Flat Rock, NC 
Flat Rock Middle School Share
Uploaded By: ncmack111 Hole #9 (Taken 5/2019)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Not your ordinary school campus course

1    9/6/2020   5/4/2021
Review By: pmay5
Played: 219  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 18 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good green Prodigy baskets. I don't see too many of these around, so it was nice for a change.
Three tees on every hole, I believe the Whites and Blues were concrete and the Reds are natural.
At nearly 1800' this is probably just about right for the younger kids here and the whites for the older kids, a lot of variety here.
The tee signs are among the best I have seen at a 9 hole, campus course. Layout of the hole, all three tees marked, OBs and Mandos listed.
Like most schools, there is plenty of parking, but no water or restrooms available. I found it best to park around the back, you get a good look at #1 on the way by and #9 finishes at the back of the school.
You get to see the namesake Flat Rock right on the first hole!
Cons: Several of the later holes are wide open and long. That's what the land is like back there, open and spread out, so I'm not sure what else could be done with those.
There are several places to lose a disc here, #3, definitely #5 and #7, so choose your Risk/Reward wisely.
#2 - in a low area on the other side of the road from #1, can stay wet when the rest of the course is dry.
Other Thoughts: If you have read any of the other reviews on this course, you'll know this is not your typical school campus course. This has all the Pros listed above plus good course design, working in the confines of the school grounds. I was looking at this as a warm up round before heading to Jackson Park, but when you get here, you find out it is more than that, its more like a preliminary 9 before your round at Jackson.
The First hole is a real good opener, tee near the road, downhill to the basket planted between two flat rocks, cool placement. #3 plays along a creek, but plenty of room to the left to avoid the trouble. #5 then has you going right across the creek/marsh area. I clipped a tree and dropped right in the middle of it, but it wasn't as bad as I expected. Then its uphill to the basket. #6 gives you the only uphill hole on the course, with the basket strategically between two large trees.
As mentioned before, #7-#9 finish on wide open property, with #8 the longest at 345/605, down then uphill. Not a strong finish to the round, but chances to air it out.
Having a course right here at their school just might get some of these kids to try the game. It must be an active DG group in Hendersonville to install and maintain this course at the high level it is, hopefully they help out at school events to show their appreciation. There is enough room around the school, and the Elem School next door, that a second 9 of Temp baskets could make a good course for a fund raiser. There were several groups playing on the Sunday morning I was there, so it is a good compliment to the premiere course in town.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Flat Rock Peaks

1    3/6/2021   3/11/2021
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 416  Reviewed: 404  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2021
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a thrill when you feel like you've discovered an unknown course. Flat Rock Middle won't ever get many accolades, but there is a lot to like here.
- This was a relatively good nine hole course. It far exceeded my expectations with several solid layouts.
- Good overall layout. Two tee pads per each hole. Yes, a school course has two pads per holes, whether poured concrete or the road. That alone is better than a lot of nine-hole courses. And, there is a third, short layout for kids, beginners, anyone who would rather play a 1700-foot layout than a 3600-foot one.
- A very solid flow. Hole #1 gives you the obligatory rocks (as in Flat Rock) around the basket. #2 is a nice, open, slightly downhill bomber hole. Then you get cooking with #3 - 5. The best three holes on the course.
- #4 is a 429 foot relatively open layout, slightly sweeping right to left fairway. A series of larger trees block the basket. Go far left and the OB parking lot comes into play. Go right and the OB wetland area is in play. Pro tip #1: It's better to go OB on a hard surface than a wetland.
- #5 is a 345 foot slight downhill layout. Your shooting a somewhat generous gap between wetlands on the right (again) and a service road to the left (again). The picture on here captures the essence of this layout. An excellent, fun layout.
- Easy navigation. Good tee signs. A good course to play blind. Pro tip #2: Look for the giant green tee signs and tee pads. That's a good way to find where you should throw. Seriously, the only slightly difficult one to spot was #7 long.
- Multi tee pads make this course challenging for different skill levels.
Cons: The worst hole is the final one. Have your kids ever written you a card and they run out of room? Think seeing H-A-P-P-Y B-I-R-Thday squeezed onto the front. Apparently that happened with hole #9. There weren't any more challenges, obstacles, or anything remotely interesting on the school property. So, you end up with an open layout that features a slight dip.
- There a long walk behind the school building from #9 back towards #1. Yay!
- The rough can be extremely thick in some areas. The entire right side on #7 is thick. Even in early March when a lot is dormant, it still took some work getting to a disc. During growing season, that rough is going to be extremely thick. That might be an issue for students, either getting cut up or discouraged from playing.
- There are a lack of amenities. It's a school course so that's standard protocol. As such, pack out your own trash.
- There's a drainage/leak issue on a section of #2's fairway. When all else was dry, this area was very muddy.
Other Thoughts: I was impressed by Flat Rock Middle. It's a very good introductory, school course.
- You're 10 minutes from Jackson Park. If you're coming here to play, you should especially be heading there to play. Pro tip #3: You're welcome.
- #7 is a nice, sweeping dogleg right, 372-foot layout. With the previously mentioned rough along the right side of the fairway and a wide open field everywhere else, it's up to you on how aggressive or safe you want to be off the tee.
- #8 is the other long bomber hole. At 609 feet, you can unleash a big drive.
- With multi tees, this course offers you chances to work on different parts of the game. Want to practice your approach game? Play the short tees. Want to throw lots of drivers? Play the longs. Want mid-range shots? Play the mid-range layout.
- This was a solid layout overall. Lots of quality even if there isn't anything spectacular. Good addition to this region, especially with Jackson Park so close by.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not flat at Flat Rock

1    12/22/2020   12/23/2020
Review By: Musicmatt77
Played: 176  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flat Rock Middle School DGC is a fun park-style course played on the grounds of a middle school just outside of Hendersonville, NC located in the greater Asheville, NC metropolitan area. The region boasts a mix of leisure courses along with some high-quality courses like Jackson Park just down the road, which results in a course like this one getting a bit overshadowed. I found, however, that the quality of the setup is worth a look if you are in the area.

There are three tee locations for each hole. The long blue tees and middle white tees play from either newly installed cement tee pads or from paved roads around the school area. There is a short red tee for each hole that is mostly natural with a strip of permanent material serving as the end of the teebox. The signs for each hole are easy to see at both the white and blue tee pads. They are well designed, showing a map of the hole, distances for each tee, and par. Small laminated signs with sign numbers are on each post if you are not sure, but it is clear that the design recommends you play the whites first, and then the blues for a different experience, an attempt at making 18 holes out of a nine-hole course. The map provided was accurate and easy to follow.

The only other thing I will say is that despite being in a small area, the lengths of the holes were impressive. Most of the white tees provided around 300 feet of distance and required decent throws to make the circle. The blues are much longer and provide a significantly more challenging experience with a few par 4's to contend with. The use of elevation also made the experience quite interesting. Not much flat area in Flat Rock! My favorite hole, Hole 1, is a fun ace run throwing from above on a hill that slopes down from right to left. The basket is placed in between two large rocks that makes for an cool play. I almost got a ricochet ace off of the first rock, which was exciting for the beginning of the round!
Cons: Despite the obvious care put into this course, it really is fairly average as far as course design goes. Though I did enjoy some of the basket placements and challenge of the elevation, most holes were pretty wide open and don't require a lot of shot-shaping. A decent drive will get you to circle's edge, which means a par, or even a birdie, should be easily attainable. One thing I missed is that there really isn't a signature hole on the course as they all are pretty similar. It could be argued that hole 8, the toughest hole (and longest from the blue tee) provides a signature, but the only reason it might receive that distinction is because of its length.

I encountered a bit of flooding on the course, even though it had not rained for a number of days before I played. Hole 2 plays from the road to a dry area, but you have to cross a "swamp" of flood plain to get there. I had to pull my disc out of there on both rounds I played, even though I was pin high and circle's edge. Hole 5 is from the main driveway across a little gulley and up to a hill on the other side. The gulley is surrounded by flooded areas, so wear water-resistant footwear.

Lastly, the fact that it plays on a middle school campus cuts into any beauty that might naturally be there. You will be playing around ball fields, roads, school buildings, and, possibly, vehicles trying to pick up children. That doesn't provide the most picturesque playing experience. Plus, sometimes you are playing from inside parking lots (hole 7) and around fences (holes 1, 3, 5, and 8).
Other Thoughts: Due to the course being located on middle school grounds, be aware of school being in session during the week. I played on December 22, a Tuesday around noon, hoping school would be out, but it was in session (the last day of the fall) and my round happened to be right when school was letting out. This meant that I had to consider students, buses, and cars coming and going during my round. I probably would have played on the weekend had I known.

Though I have seen some other reviews for this course suggesting it be considered an 18-holer, it really is a nine-hole course with alternate tee pads for a different experience. The reds are short enough that it is obvious they are there for the kids (or beginners who don't yet have the length for the longer tees). The blues are definitely longer and more challenging, but you are playing to the same pin locations as the other tees so the experience isn't too much different.

In all, one of the better school campus courses I have played. Even with a small course like this, I do appreciate that there was great attention to detail. On an 18-hole course, this care would garner a solid 3.0-3.5. Being that this is just a 9-holer, I can't give it quite so high a score. Still, it is worth it to come enjoy a nice leisure round, just make sure it's on the weekend!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Testing your skill in the wind

1    5/8/2020   5/8/2020
Review By: Tom_oconnor
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 official 9 hole layouts with a 4th (designer secret) gives this course 36 holes. You will be forced to test all distances from putters to max distance, playing 2 layouts, I used putters, mids, fairway, and distance drivers. Baskets are single chain prodigy that catch well, the horizontal chains practically eliminate the single chain issues associated with other brands.
Great variety on holes. The different tees make most holes feel completely different. Good use of elevation and trees. Feels like a park course, with mature trees used to test your accuracy.
Cons: The wind will expose your flaws! Damn wind!
Tee pads were constructed using dirt glue which feels great and gives good grip similar to concrete, but some holes have some damage from mowers. Concrete pads could make this a legitimate 4 star course. These pads are better than alternative gravel, carpet, or mats.
I didnt pay attention to the signs since I had the course designer showing me the ropes so I cant comment on those, but they were there and had distances.
Other Thoughts: The different layout provide a good test for all skill levels. The white tees (middle) provided a good test for a 900 rated player. If you have a solid backhand and forehand you can score well. I'll definitely play it some more. With all the different shots required and with a soccer field by hole 1, this is a great place to practice. Mack did an awesome job on this one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is how you design a nine holer

1    9/21/2019   9/21/2019
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 218  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Three sets of pads. Red, white, and blue. And they all have teesigns with diagrams. Course is very challenging from the blues (shortest hole is 270' and uphill) and offers a nice beginner friendly layout on the reds. I met Mack, the designer a couple weeks before I played here and he told me his goal was to make this course more appealing than most middle school courses. I think it's far more appealing. The blues were very fun to play and I think they could inspire new players to get involved in disc golf.

You start off on top off or on the bottom of a hillside on hole 1. It has a different look from the blue pad, as it is on the bottom of the hillside. The hillside is in play the whole way from this pad to the right, making it difficult to throw a right to left teeshot. It requires a good control hyzer to tackle this hole if you decide to throw right to left. The red and white are on top on the hill, making this hole significantly easier. You'll want to get a birdie on this hole. Because the next three are more difficult.......

-I love hole 2 (the blue pad). I may have some disagreement since the road is in play the whole way and is a very hard hole from the blue but I think it's very fun. A 501' par 3 that's slightly downhill. I threw a couple of drives. My trespass went OB left of the road. My sheriff was about 45' left and pin high. Had the distance but not quite the accuracy. The white pad is more simple but is still no gimme. 288' and open with some woods to the right in play if you go too wide. #3 and #4 both felt like holes you'd see on a championship level course. Both are about 430' and more open with some obstacles. #4's green on a hill is very well thought out. Throwing the distance doesn't mean you'll birdie this hole. I was 40' right of the basket and had an uphill birdie putt.

-Holes 5 and 6 will give your arm a short break. You might still throw a driver but won't have to put a lot of power into your drive. Both holes utilize elevation pretty well. I loved the island green on #5 over the creek. #6, the shortest hole, was a nice straight hole as well. The next hole was probably my favorite.

-#7 is a difficult anhyzer hole. If you are a lefty or a righty with a mean sidearm, this hole is for you. If you are a backhand thrower like myself, the odds are less in your favor. But there's definitely a legit way to birdie this hole for all throwers. The woods are harder to miss, and there is some overgrowth that gives you the rationalization to throw wide left to right. The white pad is shorter but still challenging. I really love this hole.

-#8 is probably the hardest hole from the red and white pad. It's the longest hole on the blues and the only par 4 available to play. It's long and uphill most of the way. Beginners would either hate this hole, or see it as an idea to set a mind goal. A par of 4 is a good score, and a birdie is impressive. It gives a feel for a challenging hole that's very fair. If you are a beginner around the area, this hole can inspire you to get a 4 or better from the blue. It's open and requires a little bit of accuracy and some distance to make par. But it's very doable. It'll push you to work on distance and control.

-#9 is wide open. But it requires the perfect height to reach from the blue. So it's another control shot that'll really work to your benefit if you practice enough. You throw up a 10' hill that rises almost instantly past the pad. If you throw too low, you'll hit the hill. If you go too high, you'll be short unless you're Simon Lizotte. Gotta find the optimum height. The white and red kind give you a nice final birdie opportunity. Wide open and across the ballfield.
Cons: -A few of the teepads are on the road to get here. You're running up in the middle of the road. It's not a big deal, very minor since the course is closed during school hours. But if there were a special game occurring, you would likely have to yield to coming cars.
Other Thoughts: -This nine holer is excellent. If it were 18, it would be a 4.0 at worst. You wouldn't think a course at a middle school could help you improve but it really can. I started in the seventh grade and would've enjoyed playing from the reds and would've been inspired to work on what I can to improve so I could play the whites and blues. I shot one under on the blues and it could've been better, but then again could've been worse. Course is mostly open, so you won't need to worry too much about trees. But there is an OB road and a creek that can be a harbinger to your round.

-Not a hole here I disliked. They all have good attributes, some have better than others but are all nicely thought out.

-I strongly recommend this course. It's a very well designed and well planned course. And Mack, I strongly hope you will design more courses in the future. Well done sir.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not a pitch and putt

5+    5/15/2019   5/18/2019
Review By: ncmack111
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park like setting allows for some bomb style tee shots. Not a tight wooded course, but plenty of challenge. Tee signs have all the OB, mandatories, and drop zones on each sign. The red tees are fun for all skill levels, but not too challenging for beginners. The white tees are the most fun with lots of possible Ace runs, but most are not super easy. The blue tees are tough birdies if you can't throw 400+ feet, so they offer plenty of challenge.
Cons: Not all tee pads are concrete or asphalt. The OB can be nasty and eat discs. Only 9 holes. The last two holes are adequate, but not anything special.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads for all blue and white tees should be asphalt or concrete by the end of summer. There are a variety of shots on this course no matter what your throwing style. My favorite hole is #5.... It's a 300+ foot downhill shot to an island green.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.