East Brunswick, NJ 
Heavenly Farms Share
Uploaded By: Ryal Hole #6 (Taken 7/2020)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Open For Practice

1    8/22/2020   9/16/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 676  Reviewed: 300  Exp: 27.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavenly Farms is a nice small community park , recently installing a disc golf course ( 2019 ) . There is a large parking lot across the street , and a Port O Let in the lot , about 40 yards behind your car . This is a 9 hole course .
The Equipment - There is a nice large kiosk with a course map at the start of the course . Make sure that you take a picture of it , or print the online map . The tee boxes consist of 2 bricks to mark where you throw from . No tee signs . There are 9 new DGA baskets here , and they seem to have solar hookups at the top . Since there is no local club that is claiming this course , I don't have information about evening or night rounds . It is interesting , though .
The Landscape - The course was mowed and in excellent condition when I played . New trees have been planted in the park , but not on the course . Some of the fairways are set on sloping grades , but nothing extreme . #5 has the most elevation - slightly downhill to the basket . There are literally no trees coming into play here . A pond with a high fence and overgrowth sits to the right of #2 , but you would have to shank one bad to land in there , and high thick rough may come into play if you overshoot #5 or the wind deposits your drive in it on #6 . This course is more Lawn-style than Park-style.

No highlights or signature holes . I was relieved when I found a few of the brick tees .

Disc Risk - See above . Stay out of the rough and the pond . Disc Risk is low .

The Time - It took me 30+ minutes to play this short course , but most of it was spent looking for bricks ( more in cons ) .A group of 4 that know where to tee of from will finish this course in 45 minutes .
Cons: #1 Navigation - Taking a picture of the large map on the kiosk might help you less and frustrate you more . When you make brick tee pads on a new course , and I have seen this before , the grass will eventually grow over the bricks unless the course is played regularly . Even the locals will have to start guessing where the bricks are , or if they were pulled . I know that they put the bricks down and didn't put tee signs up so park maintenance wouldn't have to slow down with the mower and cut around them , but it cheapens course . and most won't take it seriously .
The Rough/pond - It seems that the new thing nowadays is to make the rough as high and thick as you can to add to a course . I always have disagreed . Your point can be made with 1 foot of thin rough just as easily as 4' high and thick rough . There is nothing that will turn disc golfer off more than losing a driver/midrange in the middle of unmanaged hgih weeds . There is probably nothing that can be done about the pond , so I would suggest keeping it out of play .
#3 Challenge - There is some surprising length to some of these holes , but they are all open-air shots . No shot shaping is required . It can be windy since the park is so open , so all you are playing against is the wind .
#4 Wasted Time - I spent almost as much time looking for brick tees that the grass grew over than actually playing the course . Some of these bricks are going to be impossible to find.
I didn't make it a con , but there is a walking path that cuts through the course , and some kids might wander over from the ball fields oblivious to disc golf and walk through a fairway . Be responsible : CTP means Closest To The Pin , Not Closest To The Person .
Other Thoughts: I don't like being hard on a course that is only 1 year old , and I praise a city and park district for installing a disc golf course . This park is great . I saw joggers , and people throwing ball in the park , even a guy with a plastic bag of discs throwing them back and forth to work on his drives . I guess I see some potential on this 9 hole course . The nice baskets and solar lights on them mean that someone on the park board knows something about disc golf . Advice. Design the course some more and add a few trees . Abandon the brick tees , and install rubber or cement ones , and add 9 tee signs . I think you will see a lot of positive responses . I am still intrigued about the lights on the baskets .
My Recommendation - This might be an okay place to introduce disc golf , maybe even hold a clinic . The wind picks up here , so newbies and locals will risk throwing their drives into the jungle-like rough ( Right side of #1 fairway , right of #6 & #2 , Beyond #5 basket ) and losing their driver and the $20 they just sunk into it . Families and dates that throw no farther than 200-250' might be okay . Intermediates and above will only come here for putting practice , and only if they live close by . Travelers won't stop here because of the time involved looking for tees . Course Collectors - Safari the holes , collect the course and get out . Pass This One By !

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

No Big Arms At Heavenly Farms

1    7/1/2020   7/1/2020
Review By: Ryal
Played: 79  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 3.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + It has more elevation changes than my home course (that is, any at all).
+ Since this is a community park, the grounds are clean, peaceful and very well maintained.
+ The baskets are equipped with solar lights, presumably, to make them easier to see as the Sun is going down. Do they work? Do clubs hold night rounds here??
+ The whole course plays in wide open fields with nothing getting in your way. It's the perfect place to bring the kids and/or the whole family. Then again...
Cons: - The whole course plays in wide open fields with nothing challenging the player. It's the perfect place for distance control, but that's kind of it.
- There are no signs of any kind outside of the course map at the beginning of the course.
- The tees themselves are marked by just a pair of square stones implanted into the ground.
- A lot of these fairways are intersected by or play right next to walking paths. Please take care to observe the space ahead before you throw.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole to play and look at here is hole 5 because of its gentle downhill glide. I guess my least favorite hole here is 8 because of how plain and direct it is.

But, to be fair, that can describe every hole here. This is definitely a training course. It has wide open fields to throw in with precious little else to challenge the player. The only spots where the player really has to pause and think are hole 2 because of a fenced off pond to the right and hole 6 because of some mighty high grasses and shrubs to the right. Everywhere else here is direct and straightforward. Just point and click.

Well, you would have to find the holes first, that is. With no 'next hole' signs and no tee signs poking out of the ground to act as visual cues for the player, a lot of time is spent looking at the grass for those numbered square stones. It's a good thing the course doesn't take up much space, so the player can kind of guess where to go next, but it's still annoying. The only hint you get is the information sign by hole 1. If you don't snap a picture of it or if you don't have a good memory, then you'll have no idea where to find the next tees. Simply put: navigation is a nightmare here.

I will say that it is a serene place, though. You are far away from any major roads here. The air is clean, the bugs and birds go about their business, and there is plenty of sunshine to go around. It may not be a particularly challenging course, but it is a relaxing course.

So I'm giving it a 1.0 out of 5 is because it is a 9-hole course, which instantly slashes the highest mark it can earn and because it lacks the features that lots of other 9-hole courses even have like signage, variable features from hole to hole and challenges outside of its slight elevation management.

If you are new to disc golf and want a low-stakes place to ease yourself into the sport, then Heavenly Farms is for you. If you have kids and need a new and interesting way to keep them occupied for a bit, then Heavenly Farms is for you. If you are an experienced player and want a clean and quiet no-hassle place to warm up before going to Rutgers or Thompson Park, then Heavenly Farms is for you.

It's not complex. It's not difficult. It's not great. It's not gripping, but it still serves a purpose just by being there, and I am glad that it exists.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Open

1    12/24/2019   12/24/2019
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 152  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open course that will be just out of reach for AM3 players but a good tester for AM2 players. Well maintained.
Cons: Wide open course that would be too easy for AM1 and up
Other Thoughts: This is a great Green level course to practice distance throws.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wide open spaces

2-4    9/29/2019   10/1/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 135  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ A good place to practice your wide open throws: pushing the distance on your mids and fairways without worrying t a lot about the consequences of being off-line

+ Although they didn't have a lot of hazards to work with, the designers worked in a fair amount of distance on many of the holes

+ Throwing downhill is a fun challenge, and you get it on holes #1 and #8

+ I imagine this place gets a lot more challenging on windy days
Cons:
- As mentioned, it's wide open. With the exception of rough lining the right sides of #1 and #9, there's really nothing here to consider, except distance and a bit of elevation change

-No teepads, and I'm afraid the reflector stakes used to mark the teeing areas will disappear (or be moved around quite a bit when mowing)

- Long walk back to the parking lot from basket #9
Other Thoughts:
~ Good practice facility, good place to bring newbies. It's between Rutgers and Thompson, so you could use it as a warm-up on the way to one or the other

~ The park itself is very nice, and the day I played it had been recently mowed

~ You can get in a couple of rounds in just over an hour

~ Scoring this course below 3 isn't meant as a criticism: it's good at what it does, which is to provide a simple layout in an open park setting. It's great to find more towns adding disc golf to their facilities, and I hope more of them do it

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.