Chapel Hill, NC 
UNC DGC Share
Uploaded By: KenanFlagler01 Hole #O1 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Worth Playing

1    11/18/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 101  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: My favorite thing about this course is the beautiful setting in a mostly wooded and mostly private section of UNC's campus. The course plays through hilly forest around the UNC's outdoor recreation area.
There are some excellent holes at this course, especially the ones playing through the open areas. It's a quick round, very fun to play, and would be enjoyable for beginners and advanced players alike.
Cons: The course feels like an old hotel that needs a renovation. Signage is missing on a lot of the holes. Navigation is confusing in many spots. The baskets look very old and all have numbers on them that don't correlate to the holes, adding to the confusion. It could use a refresh.

While there are some great holes, there were more than a few bland holes and a couple of not so great holes, all in the woods. This is a pitch and putt course that's all Par 3.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice campus course and worth playing if you are in the area. I was advised it was the best course in the Raleigh/Durham area ... although it was fun to play and I would play again, it wasn't as good as expected. If there was a 3.25 I'd give it that rating, but as there isn't I'm rounding up. Seems like some of the course has been renovated/refreshed in spots - would be nice to see the whole thing get a facelift. Another random observation - I saw more females playing than guys, which has never happened to me before.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good mix of holes. Open, wooded, long, short.

Course wasn't overly crowded and the people who were playing were very helpful and were givng history on the course.

Tee signs, benches, trash cans at every hole.
Cons: This is not really a con but I wish I didn't have to drive 130 miles or so just to play.
Other Thoughts: I've played about fifteen courses or so and this one is defnitely in the top three. I played it on a Saturday and parking wasn't an issue. Will play again when up in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite aspect of UNC is the variety. It has elevation changes, left/right turns, open/wooded, varying distances, and risk/reward including a water hazard.

Other Pros:
- great tee signs
- nice tee pads
- some holes have multiple tees
- alternate pin positions
- challenging and fun
- well maintained grounds
- easy to navigate
- clever and unique pin placements
Cons: It is on campus so parking can be an issue during school hours.

* The map on the links/ files tab is outdated, the 1st few holes are slightly different now.*
Other Thoughts: Many holes here could be the signature hole somewhere else. It's too hard to pick a favorite hole. I really liked the basket surrounded by boulders on the side of a hill.

The entire area has many great courses, definitely worth visiting!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/13/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: mattpoin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of variety on types of holes, lengths, and obstacles. Easy parking. A lot of thought obviously went into the course design.
Cons: Easy to lose discs, and crawling with poison oak. Path from basket to tee is poorly marked at times, and the wooded holes get so little light that it's impossible to play late in the day.
Other Thoughts: There are two parking options: (1) park entrance off Ridge Road, and (2) the softball complex parking off Raleigh Road/Hwy 54. The Ridge Road entrance is much easier for starting the course on hole 1, but parking there between 8AM and 5PM on a weekday will likely get you a parking ticket. I recommend parking at the softball complex entrance, near hole 8, for multiple reasons. First, they don't ticket there. Second, the walk back and forth to the car is easier. Third, the baskets for #6 and #8 are right there for you to warm up on, something impossible on #1. Finally, the softball complex entrance is much easier to find than the Ridge Road entrance. To get from #18 to #1, follow the asphalt to the right, along the short end of the tennis fence.

As of June 2011, the basket on hole 15 is on the left, not down the right side. Since it's a blind hole, I found out about this change in position the hard way.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Traveler

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: Alex Torres
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nice use of tight wooded holes and wide open holes. I also like how the people zip line right over the holes, that was cool. Short but nice course.
Cons: Sign showing were the course starts from the parking lot. Couple of holes are in the repair mode , it would be nice to play again when the coures is fixed. Map of whole coures at the start of a first tee, would be nice.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/2/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 33  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really liked this course except for one major con (but more on that later). We played on a day that the university was out (Labor Day weekend) and it was fairly early in the morning so there weren't many people at all on the course. I was impressed with the mix of short, tight holes and big, long bombing holes. Can't remember the number, but the hole that plays across the top of a ridge overlooking the softball stadium is a bit scary for anyone worried about an errant shot. The course was just fun and challenging all around.
Cons: I really wish the course had been better marked and that's my big pet peeve. Having never played the course before I had some difficulty navigating it. There was a spot about midway through the course where we just kind of had to wander around the area looking at tee pads and baskets until we figured out the layout. We never found the last hole and I still have no clue where it is. If this course were better marked it would be much easier to play and without the navigational worries, it would be even more fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful disc golf, could only get so much better easily

1    11/8/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 232  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the one that made me want more on my trip to the area. I loved it and played it twice. While I love challenge I don't necessarily crave the distance that Gold level courses bring into the mix, so this Blue level course was just what I needed with a great mix of shot selection required due to the varying hole types and unique terrain.
The area is beautiful with great site work and landscaping done in part because it was an old ball golf course. Now the disc golf course reaps the benefits of that previous work, but also gets to dive into the unique wooded ravines and valleys that surround the manicured fairways.
The variety and balance here was outstanding. From tight woods, to wide open rippers, to downhill bombers, water hazard, elevation, and valley edge to valley edge touch shots, this course has great variety for 18 holes. Some longer wooded holes and eliminating the throwaway #6 would make it even better.
The signs were great with a good depiction of the hole and accurate distance.
There were indeed some memorable holes. I wanted to jot down and describe more than 75% of them! #1 has a nice fast green and some terraced fairway landscaping in a great wooded valley. #2 is stunning beauty of a hole. A fairly long downhill wooded valley with scattered trees to shape your drive. Then punch out to the pin in the open but very near a stormwater drain ditch for some risk. #3 is picturesque and over a pond off the tee. Not a simple over the pond shot either. #4 and #13 offer the wide open 400'+ ripper hole. #5 is a beautifully framed and elevated tee and green from a former par 3 bolf hole - makes a great disc golf hole. #10 is a great uphill wooded hyzer (RHBH) with a pin near the edge of a ridge for some risk. #14 is a rolling valley with great elevation (50-75') throwing downhill to a pin hidden behind a lone giant tree. This is your downhill bomber hole. #14 is a downhill touch shot. 75' elevation change to a pin on the edge of a raised green with severe threat of blowing past it and winding up another 30-40' below the pin with no view on your upshot (here is an example where an alternate pin way down below in that valley would offer a GREAT option to crush a drive downhill). #16 and 17 are those excellent valley edge to valley edge wooded holes than I love so much where you throw from an elevated tee, over a gully, and up to the pin on a risky rollaway slope. #18 is a beautifully framed hole with some manmade fields and tennis courts as possible OB. You throw uphill and try to thread in between a few major trees to a pin perched on a good slope that loves to skip your disc away if you can even make the s-curve drive.
Cons: Only one pin placement (although I saw a few alternate sleeves on various holes). Having a second pin placement on many holes would showcase much more of the unique and beautiful terrain, offer some more needed distance, introduce some risky greens, and add needed variety in skill/challenge.
Only one tee on many of the holes. A second set of tees would really wake up the variety and skill challenge throughout this course. The best option might be to leave the current tees as a white level tee and install shorter red level tees and some even longer blue level tees. Plus, there seemed to be older style and shorter concrete pads for holes 3, 4, 5, and 6.
I think there was wasted potential on the walk between #5 and 6, and not incorporating the wooded ravine and the bridge. But my opinion is that I like manmade obstacles incorporated into the design. This wooded potential is even more squandered because #6 is just a wide open throwaway hole.
Hole #2 had no tee sign but it was probably due to the recent redesign.
Despite the clean and beautiful setting, there is some annoying road and traffic noise on holes 4-9.
Baskets were old style DISCatchers modified with an inner layer of overlapping chains. They caught fine. They had numbers on them that didn't match the hole at all.
While the setting was beautiful, it was not secluded. Lots of road noise, private residences, and college activity all around.
Other Thoughts: I was never torn on this rating. The fun, unique, and beautiful terrain and the well balanced variety in design was screaming high rating after playing a third of the round and things just kept getting better. This course is a solid 4.0. Lack of multiple tees throughout and multiple pin placements keeps it from being more. Also, lacking good par 4 holes, longer wooded holes, and having a throwaway hole #7 will keep the rating down. The redesign on hole #2 is becoming a thing of beauty, and it looks like commitment to the course is strong. Installing some more option for skill/challenge would be ideal. Add longer tees, and add riskier alternate pin placements. Although with the challenge of Leigh Farm, this course will fill a great par 3 niche in the area with its setting, terrain, balance, and variety.
I'd say this is a Blue level course. When you have the option, the longer tees fit the bill of a blue level skill course. I never play as well my first time through a course, but this course did challenge me on almost every shot. A few excellent drives and LONG putts kept me in the game.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 NH_UNC_102210

1    10/22/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: New Hampster DG
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well mixed with open, wooded, easy and difficult holes. Can be very difficult or laid back. In a well kept area, course is well maintained.
Cons: No signage. We missed two holes because we did not know where to go. Some simple updates make this a great place to play. A sign in the parking lot pointing to tee #1 would have been nice also, we started on hole 5...
Other Thoughts: We went with a group of beginners and experienced players' everyone had fun. Awesome terrain overall, just needs some up-keep for non-regular players navigation.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Area

5+    10/9/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: southgrooves
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the campus of UNC-Chapel Hill. Well groomed course, very clean. Grass is always mowed and there are trash cans at most tee boxes. Benches at every hole.

The best layout in the area, by far. Built around the Old Finley Golf Course on campus, there are everything from epic bombs to tight technical shots. Water in play on #3 is more of a distraction, but the pond will eat plastic. Distance and accuracy are both required to score well. Long layout has 650'+ bombs (#4) and 200' technical shots (#16, #17). Use of elevation and the existing ball golf course are phenomenal. Very picturesque.

Signage is pretty good, hole #, distance and diagram for all, although the baskets move every now and then on some holes and that isn't always reflected.

The Carolina Disc Golf Club of UNC-Chapel Hill also do a lot of work and upkeep on the course. It's always in great shape.
Cons: Parking - the only place to park during most hours is behind the Admin building on Raleigh Rd, near #8 and #9. All Permit Required lots are monitored. Hole #1 is near the Outdoor Ed Center lot, down the hill and to the left.

Not the easiest to navigate your first time out. The tee signs are good but some of the "next hole" directions are kinda vague. From #5's basket head to your right down the path and then fork left. Go under stone bridge and #6 will be in front of you on your left. From #18's basket, head right down the right hand side of the upper tennis courts, #1 is just past the big sign in front of you.

Some of the baskets are mis-numbered and in bad shape so it can be confusing for first timers. However, there are only a couple places where you can see two baskets from the tee, and the signage at the box is pretty explicit as to which is which.

The field that holes #6-#8 play around gets very wet and muddy after rain.

Restrooms and water at the Ed Center, but course is one long loop so no mid-round trips to the car.
Other Thoughts: Course can get crowded, but that's just a testament to it's design and reputation. A must play if you're in the Triangle area.

Best Hole - #14, 410' bomb over a huge valley. Too much fade either direction and you can end up off the fairway and scrambling for par.

Most Fun Hole - #5, 371'/444' One of the old golf holes, plays from an elevated tee box over a dry, overgrown, creek bed to a basket tucked back in the middle of the old green. RHBH hyzer bombs...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 UNC disc golf amongst best in area

5+    12/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course with a wide variety of necessary shots. It has big holes for big arms including a 666' monster on #4. Also has short finesse shots through the woods. Nice elevation changes as well. Great excercise to play the full 18 because of all the hills. The 13th is an absolutely brutal uphill par 3 at about 450' with a narrow landing area from the tee pad.This course requires an all around game to score low. Course is very well maintained and is constantly being altered.
Cons: Impossible to play only 9 holes because neither the back nor the front loop back to the same parking lot. Parking is tough during the week as there really isn't any place that you can park without at least the threat of a ticket. Forget trying to park on Saturday home football games.
Other Thoughts: This course does not contain very many "chuck it and pray" type holes that are so wooded there isn't a clear path. A must play when in Chapel Hill area!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.