Greer, SC 
Century Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 303ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fragile leaves hit the ground

1    11/26/2017   11/26/2017
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 119  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Century is a good course. The park seems to be often crowded on weekends because I played on a Sunday afternoon. There were tons of locals playing the course, so that shows that it is a good, fair course.

-The baskets are blue. A different color always appeals to me, don't know why it just does. The baskets are disc catchers and catch well. There is a practice basket in between holes 1 and 9.

-Shows some promise on the front nine with a few good holes. Most of them are pretty short. I love the back nine here. It's still pretty easy to me, but quite pleasing with some unique holes around a creek. I love hole 12. It's a long significant downhill tunnel shot, it has to be more than what the signage says (it's probably 350'). What's really cool is that the ball field is to the right, so it's fun to chuck a hyzer right to left and try to get it down there without clearing the tunnel. All around great hole. But my favorite hole was...........

-#14. This was my favorite hole. The signage says it's a par 4, but it's a 3. It's 305' and straight, but the creek is in play completely so you don't want to go left. An interesting asset to this hole is the fact that you see a small pond made from the creek and a tunnel past the basket. There's graffiti on the inside of the tunnel. I thought it looked really cool since it was on the inside of the tunnel, and not on the course. The hole was just very unique I thought.

-Nice hole diagrams and tee signs. The tee-pads were nice too. Course is easy to navigate. You'll see the next tee sign once you are done with each hole.

-All fairways are very well defined, so the course isn't hard. Every hole is a par 3 in my book, because they are all reachable. But since this is more of a rec/intermediate course, I think the par on the tee signs is accurate for beginners.
Cons: -It's in a rougher part of town. I'm totally fine with that, but not everyone is. The first three holes are beside an apartment complex, and there was field work being done when I played.

-I personally do not think that the front nine is at its optimum level. The first hole is awfully close to the parking lot, and even offers an anhyzer throw over it. The second hole is a boring flick shot. Hole three is a good 410' foot driver throw, but holes four and five are just kinda boring. Especially #4. It's a dinker that you'd see on a school course. Once you play #6, you see promise as that is a fun hole. But holes #7 and #8 are back to bland and boring. Open ace runs that have no excitement.

-When I played, it was extremely leafy on most holes. If your disc gets a slide, it very well might go under a bunch of leaves. A local actually helped me find my truth on #6 when I couldn't see it in the leaves. Awesome guy.

-A local was playing behind me on #17, and he wen't long. On the busy road that is. The fence is like 20' past the basket. I almost ace this, and go right through a slot in the fence and can't tell if I'm in bounds or not. Anyway, this hole has you throwing toward the road with cars going 45 mph. Loved the hole itself though in all fairness.
Other Thoughts: -Century is a good course. A few really great holes here that I thoroughly enjoyed. Nothing was amazing in my opinion, but that doesn't mean you'll think the same as I do. You might think this course is incredible! Holes 12, 14, 15 and 16 were all really fun holes. They are mostly the reason why I love the back nine. With all holes being par 3s, it does try to change the tone a bit. For instance, #15 is a 387' bomb with the basket on the left side of a hill, and #16 is a tough downhill ace run (175') over a creek with many trees to avoid. A two can turn into a four in an instant on some short holes, but those are always fun holes to enjoy.

-This is one of those courses where pros can kick back and have fun working on their short game and where newcomers can get interested. This course isn't as good as Pipeline or Tyger River overall, but the worst holes here are better than the worst holes at Tyger and Pipeline. There isn't a "bad" hole at Century. Most starters will love the holes that I thought were a bit bland. Anyways, come on out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2016   4/29/2016
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 271  Reviewed: 260  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Century Park features an 18-hole course that I would describe as city park style, but a really good one as it is not super easy or boring. It is set on a generous portion of land that is pretty much used only for disc golf. I liked that it was not crammed into a small area, and when you are finished you feel like you saw a lot of different scenery.

Surprisingly, there is quite of bit of variety here for a parks course as I felt each hole was different than the rest. Most of the obstacles are throwing around trees. Distance control is critical if you want to get some birdies and score low. Though mostly flat, there is some elevation used. No hole is super long, but there is good variation in distance from hole to hole and overall. Most of the holes have plenty of options of how to attack the basket allowing for creativity and different shot styles to be utilized. There are many holes that play along some creeks- including a pretty large creek on holes #14 and #16, and these holes provide good risk/reward of getting close to the basket vs ending up in the water.

The grassier fairways were mowed, and unless you land in a deep part of the creek, you are likely not losing any discs here with little to no tall rough or undergrowth.

Navigation was a breeze first time here without a map. Large parking area and obvious kiosk and entryway to the course area that proves the city and the park are supportive of disc golf. If needed you come back near the parking lot after 8 holes. Nice concrete tees. Tee signs are small but effective. The blue Discatchers work good here not being in a thick woods course so they are easy to see, and I like to see baskets that aren't yellow every now and then.
Cons: This course has a lot of dirt fairways (rather than grass) for being a non-forest area, which means it will be muddy after a rain, and there are several areas that seem to stay pretty soggy near the creeks and drainage areas.

Though flow is generally good and the course uses a lot of land, there are a couple of longer walks: #13 to #14 around to the other side of the creek is necessary because they are great holes, but a closer bridge would be better (maybe one got washed out recently?) #18 does not end right at the parking, but ends around the playground area.

#12 especially, but also #13, has the possibility of landing on the baseball fields. Just because there is a mando and o.b. doesn't mean people are going to throw perfect shots. So these holes could be tricky during games and potentially a safety hazard- I do believe this hole had a 2nd tee, so I would probably not play #12 from the long/elevated tee if there was a game going on.

For the most part other park activities do not interfere. But if busy and crowded you may have to deal with walkers, cars on the park road around 17 and 18, kids on playgrounds, and stuff like that.

Nothing is really epic or super special about this course, it is just a nice standard course that is playable by all skill levels.

For some this might be a con, there is a chance of losing discs on the holes around the big creek when the water is high.
Other Thoughts: I found this course really fun and relaxing. I would recommend this course to just about anybody. If you can only play 1 or 2 courses in this area than skip this one in favor of Grand Central, Tyger, or Pipeline, but definitely not a waste if you have time. I would play here again if in the area. It was actually a nice change of pace from some of the tougher courses I played that week.

It seems #16 is in a different spot now than the pics on DGCR. There was a big wooden bridge between the tee and basket. The hole still plays over the creek. Maybe the bridge is new or the hole is new to replace the one from 13-14? No biggie, still a good hole, it just didn't look like the picture here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ace central

1    3/30/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course, good signage, you can ace all but like 3 holes. Loved the 700 ft hole out toward the railroad tracks. Also the trains going by make it an interesting setting.
Cons: Very wet. No real challenge. Too many short holes. I had to play the whole freaking course with my Buzz.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners. Nice and open.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 116  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a group of players with different abilities. The holes aren't too long or too short. There is an awesome playground to drop the kids at. The front 9 loops back so you can get those kids something from the ice cream stand.

Other Pros:
- perfect, large concrete tees
- perfect tees signs
- blue ringed DisCatchers
- creek in play but not too deep
- mandos used
- elevation used
- course map at kiosk
- garbage cans, benches
Cons: My biggest complaint- I saw a lot of broken glass on the back 9.

While I was in the parking lot I saw an errant throw from hole #1. The hole plays close to the parking lot. There is a mando and a wall but, it is a left turning hole and a RHBH can easily land a disc on a car.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #14, it has a double mando with a creek to the left. There was a lot of money put into this park.

I think they did a great job making this course. This is definitely a good play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Play if for fun

1    1/21/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: ssittler
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: > Short course that can be fun for all ages and skill levels
> Good tees, baskets and signs
> Great signs and benches. Course is also full of trash cans - no excuse for missing one!
Cons: > Many holes on the front 9 are similar length/play
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course but a great place to bring kids and/or new people to the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of pace for the area

5+    7/16/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun to play without having to devote a large amount of time or energy into playing a rd. there is a concession stand right by hole 1 and the course flows quite well. the front and back nines are pretty much opposites with the front being a birdie fest and the back quite longer and more technical. I like to come to this course for a change of pace from the other course that is close by, Timmons. Although this course is longer its not as technical or up and down hill as Timmons.
Cons: The front for some people can be a con. it is pretty easy and if you dont get a bunch of birds there then you are prob not going to have a great rd. I personally think its fun because you have about 5 ace runs that arent too short. and there is some elevation changes. the only other con I can think of is the walk from 18 back to the lot. this couldnt be avoided though because of the giant playground.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the playground and that is another positive. for those who have kids they can make it a family day with some DG and park time. nice overall park with all amenities needed. bathroom. concession. water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 83  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for beginning players. Lots of very short holes to help build the confidence of new players. Tee pads are long and wide, most giving you a variety of angles to approach the basket from. The course is pretty open, but does have a few trees to contend with. Thankfully all but one of the holes have multiple lines to shoot at the basket through.
Cons: Not the prettiest course. It's kind of scub oaky and sand (at least on the front 9). The back nine is definitely nicer. And on the front 9 you have a lot of baskets that feel like you're zigzagging back and forth, up and down the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Super kids playground to keep the wife and kids occupied so you can play in peace!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 200  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Friendly locals, ice cream concession stand by hole 1, nice fit in small area
Cons: Holes are on top of each other (watch for errant throws), huge kids park nearby (kids wander onto course)
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - some good lines. Nothing jaw-dropping in the layout but nothing dull either

Variety (length) - 2.5/5 - mostly very short. Fun for ace runs. Some longer runs on back 9

Beauty - 2.5/5 - not the course's fault, it's just in a red-dirt mess. An extra 1/2 point for the hot moms at the park

Trackability - 4/5 - When the holes are this close, it's tough to get lost. Only a few where I even had to look around.

Lost Disc Hazard - 3/5 - Some shallow water, some dangerous rough (17) but mostly easy

Vibe - 3/5 - The locals were great. Held my dog's leash while I threw, everyone asked me if I wanted to play through, told me briefly about the course history. The folks on the outside of the park are kinda Deliverance-sketchy

Safety - 4/5 - Too crowded for too much to go wrong. Saw my first snake of the year (6' black snake).

22.5/7 = 3.21 = 3

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Raw But Nice And Will Be Better With Time!

1    7/19/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1193  Reviewed: 1141  Exp: 39.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see this course is still in the develomental stage. It's in a multi-use park with ballfields, kids tot lot, little snack shop, etc. Very nice informative tee signs on thick (12" X 12") poles low to the ground. If the sign is damaged, it will be easy to replace it with another laminated one. The teepads were fine and there were a few next tee signs, also. Navigation was pretty smooth. There were a lot of interesting, fun holes on this course. # 6, I think, is a long straight downhill shot where you really would like to carry your tee shot across a fairly, deep creek before pitching up to the basket which is up the hill ahead. To me, the signature hole on the course is # 16. It's looks like a simple little ACE run, maybe 200 ft. But the basket is guarded by a creek with steep banks on two sides. It's a very birdable hole but one that probably ends up yielding quite a few bogies, as well.
Cons: The earth on the front seems raw, as if it's just been scraped by a dozer or something. Also, the entire front nine is littered with small branches. I'm sure the locals are working on cleaning these up.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of holes listed as par 4's which are probably closer to 3's or maybe 3.5's. Two holes ( # 13 and # 14) play up and down a creek giving you the lost disc in the water experience. The second of these has the basket set fairly close to the creek so you have to be extra careful of your approach. I liked this course, enjoyed playing it. Thought it was fair and had some very well thought out holes. Try it! You'll like it, I'm sure. Nice course design work by whoever designed it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still Closed

2-4    3/15/2009   12/24/2008
Review By: bethehole
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am updating my review as I have been back to the course and played it on Saturday and Sunday this past weekend. I LOVE IT! Kudos to all the hard work that Bill, Carla, Nathan, and others have done to transform this course into one of the best in the area. This course combines bombs and finesse and should be fun for any level of player.
Cons: Still a work in progress but thanks to the above mentioned people, this course is coming around nicely. Still need signs on the tee pads but the new cement pads are quite nice!
Other Thoughts: This has become my favorite course in the Greenville area. See you at the Iron Man this weekend!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.