Hammond, OR 
Columbia Shore DGC Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #13 (Taken 8/2020)
3 / 339ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Some Great Views of The Columbia River At Fort Stevens State Park!

1    10/8/2020   10/17/2020
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They seem to be very inviting folks here at the state park. Upon paying your $5 entry fee, you're given a nice professionally colored course map for the front 9. The back 9 is currently a work in progress but very playable at this time (fall of 2020). The course starts right by the museum with parking on both sides. The baskets are DGC Mach X models which are mounted on these 500 lb. concrete pyramids. I don't foresee anyone stealing one of these babies. Most tee pads are rubber mats and the signs are laminated paper on wooden boards. Seven of the nine holes on the front 9 have both Long and Short tees. # 6 Long at 565' is the only par 4 on the front 9. There are lots of garbage cans, benches, a few next tee signs and some of the tee poles have clips to hang your bag on during the often-inclement weather here. The wind was blowing at a fairly steady rate.
The front 9 is mostly flat using trees, concrete bunkers and old buildings as obstacles. There is a sign at # 8 informing you that the back 9 is under construction at this time. The basket 9 is a little more interesting with a trio of nice downhills, some clever basket placements and # 16 being a legitimate par 5 at 1040'. 13 is a nice downhill at 340' and then, # 14 is the fort's "Top of the World" shot at 430'. 15 plays 205' into a copse of trees. # 17 presents a nice little challenge with one big branch hanging over affecting your tee off.
Cons: I'm not sure if I went to the correct station to pay my $5 but they then directed me to this other area where the course is. This was probably a mistake on my part and there is probably a better entry.

I think the wind might be a constant here.

Back 9 is not quite finished but it is being worked on.
Other Thoughts: With lots of interesting bunkers and buildings and great views of the mighty Columbia River, this course is more stimulating than most. The park's department seems intent on providing a pleasant disc golf experience. You run into park visitors all over but the course never seems to conflict with them. It was more like they were watching us with keen interest. I sometimes felt like the elk that another reviewer mentioned like, "Hey Mom! We were at the Fort Stevens today and I saw these strange people throwing these Frisbees at these funny steel cages."

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bunker Up

1    9/20/2020   10/11/2020
Review By: Marc55410
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with something for everyone. Not too hard, open, maintained with minimal rough. Interesting history adds "theme" to course. Expansion plans have been discussed and are awaiting funding.
Cons: Possibly the weather. I went on a overcast day in the upper 70's with 5 mph wind. I would get frustrated with gusts of wind, so it is kind of a conditional course unless you are a sadist.
Other Thoughts: I like the whole Ft. Stevens State Park. Camping, Lake / Swim, Jetty, Sand, Beaches, Cargo Ships navigating the channel. It's an area worth planning on spending a day or so.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

shooting discs around history

1    8/22/2020   8/25/2020
Review By: chevis
Played: 121  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 17.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +mach x baskets
+tee signs & benches
+shot variety: length, left/right, up/down, open/wooded, par4s & a 5
+good maintenance
+practice basket
+views of the river/ocean & ft. steven's history
+restroom
+long/short tees
Cons: -weather (it is the oregon coast)
-uneven rubber tees
-other people (state park)
-rough (stay on the fairway, right ;)
-1st time navigation (fine w/map)
-5$ (not really a con, worth it)
Other Thoughts: there are lots of cool historic structures to look at such as the tank-like turrets around 14s tee (see 14 basket to tee pic).
more open than most (western) nw courses.
prevalent onshore wind (bring those headwind drivers).
multiple pads/baskets, which is both a pro & con, cuz with more variety comes more confusion of where your playing (pay attention to the tee sign).
dry grass when i played (late summer).
when i see a 1000ft hole i get excited. hole 16 starts with an elevated tee above some shorter trees & curves left the whole way to the pin. i wanna play again cuz the wind put my drive right into the trees below the tee (btw tailwind forces a disc down). so a scramble roller out of the trees puts me on the other side of the fairway, where i find the thick rough (blackberries & fence). from there, i try a high sidearm that hits trees right in front of me, but at least now i'm in the middle of the fairway & can see a basket. a good drive puts me in putting distance, and i put it in for a 5. i start questioning the 1000ft as i'm walking to the next tee (longish walk) and as i round the corner there lies another basket. turns out i would have likely took a 7+ on the correct basket (2 baskets not shown on the laminated paper sign; back 9 still in development). i know i could get there in 5 if i just hit the 50ft wide fairway every time.
my 4.5 rating might be a little high for 3 reasons: i played on a nice sunny day (the oregon coast doesn't get a lot of them); rated with the assumption that the back 9 will get developed to mirror the front (multiple tees/baskets, rubber tees); the first reviews were for the first 9, before the full 18.
this course has short tees to appeal to the novice & long tees that will challenge the most experienced players. that said, it isn't the most challenging (w/o wind), but has a lot of fun shots. if the back 9 is developed to be like the front, it will beg to be played a second time (i already wanna play again to try some of the alts i didn't get to the 1 time i played, & also to execute the shots i failed).
if you have time, explore the rest of the park & learn all about ft steven's history. there are also lots of paved bike trails in the area & the ocean is just 4 miles west.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This course shines on the back 9

1    7/16/2020   7/19/2020
Review By: TurboDingus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where are you going to throw discs in the middle of a WWII base that was in a battle with a Japanese submarine?
Cons: gravel tees on the back 9, and not very easy to follow
Other Thoughts: Back 9 is still coming together, should be one of the best when its finalized.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cool place to play

1    6/19/2020   6/19/2020
Review By: JKeyser
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Love the course. You play through old bunkers on the old military base. It's a nice course in a cool setting.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Elk, Cannons and Baskets

1    12/24/2019   12/26/2019
Review By: royvin
Played: 115  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the surroundings
-nice course map at hole 1
-posts at each tee pad showing hole number, distance, par
-good baskets with hole number on band. The poles are cemented in what appears to be military quality bases that would be able to withstand a war.
-long and short tees available at just about every hole
-nice variety of forehand and backhand lines
-good course for beginners and intermediate players and I think pros would even enjoy it
-benches and trash cans at several tee pads
-well maintained
Cons: -not much for elevation change
-rubber tee pads are a little slick when wet
-probably gets quite windy
Other Thoughts: Very fortunate to have played here at Fort Stevens!
The course itself is slightly above average, but the fact that we saw dear, elk, forts, cannons, a military museum and the Columbia River made it quite memorable.
It is a fairly open course, but one is still forced to hit their lines to score well. I liked that the basket on hole 9 was on a mound- this made for a fun ace run to finish out.
The park employee in the museum told us plans are already in development to expand the course and a bunch more baskets have already been acquired!
One final note is they have a brand new rack with a great selection of Fort Stevens stamped Innova discs.. and it sounds like Discraft discs are coming as well.
Looking forward to seeing what the future brings for this course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great little 9-hole course with awesome views

2-4    7/5/2019   7/7/2019
Review By: maseace
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really well-implemented new course. Tee pads are great and are made up of some existing concrete/asphalt, with rubber pads on the rest. All pads have nice color metal signs and most even have brooms for a nice touch. Great signage for navigation. Fairways are well mowed and brush trimmed back. Great use of obstacles on the property, mainly old concrete military bunkers, shelters, and remnants of old buildings. Property has sweeping views of the Columbia river and Fort Stevens. The gate attendant handed out course maps and a pencil. The military museum has a lost and found and some logo discs for sale. Great course for families and beginners! This course and the nearby Lower Columbia DGC in Astoria are two of the best 9-hole courses I've played.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: An elk walked out near us on the 4th hole fairway - very cool!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.