St. John, MO 
Endicott Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #16 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 412ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee (tight windows off tee opens to an slightly uphill shot to basket)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A ST Louis Must Play

1    5/27/2019   6/3/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not the easiest park to find once you turn into the neighborhood , but it IS just minutes off the highway . Endicott Park has many uses , but the park Features it's disc golf course . As soon as you park here , you will be stumped as to where the first hole is . You will have to walk downhill towards what looks like a bathroom ( It is ) and back uphill to the middle of the park . A Kiosk is there close to the first hole , which you will throw the opposite way from where you parked . The Kiosk had a mp , but you want to print one if you are an out of towner . The course normally gets a lot of play , especially from the locals , who are friendly and will point you in the right direction if you ask . The morning I played ( Memorial Day ) , there were probably close to 40 people on the course at the same time . The tee pads are extra wide and long and are grippy and pretty flush with the ground . Very good since it is an older course ( 1996 ) . The baskets are Gateway Titans and are heavy chained , deep basket . Great signage with map of the hole , possible positions of the basket , and NEXT tee arrows . The course also features enough elevation to make it interesting , and a creek which barely comes into play on a few holes . The bathrooms and water fountain are located next to hole one and you will also come around close to it at #9 . Another nice amenity is that there are Benches and trash cans at all the tee pads . A very big plus since this course has so much play . It is an intermediate level course, The pros will overpower this course , but this will be a challenge for everyone else . Basket placement is key . Some great spots for risk-reward drives to baskets the are nestled in bushes or along tree lines in the woods . Only a couple of bomber holes , so the course favors the technical player . Even though the park has a lot to offer in the way of different activities , you won't likely have to share the course with the non disc golfers . Plan to be here a while . You may have to sit behind groups stacked up on the course . It only means the course is as good as advertised . Signature hole : either #7 , with a tree-bush line down the left and a tight line of trees &brush on the left , to a landing area slightly right , guarded by medium sized trees , or #17 . Slight uphill to the pin , tucked into large bushes indie and on the left today ( You want to walk up the fairway to see the pin position on this one . I threw for the wrong opening and it cost me a stroke )
Cons: Not a lot of negatives , in my opinion . The start may be confusing for out of towners since you park at the edge of Endicott , then take a good walk to the middle of it to start . No pro tees , just one per hole ( Okay with me ) . Navigation can be confusing for first timers . PRINT A MAP . Even though this course is well taken care of , you can still lose a disc in some of the rough off the fairways . Course can get muddy .
Other Thoughts: This was the best course I played in the Saint Louis area by far , and the volume of disc golfers on the course when I played solidified my opinion . I couldn't decide what score to give this course , but the locals here decided it for me . This is a guarantee must-play if you are near St Louis . If you only have time for one course while here , Endicott is it . My Recommendation : If anywhere close to Saint Louis - PLAY IT !!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This is one of my favorite courses that is pretty close to me.

5+    5/14/2019   5/14/2019
Review By: BCTB
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I really like the atmosphere. It has a great lay out. Not overly wooded but plenty of trees and hills to make it a lot of fun.
Cons: None

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging course for intermediate players

1    12/13/2018   12/13/2018
Review By: Dynamic_83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice use of the land Tight,challenging holes mixed with open holes Great way to work on technical game
Cons: Can be challenging for beginners or recreational players Some holes are poorly designed
Other Thoughts: Played this course as part of the st louis open and while it was a mowed and nice looking park I didnt find it very accessible to an beginner or someone who casually likes to play disc golf as it seems to be geared more toward more professional players.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    7/8/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an intermediate level course set in a multi use park right off the highway. It would be very challenging for beginners but would also help to improve their game.

Baskets - 18 Gateway Titan baskets. These were very grippy and had deep baskets. I had no issues with spit outs. There is also a practice basket on the East side of the pavilion somewhat close to hole one.

Tees - 1 very large concrete tee per hole. They were also grippy and had no issues with slipping.

Signs - Each tee sign had a map, distances for each pin, par, location for each pin, sponsors, and an arrow pointing to the next sign. There was also a 2 sided billboard at start of hole 1 listing info on the sport, events, and other various disc golf information.

Variety - This course was a great mix of hilly (both uphill and downhill) and open as well as short and technical. Every hole had some sort of obstacle. The park was filled with mature trees. Although I would not consider it a true water hazard, there was a small creek running alongside holes 3, 4, 6, and 7 but was less than a foot deep when I played. Trees and elevation caused blind shots on holes 4, 7, 8, 11, 15, and 17. No true bomber holes but this course will still challenge you. 8 and 12 were tunnel shots.

Benches/Tables and trash cans at every tee.

Easy to save par on most holes (can be a con for some).

Water fountain and bathroom on site.

Playground on site (for children if you bring them).

Nearby options for food and drink. Gas station right off highway. Fast Food within a short drive.
Cons: Long walk from parking lot to hole 1. Have to walk near basket of 18 which can be dangerous.

Only 1 tee per hole. Yes having multiple pin positions helps to keep the course different every time, alternate tees would be a nice addition to this course. Would take it up a notch.

Having some sort of listing showing which basket location was being used would make it more playable for first timers.

Poison ivy around some of the trees and in the woods.

Navigation was tricky at first. Next hole arrows would be amazing. After 5, the closest tee is 7. After 7, I walked down a path and found the tee for 12. Had to back track to find 8. Some of the tees were not very close to the previous basket location. Long walks from 2 to 3, 4 to 5, 5 to 6, 8 to 9, and 14 to 15. Like I said, next hole arrows would improve flow.

Baskets were not always easy to spot since they are solid grey. Blended in with the trees behind them.

Due to being close to highway, cars can be heard on 11-18. Not necessarily a peaceful noise nor a true con. Some prefer courses that are quiet.

Bordering fairways can be dangerous.

Glass around basket for 4.
Other Thoughts: I only had time for one course on my trip to Saint Louis. This one was the highest rated as well as closest to my hotel. I was not disappointed. I am from Indianapolis (very flat) so I tend to enjoy any course with hills. I would like to have rated this course a 3.75 but that was not an option. It is better than the courses in Indy where I feel are a 3.5 so I gave it a 4.

This course made the most of the land it has. Added tees, better way to list the pin position, and next hole arrows would take this course up a notch. I would like to try some of the other courses in the area but would definitely come back if I had the time to play it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Technical Challenging Course!

1    6/19/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1409  Reviewed: 1356  Exp: 41.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Endicott Park is a fairly good sized county park with some ideal terrain for disc golf. Much of the course is set on nicely rolling hills. There is a kiosk at the beginning with the usual tournament and league information. There is a practice basket here too. The tee pads are concrete and lengthy. The tee signs are excellent and provide all the information you need. There are three baskets placements for each hole. They are the Red A's. The Yellow B's and the C's which are the whites. They are now indicated by a bolt in the signs. The course is not insanely long but probably makes up for average distances with some very tight and technical holes. The baskets are Gateway Titans, purchased in 2005. They're looking a little worn now and I found them to be hard to spot in the brush. Some baskets have a little concrete block pointing to the next tee. I think some of these arrows were overgrown and hidden under some vegetation.

I liked # 7 as the signature hole here. It's 445' in the C position and very tight off the tee. But what really excited me about this hole was the basket placment. It was set up a 20' high embankment making for a very interesting approach shot.
I might like 18 just as much. From the C position, it's 390' down a slight hill and then turns right into a grove of trees. It's just a very pretty hole to finish on.
Cons: I had some navigational issues here. Somehow, after playing 12, I missed something and never played 13 & 14.
The course is a little too technical for me to really love.
The # 5 tee sign is faded and impossible to read.
Other Thoughts: Sometime during round, there was this really loud roaring noise. I mean, rock your world loud. It was from a plane getting ready to take off. It sounded like it was coming from the next hole. I assume Endicott is close to the airport. I might need earplugs here.

I like this course but didn't love it. If I lived in St.Louis, it would be on my regular playing circuit. I think I would grow fonder of it with more rounds played.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/9/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: jvbh792
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Moderately technical course that requires many different techniques off the tees. Several different types of holes too.
Great location! Very close to the majority of St. Louis.
Cons: No big open holes. No huge elevation holes.
Other Thoughts: Grass gets long before it gets cut and I haven't figured out how often or when they cut it. It gets pretty buggy if the grass hasn't been cut though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park Course

1    5/13/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are Gateway Titans that are in good shape and catch well
-Nice concrete tee-pads
-Multiple pin positions on each hole help to add variety to the holes if you play the course a lot.
-Tee-signs are in very good shape. They show a good layout of each hole, each pin-position, the distance to each position, and there is a screw on each tee-pad marking what pin-placement the basket currently is in.
-Good use of the trees to make some tight wooded fairways and then some more wide-open holes. The course has a good variety of more open holes and tightly wooded holes.
-Course has a lot of good elevation change incorporated. The front nine especially makes really good use of the elevation in the park.
-The foliage on the course helps to add risk/reward and punishment for a bad shot.
-This course has some really fun pin-positions. My favorite pin-position was hole 7, where the basket was on a small wooden plateau. There were also quite a few tucked into alcoves in the trees.
-The course requires a pretty good variety of different shots, rather than one specific course, which is nice.
Cons: -Lots of erosion on this course. It gets very muddy after the rain and it was quite slippery.
-Hole 14 plays a little too close to the baseball field for my liking.
-A couple of navigational issues. After the basket for 7 there was a well-worn path that ran to tee 12 rather than hole 8. On hole 15 I ended up at the basket first rather than the tee-pad. Also some of the tee-pads are really close to each other so it can sometimes be hard to know which tee-pad is next.
-Some baskets are hard to spot at they blend in with the foliage well.
-Shorter than some of the other courses in the area. The longest hole I saw was under 500 feet. The distances on the course start to feel a little repetitive. This course could definitely use 1 or 2 longer holes.
-Some neighboring backyards come into play on holes 5+6.
-Some of the park users seemed unaware of the course and there could be conflicts with other park users.
-A bit of a long walk back to the parking lot from Hole 18.
-Some of the holes play a little close to each other
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a really fun course with a lot of variety and good hole design. There are a couple flaws, but overall if you are in the St. Louis area make sure you play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

1    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: brekko
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course layout, good signage and good use of the existing land, there is a good effort to avoid holes overlapping on any of the throws but still utilize the land efficiently.

I was forced to throw each type of shot in my bag at various times, flicks, long anhyzers, low ceilings, you name it.

Almost all the baskets seemed fairly placed, where a perfect tee shot would give you a chance at birdie, there were identifiable paths and fairways on every hole.

All concrete pads oriented properly make for enjoyable tee shots on almost every hole.
Cons: It seemed like a common theme in most of the St Louis area courses to use the heavy duty Gateway Titan baskets, but I just dislike the feel of putting into the really heavy chains and the super deep baskets, but this isn't a knock on the course specifically.
Other Thoughts: The course could use a few longer holes, there were only 2 holes I really uncorked drives on, other than that it's a lot of placement and you can score pretty well.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Endi

5+    11/17/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Endi offers a wide variety of shots for everyone out there. For the most part I would consider endicott to be more of a technical course, though there are a few opportunities to air your arm out a bit. There are quite a few birdie-able hole out there however, if you get off of the fairway at all on some.. you are scrambling for your bogey..Endicott it an older park so.. the woods are made up of very large matured trees.

Added Pros include: Concrete Tee pads, 3/4 pin locations, trash cans, bathrooms, full electric pavilions, practice basket, metal tee signs, park benches etc etc.
Cons: - doesnt loop
-sometimes crowded.. One of STL's most popular courses (not necessarily a bad thing)
-sometimes there are family reunions, bbq's etc at the pavilion that can get a bit loud
Other Thoughts: Thank you Dave Mac for designing this one all those years ago!! One of my favorite courses though it kills me all of the time

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Juggernaut

5+    9/8/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 137  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 18.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical - Challenging - Great Variety of Shots - Elevation Changes - Mental Test - Concrete Tee Pads - Good Baskets - Water Fountains - Trash Cans - Restrooms - Gas Station at Park Entrance - Easy to get to

Endicott is a very challenging course with a lot of technical shots. There are very few (if any) "gimmie holes" even with pins in their shortest positions. Please do no be swayed by the inaccurate review below. Each hole has its own set of basket placements and none of them are shared by other holes. Some of the furthest placements can get close to the next tee pads, but I would never say you're in any sort of danger of being hit.
The holes are spread through trees that create very narrow fairways. Some of them are cut through the woods and only provide a 30' wide fairway. I'll say it again, this is a very technical course and not for the faint of heart. You're need to bring accuracy and patience to shoot well at Endicott. That said, playing Endicott on a regular basis will absolutely make you a better disc golfer. The course amenities are also pretty good with concrete tee pads, Mach 3 baskets, restrooms, water fountains, trash cans and retaining walls and steps where there are hills. Also, there is a Quick Trip (the Wal-Mart of gas stations) at the entrance of the park, so you can stop for anything you need or run there between rounds if you need anything. Endicott is also right off Interstate 170 and only minutes from highway 70 and the airport so it is very easy to get to from just about any part of town.
Cons: Parking - Graffiti - Corwded at times

Due to the location of the course in the park, there isn't really any good place to park near the course. The "disc golf" parking lot is at the end of hole 18, so you can't really run to the car between the front and back without a little hike. This isn't really a problem, because you can always re-fill your water bottle at the drinking fountain by hole 1, which is at the top of hole 9.
There seems to be a lot of graffiti on the course, especially on picnic tables at secluded/wooded tee pads. Unfortunately, this is not from outside sources, but rather from idiotic disc golfers that sit at these tables to "chill" and draw stupid shit on the tables that make us all look like idiots. Its not a "con" of the course, but does annoy me to see this crap at what is otherwise a very clean, well-maintained park/course.
Endicott can be crowded at times, but there were only a handful of people playing there this Sunday afternoon, so its not always packed, like some other courses are.


Other Thoughts: If you're visiting St. Louis, this is a must play. The challenge with have you thinking and re-thinking almost every shot. The tight fairways will get in your head and challenge even the most accurate players. There is a good reason we have the Final 9 at Endicott every year for the St. louis Open A-Tier

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.