Lake Mary, FL 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: cesar32935 Hole #2
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Pitch & Putt that needs some work

1    1/12/2021   1/12/2021
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 378  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun short course in a well maintained park. There's nice baskets and tee signs, as well as next tee signs to aid with navigating the course. Quiet area surrounded by nature.
Cons: Crossing fairways on a few holes make this course unable to support much traffic. Vandals have already broken off a few of the next tee signs, but it's not very difficult to figure out where to go. Water was high when I played, so holes 1, 2, 5, & 6 were unplayable. Fairway on 9 was pretty ridiculous. Not many options other than to kind of throw low and try and get out past the trees onto the walking path. Tees aren't very short and in poor shape, but the holes are so short you can stand and throw and still make a birdie or par.
Other Thoughts: A good course to come play a quick nine if you're in the area and want some fresh air. Nothing challenging, you could easily play with just a putter. Despite not being able to play all the holes, I still had fun. I see a lot of the other reviewers are complaining about the tees, but the holes are all short, so you really don't need a run up to tee off. You can stand and deliver and still birdie these holes. This would be a great course for beginners and kids. I'd be interested to see how busy this park is on a beautiful weekend. If it got busy at all, it would be a scary course to play with the crossing fairways and baskets within 30' of the next tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Becoming A Solid Rec Course

1    9/6/2020   9/6/2020
Review By: thrembo
Played: 201  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 45.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This attractive rec course continues to improve. Clean and well maintained with shorter holes (Hole nine was a 69 yard par four with a water hazard and plenty of trees in the way) very nice tee signs and decent baskets. The course has a nice map/course sign and plenty of amenities and even a smidge of elevation change. It winds its way through some scenic woods and by some mostly non-threatening water features and gives off a peaceful nice chill vibe. It's not the most difficult course, but it does have some tight technical holes but overall it leans to the fun side of disc golfing. Navigation was pretty easy with next tee arrows and a nice course map.

Cons: The biggest con here are the tee boxes. Wood framed natural that are almost completely eroded away presenting a dangerous teeing surface full of roots and rocks on most holes. Several of the holes show grass damage as people have resorted to teeing off from the sides of the tee boxes. HOPEFULLY concrete tees or some tee maint is coming soon. This is far too nice of a course to suffer from crappy tees and would certainly recieve a higher review score if/when resolved.

Some of the tee signs are slightly off. The basket for hole 6 is the one seen from the tee on the left, not the one on the right shown on the sign. Some of the distances on the tee signs seemed slightly off also.

Other Thoughts: Everyone in my group liked this course and if it continues to improve it will become a special little course. Also good for summer rounds in FL when the heat index is 110. Remember to bring plenty of water and bug spray.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Liberty Park

1    1/20/2020   2/11/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 714  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 27.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole Liberty Park DGC sits just off of I-4 Between Orlando and Daytona . The grass was mowed and the park was very clean when I was there . The park is flat , with bridges spanning the 4 times or so that you will be crossing a small creek .There is a nice bathroom at the decent sized parking lot here , along with a nice shelter near hole 7 . There is a trail here with a lake near the back of the property , but the course doesn't approach it . The course designer looked like he was left with a shortage of park , but made the best of what he had to work with . A few open holes mixed with a few semi wooded to wooded holes are here . This small park is scenic and nice to look at , walk through , or just sit in the shelter .
The signage is pretty good and looks brand new . The baskets are new Discatchers . The tee pads are a 2' by 2' area squared off by wood and filled with sand . Being a new course ( 2019 ) , it might not get much play . This is a quick play . If I was familiar with the course flow , I could have played all 9 holes in about 20 minutes . Disc Risk : minimal , as the creek only comes into play if you fade your #2 drive left , or take a risk and throw your drive into it on #9 . The longest hole at 315' ( #6 ) is wide open ,as is #2 , so the holes are so short , you can track your midrange/putter to the hole . There is a pretty good basket placement on hole #1 where the basket is wedged into a small opening in the woods . #7 is a hyzer right to a basket sitting on an embankment . Although I felt that there was no signature hole , there was an interesting ending with hole #9 . You have a straightaway throw into a small straight opening , then the course breaks off immediately to the left , over the creek to the green just beyond it . I couldn't figure out how to even play this for a 2 without risking my midrange going into the water . The course is just a nice half mile walk through what looks like a newer park with some wildlife present .
Cons: #1 Safety . Coming right out of the gate , or over the fence from the #1 tee , fairways cross on #s 1 & 2 . If there ever is a time that more than 1 person or family is playing this course , #6 , #2 and or #1 could collide with players and discs . Also , there is a nice shelter to the immediate left of #7's fairway . Any family and their children would only have to wander a few feet out of that shelter and they are fair game . Same with #9 . Someone could get hit with a disc while heading to the bathroom .
#2 Navigation . The course is short , but there is not enough Next Tee signs to keep people from wandering a little . Print the map , even though the course is 1818' total . The transition for #6 to #7 takes you over the bridge in front of you . 7 , 8 and the start of 9 are on that side .
#3 The tee boxes are pretty sad . I am hoping that these were temporary measures and that the course designer , Reed Hancock , is looking at changing the course , and maybe utilizing more of the park .
As always bring bug repellent , carry out what you carry in , and wear shoes that are waterproof if you can . This course looks to hold some water , especially near #5 basket , #6 fairway and wide of #2's basket .
Other Thoughts: Without knowing anything about what the constraints were for course designer Reed Hancock , and also taking into consideration that this course is less than a year old , I am reserving judgement and giving the benefit of the doubt This is a pretty good beginner course and more of a practice facility for anyone carrying a disc bag . Every city needs a place to chill or learn , and Lake Mary has this new addition . I know that my score looked like I was criticizing this course , but I am paying it a compliment , especially since more work has gone into it in the last year . My recommendation : Practice for anyone that is an enthusiast or better , perfect bagger course for someone coming from River City , but mainly for the beginner, local or family for an after dinner or weekend round . Don't go out of your way for this one , but I think at worst , the park is beautiful to look at if in the area and not local .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Underwhelming

5+    12/10/2019   1/10/2020
Review By: JC AceHole
Played: 502  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new Discatcher baskets. The land is scenic and well maintained. There are bathrooms on site, picnic table and a pavilion. The city has installed nice signage at each teepad.
Cons: This course leaves a lot to be desired. Holes 1 and 2 are arguably the best two holes on the property and they play directly through each other which can be a large safety concern. Hole 4 needs a minimum of 4-6 trees cut to make a viable line to the basket. The angles to the basket on hole 5 and 7 are very odd and do not seem to have a typical disc flight path in mind. Hole 9 forces a 80ish foot layup out of the woods to allow you to attack the basket. On a 259ft hole this is very odd and unnecessary. This is also the prettiest green on the whole course which is a shame. The tee pads are 2' x 2' and are filled with a sawdusty sand type mixture which is something I haven't seen before. It can be a safety concern due to unstable ground. The flow is ok but some next tee signs would help with the navigation from 6 to 7 where you have to cross a bridge. Standing water is always an issue in the field by holes 5 and 6.
Other Thoughts: When I first heard of this course going in I was very excited. Disc Golf isn't prevalent in Seminole County at all and I was hoping this would be a nice addition. The property itself has enough room for a very serviceable 9 hole course but it fell drastically short of its potential. Since this course is relatively new, I hope that the course designer can work with other experienced players in the area to make this course design better. As it stands, it is nothing more than an large practice area with nice new baskets which is all I will use it for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Missed opportunity

1    8/10/2019   8/11/2019
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 362  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 44.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 new DISCatcher 28s. Small but ample space for a 9-hole recreational course.
The lawn area is well maintained. Restrooms & pavilions. Plenty of parking. Nice wilderness feel, but fairly close to civilization.
Cons: No tee signs or directional markers. Squishy, loose dirt tees bordered by landscape timbers, makes it difficult to get good footing.
1st tee over a fence 2' in front of the tee, which is fine, if you're tall. Literally NO fairway on #4 & 9. #5 &7 fairways have funky angles that aren't likely to be hit. 7's fairway comes fairly close to a pavilion. #8s tee box is 15' from #7 pin.
Lots of wooded areas that weren't utilized and crossing fairways on #1 & 2.
#5 & 6 fairways held a lot of water. (Wear waterproof shoes)
Other Thoughts: I love that Lake Mary has a new course. Perhaps it's too new to review, but the layout falls embarrassingly short of the land's potential. Obviously not designed by a player. Or, if so, not a thoughtful, experienced or talented designer.

The property has the potential to be a nice recreational to Advanced-level course.
Fortunately, dirt tees and baskets are easily relocated, if they ever (hopefully) decide to have it redesigned.
As it sits, this is a wasted opportunity, and only worth your time if you live locally or are a course collector on your way to another nearby bigger and more established course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

New Course

1    8/5/2019   8/5/2019
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 26  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. New Baskets
2. Practice: The course gives you a chance to practice multiple shots, from Hyzer, Anhyzer, Forehand, Backhand, Flex, Straight, Tight Shots, Thumber/Tomahawk.
3. Work on your game: as a Rec Player, I appreciate the chance to work on my game. I will start playing multiple aspects of the game. I'm going to play a Putter Only round, to help me with my release angles. I'm going to try a Forehand Only round (I'm primarily a RHBH). I'm going to try an Approach & Putt round to work on those dreaded 150-200 ft approach shots. I'm going to try an Understable round, since I am not consistent with those left-to-right shots (I'm RHBH) and practice some Hyzer-Flips. This is a good course to play an entire round focusing on 1 thing.
4. Bathrooms on site
5. Well kept park by the city of Lake Mary
6. Gazeebos with grills, if you plan on making a day of it, you can have a picnic.
7. Hole 9 is a tough, picturesque hole
Cons: 1. Tee-pads are gravel, and only about 2' x 2' (yes, that small). Since the gravel is a cpl of inchese higher than the ground, it is a weird step up if you take more than 2 steps run-up.
2. The area around hole 5 & 6 fairways stays wet after it rains. Hole 6 tee area around the gravel is an inch under water after a couple of rainny days.
3. Only 1 hole to use a driver (#6)
4. Layout can be cumbersome. Fairways for holes 1 & 2 cross each other. After hole 2, you have to walk around and pass #6 basket. Holes 5 & 6 fairways share an open area, so look out for other players.
5. No signs. I got lucky that there were a couple of young guys there that told me where the tee pads were located for all the holes.
Other Thoughts: Short course, that could've used a little better layout (see Cons #4 above), but it has potential. I had fun playing this course, and as I mentioned on the Pros, I get to work on different shots that I'm going to need to continue to improve my game.
I'll be bringing my family to play this course, as the kids don't like long courses, and they will enjoy the park, and having a picnic after we play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.