Chapel Hill, NC 
UNC DGC Share
Uploaded By: KenanFlagler01 Hole #10 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 A Course to Keep You on Your Heelz

1    2/27/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: Jager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific variety. Long shots over rolling hills. Short shots through tight woods. Water holes, and holes were if you over shoot, or pull your disc you will be screwed. Most holes have very discriptive maps. Great surroundings.
Cons: Basket placement is decent, but most baskets are labeled incorrectly causing confusion to first time golfers. Holes 1 and 2 were missing maps, and the two Tees around the pond were verry confusing to determine what to shoot at, and what hole you were playing. Unexpected hike after hole 5. I would have been lost if it weren't for other people playing. This course was obviosly rearranged, but the baskets have not been updated.
Other Thoughts: Starting at hole 9 there are tight heavily wooded shots for a couple holes. They are not very long, but if you find yourself off of the narrow fairway you will be in trouble. Then the holes open up into wide open rolling hills. Rear back and watch the discs soar. 15 ends the wide open at the edge of a steep hill. 16 and 17 are back in the woods with tight precision. The front nine got a little confusing 1 and 2 had no maps, but are laid out well. 3 is a beautiful hole over a pond. But the map was labeled wrong. The rest of the holes are pretty open till you get back to 7 with some more woods, then ending on 8 with a great open shot ending in a cove surrounded by water.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great but crowded

5+    12/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 42  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the other reviews have it covered. Good variety of holes, easy to navigate, some memorable shots, discatcher baskets. And the pond on the water hole actually has water in it again!
Cons: This course has had a lot of people on it every time I've played, especially when school is in session. Only 2 holes have an alt tee. Numbering is kind of weird because of the new first two. Very thick brush in the rough of a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Park by hole 8 and start on 8 or 9. There is a practice basket there and you won't waste time and energy walking up and down the hill to hole 1 and from 18. Online scorecard is wrong- a new 1&2 were added, which is made up by combining the old 3&4 into new #4 and renumbering the old 2 to 3.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course is Sick

1    11/12/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course one of the best in the state, and that is coming from a NC State Fan. Halton Smith has done some great things with the club and course and has it in prime shape for the Tarheel Tournament every year. Two new #1#2 holes have helped this course out, and I absoultely love the valley hole, as it is one of the best throws/holes in the state.
Cons: This course has it all and I have no complaints.
Other Thoughts: They have a great course and if you are in the area this is a most play. Google UNC Disc Golf to find out about when they hold weekly events.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: Mando
Played: 116  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety. Offers a really nice mix of wooded holes followed by interesting open ball golf holes back into woods then open again back into woods.
Has surprising amount of elevation change. The wooded holes are much tighter than most courses, but I loved the challenge.
Very active local club works hard to continually improve course.
Cons: The only "ugly" hole on the course is 18 which plays between two chain link fences. Beware of copperheads !
Other Thoughts: The new holes on 1 & 2 are major upgrades and make this course a must-play in NC. I think you could play alot of rounds at UNC without ever getting bored with the layout. 666 feet is a bit long for a par 3. Is there a better disc golf course on a college campus ?

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Medium/Short Course

1    10/25/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: Justin L
Played: 50  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.5 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, good variety of shots, well maintained. Overall a very enjoyable course.
Cons: A few "huck and pray" holes, no discernible lines for an Intermediate to Advanced player anyway. A little short in places for anyone that can throw over 350'.
Other Thoughts: With a little more thought to some of the lines on the shorter holes this could be a top notch course.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My all time favorite course so far

2-4    9/24/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: kunipshunfit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course offers quite a bit of value. Control shots and wide open fairways! My absolute favorite hole for opening up your arm and letting your disc fly is #14! Downhill and the pin is slightly to the left behind a big tree!

If I lived closer I'd play this course every day!
Cons: ***UPDATE 1/19/2008****
I have to say, they really need to put up some sort of schedule when the people working on the ZIP line are going to be using it. When this happens they 'close' holes 3 and 4. This is really a pain in the butt! The last 2 times i've gone to play this course, they have had it closed for some sort of zip line activity.

I completely understand that this course is a shared course, but some sort of schedule would be nice - I would not bother driving the 40 minutes out there if I was going to miss 2 of my favorite holes. (Dropped rating from 4.5 to 4 as such).
--------------------------------------

More rocky than expected, this is a pretty good mix of rocky/freshly clipped grass. All in all not to bad, it just happened to have more hills and quite a bit rougher terrain than I was expecting.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It's a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the first tee box, but once you find that, everything else is very clearly marked. The first time I played it I had a friend that knew the course, but feel comfortable that even without him the course was easy to navigate.

Watch out for THE BEAST! 666ft is a haul! :)

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good

2-4    7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 36.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is laid our nicely with wonderful tee signs. Once you find hole one (down the hill, past the tennis courts) you can make your way around the course with relative ease. There is a good mix of holes here. Some wooded and some open. There's plenty of opportunity to open up and throw hard. You also have to back down on many of the holes and be accurate. There is also a lot of topography.

The course has good tee pads and signs. Distances between the tees and pins are such that there you are always safe from stray discs from other holes. I don't remember any place where I thought I was in danger of being hit by a stray disc.

A round here is thoroughly enjoyable now that they have relocated the first few holes. This is definitely one of my favorite courses in the area.
Cons: I originally didn't like the first few holes of this course. They used to be quirky and not very good. The original 1-3 left a bad taste that effected my thoughts on the rest of the course but they have recently changed the first 3 holes and now it's hard to find Con's here. The course is really nice now.

The land for this course holds water so it will be a bit swampy after a rain. We played today and it hasn't rained for about a week but there were some swampy places on the course.
Other Thoughts: UNC has disc golf as a club sport. That's so cool that I'll up my rank for this course up a point. I'll definitely come back here often.

There is a better place to park that's near hole 8. The parking lot near hole 1 is not always available for people who are not students at UNC.


7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: the DK
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course features all types of holes: long wide open fields, into woods, out of woods, this place has something for everyone.
Cons: Bring a water bottle, lots of walking!
Other Thoughts: Great course, if it was closer I'd play it everyday!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in Chapel Hill

12/12/2007   12/13/2007
Review By: WAM9
Played: 84  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great disc golf course on an old ball golf course which is meticulously maintained. There is a very good mix of woods holes and obviously some really nice open "fairway" holes. A good variety of shots are required. Several holes over 400ft that you can really throw hard on as well as some shorter tighter technical shots. Very good conversion from a ball golf course. Most holes are secluded from one another. No shared fairways. I highly recommend checking this course out.
Cons: A couple of holes seem to get pretty wet after a rain especially #4 and #6. Other drainage is very good.
There is a pond #2 throws over which is now dry. I understand they will be re-filling it in 2008.
Other Thoughts: This is the course nearest my home and I am lucky to have it. There are many beautiful holes but my favorite is #14. It's a big "valley" throw around 410ft which is very open and all closely mown grass. Gorgeous.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.