Bremerton, WA 
NAD Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #12
3 / 225ft.   3 / 284ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Technical Forest Course

2-4    6/14/2017   6/14/2017
Review By: markmcc
Played: 189  Reviewed: 174  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built in a beautiful mature forest, with huge evergreens throughout. It is a tight, technical course that hugely favors accuracy over distance. In fact, you can leave your distance drivers at home and drive with putters and mids, and perhaps a fairway driver or two.

Great variety of fairway shapes from dead straight, to right and left curves, to right and left doglegs. Being comfortable with both backhand and forehand drives is a plus here.

You will get discs kicking off of trees, but for the most part the ground is clear. Some areas have enough thick ferns to hide a disc but there really isn't much brush to deal with.

Two concrete tee pads and two pin positions give a lot of flexibility. The local club moves the pins on a regular schedule. The red vs. blue teepads are interesting in that the blue pad seldom adds significant length, and is often within about 50' of the red pad. But the angle to the pin and the obstacles can make the hole play significantly different from red to blue.

The tee signs are as rugged as any I've seen, with the sign set into a concrete pedestal that is about 18" thick and maybe 30" tall. It is a great design that places the sign in an easy to read position yet out of the way of play. Vandals would have to work very, very hard to mess these up.

Mach V baskets are in great shape and catch well, though they can be tricky to see in the shadowy woods.
Cons: Most of the holes present the same challenge, which is hitting gaps in the trees. I enjoy this type of course, but there is a certain "sameness" to it after a while. No real opportunities to air out a long drive.

I felt like a lot of the elevation on the course occurred during walks between holes rather then within the holes themselves. There are a couple of downhill drives and one steeply uphill drive, but for most holes elevation didn't come significantly into play.

While only an issue for travelers and first-timers, navigation was a little tricky in spots. Some baskets had "next tee" indicators but many did not. And while there were plenty of next tee signs around they weren't as useful as they could have been. From some spots you could see two conflicting signs. I will say that the long walkout from 12 to 13 was very well signed, with several signs giving a distance "countdown" to the tees.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful NW forest course. Just the walk in the woods is worth the time. But with an excellent disc golf course in the middle is it is a great destination.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Well Used, Well Maintained, Tight Wooded Course

1    3/27/2017   4/1/2017
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 46  Reviewed: 32
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage at tees, with a lot of baskets having an arrow directing you which way to go to the next tee (except no overall course map at entrance). Very easy to navigate without a map once you find #1. We didn't play with a map and had no issues.

- All baskets in near-new shape.

- All the baskets had a 30 foot putting circle cord, which is always helpful.

- Clean forest floor (not much underbrush) means it's as good as it can get for finding discs. It's a forest, so there are still spots you can lose discs, but you can play without a spotter no problem. Holes 8&9 are only ones with a bit of a swampy/mucky hazard you really don't want to get into.

- Good sized concrete tee pads.

- Two different sets of tees with two different basket placements that offer different challenge levels and substantially change the lines.

- As far as I could tell, it's really a disc golf only area, didn't see any other public/hikers wandering through fairways etc.
Cons: - Overall great use of space, but there aren't always obvious lines for technical shots, or maybe being a MA2 player I'm just not good enough to recognize them, but it feels like they created the challenge by just having a lot of trees in the way in some spots rather than creating challenging lines to the basket.

- Can be difficult to know which basket location is in play at the moment, that's not indicated on the signage.

- No course map at the beginning (apparently was vandalized) and hard to find online. If you just show up there without a map you might have some trouble finding Hole #1.
Other Thoughts: - Not a lot of wide open driving situations and not a lot of ace runs/short Par 3's for rec/intermediate players. I don't consider this a con because if that's what you want there are lots of courses where you can get that, but if you like wide open shots and easy ace runs, this isn't the course for you.

- Not much for elevation changes.

- Apparently can get very, very busy during peak times.Was good when we were there on a Thursday morning, can't really speak to business on weekends/evenings etc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Northwest course

5+    12/1/2014   12/2/2014
Review By: Billy
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 2/12/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a GREAT course. It's set in a beautiful old growth, northwest forest. Monster cedar trees and Douglas firs dominate these woods. Minimal undergrowth (a good thing). Nice elevation, but not overly so. ...... Very nicely marked - both A/B basket positions with distances, and signs pointing to the next tee. ...... It's a VERY CLEAN course! Trash cans everywhere. ........ Bag holders are on almost every tee. Benches/picnic tables/huge stumps grace most tees also. ...... Brand new baskets. .... Nice use of the terrain. ..... Concrete red / blue tee pads. ..... I could go on and on with "pros" for this course! ....... The new 'junior' course set up in the park is a FANTASTIC IDEA!!! Looks like a great use for some of older used baskets that were replaced. Not only is this a great place to bring kids / newbies and introduce them to the game, but it's also a great place to warm up and work on your approach shots. (*** Your 2nd shot on this course is EVERYTHING. Drives are very tight 'n technical through some serious trees. But you can salvage every hole if you can throw a respectable approach shot.)
Cons: There are very few cons about this course. ..... A couple holes have some very long walks to the next tee. The hill climb leading to #9 will leave you wanting to take a break. And the walk leading to #13 is a bit long, but it's downhill and scenic....... A little confusion after #5. Stay up 'n to the left to get to #6. (a dirt lane wants to lead you down and to the right.) ...... This is not an "air it all out" kind of a course. But that isn't really a con. It just means that this is a shorter, technical course through massive trees.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course! Beautiful, clean, well marked, easy navigation, challenging, all that you want in a course. ...... And if you get a chance, check out the town of Gig Harbor just down the road. If you're like me (and are new to the area) you'll love this entire part of the country. .... ************************************************************** TREAT YOURSELF !!! Juanito's Taqueria, just around the corner at 6721 Kitsap Way, has some serious, authentic, high quality mexican food!!! A tiny little place, nondescript, but quite the hidden gem! .... And right next store - The Goody Cottage has the most delicious, freshly baked, melt in your mouth cupcakes! The best you'll ever have!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A great time on a great course

2-4    1/13/2014   1/30/2014
Review By: b-mart
Played: 60  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: NAD Park is a prime example of what Northwest disc golf is all about. You're playing through an old growth forest with very little underbrush. It's pretty quiet and serene, even though it sits right next to the major highway of the area. With cement tee pads, challenging lines, quality baskets, and multiple tees and pin placements, this course offers something for nearly everyone. The reds offer birdie opportunities and ace runs for the more experienced players, and aren't too frustrating for newer players. Once you reach the point where you're bored with the reds, the blues bring in a whole new challenge. I haven't played them myself yet, so I can't speak to how they differ from the reds, but they offer longer approaches at the very least. I've never seen this course crowded either, which is nice when you play solo or with small groups.

The layout is very well thought out and uses the land available to challenge any type of throw. You have a little bit of everything to challenge your game, from tight fairways to uphill shots, downhill left turning fairways to flat right turning ones, and everything in between. There aren't any long walkouts, and the fairways don't really encroach on each other. There are random mandos on the course that you would REALLY have to shank a drive to miss, but most of these are well thought out as well. All mandos are clearly marked, and there are plenty of "next tee" signs and bag hangers scattered throughout the course.

Finally, this course is extremely accessible, as it is less than 100 yards east of the Austin Dr exit.
Cons: The length and tightness of the fairways could be a con to some. This type of course fits my game and my arm just fine, but I could see people getting bored if they want the chance to really air one out. A lot of these are mid and putter holes for the higher level of golfer. That's not me though, so I don't consider this a con. If you do? That's why I included this in "cons".

The course can be a bit confusing for a first time visitor, as a lot of the signage on the teepads is missing. The navigation is fine, but it would be nice to know exactly where you're supposed to be throwing to without necessarily having to walk the hole ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: A course like this that has multiple pin placements in blind locations is awesome. However, it would be nice if they could find some way to let you know which placement the pin is in. As in, put a marker at the teepad that states which one you're throwing to, and change that whenever the placement changes. That way you could have signage on the pad that shows both possibilities, but then lets you know which one is the reality. I guess they'd have to actually replace the missing signs before doing this though.

NAD is one of my favorite courses that I've played. It fits my range well and I can score low, but it's still challenging enough to keep me coming back for more. It holds the distinction of being my lowest score through 18 in the state (my -7 in Indiana will be tough to beat with my skill set), and will likely be the first 18 that I score below par on. Once that happens, and once that becomes a regular thing, I'll just switch to blues and keep on doing it. That's why NAD is so fun. It's challenging enough for any level of player.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/30/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Greenbowlpacker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun. Well maintained. Good layout. I like just about everything about this course. I typically play thurston, mason, pierce, and kitsap counties on a regular basis and I enjoy this one the most I'd say. The tees usually have seating and/or a place to put your bag. Most holes have good character. There are a few straight shots, but the trees provide enough trouble to make any straight on shot involve some element of strategy. There are lots of elevation changes.
Cons: The signage could use some work and updating.
Other Thoughts: Fairly easy to stay on top of discs. Don't forget to bring a towel!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 changes to 13 weak--RETHINK!

5+    6/6/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 47  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: course is still the most relaxed and fun course in the area. Love all the options with different pads and basket locations. Right now playing all the short baskets. This course seems like you should get a -18, all birdies but it has a ton of surprises if your throw is off even an inch.
Cons: The new 'red' pad OR the new short location for the basket for hole #13 doesn't work for me. Makes the hole cheap. CAN I SAY, I WAS WRONG ON THE NEW #13! After playing this hole a number of times since...I now think it's a fun Par 3 hole with two different approach shots. You could make a birdie very easily and maybe bang some chains! I like throwing a backhand hizer and then putt for the bird! YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY IT!
Other Thoughts: Still looking to see a long basket location for hole #1 and a 'blue' tee pad for #2 hole. It will make this course totally great. If all the baskets are in the long and you play all the 'blue' pads...get ready this is a championship course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/23/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very challenging love that there lots of different elevations. It was harder for me because of the multiple doglegs rights. Very laid out with maps at every hole.
Cons: Not very long I am use to shelton springs and can have a 300+ foot drive and still be 100+ away from the basket. Lots and lots of trees and these trees move lol.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ruggedly Refined

5+    2/16/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: RawwDawwg
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A challenging course carved through the mist of a forest. A variety of trees and big timber makes for a visually pleasing enviroment. The terrain provides many distinct holes which challenge the golfer to be inventive with their shotmaking.

Alot of work has been put into making the course a pleasure to play. Concrete tees, racks to hang bags from & plenty of large trees cut to provide a table or a place to sit.
Cons: Those with big arms won't find a lot of space to let loose with long drives.

Errant throws on some holes can result in long searches to locate a wayward disc.
Other Thoughts: The second hole is one of my favorites... I like driving from an elevated tee & the visual of following my disc as it hopefully glides down the fairway and hooks towards the basket.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play again and again

5+    9/5/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
Pros: This course is great for all levels of play and all ages. Has multiple boxes and pins placements. West Sound Disc Golf Assoc. does a great job moving everything around to give everyone a great experience. Has good park bathrooms. Great views, great hike in the woods. Playing by myself I can do the course in under an hour if I'm pressed for time.
Cons: crowded course...probably the most popular course in Kitsap county. Need to finishing blue box on #2 and adding another pin placement spot for #1.
Other Thoughts: Love all the tournaments and mixed doubles play. Enjoy your time here then head 8 miles to Bud Pell or Fairgrounds for another great round.

 Well-Rounded Park

5+    6/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Park is very clean (trash cans present at every tee).
- Very little underbrush present. You won't have to spend a lot of time locating your disks.
- Challenging holes. While most of the distances may not be 300+ feet, the course still can be challenging due to the amount of trees in the way.
- Each tee is well marked and there are several signs pointing you towards the next hole.
- Secluded. The course has that "state park" feel to it. Most of the course is tucked away inside a beautiful forest.
- Variation. You will see: uphill shots, downhill shots, obscured shots, shots to the left and right, etc.
- Location. It is close to both Silverdale and Bremerton. A fenced playground (covered picnic, restrooms, a cool fighter jet) are close by.
Cons: - Not a lot of parking. You can park on the road or "borrow" a parking spot from the store across the street.
- Several muddy areas. Best to bring some water-proof boots with you in the rainy seasons.
- If you have young children, a couple of the holes are not kid / stroller friendly. (Examples: distances and steep path between 8/9 and also at hole 16).
- Almost always busy. This is the one park that I go to that seems to be fairly busy no matter the day or time.
Other Thoughts: There are not a lot of cons about this course. Definitely one of the cleanest and most organized course I have played in. To give you an idea of the playtime, a group of 4 (mid level skill) players will take around 90 minutes - 2 hours to get through the 18 holes. Not as challenging as Fairgrounds and Bud Pell (parks in the immediate area) but for over-all experience, NAD excels.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.