Fort Wayne, IN 
Mastodon DGC Share
Uploaded By: leath Hole #11 (Taken 12/2019)
3 / 215ft.   4 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Gold Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Good, with a lot of potential

1    7/12/2020   7/21/2020
Review By: ForearmGalore
Played: 187  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Truly a unique course to the area. The course is made up of predominately tight wooded lines.
-Great course to improve your ability to throw straight/mostly straight shots. Holes 6 -16 really require you to hit a line. You are rewarded for staying on the fairway, but not terribly punished for hitting a tree. Most of the time, you'll be able to get back to the fairway from the rough.
-Multiple tee and pin positions with varying difficulty. Black and A pins = easiest. Gold and B pins = hardest. A pins were up on my play through. The B pins REALLY change out the flow, often forcing completely different throws.
-There's an enormous amount of parking & harder pin/tee positions create what I consider to be a pro-level layout.
-Great signage. Outside of maybe the walk to hole 3 (which you pass on your way into the park. It's hard to get lost.
-Concrete tee pads
-Course forces you to put the drivers away and play with mid-ranges and putters. That's very different from most area courses.
Cons:
-Playing the A pins and black tees, parts of the course get boring. The stretch between 6 and 16 feels like slight variations of the same hole. Hit the line in front of you, and fade a little bit.
-In that hole 6 - 16 stretch, there's a lack of room for creativity as a thrower. In most instances there's either: 1 line, 1 gap to hit, or 1 tree to miss. You will have to get creative if you end up off the fairway but not from the tee.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a great addition to the Fort Wayne area, and a great course to improve your game on.

Outside of a few holes, throwing a driver will probably punish you more than help you.

This is a "hit the line" course, not a "shape a shot" course.

Holes 3 &14 from the Gold tee to the B pin position may be the hardest holes in Fort Wayne. I only walked those layouts, but they are intense.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Come for the challenge, stay for the fun!

5+    10/19/2019   10/25/2019
Review By: brocasarea
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my absolute favorite course in the Fort Wayne area. Many challenging wooded holes, but the rough isn't too rough. Very tight, technical short holes to longer, established fairways. One can still get creative with their shots. Great signage, great flow, multiple tee and pin positions to challenge and keep the interest of every level of disc golfer.

-Chuck McBride
Cons: My only complaint (And I think it has been said before.) is that there are no restrooms at the course.
Other Thoughts: Do not miss this course if you're in the area visiting!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best I've Played!

2-4    10/22/2019   10/25/2019
Review By: waggonab
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads and set up for A & B baskets (A when I played). This course has the best signage I've seen on a disc golf course. Not only do the signs for each hole look great and are informative, there are signs clearly marking where to go next. It may be the only course I've played where you don't actually NEED the Udisc app to know where to go next. LOVE the Purdue logo'd baskets, they just look sharp. The course was very challenging, but there is always an obvious clear route to take and it doesn't require sheer luck to make it to the basket like some courses in the woods.
Cons: The only con I can think of is that you just don't get much opportunity to use your driver, because the course is primarily wooded and technical. Hole 3 and 18 require a driver. Other than that, you can pretty much keep it in the bag.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Gold (and Black) Standard

5+    10/19/2019   10/23/2019
Review By: sambfwin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice quality signage, tee-pads and baskets. 5 open holes / 13 technical holes. A nice mix of subtle and dramatic elevation changes. The shorter technical holes are also tighter. Hole 14 is very picturesque. There are multiple tee-pads and pin placements that are clearly marked. The gold course to the B pins is supremely challenging, but the black tees to the A pins make for a easier (not easy) stroll. There is a par 5 on the Gold Course when the pins are in the B locations. There are several par 4s on the gold course whether the pins are in A or B. I appreciate that, so far, the course caretakers keep the pins in all A or all B at the same time. I wouldn't say the course would never flood, but it has been studied for a year including times when other courses are mostly submerged and this one did not flood according to what the course designers told me.
Cons: It's not enough for me to lower the rating, but I think there could be a novice layout that would add value to the course. Also, there are no restrooms at all, so go prepared.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.