Rocky Face, GA 
Westside DGC Share
Uploaded By: rich30710 Hole #11 (Taken 5/2019)
3 / 442ft.   4 / 695ft.   4 / 695ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

2-4    10/7/2020   10/7/2020
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 327  Reviewed: 316  Exp: 24.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice 18-hole course in a beautiful and spacious public park. The rural park (not "city") gives it more of the out-in-nature experience. Land is dedicated 100% to disc golf as far as I could tell and the rest of the park consists of only a ball fields and a walking trail around a lake- none interfere with the course. Plenty of parking.

Has all the basics+ you would expect- large color map kiosk, lost disc drop, generous putting area with 3 baskets, large turf tees, benches, and 2 Prodigy baskets per hole (almost*)- blue is shorter, orange is longer- and large color tee signs containing all the info.**

The open grass fairways were mowed short, well-defined, clean and clear of trash and debris, and plenty wide to be fair. The woods holes were broken in so well- amazing for such a new course. Navigation was so easy without a map, super intuitive, paths are easy to follow, plus there are next tee signs to assist.

My favorite thing about this course was how it played- the holes, the design. A terrific mix of open and woods and going back and forth between the two. Wide variety of length. Combination of flat holes along with a few that play up or down quite a bit. Excellent mix and balance of straight, left, and right shots required. All that to say I used a lot of different discs and a variety of shot shapes (and I only played to the shorter baskets this time).

This course is challenging, yet fair, and has a decent amount of risk/reward. The rough will punish you by adding a stroke or two for sure, but there was always a way to avoid it. Accuracy is the most important thing to avoid Bogeys, and long accurate shots are the key to scoring low.
Cons: Nothing super epic- basket pyramid on 16 is somewhat unique, and the empty your bag tee shot on 11 is pretty fun. No water in play unless you find yourself deep in the woods on 16, but at that point the small creek is the least of your problems.

*I think the 2nd basket per hole is a huge plus, but why only for 15/18? I get only having only one for the pyramid hole 16, and a short for 13 could just be in the way unless just straight ahead, but it seemed strange to not have one on 17 just for consistency, since there is plenty of room for a blue basket to be shorter and/or more straighter ahead.

I was fine with #18 ending a bit away from the car since it is a good final hole So sure it would have been a bonus for it to come full circle if possible. But the better choice was made in not sacrificing quality over a little bit of convenience.

The fenced in hazard on one hole 1 could ruin your round before it got started if you lost a disc on your first shot. Baseball field fence in view on hole 2, but should not be a factor.

Like others have mentioned, off the fairway in the rough is punishing, but finding my discs weren't as bad as I had anticipated based on some reviews and the pics. I played 2 (not my A-game) rounds yet did not lose any discs. Oh, I had to look for a few, but it is not like there isn't plenty of room to not throw your discs in there in the first place.
Other Thoughts: **To add an update to previous reviews: the tee signs appear to have been updated to reflect the 2 baskets on each hole. The "original" basket is also labeled on the sign- making for 3 total standard layouts here- NICE!.

I have been looking forward to playing here for over a year now, and it did not disappoint. It is easily in the best course in a wide radius (to include Chattanooga). If I were driving between Nashville and Atlanta, this would be my go to stop for disc golf. Plus it is not too far off I-75.

This is a 4.0+ for me. Great golf in a nice setting that is enjoyable round after round. This is not quite "destination course" level, but it is one you should play while headed to your destination of say Hobbs Farm or IDGC. I had intended to sneak in one very early sunrise round on a family vacation, but I couldn't help myself and I played a 2nd round. I hope to come back and give it a go at the oranges.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Top Course at the Top of the State

1    8/29/2020   8/29/2020
Review By: Moose33
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2020
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had played with several people from this area recently and they said it was a must play on par with Hobbs Farm and Perkerson.

I was skeptical, but it definitely is one of the best north Georgia courses I've played.

When you pull up there are three practice baskets, two standard ones and a smaller marksman style basket if you are in the mood to hurt your self esteem.

On every hole there is a large turf teepad and really nice descriptive signs detailing the lines to both basket locations on each hole. I think only two holes share a basket.

The baskets themselves are Prodigy T3s and I have to say of the Prodigy baskets I've putted on these are among the best for whatever reason. The front set are blue and the longer ones are orange.

There are also benches on every hole which is always nice.

One big plus was on the hillside holes the platform appeared to be held up by concrete blocks instead of wood alone, which will be a great choice long term.

The design and construction on the course are both stars. The design is super thoughtful and the long tees actually add some interesting challenges instead of just adding length or changing the nature of the hole completely, which is something that bothers me at times.

The whole place is kept nice between the amount of people that are obviously playing it a ton and whomever maintains the holes themselves.

The mix of meadows and fields with high grass mixed with tight wooded holes and punishing elevation changes really make this a great place to challenge your game. I was just over par on my first attempt at the long tees and now that I know the lines could take 3-5 strokes off.
Cons: The only cons that I can think of are a few of the wooded holes are tighter that I would like to see on a course this long, and there were a few common elements like water missing.

Not really much to gripe about, this is a top flight course that will likely only keep getting better.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through the northern half of the state, you should stop and play this course. I would was down the 75 corridor it and Etowah are the ones you really need to hit.

This one reminds me a bit of Etowah but longer and a little less wild feeling. Like if you mix Etowah and Hobbs Farm.

Great play, great design, will be playing again.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Really a 4.25

2-4    3/7/2020   5/14/2020
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 127  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A stellar course with both beauty and challenge.

-Amenities: Good turf tees. Great baskets. Clear signage, though a little out-of-date on my last appearance. Multiple practice baskets.

-Maintenance: Quite good. Mowing, clearing debris, replacing mulch, and the like are happening.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: Very engaging. Doglegs left and right, plenty of par 4's, wooded and open lines, short and long holes, uphill and downhill, forehand and backhand, wide and thin fairways, light and heavy rough. Other than the lack of a water carry, I think Westside has it all, and the lines are all fair if difficult. Over-ambitious shots will get punished with rough, and smart shots will lead to good scores. It requires both skill and planning, as a good game should. The first time I played here I stepped up to each hole excited to see what kind of shot I'd be throwing next.

-Elevation: Good use of change (or a break from it) throughout, some holes steeply up and some opening downwards.

-Natural Beauty: This is a lovely property, showcasing what I'd call the understated pleasantness of non-mountainous North Georgia. The ambience is top-notch.

-Multi-Tees/Baskets: Only one tee per hole, but two baskets. Some of the orange (hard) baskets may require a different approach to the hole, while others seem a little pointless. Regardless, the feature allows players to adjust difficulty to their preferred level.
Cons:
-Brambles: Some of the rough is quite pokey.

-Drainage: It seems that it gets a bit marshy around at least (2), (13), and (17).

-Difficulty: Not for beginners and novices. Holes are either too long or too wooded.

-Lost Potential: wellsbranch says it well in his review. Interestingly, I thought the same thing about the other course by this designer I've reviewed…
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to give Westside a 4.5. However, there are too many average holes--straight shots or short, woods shots--on the course for me to in good conscience call it "Phenomenal". However, I love playing at Westside, I think it rates above any Atlanta metro courses, and it is well worth a stop from folks living in the region.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 amazing

1    11/22/2019   11/22/2019
Review By: Trav27
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Awesome layout perfect mix of long and short shots. The course is very well maintained. The layout of the course put a true test to all of your shots it's a true challenge for even your mediocre player, but still fun to play at the same time

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Miracle Course

5+    9/6/2019   9/13/2019
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 322  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked a few miles west of Rocky Face Mountain, the Westside Park is a hidden gem in Northwest Georgia. Already home to The Miracle Field (a handicapped-accessible, cushioned and synthetic baseball field you'll see on your left when entering the park), this park can now boast another apparent miracle: the best disc golf course around for miles.

When considering the attributes that make for a great course, one characteristic stands out for me: A top-notch course must offer a wide diversity of holes. That means a course design with short and long holes; open and wooded holes; easy and difficult holes; uphill, downhill and flat holes; as well as a number of non-straight holes.

Well, Westside DGC has all those bases covered.

In addition, Westside offers some fantastic amenities. Right near the first teepad is an awesome practice area with two orange Prodigy baskets and one green Prodigy Strikezone target. Each hole includes a nice wooded bench, a metal sign with a durable map of the hole, and excellent turf teepads. It seems little cost was spared in ensuring that this course would be professional in appearance.

Not only are the holes well-designed, but the diversity is woven throughout the course. There's no stretch where several of the holes seem similar. For example, Holes #11 through #13 are all par-4s, but they're very different, as Hole #11 is wide open and downhill, Hole #12 features a narrow, twisting uphill fairway that concludes with a steep hill, and Hole #13 includes lots of trees and a downhill, 90-degree angle turn. The course starts with three fairly open holes, allowing time for warming up. I appreciate courses that don't force navigating a tree-packed fairway immediately. But the next three holes feature a lot more timber, so be prepared.

On the holes with significantly different basket locations, the short baskets (blue) are well-situated to provide the Westside experience without the same level of difficulty.

Aesthetically, this is the nicest course in the area. The view from several of the teepads is fantastic (check out the DGCR photos!), plus every time I've played this course, the grass was mowed recently and the course conditions were outstanding.

The "traversability" of the course is good overall, though a little tough on several holes. The wooded holes still feature the remnants of ground-up timber, but this will likely improve with time. Also, the rough off the fairway on a few holes is very challenging and might force "pitch-outs" in spots. Navigation appears straight forward from hole to hole with several "Next Tee" signs aiding first-time visitors.
Cons: The most frustrating aspect of Westside's design is that the second basket was definitely an afterthought. For some holes, this isn't a problem, and the difference in direction and distance (and sometimes par) adds variety to the course. But for several holes, the lack of preliminary planning yields a line to the second basket that runs right by (or through!) the first basket. On a few holes, it's possible to land your disc in a spot that's less than 25 feet from each basket, which is far from ideal.

Since the signs were created before the addition of a second basket, the signs are no longer accurate. However, the distances on DGCR have been updated to reflect both baskets.

Holes #6 and #14 are fairly similar in design - both in the 160- to 210-foot range with the short basket about 40 feet in front of the long basket. However, don't be fooled by the distance; because of the tight lines and arduous rough, bogies are likely on these two holes if your drive departs from the fairway.

The walk back to the starting point after Hole #18 takes a couple minutes.
Other Thoughts: I vacillated between giving this gorgeous course a 4.0 or 4.5. In the end, I decided on the higher rating for three very unscientific reasons: One, Westside is better than the courses I've rated 4.0. Two, it's a 30-minute drive from my house. And three, I really, really, really like this course. Due to its excellent variety, fantastic amenities and enjoyable design, Westside DGC crushes the Chattanooga competition and earns its 4.5 rating.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course Close to Home!

1    9/7/2019   9/9/2019
Review By: RANDYP2003
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with both open fields and wooded hole attempts! Nicely manicured with great quality baskets and grass carpeted pads! It's located in a beautiful park with additional amenities to enjoy!
Cons: I'm not a fan of some of the branching trees, I had to fish my disc out of multiple tree branches.
Other Thoughts: Overall, an Excellent Course with a top-notch design and layout!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course done right

2-4    9/4/2019   9/5/2019
Review By: Dingus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a wonderful course, and despite being brand new it is actually very well finished. Fairways are level and mowed, rough is well kept, and not a ton of stumps are sticking out to break your toes.

The best part about it is the feeling of "professional" quality. All the baskets are top notch and level. These are the best astroturf pads I have ever played on. The course plays quickly and easily, and there are no places where the fairways intersect. Overall it was very well designed save for a few gripes below.

I liked the variety of shots. There are only a couple straight up bomber holes, and even those have an element other than distance. The dogleg holes were well done, with the second shot requiring some thought.

I played this course driving from Nashville to Atlanta. I liked it so much I played it again on my way home. I liked it even better the second time :)
Cons: The cons are nit picky.

- On multiple holes the short basket is directly in the desired flight path for the long basket. I truly hate it when a short basket acts as a hazard.

- Signs are not accurate. I will say that they are better than most inaccurate signs; while the baskets may be wrong, they mark out fairway features with distances very well.

- The easy holes are easy, and the few difficult holes are VERY hard. One hole in particular was overly difficult IMO; uphill tunnel shot to a dogleg to a steep uphill. I took a snowman one round with three pitch outs. Then there are holes like 16 which are inexplicably easy and bland. The change in difficulty from one hole to the next is a little jarring the first time through.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to give this course a 4.5, but went down to 4 because of the difficulty. I wish that they would have made all holes play a consistent difficulty level above where they were, except the 2 holes of extreme difficulty which I would want lowered. My two rounds both played at a breezy pace and I truly enjoyed playing, but I don't really feel like it tested my abilities.

That being said, if you can't nail C1 from inside 250' consistently you may be in for a tough time. I could see the curve being drastic from INT to ADV level players.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Money Money Money… Money

1    8/20/2019   9/4/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 479  Reviewed: 457  Exp: 7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.168 Rating) A destination course with a lot of splendid lines.
- RAW BEAUTY - Westside is cut threw some of the best disc course terrain I've ever seen. Big slopping contours, thick heavy woods and a little creek... that sadly wasn't used. For those in the Chattanooga metro area, it would be as though The Sinks all of a sudden found an 80 foot ridge within the park. Overall, I scored the beauty right up there with some other beautiful Georgia courses like Hobbs, Mulberry and Etowah, but behind Lula and Steady Ed. That stated, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.
- UNIQUENESS - Excellent and has the potential to be phenomenal. Lots of elevation movement through-out the course. There are big bomb opportunities and shot shaping needle line throws. Lots of par 4s, of which two are 90 degree placement benders. One goes left and the other goes right. Although not marked yet, hole (12s) long placement has got to be a par 5. Its probably only 600 feet long, but it plays like 800 due to it rising up 60 feet in elevation and it's also got two subtle doglegs. The only missing element on this course is water.
- CHALLENGING - Westwide requires a wonderful mix of power, finesse and smart game-play. I'm about a 920 rated player (Intermediate) and I threw +3 on a mix of front and back basket locations. I recently read after my play that they added an additional 16 baskets so that now most holes have two permanent options. Playing the longest configuration is a no doubt Advanced level course where there 950s will struggle to stay pace with par. The short to short configuration I would expect to be Intermediate level. Skilled players that enjoy demanding layouts will likely love this course.
- CHARACTER - A boatload of money was dropped on this course. Top of line baskets. Big turf tees with excellent stone and timber terracing to level and raise the surfaces from run-off. As stated, 16 holes have two permanent baskets, although the location of the pair will be problematic on some holes due to the short separation and the ideal incoming angle of attack. Also benches on every hole and great tee shading. The biggest missing thing here is multiple tees. I personally would have rather had two tees over two baskets.
- NAVIGATION - Appealing course map and tee signage showing everything you could have ever wanted except for the first con noted below. There are also navigational cues between a few of the longer transitions. I had no issue getting around.

Cons: Only a couple minor complaints and preferential issues
- SIGNS INSTALLED TOO SOON - Again awesome detailed tee signs and course map that look very expensive. Unfortunately they are all already outdated cause they added baskets.
- SAFETY HAZARD - Overall really great spacing. One minor adjacency issue on (2) with the ball field fence and shed on the right.
- FORGIVENESS - Missing a shot early and having a bad ricochet where there's slope, could be horrifying to retrieve. The odds of losing a disc will be possible for those not willing to look for a half hour. there's a marshy areas behind (1) and along (3s) right side. The overgrowth is heavy along some of the sun bleached edges. The course requires veteran skills to not come away defeated.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This is not a beginners course. You probably need to be at least an 850 level Recreational player to enjoy it. Perhaps masochists south of the 850 level will like the abuse the course can dish out.
- TERRAIN - The terrain is similar to that of Lula and Etowah. Undulating terrain with a few rocks and protruding roots. Those with walking impairments should avoid playing here. The course is somewhat cart friendly.
- PARKING - Hole (18s) long placement is a 700 foot walk back to the parking area.
- TIME PLAY - An hour and 35 minutes for my two-some. I figure 75 minutes for a solo course bagger.

Other Thoughts: Loved it. Epic land, a beautiful landscape and zen like feel. It's as if Lula and Etowah had a quickie in Dalton and left the baby to grow up on the west side of town. If the metropolitan area of Chattanooga can claim the Dalton area, this is now the top dog in the region, far supplanting The Sinks. For those of you who have been considering going back to the Chattanooga area due to the unwarranted glowing reviews of Dallas Island. Skip that one and come here instead. This is what a destination course looks like. Despite all my gushing praise, this landscape could have delivered a 4.5 course with an experienced designer's eyes. See below.
- DESIGN - There are some really great design aspects with Westside DGC, but also some boneheaded mistakes. I'll start with the good. The lines presented match plausible flight patterns extremely well. When you hit some of the tougher lines, it's both satisfying and exhilarating. The course requires a full arsenal of shots types as well as some needle line precision and some substantial power. Shot planning and course management is key on many holes. On the flipside however, there are some rookie mistakes. Ending the course 700 feet from tee (1)? Did they get to hole (17) and realize they miscounted? Loads of available epic terrain and hole (2s) far placement is located next to a shed. Why? There is a tree slumping over tee pad on (11) that effects the run-up footwork. There's a perfect sized creek that looks too shallow to lose a disc, but also large enough to register in thought process. The creeks usage was mostly ignored, and it only comes into play on fringe mistakes. As noted in my pros, beautiful well-designed expensive tee signage and course map, yet being only five months old, it's already outdated due to the new basket placements. The alternate basket placements on several holes are essentially the same shot, requiring the same angle of attack, but adding or subtracting 25 feet. Why even spend the money to dig another pole hole for almost no added value to the course? Despite the massive money dropped on this course, there is only one set of tees. Modern well-funded and well-designed courses need to have two sets of tees, anything of the contrary is a sign poor leadership and a misuse of funds. I'm not sure how much the Whitfield County Parks invested into this project, but if they are the main contributor, they deserved more than this. A talented designer like Houck, Hosfeld, or Kennedy, would have delivered a 4.5 course. Why they picked to have a busy talented touring pro design this, is questionable. I wonder how much involvement he actually had. A landscape and budget like this, requires full attention and some patience. Any average designer with this much epic land and this much money could have delivered a 4.0 rated course.
- 500 - This was the last stop of six course one-day roady with GMcAtee. This was his 500th course.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/23/2019   6/24/2019
Review By: greg4hand
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Who knew? In the middle of the woods in North Georgia that such a course could be built? Tell everyone you know!
Cons: ~Great variety in design... short and technical fairways, long open fairways, left and right doglegs, uphill and downhill.
~Teepads are excellent (big and astroturf covered)
~Park is well kept (mowed) with great parking and amenities
~Signs are excellent
~Benches at every teepad
Other Thoughts: -Still feels "new". Wooded fairways are a bit rough, but smoothed with lots of mulch and easy to walk.
-Easy to miss a turn finding it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.