Angola, IN 
Commons Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: zero_43502 Hole #5
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Pleasantly Surprised

1    8/18/2019   8/18/2019
Review By: Gunfighterwinesnob
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: The elevation and distances for each hole made it enjoyably challenging.
Cons: Could really use some tee pads. standard & pro.
Other Thoughts: Before reading any of the other reviews I was expecting a basic course. Nothing too extravagant.

commons park

2-4    8/13/2019   8/13/2019
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great elevation throughout the course

mowed fairways make navigation very easy

long challenging holes (maybe a con for others)
nice quite secluded nature area with very little other then disc golf on back half of the course .

benches to rest at on #9 and # 12 has a pavilion and picnic table you can use and you can also stop there before #17 so plenty of places to rest at.
Cons: the course is fragmented in places 13 to 14 and 16-17 not a long walk just disrupts the flow a little .
the course is very long (this maybe a pro for some )
grass tee pads for now plans to add cement is planned for later .
the course ends a little bit away for #1 tee
Other Thoughts: tips
For families or anyone who doesn't want to do the full course after #9 take the mowed path up going towards #6 basket it leads right back to #1 and allows you to avoid the longer more secluded parts of the course.

After 13 tee the path directly behind the basket and 14 will be on the right
# 14 has water on the right side of the hole but is hidden behind the rough you do not want to go in there.

Bring lots of water and sunscreen during the summer the course is mostly open with little shade .
bug spray in summer the course goes though wetland areas so it can be buggy .

O.B
#3 in the water are over the ditch.
#5,#6 and #7 on are over the walking path.
#8 over the fence
#13 over fence (not sure if this is possible but maybe )
#14 in or over small creek.

restrooms by the path heading towards #1

when entering the park follow the signs for Selman Pavilion the first hole is located on the far end of the lot by the restrooms follow the paved path and the first hole has a mailbox on top .

Shape Up Stueben raised the money for the course so a big thank you to them

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I will play it again

1    7/27/2019   8/4/2019
Review By: shiftyjoco
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 32 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: right out front, the tee signs are nice.
> being new, the grass tees, are in good condition. they have two flat stones to tee off from between.
> the grass was cut, so there was not much as in a hazard
> if you are newer to the sport, it is not too difficult to make you overly frustrated.
> the baskets are in good condition
> good elevation changes
> # 14 ,15, 16 are like in a secluded area, that when I was back there , there was a couple deer watching, and grazing.
> A tunnel shot does not stand out in my mind at all.
> I met only two other people playing while I was there, and they were very friendly... to me, that is where it all starts.. how upfront and helpful of the people who on the course regularly.
<> the course is new, and honestly I really enjoyed it.
NO POISON IVY that I seen. again well cut grass.
Cons: > the fairways and the roughs, basically the same.. if you were looking for tree, this is not the place. while there are some, on maybe the middle third of the course, most generally trees do not come into play ( this is not necessarily a con).
> Parking, well my guess , it was a 300 yards walk to the first tee, and finish of #18 is a little bit further than that back to the parking lot I WAS IN
but no sign saying I was heading the right way is what was the main flaw.
> no benches, no trash cans... I am in my late 50's, and like a spot to set the bag down, I am not in a hurry.
> if there are restrooms, they are a bit of a way away.. it say there is, but not by the disc area.
> walking paths may bother some.. but really, I did not see a problem.
Other Thoughts: ONCE you find hole #1 tee, you play north and slightly west. By the time you tee off on number three you are throwing east down hill at a basket , guessing 250 ft. then from #4 you begin to work back southwest towards #1, How ever at this point you keep working south zigzagging back and forth till hole #13 which is a short ace / birdie drop hole almost due east.. from there 14 goes south #15 NE, and here where the biggest hiccups in the layouts start., #16 is a bit of a travel to tee, down around the edge of the trees, and east, to tee out west..yes back where someone from 15 would be entering, then again the only way to #17 tee shot, is past #14 , and right up the center of #13 fairway.. where,#17 is basically right by 13 going back north, #18 tees going NW.
you never really loop back, AND, if I recall correctly number 9 is not near the start either.
not sure if there is a Course design sign somewhere, IF there is , I never seen it. but the dog run fence area, is west and on the south side the walking path from Tee #1.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great new course

2-4    7/24/2019   7/24/2019
Review By: sgt48
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The first 12 holes play on the open and slightly wooded hills of Common Park. The final 6 holes play through and along the wetland area of the park. This creates a favorable combination of holes with a variety of elevation changes and disc golf challenges for all player levels.
2. Brand new DGA Mach VII baskets.
3. Good signage.
4. Bathrooms and water are available at the Selman Timber Frame Pavilion at the start of the course.
Cons: 1. The ditch behind hole 3 and along the right side of the fairway of hole 14 can swallow your disc if thrown errantly.
2. The tall wetland grass beside some fairways can also hide discs not thrown in the fairway. Keep an eye on your disc.
Other Thoughts: Commons Park Disc Golf Course is a great addition to disc golf in general. To have an 18 hole course in Angola, Indiana fills a course void in this area of the country and will provide enjoyment for many park users for years to come.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.