Louisville, KY 
Charlie Vettiner Park Share
Uploaded By: LtDan914 Hole #3 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 357ft.   4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Wayyy Overrated

1    7/25/2018   7/28/2018
Review By: Jakenewcomb44
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you prefer a challenge, by all means this is your course. Woods holes are fairly imaginative in their layout. Hole #3 was really cool. Good hardware and tee pads except for #12.
Cons: Reading back on some of the reviews for this course, I am left a bit confused. Of the first four holes, only number three was playable for my brother who is a beginner. I've been playing for a very long time and was quite frustrated to start out as well. Holes 5 through 11 are simple enough, but are also a bit unimaginative. I had a real problem with hole 12, mostly because I couldn't find it, with absolutely zero signage after hole 11. Might have just driven home after 11 if we didn't see that hole 12 is literally right next to hole 1. This is where my real problem with the course started. Every remaining hole on the course except for hole 18 (which was a bit of a joke in its own right) was a nightmare for a beginner. If you don't have pinpoint accuracy with the disc, you send it deep into incredibly thick woods. When I say thick, I mean it's difficult to see two feet in front of you in any direction. There were tee pads, hole 16 for one, in which a curved drive was required and there was no more than 5-8 ft to send the disc for 100 or more feet, ON A CURVE! So if you don't already have every shot shape possible at your disposal, you're essentially screwed. In the end, we were left frustrated and mentally exhausted.
Other Thoughts: I'd skip this if you're not a really good disc golfer. There are plenty of other courses out there to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/24/2016   11/24/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 412  Reviewed: 310  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Charlie Vettiner is in a really good park for disc golf, with nice grassy hills, good elevation changes and enough trees to keep you on your toes, requiring some shot shaping. The baskets work fine, and there are concrete tees, with longer pro boxes on 6 of the 18 holes. Par 58 in total, with two par 4's and a par 5 to finish up at 18. I liked the first hole, a shorty set on a downhill run with trees lining both sides of the fairway. Reachable with the putter, but requiring a well placed throw. Three is another good one, the first par 4, and plays downhill to a creek, and up the other side. Several really good holes take you up and down the hills, lefts and rights, and a varying in length. Birdie holes are there, as well as some long ones. Hole 16 is a good par 4 hole with a nice fairway and a fun pin placement. 18 is a good finale, the par 5 that weaves through a few mature trees sprinkled between the tee and the pin.
Cons: I can't list any true faults, but can not give the perfect 5 star rating. Really fun, but not the ultimate, top-level, spectacular.
Other Thoughts: Louisville is a lovely town, and this course is no exception. I played one round, and fell apart at the end. 16 was a terrible triple bogey 3 putt, 17 dealt a bogey, and 18 got me with a double bogey 7. Only birdie came on hole 14, and I finished at 8 over (66). Still had a great time, and I would gladly play it again. Even though it beat me up, I would strongly advise anyone who loves disc golf to play it if possible. Charlie Vettiner is a terrific course for players of all skill levels.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good multi-use park course

1    9/4/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 73  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some nice variety of holes and technical challenges. Mostly well-designed course layout. Exclusive course land. Nice park.
Cons: Tee signs and baskets are a bit worn. Some trash and junk debris around the course area, especially the first 5 holes (it's near the park maintenance area). Some confusing course flow on the back nine. Some tee signs damaged beyond readability.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent multi-use park course. It has exclusive land, but it's not particularly scenic or exceptional. In fact, the course starts out by the park maintenance building and there are old rusty bpvehicles and parts laying about. Looks like a junkyard.

That said, the first few holes are especially promising. Some fun and challenging technical elevation drives. Unfortunately, after hole. 5 things get pretty bland. There are a few fun and unique holes on the back nine, but nothing special and the layout starts to get confusing.

The grass was also overgrown when I played. Nothing terrible but just gave the course an unkempt feel.

It's a decent course. If you're in the immediate area it would be worth a round. It's not a destination course by any means.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Course in Louisville

5+    12/2/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: mlilly24
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2018
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great mixture of holes. Every hole creates a different challenge and it makes good use of elevation changes. The course makes you shape your shots on the wooded holes, but also gives you some leeway when you are in the open field.
Cons: The grass can be overgrown in the summer when it has not been cut for a while.Trash cans can sometimes be overflowed.

Other than that there is not too much to complain about here.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid disc golf course. It is my personal favorite in Louisville.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course needs a little TLC

1    6/14/2015   6/15/2015
Review By: hawgman
Played: 68  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout nice mix of holes, challenging but still fun. I enjoyed the elevation changes. 10 12 and 14 I was able to birdie with tight shots. 12 is a fun ace run straight downhill.
I liked the beware of flying disc signs to warn walkers. Loved the bridges on the course and the use of railroad ties to stop erosion.
Cons: Some tee signs were down, 10 was missing altogether. #18 was a little crazy coming all the way around. But now that I now I should be able to shave a stroke or two of next time.

There were some new railroad ties with rebar hammered thru them to keep them in place they need to be hammered down or cutoff smooth.
Very minor cosmetic work needs to be done to get this back to a great course.
Other Thoughts: I played early in the morning It needed mowing but the crew was out there getting it done. Will definitely get back thru here again fun course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, good layout

1    12/2/2013   2/6/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 67  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout, has some good elevation changes and use of wooded areas. A couple of fun tree tunnels and some nice open holes.

There are good facilities and for a multi use park you don't get interfered with/ interfere with anyone else activities.

Also some nice views down by the river, though the water doesn't really play a part.
Cons: Some minor cosmetic things when I was there, a lot of litter by some tee pads and a huge brush pile by hole 2.

The course overall is great, if have just liked a couple of longer holes. It's plays slightly short of average.
Other Thoughts: When I was there it was raining, cold and there was some sleet. Even with all this it was still a fun course. It's a must play if your in the area. I I go back in better weather, I'll be playing there again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Billtown Beauty

2-4    3/2/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 312  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 7.3 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Charlie Vettiner DGC is the best in town on the Louisville side of the river, and combines with Seviren Lang and Iroquois to make a nice triumvirate for locals and travelers coming through I-65, I-64 & I-71. Located in a spacious park with all the amenities, the 18 hole disc golf course has its own space away from the other park activities, and it has sufficient challenge (especially with the mandos and OB's enforced) to host quality tournaments, like the annual Charlie Vettiner Open. My first time here (as a first year player), this course ate me alive, because I had trouble keeping it in the fairway. With a little more seasoning, I was able to par most holes on the course, so I'd say this course poses a challenge for Rec level players, but might really be up your alley if you are Intermediate or above.

Starting at the kiosk sign (lots of local league & club info: could use a map there) by tees 1 (& 12), you are introduced to the style of this course immediately with a downhill lane bending slightly right, where a controlled shot will land you a deuce (or in the case of a friend I made at my first BG Ams last year, a first ace!). A stronger arm than mine has a legitimate shot of also getting the comeback uphill #2, but it would take a really advanced to pro tee shot to park #3 across the ravine and finishing with a right bend. Hole #4 is very tight in the summer, with honeysuckle and cypress trees about 20' apart before a hook to the right for a finish. Five of the next seven holes are mostly open, but have a couple of mandos to control the lines. The neatest hole on the front nine might be #8, where you have to drive from the open, hit the gap, and finish in a 150' lane back to the basket. In the winter, you can look to the right from that basket and see the ball golf course and a pretty lake, and hear the water cascading down the rill behind the #9 tee

Once the course has you set up thinking it's not too tough, you discover the tight lines starting on the #12 downhill, the tree guarded finish on #13, the rising hyzer (rhbh) needed to park #14, and the split fairway on #15. But wait! #16 requires a lane tee shot, then a perfect blind hyzer to hook around near the #16 basket. As a Rec player, I'm still looking forward to my first (single) bogey 4 on this one. #17 is fairly straightforward, depending on your controlled drive, but #18 is a killer right-turning U hole that mirrors the difficulty of #16.

There are 6 holes here with multiple tee pads which work for a variety of skill levels, and I've heard there are multiple pin positions for all (?) the holes. There are benches and trash cans by most every hole, and the park is very well maintained. The DGA baskets are in great shape, and the infrastructure (stairs, bridges) is really pretty nice. (Tee) signage is becoming a little dated, with some going missing, but there are good 'next tee' signs where needed, and the map here on DGCR is really good: print one before you go. There are even a pair of practice baskets centrally located to the start of the course.
Cons: As mentioned, the course sign could use a map, along with the other helpful info, and a couple of tee signs need to be replaced.

There are a couple of spots where the course flow can lead to problems (if the group behind you isn't careful): you walk back from the #3 basket, angling across the fairway to get to the #4 tee. There's a fairly big gap between 14 & 15, and you have to walk back up the blind approach area to get from 16 to 17.
Other Thoughts: Currently undergoing some significant 'remodeling' of the turnaround drive by the start of the course, there are erosion barriers in the fairways of 1 & 12, and alongside the finish on 18. There is a lot of construction fencing now acting as a un-natural obstacle for the approach to #11's basket. And there is very little parking available right now.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Want to rate it higher

2-4    11/16/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 29  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's just something appealing to me about courses like this where you have semi-wide fairways, with dense forests running along both sides. I think it looks cool and it's fun to play shots. They make your line for you, it's easy to tell what you're supposed to throw every hole. This course had a great mix of shots and fantastic elevation changes. You had to go left, right, up, down, open holes, wooded holes. This course had a decent opening hole and a great closing hole. The last hole was tough but really scorable at the same time. I played the course twice and made bogey on it the first time and birdie the 2nd. This is definitely the best one around.
Cons: Some of the tee signs were in rough shape. There were some laying at the base of the pole they were supposed to hang on and some weren't there at all. The ones that were there weren't very informative and a couple of times I was wondering, Where's the basket?
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, one of my favorites. It has all you can ask for in a technical course. If you're coming to Louisville this is definitely the place to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 348  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 17.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a secluded area. It has rolling hills, open, and some tight holes with nasty rough. There is a good variety of left, straight, and right turning holes. Distances vary greatly hole to hole. Staying in the fairway is a must on many of the holes.

Solid Mach 3 baskets with 2 pin positions on each hole. All holes have number plates. There is a practice basket near the parking lot.

All tee pads are concrete. See cons too.

Nice tee signs with distances and descriptions. See cons too.

Minor elevation comes into play around the course.

There are some nice bridges on this course.
Cons: I had a guide who had played the course. There are a lot of blind holes and navigation could be an issue.

There are several wide open holes.

Several tee signs were missing.

Several of the tee pads could use some length too them especially #18.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest playing this course with another person and spotting for each other.

This is not far off the interstate and a great stopping point if you are traveling.

We were on our way back from Charlotte Worlds. We were not let down by this course. It's very fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun

5+    5/18/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: SMcVicker91
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course presents a great challenge. Staying out of the woods is incredibly difficult as most holes run the hazard and have big consequences if you land in them. Many holes have narrow passages surrounded by woods. Accuracy wins over distance big time here. In particular, Hole #16 presents incredible challenge: your drive is along a very narrow passage that verges to the left with trees on either side. Then it's a long way uphill, dense woods to the left, and the basket itself is in a small not-so-clear clearing, with a creek at the bottom that discs just love to roll down into.

In terms of tee pads, every hole has a concrete tee pad. Hole 12, however, is on a larger concrete area with the throwing perimeter spray-painted. Not a big deal.

Every hole except 1 or 2 has a sign with the distance/par/map. Everything flows well, getting lost is hard to do since the otherwise confusing transitions have directional signs.

There is a large practice area with 2 baskets to practice your putt and approach.
Cons: A few holes are a bit underwhelming like 6, 7, and 10, which are pretty much wide open with few obstacles. They do however provide much-appreciated solace from the woods.
Other Thoughts: 15 of the 18 holes are Par 3. The longest is #18 which is 600+ft. Again, accuracy is key to score well here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.