Lockport, NY 
The Greens Share
Uploaded By: Euphomus Hole #5 (Taken 6/2019)
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Better than Expected

1    8/7/2020   8/7/2020
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 130  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 14 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good mix of open and wooden holes
- bathroom on site
- flat turfish tees (might not be good in muddy wet weather, fine in summer)
- lots of holes with elevation in the wooded areas
- a little variation with right left throws ( most holes can be approached either direction)
- there are a few picturesque holes
- although course is short, there are some challenging wooded holes
Cons: - there are not tee signs, although there are next tee signs on each basket and each basket is labeled. To find the hole you need to find the turfish tees which are not labeled
- some tees have visible baskets in each direction and it is not, clear except with map, which one to throw at.
- the tees are not cement
- course can be difficult to navigate even with map. The map which is on DGcoursereview is a must.
- course can be difficult to traverse, footing can be shaky with all the hills
Other Thoughts: My dad and I drove from Rochester to play and had low expectations for the course. It exceeded both our expectations. The course was fun. The course caused some anxiety because of the possibility of throwing your disc cliff (discs would be retrievable) or having to throw with unsure footing because your disc landed on the side of a cliff. There is poison ivy but it didn't seem over abundant. Wear pants. The course is rather short although some of the wooden holes can be difficult. Players looking for big throws should look elsewhere. It probably isn't good for beginners due to the wooded holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice design on paper, but serious safety issues

1    8/4/2019   8/4/2019
Review By: natureguy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On paper, the course itself is nicely laid out. Nice tee pads. A nice variety of different challenging holes, some requiring finesse, and some requiring power throws.
Cons: 1.) It has lots of potential, but is so unsafe. This park is overgrown in poison ivy. For a significant portion of the population it can be life threatening. Even in the mowed, maintained portion of the park the trees are covered and surrounded by poison ivy 15 to 20 feet up their trunks. I first encountered it on the 1st hole when I hit a large tree on the fairway and my disc fell to the base of it, landing in a thicket of poison ivy. About a quarter of the holes are located on the escarpment section, of which most are literally built on a carpet of poison ivy. The trails between holes are just stomped down poison ivy plants. The fairways there are carpets of poison ivy. It isn't just IF you land off the fairways and in the rough, or out of bounds and in the thickets. Your disc WILL land in the poison ivy unless you get a hole in one. The trails between holes in the steep areas are dangerous. I maintain hiking trails in the woods for hiking organizations. The trails here would not meet federal and state minimum safety standards for back country hiking standards. They are too steep with too many loose rocks and stones. 2.) Single tee area - only one type of marked tee area. No multiple starting points per hole for different skill levels. As a novice I can not heave it full distance, I miss having marked shorter tee spots for different abilities. 3.) Negligible makings, signs and confusing to play on.No marking posts to find the tee pads from a distance. No labeling of the holes when you are on at the tees, just the hole number marked on the baskets. And it is difficult to tell which tee pad is for which baskets, since the course weaves around so much you are not sure which pad goes with with which basket, and sometimes there are clusters of tees and baskets very close together. No maps at the tees to show you where the basket is for that hole, and many of the baskets are not in your line of site. And the longer holes are too far away to easily pick out the basket when you tee off. No arrows pointing out the direction of the basket for that hole at that tee. No arrows directing you to the next hole. 4.) I understand this is a new course. Hopefully better trails, markings and such will be along soon, and multiple tee points clearly marked for differing abilities. Those problems can be solved with time and patience. But the poison ivy is a serious problem. It would take multiple train tank cars full of weedkiller and many rolls of landscape cloth to solve the safety problems. Hopefully the trails between holes will be made safer and more navigable. But it will takes years of monthly applications of vine killer to finally tame the severe poison ivy problem.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course for novices. And it is not safe for anyone who reacts strongly to poison ivy. You will not avoid it no matter how good you are or how precise a thrower you are. Poison ivy is even at the base of some of the baskets. Only those with excellent footing and balance should try navigating the goat trails between holes on the steep escarpment portion.
I will avoid this course in the future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed Course

1    7/10/2019   7/11/2019
Review By: pbiddle86
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course that makes the most of a park on the smaller side.

Has the feel of a nice woods or hiking course without being too strenuous for players that may have trouble with some of the longer courses with elevation.

Not much going on at the park when we played through and only a few other groups out.

Well designed course that I feel had a variety of different shots and some cool elevation to play with.

Manageable distances for my skill level, however I can see a big armed player thinking it was too short.

The shorter holes almost always have a very low ceiling or a mando that somewhat forces a tight line.

I like that the holes suggest an ability to cause some good scoring variation. Many are very deuce able but 4 or even 5 is also possible with a bad line.

Certainly a few holes types that are not really found elsewhere in the area.

Each tee had a boxed in turf pad that performed well enough for the distances required.

New baskets - I don't like the prodigy baskets much myself but having a target in great shape is always a plus.

Lots of shade on a hot day.
Cons: Certainly some overgrowth which is to be expected in a fresh course. I don;t see that getting a ton better even with more players as it is outside the main lines, main fairways are ok. Keep an eye on what you throw and use a bright color if possible.

Only a throw or two that will really test a big armed players distance.

One particularly short hole that is a fun ace run but still feels like a short approach or long putt more than an entire hole. (I don't think they had a lot of options to do more with it so not a knock on design but still a con)

Bugs were pretty bad but not overwhelming

I'm sure they are still working on it but hole numbers by the tees would be helpful, they are on the baskets but nothing at the tees as of this review.
Other Thoughts: If this was a little closer to my house it would probably be my go to course for when I don't have a ton of time to play.

Certainly a nice addition to the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course

1    6/18/2019   6/19/2019
Review By: hojji77
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Varied design; elevation change; thoughtful layout; scenic; challenging.
Cons: Tee signs not up yet; poison ivy on slope.
Other Thoughts: This is a skillfully arranged course in a picturesque park. Combination of wide-open blasters on the upper portion and finesse-y wooded holes on the slope; pin placements in the woods can be VERY tricky! Tee boxes are dirt/gravel. The course does not occupy a large acreage but somehow never feels cramped. MUSTS: treaded boots and long pants (poison ivy, and you WILL be bushwhacking). AVOID: green or earthtone discs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.