Rising Fawn, GA 
Cloudland Canyon State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
  

1    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: daxkturner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 25 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun little course that has mowed fairways. There are some fun short shots mixed some decent long shots on the back 9.
Cons: They could have maximized the views a little better when they designed it.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the rough it eat your disc and it has a lot of thorns.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

1    8/8/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really easy to follow the course layout. There are some really great holes, but it's really set up to just rip some drives. Some shots require a big hizer, so it's kind of fun to bomb on in there.
Cons: Most of the holes are fairly straight forward and open. Just step up and rip it. Toward the end you head into a wooded area.
Other Thoughts: The area is gorgeous! It's worth the trip to just be there. The holes are fun, and you get a chance to let some discs fly. Can't wait to get back down that way to play again.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Average course with great views!

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 76  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 13.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that is in the middle of a state park, on top of a mountain that has some tremendous views. The land that was utilized for this course was well planned with the exception of a few holes. It makes for a pleasant walk between the pin and the next tee. You would be pretty had pressed to lose a disc here with all of the open fields. Holes 15-17 are wooded (ah sweet shade). It has Innova baskets that are in good shape as well as slightly larger concrete tee pads than I am used to. Has plenty of obstacles, trees, big rocks, and wind that you have to account for as well. Also has soda machine by tee 1.
Cons: Can get a little hot in the summer and can get a little too windy sometimes. Hole 18 left me itching for more. It was just around 200' and thought that a nice course would have a final hole that begs you to throw a long one. Can get repetitive in the middle, going back and forth.
Pin 10 is pretty close to tee pad 8, I would say 20-30'. Not many holes (if any) that require an anyhyzer shot. This might not be a bad thing for some but I would have liked at least 2 of these. Hyzer shots were plentiful.
Other Thoughts: Cost $5 to get into the park and then $2 per person that wanted to play DG. After the gate, no one asked if we paid to play and I have a feeling that not many people do (not that I would ever condone such a thing). This being a state park, there are a lot of other things to do, tennis courts, hiking, camping, grilling and supposedly they have a pool there as well. If you are planning a road trip along with camping, you can't go wrong staying here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This one got me hooked.

1    10/24/2009   6/17/2010
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The views and scenery were nice. As a Florida boy...loved it. Great hole layout.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: My brother-in-laws convinced me to try this sport and course for the first time. I have been playing ever since. I look forward to playing it again...now that I know what I am doing. :)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cloudland

5+    3/14/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course, unlike others in the area, lets you slang some discs. Most of the holes have wide open fairways with the basket at the edge of the woods or just into the woods. All of the teepads are concrete. The course is in a very nice state park. Some holes are very unique. One hole is an extreme dogleg left that will make you want to throw over the trees seeing that there is no mando.
Cons: Grass is tall in the fairway and will make your legs itch all day. Most of the course is in the open and gets really hot during the summer. Have to pay to park and pay to play. Park rangers will creep by at 2mph to scope out your girlfriend and to make sure your not toting some brews.
Other Thoughts: Beware of going left on hole #5 because there is a severe drop off that will swallow your discs whole.

Trees!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: thewishman
Played: 75  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently mowed, the rough areas were only about 6" high. Well marked holes and logical layout. A bit of exercise walking the course.

Park admission is $5, on Wednesdays it is free!
Cons: Not a very challenging course.
Other Thoughts: When you play this course, take a minute to look at the view from the trail area into the canyon - very beautiful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Can you actually plant poison ivy?

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes make this relatively open and short-medium length course fun. Most of the shots begin in open shots off the tee, with pins placed in and around trees.
Pins placed near hills require some strategy.

Some challenging tunnel and tunnel upshots required on the final 3-4 holes. Even though there aren't any "long bomb" holes, the elevation changes require some torque.

It's not bad exercise walking up and down the hills either.
Cons: If you are, or think you possibly could be, allergic to poison ivy, don't even attempt to play this course. The plants grow freely in huge patches all over. Instead of upping the penalty for wayward shots, you can stick a drive 10 feet from the pin, and be smack in the middle of a patch of ivy. Unless you're Ken Climo, you and/or your disc will find its way into the stuff at least once.
Seriously, it looks like they're growing it intentionally.

While the location makes for some nice scenery, it also musters up some pretty formidable wind. I've never seen a TeeRex get so close to flipping over. If wind is forecast, it may be worth avoiding this course.
Other Thoughts: One of the only pay-to-play courses in the area, yet it's one of the most poorly kept as well.

For $9, for my wife and I to play one round, you'd think they'd buy a bit of weed killer, or maybe a bullwhip and a chair, and try to tackle at least SOME of the ivy. Just around the pins, maybe?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course with some Altitude

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This eighteen hole course is located in beautiful Cloudland Canyon State Park. I'm not positive, but I'm pretty sure this is the oldest course in the greater Chattanooga area. The actual land that the course rests on is gorgeous with very few signs of vandalism or littering. Expect to see wildlife everywhere. The park employees and other visitors were extremely friendly (every person I saw waved to me). Signs up Lookout Mountain and in the park made finding the course very easy. There's a "pro shop" on the right after you pay to enter the park if you don't have any discs. This is a nice addition, but there is very little selection, so bring your own to be on the safe side. The course has excellent signage on every hole and concrete tees that have held up wonderfully. There are also a few trash cans throughout the course, but not on every hole.
The actual course reminds me of a lot of old school courses. What I mean by this is that most of the holes are short and are only accented by a few trees. The old Innova baskets also add to this. Other than a few trees most of the fairways are completely clear. On average the holes were about 200 feet throughout the course, with a few right around 300. Although the majority of the holes are open, the last three holes are back through the woods changing things up a bit. What this course lacks in distance it makes up for with some elevation. Pretty much every hole has you playing downhill, uphill, or over a valley. I also thought the course had excellent flow, in that I could always find the next tee without needing a marker.
Cons: The park fees are getting a little pricey here. The rate is now $5 per car and then an additional $2 per person per round. You can pay for the whole day, but they don't monitor you at all after paying, so there's nothing stopping you from playing another round. When I went the grass was still dormant, but I talked to a local that bought a yearly pass and he said that they don't mow often in the spring or summer. The high costs and high grass would probably keep me from driving out of my way to play this course in the Summer, and that's a shame because the setting is absolutely beautiful.
The holes aren't very long here. This can be a pro or a con, but seasoned players might not find enough challenge here. Although the baskets aren't rusty and look like they've held up well, their catching ability begs to differ. My group had putts spitting out left and right, but it kind of intensified the round and made us really focus. Just be aware of this.
Only other con sto speak of is that the course is kind of out of the way. Although this adds to the atmosphere of the course, it also means driving 30 minutes from the city. I would recommend making this an afternoon outing instead of trying to play it while driving through.
Other Thoughts: I kind of found myself in a love/hate relationship with this course. The setting and character of this course made it something to remember. I could literally picture tournaments being played here a decade or more ago when courses were generally shorter and more open. The downside of this course is that it's far away and (according to rumor) not well maintained in the summer.
I would recommend playing "The Sinks" and Jack Mattox Rec Complex before making the drive to Cloudland.
If you do drive up to play this course enjoy hole 11. It's a straight, downhill 300+ ft drive. I felt it was kind of the signature hole if the course had one.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Money talks

1    8/16/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, Wednesday free parking, concrete tees, map signs with distance, shade, very little traffic.
Cons: $2/round + $5 parking, thorny bushes in play, front of tee pad drop off, not enough benches and garbage cans along course, most of grass not mowed so what am I paying for?
Other Thoughts: Optional yearly passes for parking $50 and golf $15 individual or $25 family. I wouldn't mind paying to play if it was reflected in course upkeep. Someone needs to record the distances to update this site. My group of players with under two years experience will be back to work on our games.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cloud Cayon state park

2-4    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 170  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cloudland Canyon DGC is pretty nice. It is one of those courses where it appears that they have tried to make a recreational course while at the same time appeal to advanced players as well. While we all know this is an impossible task they somehow pulled it off, at least to a certain extent. Most of the holes are comparatively short with a few longer holes sprinkled in. I didn't mentally note the lengths but it is safe to say you'll not find anything over 350'. What you will find however are some pretty fun holes. The overwhelming majority of holes are open with a few obstacles here and there. Most of them are trees on the backside of the baskets. Overthrows will punish you by first making you to search for your disc and then finding a clear line to a lay up. Then it's a quick putt and most of the time you'll finish with an easy three. The fairways also hug the woods on several holes as well. From time to time you may find yourself deep in the woods if you don't play safely and you'll end up deep in some pretty thick foliage if you get a bad ricochet off a tree. That is where most of your extra strokes will come into play. Birdies are also easily picked up out here as well. There are three wooded holes on the course and I think they should be highlighted as the best out there. Fortunately, they are 15, 16, and 17. I think that is for the best too. After all, it's nice to finish on the better holes and leave with a good taste in your mouth. I never like playing course where the worst holes are at the end.

I guess I should mention the variety of shots too. Seven and eight both have some serious dog legs. Seven's is a 90 degree left and eight almost spells and upside down "J". I only wish they would have figured out how to split it up with one going right and one going left for variety's sake. Additionally, there are some elevation changes as well. Nothing major but there are a few up's and down's mixed in.

The amenities aren't bad. Signs are always a good thing and these are pretty nice. They're old but they're in good enough shape and serve their purpose pretty well. The concrete tee pads are really nice and have an extra rough surface to help with traction. Even when they're wet you won't slip.

There is a "pro shop" in the visitor's center with an impressive selection of discs. I should say this though, if you don't like Innova, you won't be impressed at all. That's all they carry. Buy they do have upwards of 100 discs. They have all of the different plastics too (dx -star). You will also find maps, score cards, and what I have found to be pretty friendly people to give you directions to the course from the visitor's center. The baskets are in good shape even though they are the older, single chain Innova models.
Cons: There is one big question. And it is the most obvious Con. Why, with all the absolutely beautiful land that's available did they stuff it in the blandest area of the park? There is no doubt that they could have masked a lesser course with some incredible scenery and no one would have noticed. It is a shame. It really is nice up there and it could have been in a better area of the park.

The poison ivy is absolutely horrendous. If you get off the beaten path you can expect to be laying in it, you really have to be careful. If you get in the woods at all be prepared to see/walk through it. I think number six is the worst. Ten feet behind the basket you will find a sea of it the size of a small pond. It is nasty. Don't over throw this one for your own sake!
The grass is also very unkempt. The fairways have been cut to highlight their path but even the shorter grass there is shin high. The area that would be described as the "rough" is literally waist high. I saw a note at the visitor's center that read, "Due to cutting back on resources we will only be cutting the fields periodically". I guess that explains the tall grass. As I mentioned, the fairways are cut but are still unsatisfactory. I played out here last fall and found deep grass clippings that absolutely ate discs. I assume they wait until growing season is over and then cut it all at once and it leaves some bad consequences. It looks like you are either playing in really tall grass or really deep clippings.

The holes can get a little repetitive, especially on eight through fourteen.



The walk from eighteen to the parking lot is a little farther than you would like but certainly is not deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: This course is good enough to get a three but with the tall grass I have to knock it down a half point, to two and a half. What a nice park though! The camping, hiking and the scenery are enough to make it worth while to drive here even if it takes you a few hours. The disc golf course is just a bonus on what could be made into a great day just relaxing and spending a day out at Cloudland Canyon State Park. Take it for what it's worth but most importantly... Enjoy!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.