Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #16 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
One of my favorites

5+    5/5/2019   5/13/2019
Review By: thumber_guy
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous woods course, well established paths, excellent course maintenance, lots of parking, and fun! A great precision course.
Cons: Beginners could get frustrated as there are a lot of trees to hit, but the distances are manageable for most everyone.
Other Thoughts:
Hole 1: uphill, left to right
white tee: tough but doable, one of the tougher 3s on the course
blue tee: about 80 feet longer with an uphill tunnel shot required off the tee. For rec it's really a par 4.

Hole 2: downhill, very slight right to left line, creek around green
white tee: tight shot, will usually require a 20+ foot putt for the bird
blue tee: mostly the same, just about 40 feet longer

Hole 3: from plateau to plateau, so "level" despite the down and up to get there. Left to right
white tee: trees 20 feet in front of the tee create a challenge, but get past that with a good shot and birdie is within reach
blue tee: same distance, just a slightly different angle that makes the tee shot a little harder

Hole 4: downhill, left to right
white tee: perfect for a thumber. The tee pad and fairway position makes a really difficult shot for right-handers, not enough room to forehand and super tight hyzer backhand
blue tee: 30 feet longer and offset left, actually be easier to use the fairway than from the white

Hole 5: short downhill, left to right
white tee: just a decent forehand will likely give you a chance at birdie
blue tee: a little tighter line, same distance, likely birdie

Hole 6: mostly level (up and down again with creek at bottom), slight right to left
white tee: straight shot
blue tee: a little more R to L

Hole 7: uphill, right to left with mando, fence on right side is OB
white tee: only about 100 feet to the mando tree on the left side, then 60 feet slightly down to basket. Few birdies here
blue tee: about 150 feet to mando tree, for advanced players it is probably an easier shot with a more natural disc flight

hole 8: downhill, right to left, creek behind basket
white tee: big, high, sweeping R to L backhand needed
blue tee: slightly longer, slightly offset to the right

hole 9: mostly level, recently fallen trees half-cleared
white tee: right to left, pretty simple backhand line
blue tee: straight tunnel shot, about 40 feet longer, difficult shot

hole 10: level, straight
white tee: straight line shot, also a difficult but possible forehand/thumber route on left side
blue tee: same shot, just 30 feet longer

hole 11: uphill, left to right
white tee: plays close to 300 due to height, very tough deuce
blue tee: same distance, but offset tee to right makes angle even tighter

Hole 12: mostly level (up and down again with creek at bottom)
white tee: straight shot
blue tee: a little higher up and 40 feet longer

Hole 13: completely different depending on tee
white tee: straight, downhill, short. Several narrow alleys.
blue tee: walk past the white tee down the path and across the stream. Narrow, mostly level, sharp left to right

Hole 14: uphill, slightly left to right, only one tee
I've aced this one twice.

Hole 15: level, straight line or slight left to right
white tee: take your pick of line, plays longer than it looks as green is a little elevated
blue tee: significantly longer, but same lines

Hole 16: level, right to left
white tee: tough tee shot, miss the gap and you're looking at a 4.
blue tee: same line, 35 feet longer

Hole 17: downhill, only par 4 on the course, the pond to the right is OB
white tee: have to get it at least to the first oak to have a chance at par. Going down the left side is tough.
blue tee: the gap is easier to hit than it used to be, but the 100+ extra feet makes this really a rec par 5.

Hole 18: slight downhill, left to right
white tee: don't hit the little tree in the middle! Decent birdie opp.
blue tee: occasionally muddy, sharp left to right angle limits distance making it tough to get close.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring your Technical game for this one

1    5/15/2017   11/18/2017
Review By: pmay5
Played: 151  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two concreate tees on every hole. Good Discatchers, very nice to have those bright bands on this heavily wooded course.
Excellent tee signs with all the details, both tees, footage, par, layout and next tee.
Flows very well, crossing the small stream or playing along side it on many holes. Including the inevitable elevation changes across the stream.
Very tight, precision course, not long, but it doesn't have to be, to be a challenge.
This course requires just about every shot you have, including short hyzer and anhyzer holes.
Course has worn in very well, surprisingly easy to find your disc in the rough.
The back nine lengthens a little, leaving the woods to finish with the par 4 17th and a mostly open 18.
Cons: Some lines were a challenge to hit, its probably just me, but several seemed unduly tight.
Really no others to think of.
Other Thoughts: WOW! If someone was trying to design two completely different courses, in the same park, which adjoin each other, this and Cedarock would be excellent examples.
Distance, foliage and elevation, three things used to describe a course, couldn't be more different between these two.
The smallish tee pads at Wellspring aren't much of a problem because most of the holes are so short.
You really need precise drives here, especially on the front nine, most of those are standalone holes, so the rough is not as beaten down. On the back nine, several holes are side-by-side, so you get a little friendly, neighborly clearing.
#15 is a fun, right turning hole, #17 is open, but the large single tree in the middle of the fairway has to be avoided, then #18 has been toughen up a bit, with the basket set in the trees down the right side of the fairway, an open, well placed drive is needed here.
Even though the courses start from different parts of Cedarock Park, they come together at one spot, #15 of Wellspring and #9 of Cedarock. I couldn't resist the temptation to hop over to CR and play one of my favorite holes of all time, #10, the Porthole hole. (The drive is through a round opening in the trees, a Porthole.)
If you wanted to get both courses in, in one visit, jump between courses there and play the Figure 8.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, wooded, fun

1    5/30/2016   5/30/2016
Review By: Pymm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Benches and good signage.
Good use of terrain and elevation changes.
Quite a few ace/birdie opportunities if you can hit a line and maybe get a little luck. I had a 6 foot birdie putt on #9 after a fairly big hyzer through the trees. You will need to be accurate off the tee, though, and command a forehand, anny, and hyzer.
Hardly a level basket placement in the bunch. You really have to consider whether that 35 footer for birdie is worth it because a skip or rollaway can cost you greatly here. Makes for some tense moments.
Not crowded.
No ticks!!!!
Great as the second 18 of a Cedar Rock/Wellspring day.
Cons: Some holes are kind of samey. We got to #12 and thought for a minute that we had already played it due to it's similarity to several others.
#17 and #18, while fun, don't feel like they belong in the same course. #1 through #16 are thematically cohesive in that they are tight, wooded,tests of accuracy. The final two are pretty wide open bombers. If these two holes were somewhere in the middle, they would be a great change of pace but having both at the finish makes them seem tacked on.
Short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course I will return to, especially on a day that I want to get in two rounds; one at Cedar Rock and one at Wellspring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Oasis

1    7/4/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 143  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wish I could review Cedarock-Wellspring as one course! They are polar opposites. Cedarock is very long and wide open; Wellspring is short, wooded, and technical. But I can't imagine visiting this park and only playing one of the courses. I mentioned this in my Cedarock review: individually, I'd rate each course as a 3.5. But taken together, they compliment each other so well, that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. As 36 holes, I'd give Cedarock-Wellspring a 4.0.

The course that's most similar to Wellspring that I've played is Bethesda in Durham. Very similar in length and style; very short and tightly wooded. I used a Leopard on a few holes because I can get a good anhyzer out of it, but otherwise I didn't use any drivers.

What makes Bethesda a 2.0 - 2.5 and Wellspring a 3.5 - 4.0 is elevation (Wellspring has all kinds of elevation, and especially fun downhills), shot variety (hyzers, anhyzers, and straight), different ways to play holes (holes with dual hyzer and anhyzer fairways), and, oh yeah, Wellspring has Cedarock next door for another great 18 holes. Also, Wellspring has less underbrush. Even though you're in pretty dense woods, I never felt like there was a great risk of losing discs.

Other positives:
- There's a pro shop where you can buy discs and snacks. So cool. All courses should have pro shops!
- Great amenities. Clean bathrooms and lots of other activities at the park (fishing, beach volleyball, canoeing, grilling out).
- This is a pro for me: I was inches away from my first ace! I threw an anhyzer that zoomed right over the basket, hit a tree, bounced back and rattled the chains. So close! Would have been an epic first ace.
Cons: If this were a standalone course, I'd dock Wellspring a half a point because it is pretty short. However, as mentioned, when paired with Cedarock, you really get everything you could want out of 36 holes of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a pro or a con, but one oddity of Wellspring is the last two holes. You emerge from the forest for the first time after the 16th hole. #17 is a very long, wide open par 4. #18 is a shorter than #17, but it's another wide open downhill hole. These two holes feel like they belong on the Cedarock course, not Wellspring. If the geography and navigation made sense, I'd add #17 and #18 to Cedarock, make it a 20-hole course, and make Wellspring a 16-hole course. Anyway, it doesn't matter because you should play both courses together as a 36-hole round.

I've seen the "figure eight" mentioned in previous reviews, where you play part of either Wellspring or Cedarock, then jump to the other course on a parallel hole, play that entire course, then finish on the one you started on. I honestly don't see the reason to do this. The two hole #1's are maybe a quarter of a mile apart. You can walk it or drive to the other parking lot easily. I would suggest playing one and then the other for a completely different feel.

However you chose to play the Cedarock courses, consider them a 36-hole disc golf oasis and leave yourself enough time to play all of them.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Technical Course

1    5/31/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Tee Signs, Concrete Pads, Multiple Routes to Pin, Elevation changes
Cons: No trash cans, Holes are pretty close together and bad kicks get you into other fairways.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy it a lot, the first course I ever played in high school. Right next to Cedarock Course - knock out two courses side by side.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not much left to say.

5+    8/13/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 26 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A wooded course with clear throwing lanes (how novel)
-Holes are well-defined and well-planned
-No holes that make you feel cheated
-Perfect compliment to Cedarock
-Recently groomed, so a lot of the low brush has been removed
Cons: -Trashcans? Not here, sir!
-Benches need replacing
-Frequently damp and muddy
-Several fallen trees in the fairways need to be removed
Other Thoughts: Well, as a set, Cedarock and Wellspring represent just about all you can hope for in 32 holes of golf. Wellspring by itself is certainly a lot of fun, however. Its a wooded course done right, at least, its nearly done right.

What they got right: the holes themselves. Most of the baskets are visible from the tees, and there are clear paths to them. This doesn't make the holes simple, though- you still have to hit the throwing lanes to score well. Thankfully, missing those fairways or deflecting off trees into the brush doesn't triple your score like it might at say, Anderson Park in Carrboro. Its no picnic, but the opportunities for recovery are more plentiful here. Does this make Wellspring easy? Well, yes, relatively, but it also leaves you with no one to blame when you leave the fairways. Back on point, Wellspring boasts some great elevation changes, "water hazards" in the form of a meandering creek and a large pond (off 17, which is not really in play), and a challenging 18 holes of play.

What's wrong with Wellspring? Well, the little things, mostly. The course has newer tee signs that provide hole maps and distances for blue and white tees, but the tees themselves are marked as blue and red. These tees have been called small, which I guess I can see, but it was the design choice to cement in large, slick quartz stones into the pads that I question. Overall they aren't a big problem because most holes are short enough that you don't need a huge pad. The lack of trashcans is a problem- we played at 9:30 am on a 99% humidity day, and water was a necessity, but there was no place to place our empty water bottles. The benches are old, rotten, and falling apart, at least, when they weren't falling over.

Yes, its often damp, as a result of the creek and runoff areas the course weaves around, and yes there are the obligatory ticks and mosquitoes of a course in the Carolina woods, but its very easy to forget all that because Wellspring is simply a fun course to play.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Play well at Wellspring

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 149  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park has a playground, a farm, homestead and a museum as well as two fun courses. This is the wooded course at Cedarock. It's the shorter course but it's got some difficult ways to get birdies.
-Great 28 chain disCatchers that are in very good shape. They catch well, I made some good birdie putts.
-Place is pretty secluded. I like it that way but that can also be a con. Crowds can get in my way. It's happened at Cornelius Road and Hornet's Nest. I like it when the place is to myself usually.
-Great chance for an ace! Many holes are under 200'. One hole however, is very long and that hole is #17! #17 is an awesome downhill bomber over 600'. That hole was definitely the signature hole because it isn't like the others. It's open and you can just launch your driver over 300'.
-Construction is great! The creek is in play on many holes and there are bridges on every hole that has water in play.
-Yes it's almost completely wooded but the holes are different. They require different strategies to get a 2. This course reminds me of Reedy Creek in Charlotte. The holes are all different and unique.
-There is some good elevation here. Throwing off small cliffs, big hills or throwing up some hills definitely gets a teenager like me hooked on disc golf. #2 comes to mind. It's a very fun ace run with an elevation drop of maybe 25 feet.
-Wellspring's friendly yet bigger and stronger older brother Cedarock is also at this park. They are completely different from each other and Cedarock is the place to air it out but you still got #17 on this course.
-Benches and trash cans on just about every hole. That's why both of these courses are very clean.
-#13 is not a typical ace run. It's a very tricky downhill sidearm hole with a C shaped fairway. It's only about 150 feet long. You'd maybe get frustrated if you don't get a 2 on it, but it takes a good precise flick to get your birdie.
Cons: -You may be wondering why I did not put dual sets of tees in the pros section and the reason why is because some of the long tees are beside the shorts or just a few feet back. Some of them are not close which is good but not many of the long tees are really different from the shorts.
-You can't take very small tee pads seriously. They are more of a problem at Cedarock but if you need a run up, you will have to start your run up about five feet behind the tee pad so you won't foot fault.
-#18's tree in the middle of the fairway is literally a disCatcher. It caught my pro starfire, so I had to climb up over 20 feet in the tree just to get it out, to make things worse, it was raining. Expect to get dirty here when it rains because I did.
-Erosion is not really a problem except on #16. It's a mess on #16 but that's it. This place is heavily wooded and clear cutting never occured here. This course was around before I was born so it could be much worse.
Other Thoughts: -Well, this course is the opposite of Cedarock. It's not the "Air it out" course. It has what a great course needs, it has elevation, it has an open hole, it's got a creek, and it's a beautiful walk in the woods. I enjoyed this course and I think it's the easier place to play but yet, it can be more punishing if you miss your line. At Cedarock, it's easy to get out of trouble, you just need a long throw but this course is still forgiving nevertheless. There is a low chance in losing a disc on both courses, you can easily see where you disc will land at Cedarock and the holes here are very short, well most of them and you throw will likely be better than it looked to be. This place is definitely worth the stop and I will say that it's something better than most courses over twenty years old.
-Again, #17 rocks! Downhill 600+ footers are always a +. That's a hole you will remember for sure at Wellspring.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: chillbro15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: challenging, tight, wooded fairways which force you to place your shots well. its awesome. i also like how you can "figure 8" the course and shwitch from cedarock to wellspring. its really awesome in tems of layout. all the holes felt similar but yet required different tactica and strategies
Cons: tees could be a little better colored and located
kind of slightly overgrown
holes 17 and 18 felt a little out of place with the feel of the rest of the course. its strange going from short hole 16 then to long hole 17. its odd.
Other Thoughts: best course ive ever played

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mixing it Up

2-4    5/20/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a typical North Carolina-style disc golf course. It's just done really well. I get the feeling while playing, that the builders took their time with this one. It wasn't rushed, so that it would be playable while it was in progress. They could just play on Cedarock until this one was done. So they took their time and found the best lines through the woods that would make for a great experience. This is speculation, but that's the impression I get while playing.

Wellspring doesn't have a signature hole as much as a signature type. Many of the holes feature high tees, throwing over a valley to a highly placed basket. While that requires a bit of walking on relatively steep descents and climbs, the bridges over the swampy areas.

The best part, however, may be the existence of Cedarock. Others have mentioned the figure 8, but the opportunity to combine, eighteen technical, wooded holes, with 18 out in the open is fantastic.
Cons: As much as I like the throw-across-the-valley type of hole, it may be overdone here. There are a ton of them. There's a dry creek bed that runs through most of the course, and a lot of time is spent crossing back and forth.

And while the fairways are all perfect, the rough isn't quite rough enough. It's too easy to get out of trouble on most holes here. Because most of the holes are short, from most bad drives, it's typically easy to get back up to save par. That means that drives are essentially parked or not parked. Decent drives don't mean too much.
Other Thoughts: It's a very good eighteen at Wellspring. It's a great thirty-six in combination.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I Was There When It Was Built

5+    4/3/2016   4/29/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 49.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2016
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A GREAT counterpoint to adjacent Cedarock and almost as old. New DISCatchers are much easier to see through the forest than the original Machs and the newly installed tee signs are among the best I've ever seen. Newly installed metal benches spread throughout. Though I'm more of a fan of open courses, Wellspring is among the best wooded courses of which I know. It is a solid, stable White/Blue layout, with well shaped and defined fairways through the forest, offering a wide variety of shots through the eighteen. Because of its layout, it is easy to play a couple of variations of a very well flowing 'skip through nine', as well as a half and half round with nine holes on Cedarock and nine on Wellspring. (WS 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15, CR 9, 10, 16, 17, 18, 1, 2, 5, 6, WS 17 &18). One reviewr says that finishng on 17 and 18 is contrary to the character of the course, ending with two open holes, especially with 17's length. Remember though, that those were originally 3 and 4, as the course began on what is now #15, and that overgrown grass area just outside the woods to the right of 15 was the parking lot for both courses, with Cedarock starting at present Hole 9 and that big, open field that is now Cedarock 7 and 8 was our marked and measured driving range and practice putting green. But I think that ending with those two holes adds to the course's overall variety and toughness.
Cons: No real cons for this course for me, despite the woodiness. A few of the holes could use more than the one tee sign. And there are three minor design flaws...Number 7 should have been built as a straight up the hill run to that nice little grove, that would shorten the walk to #8, and eliminate that arbitrary mando, which was only wanted by the hole's builder, who had a shot and a disc that he could park in its existing position. Number 14 needs a second tee pad and basket 16 should be moved about 40' to the right to increase its distance from tee 14. When the course was new, there was a THICK foliage fence that separated them.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I got my first ace, on what is now #10, then #14, with a 90 degree right dogleg and an appropriate mando tree. It was the group's consensus that I hit the phone pole in the paint. It was on that same hole, in its present position that I got a 150' ricochet ace off of that aforementioned mando tree

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.