Chapel Hill, NC 
UNC DGC Share
Uploaded By: KenanFlagler01 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Hark the sound of Tar Heel baskets. Clanging clear and true.

1    9/14/2019   11/10/2019
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 358  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2020
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I graduated from the university in 2001. But, because I was so focused on my studies, I just finally played the course in 2019. What an excellent course.
- Great weaving stroll through the southern part of campus. Starting and end in the Outdoor Education Center, this course will weave in and out of the woods, up and down hills, all while offering an excellent variety of layouts.
- I hope you like Carolina Blue. It's prevalent throughout your round from tee signs, benches, and baskets all featuring it.
- As for the course itself, there's plenty to like here. It's a solid test, with some excellent variety. It's not a championship level layout, so it can be tamed.
- When I played holes #1 & 2 were out of commission due to construction work. In their place were (hopefully temporary) #19 & 20. As such, there's a long walk from the parking lot to #3. As it is, #3 is a solid opening hole, mostly open that lets you warm up the arm.
- Course mixes in a variety of hole lengths throughout. I was pulling out multiple discs out of the bag as you're getting your share of sub 250-foot holes and 350-foot and/or uphill shots.
- The front nine is mostly flat. The back nine has most of the elevation. From #9 to 15, and again on #18, you've got elevation being the biggest obstacle.
- The scenic, rolling hills stretch of #11 - 13 gives you the feel of being in a secluded small-town park. #11 is the longest hole on the course, an uphill par 4. #12 is a fun, valley layout, throwing from the top of one hill to another. #13 ends this stretch as a downhill, 319-foot open field throw. If you sail long or to the left you can run into danger. On either #12 or 13, you'll be thinking of throwing multiple tee shots.
- If you play smart, throwing straight, and keeping it on the fairway, you're not going to find much trouble. Other than a disc rolling downhill on one of the uphill holes/approach shots, you should be seeing plenty of birdie/easy par chances.
Cons: My biggest negative is the tricky navigation in several spots. There's a lack of signage on some of the longer transitions. From the parking lot, you're walking down the service road. Because holes #1 & 2 don't exist, it's a long walk to #3 with only one small, temporary sign to say follow the markers. If you don't see the sign, as I didn't initially, it's easy to assume the markers are for the construction work. Several other holes had less than obvious tee locales, notably #12 & 16.
- on #17, the dual basket locations are completely opposite directions from each other. Standing on the tee, you can't tell if it's a sharp dogleg left or a sharp dogleg right. Throwing it down the middle is pointless, so you just need to suck it up and walk the fairway.
- I hope #19 & 20 are temporary holes replacing #1 & 2. #18 is a great finishing hole and should be the capper to your round. #19 is a short, straight, birdie hole. Playing #20 makes you to walk the length of the hole to get to the tee, turn around and then play back to where you just started. It's a trashy hole that only gets enjoyable once you get to the rocks around the basket.
- I didn't notice trash cans on the course. Also, no water fountains or restrooms.
- Not a con about the course per se. Parking is limited to permits only during weekdays. Weekends, nights, and the summer, it's not an issue.
- Also, due to redesigns over the year, many course photos on this site are either listed incorrectly or are for holes that no longer exist.
Other Thoughts: Chapel Hill is known as the southern part of heaven. If so, I'll gladly take this course in heaven.
- I'm just a little biased about all things UNC. I guess enough time, money, and memories will have that effect on a person. That said, I was extremely pleased with the course.
- Two great holes that players will enjoy are #15 & 18. #15 is a short, 183-foot layout. Throw it on a rope, avoid trees, and avoid a disc rolling down the hill near a basket and you've got ace run or birdie chance potential. #18 is a tight fairway off the tee on this valley layout. Depending on how far your tee shot goes will determine how much of an uphill shot you'll have for your second shot. This basket has a wall in front and side of it. If you're short, be prepared for your disc to roll back down the slope.
- For average players, front nine has more birdie chances. The back nine has more 'take your par' holes. Advanced players are going to have a field day here.
- This course reminded me a lot of Falling Creek in Bedford, VA and a better version of Yadkin County Park.
- I wish I was playing disc golf back in my college days. I would have spent way too much time on the course. Call it extended study breaks.
- I'll take into account that holes #1 & 2 would be better than #19 & 20 (they can't be any worse). With that said, this course is right in the 3.75 to 4.0 range. Still, this is the best college campus course I've played.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nothing wrong with this course

5+    5/4/2019   7/4/2019
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of open and wooded holes; short and long; uphill and downhill; right, left and straight holes. You really get to test your all around game here. Some holes allow you to really unload on a drive, being over 400 ft, and also some great "touch"Ědrives Clear signage (most of the time) and paths for where to go next. The open holes are not always simple, with elevation change and some low hanging trees reaching into the fairway that make you have to think about your route. Suitable for sidearm and backhand players, some holes advantaging left to right throwers, and some right to left.
Cons: This is a big one that keeps me from ranking this course a 4.5... drainage. There are areas in the walkways and fairways (especially half way through the front 9) where you get your shoes caked in mud if it has recently rain (but even sometimes when it hasn't). It's an issue that I wonder could be resolved, which would make this a premier course in NC.
Other Thoughts: If you're an advanced player, in your mind, you expect to birdie half the holes, and half the holes you feel like birdie is a bonus, which speaks to the fairness of this course, and why -7 or so is a 1000 rated round. Also, I wish they had a couple of par 4's here. If they had a few of those and fixed the drainage problem, it would be competitive with Hornet's Nest and renaissance in Charlotte.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/10/2019   1/10/2019
Review By: jamesthenpc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/30/2019
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really has a lot of diversity. I play in the weekly doubles group and always have a blast here.(great community). The course really has everything you could want in a disc course.

-Essentially broken into 4 groups/stages. First section is open
with holes 1- 6 ish, second area is more technical and woods based holes 7-10, open elevation 11-13, 14-18 are variations with both wooded/elevation holes.

-Medium to long hole locations throughout. You can really air out some drives in the elevated areas in the back 9.

-Wooded, technical portions that focus on technical shots.

-Great elevation changes for most holes including the technical woods portions

-A pretty good workout with the length of the course and the various elevations changes if you push yourself for a fast pace. Some holes are pretty far away from others as well.



Cons: -The maps are not updated and there are 20 holes listed. Two of them do not exist and that has made all of the numbers on the baskets off. For example: Hole 1 is marked as 3 which can be really confusing. I spent time looking for holes 1-2 to not find them (because they aren't real) and realized what was wrong.

-Navigation issues are very present. There is good signage detailing the lengths of holes and locations of baskets, but some have now broken off/fell off. Finding holes 16-18 are confusing because they have confusing signage. There's a sign that points to hole 18, ,but really 16, 17, and 18 are that way near the tennis courts.

-Cannot park at the entrance for hole one until after 5 unless with a permit so you have to start at hole 6 parking.

-Much busier than other courses nearby so be ready to see others/be impacted by players

-Extremely, extremely muddy which makes playing it anytime after rain or in the winter a mess. I played two days after a rain storm and there were small rivers being made and overflowing onto the course. Hole 2 is basically unplayable for me because everytime I have played there recently, the fairway is just a muddy, soggy mess that could pull your shoes off if you aren't careful. The same can be said for hole 3 and 4 where giant patches of grass become a muddy mess. I have fallen down a few times on hole three's downhill portion because its basically just mud at this point (has been this way for 3 months).

Other Thoughts: I would want to give it a lower grade because of the cons which are very, very frustrating but the diversity the course brings to this area keeps it above its nearby competition. Make sure to bring pants/shoes that you can risk ruining because of the mud and download the udisc app as it shows the proper map course numbers and where to go moreso than the map provided on their website. Great course, just wish they would fix the signage and I wish the land was better suited for water (how to fix that, I have no idea).


Edited: The waterhole has been shut down along with the following hole but has been replaced with 2 interesting holes after 18. One is a tunnel shot and another is a long bomber soft par 4 which let's you throw 350+ which is awesome. Summertime has improved drainage issues a ton. I play this weekly along with doubles on Saturday now and it's now my favorite area course. Matt and crew do a good job to keep the course functioning properly.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice all around course

1    7/15/2017   7/16/2017
Review By: 34blast
Played: 34  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 23.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful couse
Nice variety
Not overly busy
Not much underbrush, so compared to other states and places I have been hard to lose a disk if you really look
Good markings overall
Baskets seem freshly painted with UNC blue.
Cons: cement tees are way too short for my approach. I had to start off the concrete
Signs have been updated, but there is no sign after hole 15. Walk down the hill on the right. You will see a sign labeled 18 with an arrow, but the first hole you come to will be 16
Other Thoughts: Excellent course and several longer holes for North Carolina, but only 1 hole, was out of my driving range. For a higher rating there would need to be more sharp turns and a few longer holes. I had to disk down on several holes as I overshot the baskets sometimes. I'm not sure if I was just throwing longer than normal or the holes were marked a bit shorter than reality.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 back 9 shines, front 9 not so much

2-4    10/6/2016   10/13/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 363  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 34.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set on a scenic college campus, this course is a mixed bag, the back 9 stood out to me with more open and longer holes than the shorter very wooded front 9. In typical NC style, the tight wooded shots require precision which leads to birdies or just as easily bogeys or worse.

Just one par 4, but some challenging par 3's. Very good use of elevation, this course is no walk in the woods, it's a HIKE.

Holes 13 thru 19 were great. Hole 3 over water was scenic yet a simple shot. Hole 5 was great.

Two sets of cement tees, Carolina blue painted benches at most of these. Sleeves for alternate pin positions were seen.

The map on this site is very much needed, thank you DGCR!
Cons: Navigation issues galore. Without a map or another golfer knowing the course you will not find many holes:

The walk btw 5 and 6 is long, thru some woods, over a driveway and small hill and isn't marked at all. After 15 there is no clue on where to find 16, back tracking a little to the right and up a narrow path in the woods. After 17, finding 18 wasn't clear. Finding #3 after #20 (#1 and #2 are gone) was almost impossible without asking a golfer/worker on the course and I had a map with me.

The tight wooded holes are kinda of poke and hope. I guess this is the norm in NC.

The yellow DisCatcher baskets are old and rusting, they could use a new paint job.

#4 completely open and flat was boring.

Could be muddy in the lower spots, #18 wasn't too bad but I'm sure it can be at times.
Other Thoughts: Parking near holes 8/9 is not a problem once you find the correct spot. Some signs say permit required, some say visitor parking. The back right lot had plenty of room on a weekday during the school year. A Chapel Hill police car didn't bother me or my out of state tags on the car for parking there.

How about some next tee signs or arrows pointing the golfer in the right direction?



6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Many Great Holes with a Few Yawners

1    8/1/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 459  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 17.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: UNC has a very good disc golf course, the type I would love to play on the regular. Elevation changes, open and wooded holes, birdie opportunities and par 4's. There are two sets of roomy concrete tees and I played the longer blue tees. Most, if not all of the holes had benches and a few trash cans are around the course. The baskets were in all decent condition. Hole 1 is a good opener, but hole 2 is where the fun begins. A long shot through a lot of trees, way downhill. I tagged many of those trees and took a six. I made up for it on hole 3, the only hole with water in play. Busted a great drive over the pond and got the deuce. The next several holes are ok, 4 being long, flat and wide open. I enjoyed the second half of the course a lot, when the elevation changes become more of a factor again. I took a few tough rolls and bad bounces leading to bogeys, but there were also some great drives and timely putts for birdies. Hole 15 was the perfect drive down a large, wide open hill and right onto the green. Hole 17 was the short wooded fairway, where the par putt attempt caught an edge and rolled 40 feet downhill, leading to a double bogey. Finishing hole 20 is a good one. Having 20 holes means some extra fun. I liked the beginning and end more than the middle, but it was all good.
Cons: Course is on campus I guess, so other facilities mean less parking and other park users at times. I was there early on a Saturday and saw few other people. I spent a good amount of time looking for a disc in the rough on hole 11, I think. I must have overlooked it multiple times and felt dumb when I finally spotted it.
Other Thoughts: UNC DGC is fun to play, and a nice little hike built in. I am glad I stopped there, and recommend you check it out if you're able. Challenging with excellent variety. Kind of similar to Va-Du-Mar in SC.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Going through growing pains, but still great

5+    4/12/2020   7/25/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 162  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2020
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: UPDATED: UNC DGC has gone through a lot of transitions lately, as the course has been rerouted in places, holes removed, and new holes added. The old hole #1, over the pond, was taken out. Hole #2's tee was moved back and to the left side of the long, open fairway, making it a par 4. Hole #17 got an alt pin placement, which is a fun change. New holes 19 and 20 were added at the end of the course. Hole #19 is a short, narrow, uphill par 3. About 230 feet. Hole #20 is a long, downhill, par 4 with an open fairway with devastating rough on both sides. It's about 420 feet. So, you now have a total of 19 holes, numbered 2-20. Now the preferred hole order is the following...

[If starting at the Outdoor Center parking lot]: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

[If starting at the other parking lot - and most non-students should and will choose this option]: 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Pros...

+ Perhaps the most variety on any course in the Triangle. Some holes are tight and wooded. Other holes are former ball golf fairways, wide and really long. There's elevation all over the place, on the wooded holes and the open holes.

+ The elevation is just awesome. There are lots of downhill holes and valley shots. There are also some uphills and a few that play up over hills, then downhill, then uphill again. Bring your hiking boots.

+ Very challenging. The variety and the distance will challenge intermediate and advanced players alike.

+ Beautiful course. It is Chapel Hill, after all, the Southern Part of Heaven.

+ You will use every shot in your arsenal on this course.

+ There are some super tough pin locations that really punish you for missing putts. Some fast greens. Good risk/reward on these holes.

+ The course is reasonably fair. The fairways are the appropriate width for the length of the hole. The shortest holes are mostly tight and wooded. The longest holes are mostly wide open where you can bomb drives.

+ Nice, big Carolina Blue benches at most tees.
Cons: Cons...

- Navigation. It's pretty tough to navigate this course, especially with the new challenges mentioned above.It's tough to get in a quick round at this course -- not so much because it's super long (it's average to slightly longer than average) -- but because the walks between holes are so long...and the underbrush is bad, so you could be searching for discs a fair amount.

- Heavy, heavy underbrush, plus a couple of new holes that have yet to be beaten in. High risk of losing discs.

- Drainage is a problem here. You might as well skip UNC after it rains, unless you don't mind lots of mud and standing water.
Other Thoughts: UNC DGC is a solid track and worthy of a spot among the best courses in the Triangle. Hopefully, it will emerge from the transitional phase, get hole #1 back or re-number.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Open Course Ever

5+    4/22/2015   4/30/2015
Review By: DrFurious
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/20/2015
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Course was built in old-ball golf (abandoned by town), but still maintained by UNC, meaning amazing open fairways. Mowed by UNC, but completely built, maintained, updated by current and previous students and volunteers.
Cons: Major drainage issues on hole 4,5, 6 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Doubles fundraisers every Sat, 10:30 at hole 9 (Gen Admin parking lot). $4 goes to the club (to buy discs, maintain course, Tar Heel tourney, etc.) and $1 for ace pool. CTPs, etc.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 If you're in the area, this course is a must

1    10/21/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: bmoney14
Played: 111  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -This course utilizes elevation changes well, and the holes are quite varied and interesting
-The basket locations are moved frequently to keep the game fresh
-This is the place in the area to drop 400+ foot bombs
-Aces are difficult, but possible and very rewarding
Cons: -The signage is still not quite up to date, but if you play it once, you will not have a problem with organization
-At times the course can get muddy (the drainage here can be an issue)
-Because this course is one of the best in the area, can be quite crowded. Try this course early in the morning or later in the evening
Other Thoughts: -By far my favorite course in the RDU/Chapel Hill area
-If you aren't totally confident that you can throw over the water on hole 3, don't try. That lake eats discs

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course has every type of hole, wooded, open, even one requiring you to clear water
-Many of the holes just look awesome from the tee box. The use of terrain makes just about every hole feel different and fresh and keeps it interesting throughout the full round
-There are 6 air it out holes on the course which you don't find much of in the area
-Many holes offer great risk reward shot layouts
Cons: -Poor signage. The first time you come to play the course, good luck. Finding holes 16 and 17 was particularly challenging.
-When the vegetation grows in some holes can be real disc eaters
-The course drains water terribly. If it rains within 3 days of when you are playing get ready to get a little bit muddy
-The course is a huge loop which makes it nearly impossible to just play a quick 9. Be ready to play them all.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best in area in my opinion. When you want to find a course that will truly test all aspects of your game this is the course you should play in the area. Just make sure before you go out that you park at hole 8/9 so you don't get ticketed, remember if its rained lately you will get muddy, and get ready to be tested on all your shots. This is a great course and one I would consider a can't miss if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.