Burlington, NC 
Wellspring Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #15 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 207ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 

1    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 117  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a mostly wooded course with only 2 open shots. Most holes are relatively short with one hole being a 600 foot bomb. The park actually has two 18 hole courses which is a big plus.

Other Pros:
- elevation used
- dual tees
- nice variety of turns
- was not crowded
- very clean
Cons: There weren't tee signs, which would have made navigation a bunch easier. Yes, most holes are rather short but the woods is also fairly tight.

Other Cons:
- #4's basket and #5's tee play kind of close to each other
- tee pads were concrete but too short
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course and plenty of disc golf in the area, so it's worth a stop by. I do like short wooded courses and this did not disappoint. Bring a map if you're a first timer!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reedy Creek lite

1    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 320  Reviewed: 314  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2019
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wellspring is a classic disc golf course. You feel like you're stepping back to the earlier days of disc golf, and can sense of how far it has come since the 1980s. That said, enjoy the tradition, but don't expect to be wowed, or overwhelmed by anything the course has to offer.
- Solid, heavily wooded course. The first 16 holes are all in the woods, ranging from narrow/nearly non-existent fairways to more open, ho-hum layouts.
- Very good use of elevation. There aren't any extreme elevation holes, but a majority has solid aspects of uphill or downhill shots, or a little bit of both. You see this from the very beginning, with #1, being a tight uphill layout, and have it continue throughout the round.
- Course has plenty of birdie, and ace chances. It's short enough that on most holes, you can be aggressive with putters and mid-range discs off the tee. It's almost a great course for beginners.
- Along those lines, I really appreciated that you had a chance to salvage any shots that went off the fairway. On most of the wooded holes, if your shot strayed into the trees, there was still enough room to make a shot towards the basket, instead of being forced to simply throw back into the fairway. It still brings in a solid risk/reward factor, but it's not going to automatically mean you're looking at a bogey.
- Course has 2 sets of tees. For the most part this is a pro, but there's a slight negative to them. Having two tees is always good, but there's only one hole that offers truly different look from the tees - #13. On several holes, the pro & amateur tees are right next to each other, or one behind the other, where you're essentially throwing the exact same shot.
- I loved having the small creek weave its way through the course. On almost every wooded hole, there's a small bridge, or bridges, over the creek. It's mostly shallow, so no real chance to lose a disc. Only potential risk area I noticed was on #4, where it was up to 2 feet deep.
- Very nice scorecards and maps online. Not that you'll need the map, because the course flows so well. The maps is more handy on some of the holes with blind tee shots.
Cons: Tee pads are, ahem, antiquated. They're short and narrow. It's not a problem on every hole because many are so short, but on other holes where a run up is needed, you might be better off throwing from the dirt next to the pad.
- Metal baskets in the woods are always a bad combination. They're hard to see in the shadows or among the trees.
- A couple holes are squeezed too close together. The biggest culprit is #4 basket is only about 30 feet from #5 tee. If you're on #5 tee and there are people behind you, you'll need to keep a close eye to make sure no discs are flying your direction.
- The course is almost too short. If you take away #17, the short tees average only 205 feet, the longs average only 222 feet. Along the lines, it'd be nice to see a little more variety in the tee pad layouts.
- It's also a slight letdown to have 16 straight wooded holes, only to end with the only two open holes. It'd be a much better finish if you ended with one of the more of the difficult wooded holes, such as #1 or #15.
Other Thoughts: After several holes, I was having major deją vu. Then I realized this course is a slightly scaled down version of Reedy Creek - from distance, fairways width & challenge. The only major difference is that Wellspring isn't overcrowded with college kids.
- I really enjoy the isolation and beauty of the course. You really feel out at nature playing both here and Cedarock.
- It's great coming to a park and having two good courses to play. The fact they're polar opposites means you're going to get a little bit of everything playing both.
- There were some really fun, and challenging holes here. If you're throwing straight, you're going to see plenty of birdies and score low. #3 stood out to me as the epitome of this course has to offer. It's a 208 foot hole (205 from short tees), tight fairway over a slight ravine. A good tee shot will give you a tap-in birdie, an average tee shot may give you a long, difficult birdie putt, and a bad tee shot will find the trees, forcing you to scramble for par.
- Don't talk about about a course BD likes. He'll thumb you down.
- This is a solid course. It's more fun than challenging. All things considered this is a good, average course. Nothing overly special or unique here that you won't find at other courses - Reedy Creek, Cornwallis in Durham are similar.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun nice wooded

1    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: BigBig5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Tight wooded course that requires technical shots. Holes 17 and 18 have open fairways making it a nice ending. It uses its terrain very well with a bunch of hills. Some tees are on hills where you can get out some nice shots. Paths and fairways are marked clearly by paint on trees. There are 2 sets of tee boxes making it nice for any level of player. See some park workers doing maintains by cleaning fairways and fixing things up.
Cons: Some hole tee marker numbers are faded and need to be repainted. Some bridges need to be repair, but I see some guy going around doing some work on the course. Baskets need to have some color, because they blend in too much with the terrain. Needs a map on the entrance sign to the course.
Other Thoughts: Over all its a really fun course to play by making you want to come back over and over again.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult But Fun

2-4    9/2/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 33  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great if you like tight, wooded courses because there are very few open holes. Lots of elevation change as well. You almost feel like you are hiking and playing disc golf at the same time. But the course is a blast to play.
Cons: Could be better marked, but there are usually plenty of locals out there to follow around.
Other Thoughts: Played with two friends last time out. To illustrate how tight some of the lanes are, one of my buddies, teeing off on 13, hit a tree less than halfway down the fairway. His disc bounced off the tree, off the ground, and into the basket for 12. We got free beer that night!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/18/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful location. I played the other course here when on business last time. You could really play 36 different.holes in a few hours. Great up and down walks. Baskets are good at securing discs. Very friendly locals around on this afternoon. I highly recommend this complex with the bathrooms and scenery.
Cons: Absolutely no markings. Thanks to the locals I could find my way around. Needs new markers and tee painting.. A printed off the internet hole guide is a must. These are the reasons why I only gave a 3.
Other Thoughts: If you love outdoors you have got to come and if you have time play both courses. I was there around from 2 to about 4 in the afternoon. Locals from teens to old guys like me were super friendly and helpful. You MUST be able to climb up and down. Bring some peanuts for the chip monks.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 hHOME SWEET HOME

5+    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19 Years
0 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: great course for ams and pros.JAY REDDING SHOT A 2OVER PAR TWO YEARS AGO IN SNEAKY PETE(pro woods). this pass year i won the am title with a 3 under in pro woods. it can eat you alive if you let it. looks deciving to an advanced player, not even worth trying for a newbie. i played the woods 5 years before i learne a back hand and this is where. no hole over 300 except one THE BEST PAR 3 IN DISC GOLF PEROD!. A 686FT AM 746ft PRO work of art. can take any phenomal round and flush it down the drain. harsh woods on left pond on right (probly have 10 or 15 disc in there and one CE WRAITH(poyur a little beer out for you baby). throw a tee bird to roc on this hole and make you putt. the hole as gradual down hill the hole way pobly 75 ft above the pin when you drive.OH YEA BARRY SHULTZ PLAY HERE 5 YEARS AGO AND DIDNT FINSH IN THE MONEY.
Cons: david wiggin jr won his first advanced tourey here and is the youngest person to win a b-tier tourney.
Other Thoughts: i witnessed back to back aces on the same hole here. hole 8 pro pad LEFT HANDED that holes is the most non left handed hole on the course. hits hits the first one, we celbrate wink. he says"let me see if i can do it again" and the mfer did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DISCS SITTING ON TOP OF EACH OTHER i yell and just for i hav seen history the main man CHRIS SCARLETE SPEACHLESS. and as sure as im riteing this he tried uit a 3rd time and it faded rite b4 it hit it again. BEST 2 SHOTS IVE EVER SEEN I CAN DIE A HAPPY MAN NOW.

0 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/23/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course has a good mix of left and right turning shots, as well as a few good overhands and a few straight shots.
- The fairways are tight enough to punish errant throws, but they are well defined, and fair.
- A few holes can be played with multiple routes.
- Very good use of elevation. A few holes play from a hill then across the creek, then back up a hill. A few play downhill the whole way (17, and 18.) Then 8 plays pretty steep uphill.
- It's right next to Cedarock Disc Golf Course, it's polar opposite.
- A few holes really stand out as fun to me: 8 is pretty neat where the fairway goes up a hill for about 75-100 feet, and then cuts 90 degrees left and another 75 to the basket. There's a mando right around the big tree at the corner. 17 really stands out because of how you just come right out of the woods to a big, fairly open downhill bomber. There's a big pond to the right and down the hill and a few mature trees in the middle to punish a shot that fades to early or is too high. And then 18 right after that is fun. It's a cut out of the woods and you throw over or around a 30 foot tall tree that sits in the middle of the fairway about 2/3 of the way down, with basket sitting to the back left edge of the opening, with a 15 foot drop off into the woods about 30 feet behind it.
- The course seems to be kept pretty well, I didn't see too much trash the last time out.
- The two sets of tees offer a few different looks on some holes with a bit of extra length from the blue tees.
- The course is pretty scenic with creek running through it and the hilly terrain. 17 is a beautiful shot with the pond to the right.
Cons: - Some of the tees have rocks embedded into them, it's not a huge deal but it makes the footing somewhat awkward on a few holes. I think it's more mental than anything, though.
- The holes could use some nice tee signs showing length from each tee.
- I think a few trash cans out on the course we keep this course from having any trash (though it's not really a problem.)
Other Thoughts: Just when you start doing pretty good, this course can eat away at your score with a few bad throws. A really nice course that I have a ton of fun when I play.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Typical NC woods

5+    2/20/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in Cedarock Park which also houses the Cedarock course. You can play 2 totally different courses right next to each other. There are also bathrooms, a playground, basketball court, and picnic areas in the park. Course is set back in the woods and is mostly secluded from the rest of the park. Mutliple concrete tee pads for 2 different layouts. Short tee pads are fun to play as they change not only the length on some holes, but change the angles and lines you need to hit. Several of the holes use the hills well. You need to throw uphill several times, but also need to be able to control your throws going downhill. No repetitive feel to this course like some wooded courses. Every hole feels like a new and different shot.
Cons: Navigation can be difficult your first few times on the course. I got lost a few times when I started playing this course. No signs telling you where to go. There is also no signage to help determine basket location or distance. That would be a great area where they could improve this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is exactly what I think of when I think of a wooded course. There are ace and birdie runs available, but there are also tight enough fairways to punish you if you are not accurate. You must be able to thow shots that break left and right. Definitely a course that makes you learn to shape some shots. Mostly a putter and mid course. But hole #17 changes everything with a huge long bomb hole overlooking the fishing pond. Hole #18 is also relatively open compared to the rest of the course. I really like having 2 totally different style holes to finsih the round. Even though this is a heavily wooded course I never fell like it's unfair or overly punishing. It's just a straight-up well designed course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cedarock's nasty little brother

5+    10/30/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I personally love this course.
Beautiful heavily worn in woods shots.
Easy to navigate to next tee.
Multiple tee's (red and blue) offer a great challenge to experienced and heavily skilled players.
Easy to shoot well, or terrible, great risk vs. reward.
Good scenic shots, with lovely elevation change.
Cons: Needs signage, thats the only thing keeping this away from a 4.5 for me.
Teepads are a little small, this really hurts run ups.
Watch out for the drunk farmer on hole 10, at times he shoots his Shotgun out towards the course... its really lame, and very scary.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely worth playing!!! This course is a must see for those traveling through, and a regulars dream come true if you're local to the area.
If you can Deuce 17 from the longs, let me know and i'll buy you a drink.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short, wooded, and challenging

5+    12/3/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course with distinct fairways. I love these types of wooded courses where what you are supposed to do is clear. The designers did a very nice job of carving out a narrow fairway. The course is well maintained with difficult but attainable birdie chances. Big arms will be able to play almost every hole with a mid range disc or two. Although, the course is highlighted by a very long #17 (700'+) with water in play on the right.
Cons: Very popular course so it's often crowded. Be prepared to play slow. Might like to see a few holes lengthened a bit. Out in the middle of nowhere so it's a long trip to get to it.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for the dogs to run around but overlapping holes means social dogs will interact. There is a way to play both courses in Burlington as a 36 hole loop but only locals really know the route.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.