Los Angeles, CA 
Elysian Park - Chavez Ridge Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #10 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 204ft.   3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
The ridge giveth, the ridge taketh away

5+    10/13/2018   10/17/2018
Review By: Sharknado2
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's a course that forces to reach deep into your arsenal. You'll need forehand, backhand, thumbers/tomahawks, and putts that stop on a dime.
-A great place to hone strategy. You can't just step up to the tee and throw. Disc selection/shot type/wind all need to be taken into account.
-Accessible for beginners and seasoned players alike. Holes tend to be short but have very narrow windows off the tee. Rewarding for shorter throwers as you will have several shots at birdies.
-Course is rarely crowded (but avoid weekend mornings). Bathrooms in the field below the course. Free and ample parking on the road atop the ridge.
-VERY broken in. There's not a line on the course that hasn't been taken. Endless routes to discover and try.
-28 holes to choose from with all sorts of elevation changes and doglegs. The "island hole" is by far my favorite.
Cons: -Beginners WILL get frustrated with the demanding accuracy.
-hyzer puts that land on an angle or putts that hit cage WILL roll down the hill (or "get chavezed").
-layout is confusing for first timers on original 18. I didn't even find the other 10 holes until I played a tournament.
-high potential to lose discs on the freeway hole and anything with thick rough--mostly the back 9.
-gets very windy in the afternoon, try to play in the morning if possible (though I hear it's crowded on weekend mornings because of the club)
-Elysian park is frequented by the homeless so the occasional hole could have feces, urine and/or litter scattered about.
-bathrooms are really not very accessible to the course and require a long walk.
-traffic from dodger stadium can be bad--DO NOT go around game time
Other Thoughts: Kenneth Hahn is my home course--a wide open course on the longer side that is very forgiving to errant shots. Chavez Ridge is the exact opposite. While I initially despised this course my first time out, 5 rounds later I've come to love it. It has helped me hone my shot shapes and really learn my discs. I have a much better understanding of strategy now and after returning to Kenneth Hanh I played much better.

I love how much variance this course offers. On a short hole you can be parked and have a tap in birdie only to get a 6 on the next hole. It's a test of consistency and endurance more than anything. Make sure you play the additional 10 holes that are scattered about, they're more open and interesting than the original 18.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Thrills on Dusty Hills

5+    8/16/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 39  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the land in the course design. Steep hills come into play on most of the holes. My first few trips here I was really frustrated with all of the up and down (you will likely get RIDGE'D more than once - any shot here can end up rolling WAY down a hill). Now that I've played here a bunch I've grown to appreciate the added challenge that the hills provide.

- Anything can happen. The hill factor makes it so that there can be big swings in the score from hole to hole. I've gone into holes 6 strokes behind and come out with the lead. An errant throw can quickly add several shots to your score. This keeps competition here interesting - don't get discouraged if you fall behind early! There are birdie holes to come :)

- 9 new holes were recently added, which takes this course from a 3.5 to a 4 for me. The 4 "island holes" are really fun and add some new elements to this course that it didn't have before. The "freeway hole" has a great top-of-the-world view that makes it a great place to stop and catch your breath.

- Lots of different shots come into play - big open shots, technical wooded shots, dog legs left and right, uphill, downhill, etc.

- Multiple tees basket locations for every hole, making for a lot of possibilities for variation.

- Friendly local players are usually around, which is helpful with navigation your first few times there.

- Signage. Points for the fact that it exists, and the older signs on the original 18 all have short anecdotes about the holes that are worth reading (that is, if it isn't covered in graffiti).

- Lots of tight, wooded shots that you don't see often enough in Southern California.

- Great views of Dodger Stadium, downtown, and the east side.
Cons: - Again, the hills. The course usually takes me about 2.5 hours with two people at a casual pace - much of that time is spent looking for discs that have rolled or sailed downhill... or resting after getting your butt kicked by all the up and down.

- Confusing layout. The addition of the new holes makes the numbering odd. the new ones play in between the original holes, so they are marked 4a, 4b, etc. Seems like it'd make more sense to just renumber the holes 1-27, which would be a great opportunity to update the older, vandalized signs.

- No water or restrooms on site. Go prepared!

- As of this review (Aug 2018), the course is VERY dusty. I've seen footage of the course with a lot more vegetation - surely we'll get some rain eventually (right?) and this will improve.

- It's a bit odd getting to the first tee pad from the parking area. You have to cross several fairways while walking straight down a steep hill - seems like it could get pretty dangerous if the course is busy.

- There are occasionally bystanders walking the paths on the course, oblivious to disc golfers.

- There is a homeless contingent in the area, and sometimes while searching for a disc you chance upon someone's... living room?

- I've been hassled by locals from the nearby neighborhood on more than one occasion. There are a few folks that live in the area that seem to not be very fond of the DG presence there. Nothing that would stop me from going, but worth mentioning.

- There are often helicopters circling overhead. Living in LA you grow used to them, but sometimes it can be really distracting.

- This is a city course. For much of it, you're well aware that you're in the city - if you're looking for a round that's more of an escape, try Oak Grove.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Chavez Ridge is a fun and challenging course. Playing here regularly has made me improve several aspects of my game.

Wear good shoes, take lots of water, don't let the Ridge get you down and you'll have a great time. During baseball season, it's worth taking a look at the Dodger's schedule or checking Google Maps for a way to get around the stadium traffic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Elysian Park- Chavez Ridge DGC

1    7/9/2018   7/9/2018
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 33.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -creative course design that uses the hilly, ridged landscape very well
-good tee signs at every hole that show alt. tees, hole positions
-level rubber tee pads at every hole
-newer baskets coursewide
-challenging lines & upshots on virtually every hole
-amazing views of downtown LA & Dodger Stadium (esp. #18)
-located in a multi-use park, the course has its own area, which is nice
-several ace run opportunities when baskets are in the short positions
Cons: -navigation: even with the course map, it got a bit confusing finding next tees on holes 12-15
-HUGE rollaway potential on almost every hole; the risk/reward factor is substantial here
-most holes are >300 feet, which is somewhat offset by the fact that there are so many other factors in play on every tee
-no hole numbers on the baskets, which made navigation a bit more challenging
Other Thoughts: Chavez Ridge DGC is the third SoCal course I've had the chance to play this week, and I really enjoyed my round this morning. The course plays on both sides of a major ridge, with elevation changes, slopes and trees on virtually every hole. The first 8 holes are on one side of the ridge, with 9-18 across the road on the other side; navigation was fairly straightforward through the first 11 holes, but playing solo with only a map to rely on, it got kind of confusing on holes 12-15. I was able to figure it out after some trial & error, but it was frustrating to have to backtrack to find 14 tee. Overall, the course has some challenging lines that require precision and good judgement, and today I had the good luck not to get "chavezed" too badly, carding a 49 for my round. Another very cool LA disc golf course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Compact Fun Course

2-4    3/17/2018   5/25/2018
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 102  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 25.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great locals
- Easy navigation
- Tree lined fairways
- Teepads
- Unique feel for a CA course
- Great views of DTLA and Dodger stadium
- Lots of elevation change
- Putter runs for days (if you like that sort of course)
Cons:
- No running water (or at least that I could find)
- No bathrooms (nearby in other area of park)
- Dodger game traffic is a nightmare
- Minor overlap on a few fairways
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the time I spent at Chavez. Picked up a round of doubles. The course has some amazing temp holes put in place for the Chavez Fling annually that would be a must play if in the ground year round.

Overall this course is a fantastic change of pace from other local courses and worth checking out if in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really cool par 3 golf

2-4    11/12/2015   8/18/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 68  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 17.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coming from the mid-Atlantic area where most courses are wooded, this place had a really unique texture to it that I'm not used to at home. I love the big elevation change. I love how the ground (dirt, rocks, and roots) make for some "hold your breath" moments hoping your throw lands safely without a mountainside rollaway. That adds a nice challenge to a course that otherwise is comprised of mostly short holes. There are a wide variety of lines at Chavez, as some hole allow for predictable, more open hyzer route type of throws, while others force you to throw on a rope through a tight fairway. There are some incredible lookout points on this course down into various parts of LA, the mountains in the distance, and Dodger Stadium. I had a tough time getting over how terrain like this was smack in the middle of one of the biggest cities in the world....very cool.
Cons: If you happen to kick and roll, you can roll really really far downhill on some holes, even if you've done your job executing the shot. That can be a pain. Furthermore, if you roll or stall out a shot that fades way downhill, there are a few holes that could make that disc very tough to find. I didn't see bathrooms or running water anywhere, so if they are there, my apologies, but that's always nice to have, especially if you want to play a few in a row.
Other Thoughts: This course does remind me of one of my home courses--Sedgley Woods, in that it's an older style course meant for controlled putter and mid-range shots. If you're in LA, with it being hard to get anywhere far in a reasonable amount of time, you'll definitely have fun at this place.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rollers!

1    10/10/2015   10/10/2015
Review By: Phil Esra
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous tee signs
Good use of available space
Friendly locals
High stakes because of steep hillside
Cons: The Walk of Shame down the hill to retrieve your accidental roller
Condoms and abandoned clothing
Like the rest of LA, dry and hot as hell in the summer, which lasts through October (100 degrees on October 10, 2015).
Other Thoughts: I came here as a noob expecting an extremely unforgiving course--I found it less brutal than expected. Many holes are short, which lets you play conservatively, which in turn gives you a better chance of keeping your disc up on the ridge. The high stakes were fun--they added an element of excitement.

Sometimes a disc took an unlucky bounce and long roll, but mostly precision was rewarded and bad throws were penalized (sometimes severely).

As a noob with a weak arm, I got a much better score here than I usually do at Oak Grove--plus 11-12 instead of plus 18 for 18 holes at Oak Grove. Many holes only needed a putter.

There's a drinking fountain down below the course, but no water once on the course. I burned through a liter bottle much faster than expected on a baking-hot day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/18/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 59  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2018
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Located in Elysian Park in Echo Park neighborhood of LA, this hilly 18 hole course provides a great view of Dodger Stadium and downtown on the eighteenth hole.
-Multiple pins and tees to make things interesting.
-Very secluded. You won't see anyone but disc golfers on the course.
-Technical course. Avoiding the hills is just as, or more important than, avoiding the trees. Leave the drivers in the bag.
-Great tee signs. I didn't get lost, once I found the course itself!
Cons: -I'd give this course would get higher rating if the hills were not so severe. On #7 I hit the cage on my 25ft putt and it rolled about 200ft downhill all the way into the soccer field. And this isn't one or two holes. There are 15 or 16 holes with steep slopes.
-I was fortunate not to lose any discs, but its a possibility.
-If you miss the skinny fairways you have to make your way down the steep hills. It is very easy to slip or trip. I could imagine a good number of ankle injuries here.
-Difficult to find. No signs point you toward the first tee from the athletic fields/parking area. You have to find a windy, hilly trail and make your way around the tee 1.
-The only restroom is at the athletic fields, near where you park.
-18 basket is far from parking area. You have to wind your way across three fairways and down the hill.
-No water fountains on the course. Bring plenty, this course is quite the hike.
-Awful traffic during Dodgers home games.
Other Thoughts: -It matters just as much to land the disc flat as it does to throw the correct shot. Rollers abound.
-This was a brutal round for me. Better players could have a good time here.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very short and wooded

1    11/30/2014   11/30/2014
Review By: jbraids
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice signs mark out the course with tons of explanations. In fact with the number of tips they give you on the tee signs you'd expect this to be a beginner course.
Tee pads on every hole including a "long tee" for most.
Beautiful hill near Dodger stadium.
Course is short and easy to get to.
Friendly locals, mostly I saw beginners.
Cons: Really short. You can throw a putter/approach disc on every hole.
Most holes are straight shots through trees. Kinda boring.
Lots of fairways close to eachother.
Erosion all over.
Not much difference between long and short tees. Some of them are like 15 feet away from eachother. Why bother?
Lots of throws near the road/cars.
Other Thoughts: If you are reasonably skilled this course is short and too easy. Not a lot of hole variety. Except for the four holes at the end you can birdy everything with a straight putter/approach shot. You would expect from the signs and distance that this is a beginner course, but beginners will have a brutal time chasing rollers.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Rough rough stuff

2-4    7/16/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SuperBurrito
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained.
-Rubber tee pads.
-Signs at all holes.
-Great course design, very technical.
-Amazing views.
-Friendly Players.
-Hardest challenge in Los Angeles Area.
Cons: -All dirt, except for a small grass window in the spring.
-Your bird look could turn into a double boggie in the bat of an eye. Watch them hills!
-If the Dodgers are playing a home game prepare to sit in traffic.
-The chance you're gonna roll 50-150' down the hill is so present on most shots that the course may psyche you out.
-Sometimes I feel like a lumber jack out there!
-Definitely not the best spot to bring a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Throw it low and play for par. Bring some water with you. I have a great time up there every time even if I do have to walk up and down the hill a few times!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Los Angeles GEM

2-4    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -PERFECT tee pads (wood covered in rubber) make for the best driving footing I've ever had.
-Beautiful signage with a personal, local touch (see them in the photos)
-excellent choice of shot length in the terrain.
Cons: -the HILL of course
-side effect of the hill: limits shot choice considerably for those of you who like to throw hard hooks.
-little to no benches/seating
-bathrooms are a hike
Other Thoughts: The one thing that kept this from being a 4.5 (5.0 is a damn unicorn) is the lack of line choice due to the hill. You really are limited to making ridiculously safe choices on a LARGE number of holes. The BEST courses give more choices to experienced players with a variety of risk/reward levels.

Still a fantastic course. I really like the hole length variety from the 160-ish region to just over 300.

If you're playing one course in LA, this is probably the best choice.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.