Bremerton, WA 
NAD Park - Main Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn  
Park Entrance



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Great course

1    6/10/2018   6/10/2018
Review By: Trbo323
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great course, very well marked and maintained.
-played with first time players, course was accessable and playable for them. Very low chance of losing disks
-first Time playing this course, was easy to navigate without any help
- tee boxes are all concrete
Cons: About they only problem we had was there is a practice area in the front if the park, someone has marked the tee boxes with numbers and we started playing that thinking it was the course.

Other Thoughts: Actual course has maps at each tee pad, blue and red tee boxes. Look for the signs pointing to the first tee box near the playground

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best disc golf day trip to date!

1    3/18/2018   3/19/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 82  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is in an incredibly beautiful park
-Each hole is unique
-Elevation changes are used perfectly
-Tee pads and signs are in perfect condition.
-Baskets are hard to see on many holes, but the signs help with finding them.
-Mostly densly wooded, but a few holes offer a bit of a break (hole 8 comes to mind)
-This course has a good vibe to it, it feels professional, but also with the home-y-ness of a local course
-There are only a few holes with mandos, they don't really come into play unless you are planning a "creative" line
-Forehand/Backhand is equally represented
-No intersecting fairways
-No Garbage, minimal graffiti/ non-native artwork
Cons: -Navigation is a major issue beyond hole 5. There is no course map, and yellow arrow signs in the ground point to a different spot than those on the Baskets.
-Not a fan of Mach V Baskets, I had a few gnarly spit outs from 30 feet
- Paths are sub optimal, especially on hills
-Some fairways are almost too cluttered with trees (hole 13)
-Some holes have little (if any) distinction between fairway and rough
-Most holes have stumps to put your bag on, but are too high to comfortably sit on (some holes have manageable benches but over 2/3 don't)
Other Thoughts: This is definately one of the best courses I have ever played, it is similar but different to other top tier Washington courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great woods course

5+    9/26/2015   9/26/2015
Review By: Rikolas
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in the woods. Great course for all levels.

Red pads
Mostly mid ranged holes that need to be accurate. But if you do miss your line, it is forgiving for a woods course.

Blues pads makes this course a lot more difficult. It's a fun challenge for more experienced players.

Tee pads are easy to find due to bright yellow signs pointing you in the right direction.

There are plenty of lines for each hole. It can test your forehand and backhand. Also a few holes are great for overhand.

Nice elevation changes that can be a challenge on power control.
Cons: The only thing would be that there is no test of max distance for any holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Definitely one of my favorites. Great views by looking up just walking through the holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent place to play

1    5/3/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: shawnc65
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2016
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've now been to most of the higher rated courses in the area. NAD tops the list in many categories: It is very well marked and laid out logically. There is very little underbrush and the fairways are wide - lost discs are never impossible, but unlikely. However, there's plenty of obstacle trees. The two tees per hole are well thought out with the blue tees providing a different angle, a few more feet, a more narrow lane - good enough to provide a handicap or even to play a second round with new challenges. I think it is a great place to bring beginners or part-timers. The lack of undergrowth and the relative short length might help equalize different levels of competition.
Cons: If there have to be cons: Length: There's very little here to test your longest drivers. Busy: I've been there two different Sunday mornings 8 weeks apart and both times the course has been packed. Having said that, my daughter and I never had to wait for a hole this weekend.
Other Thoughts: I've taken my adult daughter and only part-time player to Stielacoom, Lakewood, Sea-tac, Sumner, White River, and Lake Fenwick. This is the first one she has suggested we try and get back to. I did not read the other reviews here before writing mine. I didn't mean to reiterate what has already been said. Suffice it to say that it's still as good as they say it is.
6/10/16...With a few more courses played and another year's experience I still believe this course to be one of the clearest marked in Western Washington and excellent for introducing part-timers to a different couse in the area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of space

1    4/23/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: nathani
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight course with good use of elevation change. A good mix of open, tight, up, down. Rotating pin positions adds to replayability. Terrain is clear and walkable, not too much under brush to lose your disc in. Excellent concrete tee pads with benches, posts and garbage cans at nearly every hole. Signage is also very good, with hole info on every hole as well. Practice target out front with tables and playground. A well maintained course.

Some put the swampy areas in the cons, but I think it adds to the pressure and creates a hazard that isn't going to swallow your disc, just get it and you a little muddy. Better than a lake! These areas are usually visible from the tee.
Cons: No big distance holes; all holes are par 3. Parking seems like it could be an issue on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: West Sound DGA is tops in my books! Can wait to play the other pin positions.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful picturesque Pacific Northwest course.

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Greg Landon
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course in the woods. Minimal undergrowth makes finding discs fairly easy on most holes. Very fun use of elevation changes without making it a huge hike.
Cons: Holes 3 and 8 have some mud hazards to avoid until mid summer, but not a huge problem.
Other Thoughts: My first introduction to disc golf was at this course in a chance encounter with some of the locals when I stopped at this park with my kids. We have been hooked since, and its one of our favorite family activities now. I would be here at least once a week if I lived closer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/24/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: medikated
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful layout. Dual tee pads and basket placements,allows player to choose level of challenge. Not hard to navigate, keep an eye out for next tee arrows/signs. Everytime I've played this course it's never crowded. Locals are super nice. Everything is well maintained and kept clean.
Cons: -I have nothing bad to say.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking to throw some monster shots this isn't the place. Distance isn't used here as a challenge /obstacle. 'Threading the needle' through trees on nearly every hole is the challenge.
Anyway, this is probably my favorite course in the Puget Sound area and if you live in the area or you're visiting I suggest to make the effort to play here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great PNW course

5+    9/16/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: jophus21
Played: 127  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to begin! This course is a shining example of what a woods disc
golf course should aspire to be. The tees are nice, flat, cement, with
just enough grip to keep you from slipping even in the inclement weather
that this area is famous for. There are two tees on every hole that
really add to the repeat playability of this course. There are also two
pin positions on every hole except number 1, and the pins are either
farther away or distinctly more difficult on almost every hole. NAD
Park from the red tees on short pins is one of the easier courses I've
played and is super newbie friendly; while NAD Park from the blues on
long pins will challenge even the most seasoned woods course veteran.
The atmosphere of the course reminds me of something off of The Princess
Bride with its moss draped, old growth forest full of cedar and douglass
fir trees. The markings and signage are awesome, even with the
difficulties associated with maintaining it during the rainy season.
There are plenty of trash cans spaced out through the course, nice cut
stumps or a hanger on every hole makes sure your bag will stay clean,
and there are even ash trays on most holes with screens over them to
keep people from treating them like trash cans. A few of my favorite
holes are 8 on shorts from the red, 11 on longs from the red, 16 on
shorts from either tee and 5 in any arrangement. The course is free
like all courses in the area; they have a board that tells about
upcoming events that is actually updated regularly; and there is a lost
disc drop box that has facilitated the successful return of several of
my discs.
Cons: The only issues I can find with this course are minor ones: There can be mud on hole 2, the left side of 3, the right side of 8, and pretty much all of 18. I realize there have been some attempts to mitigate this, but due to the long rainy season here in the PNW, that's just the way it goes. The short tee for the long pin on 16 is also really short, and I usually end up stepping off on my drive. The fairway of hole number 6 borders on the tee of hole 7, which can lead to some dangerous shots, especially off the long tee.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, I know the West Sound DGA spends a lot of volunteer time making sure this course stays that way. Keep up the great work guys, and I'll keep calling this my favorite Washington course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Beautiful

1    6/29/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a truly beautiful course. The landscape is signature northwest giant ferns beneath a high shady canopy of very old, twisted trees. The open expanse between the treetops and the ground allow for open, yet challenging throws.

Elevation is utilized extremely well emphasizing an aptitude in uncommon uphill / downhill throws.

Established course that obviously had some solid funding. Teepads, signage, and course amenities are all top notch and appropriate to the environment / setting.
Cons: There are a couple holes with OB areas that swallow discs never to be seen again (thick brush, etc.)

Zero "open field" shots -- entire course is wooded. Not necessarily a "Con."
Other Thoughts: I hit this course while on a business trip. I only had time for one course and based on my reading, this was the one I picked. I am very glad to have had this experience and I wish that other courses were resourced and maintained nearly this well.

Beautiful, beautiful course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/30/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best maintained course I have played. Bag holders at every tee are a great addition as well as trash cans at each. Good pin locations and use of natural hazards and elevation changes. Course will present challenges to most players.and fun for everybody.
Cons: The blue tees are sometimes just a couple steps from the red ones. There are some really similar holes strung right together on the middle of the back half(10, 11, 12) all with right legs. All are still made somewhat unique by pin placement. Can't really air out a drive on any hole but that makes for precise lines.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Kitsap county. Plenty of challenge for everybody but playable enough for first timers.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.