Piedmont, SC 
Hurricane Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: Biscuits Hole #3
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Playing in a Hurricane

1    2/4/2020   2/13/2020
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 333  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 15.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hurricane Springs is a short, fun, aggressive layout. There are ace and birdie chances galore, while also posing enough punishment for bad shots that will create some interesting scorecards.
- First off, this course is begging players to be aggressive. There are very few holes that require players to take it safe and hope for par. That's not to say you won't find trouble, and some funky scores, if you throw bad shots.
- Mid-range game galore. Based on this site, the average hole length is 229 feet. Only 3 holes are longer than 300 feet. More on this later.
- Trees provide plenty of challenge and frustration. Way too many tee shots looked good out of my hand until smacking a (often hidden) tree. Now, I did also get two fortunate bounces resulting in birdies so take the good with the bad, I guess.
- Course is wooded. The only time you're throwing in the open are your tee shots on #2 & 10. With it being wooded, this course most likely plays different in summer vs winter with the whole leaf-thing.
- Plenty of birdie chances. Eight of the first nine holes are sub-250 feet. It is fun putting hole after hole. It's frustrating that they're long putts due to smacked trees. It's more frustrating writing 3 after 3 on short holes.
- Plenty of ace runs. Oh, did I not mention I recorded my ace on #16. Well, you can view it here, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7c7TCNMd8g. Once I saw the layout, I was actively trying for an ace. I'd come close on two other holes (#3 & 7). #16 is a short, 136-foot, straight-ahead, raised basket. A fun, go-for-broke layout.
Cons: Course is dirty and trash laden. It's about as bad as I've seen at any course. It's bad enough I'm surprised the strong local disc golf scene isn't more on top of the matter.
- Navigation needs to be a whole lot better. There's a cluster of holes in the central section of the course (holes #3 - 7 & 12 - 17) that play in the same general area. I walked to the wrong hole three times in this section because signage doesn't exist and there aren't defined fairways/walking paths. Simple things such as signs, arrows on baskets, and markers on tee signs greatly help players. I need to use the interactive course map on UDisc to point me in the correct direction several times.
- With the above tight layout, this may not be a fun course when it's packed. In that entire section of holes, I feel I'd need my head on a swivel the entire round watching for discs. I ended up on a different fairway after a disc bounced off a tree.
- What's up with the incorrect hole distances? Throughout the round, what's listed on the tee signs differs from the hole lengths on this site and UDisc. Sometimes the tee signs were correct; sometimes DGCR was. Sometimes it was easy to determine the correct length when the listed lengths varied by 50 - 75 feet. Sometimes the distance was only off 20 - 30 feet and that impacted my shots several times as they landed either 30 feet short or 30 feet long. Just keep in mind that the inconsistencies may cost you a stroke or 2 throughout your round.
- No benches or trashcans on the course. Trashcans, especially, are a must.
Other Thoughts: Hurricane Springs will be a fun, change of pace course once the major issues are addressed. It reminded me a lot of Renske (Charlotte) and some of the simpler layouts from Timmons.
- With trees on every single hole, players are going to have some crazy scoring separations from hole-to-hole and round-to-round. Holes you birdie (or ace) today may be holes you bogey (or worse) tomorrow. You could play two rounds back-to-back, get a lot of birdies each round, and never birdie the same hole twice. At the end of a round, it would not surprise me if a lot of players have scores ranging from 1 - 5.
- The little bit of elevation and water are used to perfection. If the creek is OB, that's going to add an even greater risk/reward element on several holes, especially on #5 & 6 and #15 & 16.
- One possible negative players make take away from this course is the overall lack of variety. I try to highlight some of the more fun, challenging, and/or signature layouts on courses. That's difficult here as hole after hole plays comparable.
- This is a perfect course for an ace race. You only need to shorten #10 and maybe 18, otherwise you're ready to go. Get a group of friends and play a Skins match or partners and you're going to see tons of great shots. You take the risk out of the equation and there are lots of rewards here.
- It's a fun layout now. It will be a great short-course layout once the problems are addressed. This will be the second best short course in the Upstate, behind Timmons, once it's finished.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hurricane is a Good Name

1    9/8/2019   9/9/2019
Review By: MadGame32
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee signs
-Actual football fake turf tee pads
-Hole 18 bench and approach is a great hole
-Nice baskets
Cons: -Trash everywhere
-Extremely tight in general
-Hole 1 basket is badly broken

Other Thoughts: To be fair, this is new course and it is obvious a lot of work has been done to get this in the ground. Thank you for getting this in. A lot of the issues I am going to bring up are solvable.

I have to rate courses as I find them, and I found this one in an unbelievable mess. There was trash absolutely everywhere. It is the nastiest course I have ever laid eyes on. Now, I am guessing a lot of it flows in after heavy rain since there is a recycling center in the parking lot as you enter. I bet the rain washes anything that is not in dumpsters right into the course. But still, there was a lot of old trash on the course as well. This is something that can be corrected with diligence and trash pickup days.

As for the course, it was way too tight for my tastes. I am guessing it was felt to be necessary with the short length, but these lines were stupid tight in most cases. It reminded me a lot of The Trails in Anderson which is mostly throw and hope.

I almost left after hole 10 because I was embarrassed to bring my daughter to such a dirty course right as she has decided to let me teach her the game, but we decided to finish. We continued on to find more and more unsightly garbage all over the course.

When we finally reached the last hole, I was pleasantly surprised. the last hole was a gem. Good length, appropriate tightness. Fair challenge. Whoever built the bench at the tee pad did a great job.

The issues at this course can be solved with a little more pruning as the course gets broken in and a little effort to go pick up trash. If I ever play there again, I plan to take a garbage bag to fill as I go. It does not help to complain about trash and do nothing about it, so if you decide to go, please take a trash bag with you as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course that's a bit rough around the edges

1    9/7/2019   9/8/2019
Review By: Biscuits
Played: 124  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a tight control course, which as of late has become a rarity. I greatly appreciate seeing this type of course being built again.

Because of how tight it is, it's not easy, despite the short fairways. This is where you come to work on your accuracy.

Ample and convenient parking.
Cons: Still a bit rough in some areas, terrain-wise.

Holes 8-11 seem poorly laid out, and finding 9 is a challenge in and of itself.

Desperately needs trash cans and benches.
Other Thoughts: If you're coming here looking to flex your arm and impress nobody with how far you can drive, you're in the wrong place, and there's plenty of other places in the Upstate where you can do just that.

With that caveat out there, this is an outstanding midrange course for the majority of disc golfers. Not everyone can bomb 350+. Not everyone can hit the line with >50% accuracy. It's that reality which makes this course really shine, and keeps it interesting for both beginners and intermediate players alike.

I commend the designer on the course as it is, and look forward to playing it again once the final polish has been applied.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Small Powerful Tyrant!

1    8/31/2019   9/1/2019
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 164  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Hurricane! He's short and he looks easy to knock out, but he's rough and jagged, tattooed, has a few missing teeth, and isn't afraid to fight you or lose more teeth. He can drink multiple double shots of fireball on a Friday night and feel nothing the coming morning. You won't want to get on his bad side. He's lived a rough life and isn't easy to take down. Even par would not be a bad score here. The fairways are tight and are shaped differently. He's looking rough, but might be a real stud later on. Course is very new, and is pretty good condition.

-Navigation isn't difficult once you get to the first hole. Right off the bat, you can tell that Hurricane is a hard hitter with rings on his fingers. First hole is through the woods and back out. The woods are tight and low the whole way, and full of teeth. It's a very difficult birdie, but isn't too hard of a par. The second hole is the most open aside from hole 10. It's a lefty/righty flick hole around a tree and slowly enters the woods. Course remains pretty consistent for the most part with a few unique holes.

-If you want to work on upshots in the woods, this course is perfect for that. Most holes are under 300'. I think only three are over 300', with hole 10 being the longest at 408'. The only open hole here. It's still relatively blind because the green is partly wooded and the drive is over some tall grass. But this hole is your best chance to rip a driver without hitting a tree. Hurricane knows how to open up sometimes. In a way without fighting or breaking stuff.

-Some decent elevation. #11-#13 utilize it the best. Holes 11 and 12 are both nicely downhill. Once #11 is clearly out a little better, it'll be a great right to left ace run. #12 is very tight too off the pad, but is less difficult. #13 is a flip up ace run thats back up the hill where you could catch a bad roller. I birdied, and it felt like a good one for a 166' hole. Another good attribute would be that there is a basket on a tree stump. There's a good guy under all that abrasiveness. He shows some promise, and wants to interest people.

-Hole 8 is a great hallway shot. It's a long one, I think it's 326'. Tight but fair fairway. The woods are pretty rough, but aren't impossible to play from. The line to get to the basket is clear, but it'll take a clean shot with a stable disc.

-Turf pads and nice tee signs with diagrams. Works out well for me.

-10 is over the field, but there is an alternate pad so that you probably won't have to skip the hole. Brilliant way to accommodate to disc golfers and the crowds if there is a game going on. You'll probably have this place to yourself if you play on the weekends.
Cons: -A few holes here are a scanty mess as of now. Hole 7 looks about as rough as a grunge musician lost in a scrub forest that hasn't showered in weeks. Hole 9 is a bad hole as of now. You have a small gap to throw through and then this hole turns into a "do whatever you can to have a look at par". There's no line at all, and the basket is right past an enormous quantity of skinny trees. It's almost freaky looking. Hole is only 149' but is nearly impossible to 2 without luck. The rough is very sketchy here and there. It's thorny, it's thick, and it's messy. Hurricane is greasy and dirty.

-A bit crammed in. Many fairways are very close to each other. It almost looks like a mini golf course. First basket by the parking lot that I saw was #18, and was a bit confused because I saw many more baskets in the woods without turning my head. The first hole's pad is to the right of #18 in the open.

-It has some fun and well thought out holes. But there isn't much variety here. Course is pretty predictable with a low shock value. If you want to play a legit tournament course, then go to Grand Central Station.

-#16. This hole is silly. 136' and dead straight onto a tree stump basket. Nice basket location, but pretty corny all together. Very short and easy hole that tries to make up for it with a stump green. Make it longer, and this hole will be much better and less far fetched.
Other Thoughts: -If you like short courses with a bite to them. You'll most likely enjoy this course. It was designed for you. If you like long challenging courses in the woods, then this place is still good for you. It demands some serious shot shaping skills and will enhance your upshot game. These fairways are tight and intimidating, but pros could shot far under par here if everything goes well. If something goes wrong, then you will pay.

-For the space used, this is a good course. It's not my favorite type of course, but I've enjoyed higher rated courses less than I enjoyed Hurricane. It's pretty good. Hopefully will be carved out a little more at some point. Because it's pretty messy in some spots. But it's worth it. Work on those upshots and your rating could increase significantly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.