Derby, United Kingdom 
Markeaton Park Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Not beginnner Friendly

1    10/20/2019   11/8/2019
Review By: lathama
Played: 44  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees - All holes follow the same layout as the Golf and Footgolf. So because of this, the tees are in really good order. However being astro they could become very slippery in wet weather, but, im sure people will use common sense and tee off to the sides.

Signage - Every hole has a Tee post with a well defined hole layout on it. These also contain a QR code so people can find out more about the sport

Pay to Play - I am including this on both sections however the plus side, having a pay to play course means that the maintenance of the course is covered by the playing costs. This course is well looked after, however I will be interested to see whether the trees are trimmed back each year as some of the lines which are currently possible may become difficult in coming years (especially on holes 2, 4 & 7)
Cons: Length - This course doesn't not aid itself to beginners. The length of the first hole alone is 114m (now im aware its a par 4, but even so this seems a bit harsh).

Local knowledge - When I played the course I was stopped by atleast 5 different groups of people who asked what I was doing. The over riding jist that I got from people was that the baskets had appeared in the park, but with no explanation board or signage about it, it was seen as another "fitness installation" or even "elaborate bird feeder". My suggestion to this would be a sign near the carpark to explain, as currently you park and there is nothing to say there is a Disc course in the park.

Pay to Play - Yes, its great for the maintenance but I feel that 6 a round is a bit steep!

Other Thoughts: This course tests all areas of your game, as I will detail below. However trying to get new people into the sport, I feel that some of these technical holes could put a beginner off.

Hole 1 - A long straight down hill shot. The basket is guarded by a large oak tree

Hole 2 - From the tee the basket is unsighted. It is behind the left hand tree (whose branches reach to the floor preventing a low approach shot). Good placement is needed to gain a par here.

To get to tee 3 from basket two, face tee 2 and then look down the thin gully of trees. The Tee is there.

Hole 3 - Another unsighted basket from the tree. Throw round the 2 huge beech trees on the left, but don't push your drive too far right or you will be pinched off trying to attack the green

Hole 4 - Another unsighted hole. Aim to the right of the tree infront of the tee, for the best angle to attack the basket. The basket is set back into a low ceiling'd area so beware of a high approach

Hole 5 - A great hole which goes across the old ridge and furrow ground. When I played the course each of the furrows was full of water, but after a weekend of rain this was to be expected. A lovely hole

Hole 6 - A tunnel shot, which has to be played in an S shape to avoid the small tree to the front of the tee. This is a difficult hole to get right

Hole 7 - A very difficult hole, made hard by the mando (right of the big tree with the basket to the left) and the low ceiling between the 2 trees directly infront of the basket. For a beginner this hole seems overly difficult, I can see even the seasoned players struggling here.

Hole 8 - Finally a straight, downhill shot. This hole is fully open with no hazards. Just be careful of the basket as it is on the thin ridge, making a role away very possible

Hole 9 - A long uphill slog, with a difficult tee shot if you don't have a forehand in your armoury. The basket is set in a little encampment of trees making getting close difficult.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty 9 Holes in Large park

2-4    9/15/2019   10/20/2019
Review By: cheesethin
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Actively maintained by the council (pay to play, and alongside the short 9 hole ball golf course), so pretty much everywhere is mown short grass. Little to no nasty deep rough, which is lovely.

Good mix of holes/lines that need to be thrown, especially since the disc & ball golf share teepads, so the designer only had basket placement to play with. Even though the course isn't that long, and is quite a quick solo play, I was kept interested throughout, most holes make you think. Good use of the park trees.

Hole 1 a nice easy intro to the round, pretty open - my lower ability resents tough first holes. See cons.

Gorgeous park.

Will deffo play any time I'm near Derby.
Cons: (For van drivers) The main car park is height restricted, so I had to hunt for parking, ended up finding a residential street outside the park and walking in. But that meant I didn't pay!

Hole 1 pretty open, not much to get wrong. See pros.

Navigating between holes slightly confusing, there's a bit in the middle it feels like you cross three times, but from a different direction each time - but I'm looking for cons now, and the layout was fixed by the golf course.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 has a mando on it, play to the right of the single tree in the fairway. Not obvious if you don't know. (And I'm not going back and changing my score for my first round!)

For a course put in alongside a pre-existing ball golf course, it doesn't feel compromised, or shoe-horned in at all - it stands on its own.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Derby

2-4    10/20/2019   10/20/2019
Review By: drfish
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of holes. Good use of the tress to shape holes but they only become obstacles when you make a mess of it.

Markeaton park is a lovely anyway, and even better with baskets.

Will be going back to play soon I hope.
Cons: Didn't think holes flowed in the way I would have expected. Even after playing 2 rounds I was stil la bit lost as to where was next.

People do appear from nowhere with dogs so keep an eye out.

We got away without paying to play, but parking cost a bit steep, so would recommend sharing a car to play.

Tees not great, we used the gravel as the mats were slippy.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for the other 9 some day, one of the early Mods here had my fav par 4 ever on it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful parkland course - Course designer reviewing

2-4    7/20/2019   7/21/2019
Review By: rhatton1
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautifully maintained with manicured fairways.

- Gorgeous mix of mature trees in stands around the course, huge variety making it very attractive. It's the grounds of an old stately home and maintains that character.

- Good Baskets

- Good tees - turf in the middle with gravel round the outside

- Great signage.

- Tough to birdie par 3's. Holes 2,3,4 and 6 all require shaped shots to attack the greens for 2. It feels good when you get them.

- dedicated golfing space

- Pay to play. I like pay to play

- Disc hire on site.
Cons: - Only 9 holes - the temporary layout up the hill is where the real magic happens - one day soon...

- Dog walkers appear from nowhere - they shouldn't be there but walk it anyway so just be aware.

- Pay to play. Lots of people don't like pay to play!

- Lacks a signature hole.

- A bit too easy to pick up pars each time.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course to play.

It's pay to play when the kiosk is open, the kiosk isn't often open.

Great course to practice your roller game on.

The course requires power and control to score well.

Well worth a trip when you're in the area and with other superb facilities in the park (it's been nominated for the best park in Britain award) it could make for a full day trip.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.