Palisade, CO 
Riverbend Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #1
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Disappointing

1    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: OK, so before you instantly hate this review because it doesn't glow with praise, please read the whole thing - particularly the "other" section - and drop me a PM. I'm willing to change my review because of the circumstances but as it stands ... well, read for yourself.

As for the "pro"s, this course fit nicely into its land - a long, narrow strip between the Colorado River and another body of water. It's an out-and-back configuration and generally plays in three sections.

The first section is deep in the woods, reminding me of Oak Grove in Pasadena, where lots of trees and heavy schule make shot precision a priority.

The second section (holes 8-12, IIRC) are 350-ish and more-or-less wide open.

The third section plays on groomed grass with mature trees that encourage shot-shaping. Think "park" and you'll have it.
Cons: Despite the scenery, I didn't find anything particularly interesting about this course. It's pretty average, in my opinion - certainly no signature holes.

The main problem I saw was that certain essential course elements were missing. For instance I could not find baskets on #1, #11 or #18, no tee pad on #11, and no signs on #12, 13 or 15. Judging from the other ratings this course has gotten, I may have played it on a bad day (see the "other" section) but still.
Other Thoughts: I played this course late in the afternoon after driving pretty much non-stop for the previous 28 hours. What this means, of course, is that it didn't take much to set me off.

The other thing that may have affected my playing experience was that they were having a wine-tasting festival of some sort at the same time. This could conceivably have been the reason why the pins on #1 and 18 were missing - I don't know.

If you're reading reviews to get an idea of what this course is like, I'd certainly take what I said above with a grain of salt - it could very well have been that NO course would have fared well, all things considered. Still, my experience was what it was and given that, I stand by my rating of "reasonable", at least for the time being.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice concrete tee-pads
-Tee-signs show a picture of the hole that give a good overview of the hole
-Some of the holes play through a nice wooded area next to a small stream and have very nice challenge
-There are water hazards (including throwing over a lake on hole one) on several of the holes
-Many of the holes have benches on them
-The course is set in a park with some beautiful scenery and great views of the Colorado River.
-Most of the fairways are well kept (there is rough rough on the sides of the fairways but the fairways are wide enough to avoid it most of the time)
-The course has very nice bright baskets that are easy to see from the tee-pads
-There is a nice map of the course near the first hole
-With the one exception, the course is very easy to navigate, it is easy to know which hole to go to next.
-Many of the holes have AM and PRO tee-pads (the AM tee-pads help avoid some of the more difficult obstacles on the holes, which is nice if you are playing with a newer player)
-Pretty good variety of distances on the course
-Alternate pin positions on many of the holes
Cons: -While there are many well designed holes on this course, I also feel that it has a few too many wide open holes with very few obstacles on them
-The tee-signs don't list the distance of each hole, which is a shame because otherwise they are nice tee-signs
-There were several holes on the course that were missing there tee-signs
-Hole 11 didn't have a concrete tee-pad for the PRO tee-pad (I assume i was in the right spot, there was a tee-sign there and the picture showed a concrete tee-pad but there was no concrete tee-pad there, I did find a concrete AM tee-pad for the hole).
-There is a walking path that comes into play on some of the holes
-The tee-pad for 17 is almost right next to the tee-pad for 16, so you have to walk back up the fairway of 16 to get back to it. The tee-pad for 18 is right next to the basket for 16 so it can be a little confusing finding hole 17.
-I feel like the course design could have taken better advantage of the available water to add more risk reward to the course.
-There is a somewhat long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18, where you either have to walk back down the fairway of hole 1 or go a ways around the fairway to get back to your car.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could rate this a 3.75 because I don't feel like it is quite a 4 but I feel like it is a little better than a 3.5. This course has a lot of fun well designed challenging holes but I also feel like there are a few too many wide open holes on the course. This is definitely a course to stop at though because it is a very beautiful, enjoyable round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Watercourse.

1    4/11/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: nightwing
Played: 157  Reviewed: 39
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of water challenges.
-Some left right and tree shots
-Setting between The Colorado and The Palisades.
-Playable pads, baskets, layout. Nice easy time.

Cons: No up or down shots and some discs that won't get found.(Not that the designer could have changed this. It's just the way it is on a flat layout by a major river).
Other Thoughts: Bring beater discs or just throw it straight.
Enjoy this beautiful and unique setting.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 palisade april 2012

2-4    4/2/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: eryn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very open area. Lots of twisty tree filled fairway's.
Cons: Bugs, sun, wind, water. Lost 2 discs first day, came back next day. Disc were retrieved and no calls. :( don't lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: Wear substantial sunscreen. After 2 days was cherry red with sunstroke!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Know Thy Course

1    10/15/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful setting ont he western slope of Colorado. The course plays right along the Colorado River for better or worse. The tee pads are consistent cement pads. There are some very fun holes that provide a diverse playing experience that ranges from open holes to open holes with trouble near baskets to tight wooded holes. There are some great holes that play right along the edge of the Colorado river that make you appreciate the power of the river. Other water ont eh course keeps things interesting with OB in play on about half the holes. The course is in a nice city park that does have other amenities though the amenities are on the other side of the park. There are some really nice benches on a few holes. Descent hole signs and a good flow to the course. There are short tees for more novice players. These tees do make a significant difference in the difficulty of the course.
Cons: While all the baskets are nice, they are inconsistent due to the loss of some baskets due to major floods this year. There is very little elevation change and there are a few too many open holes. There is a biking/walking path that runs through some of the hoels along the Colorado river so there is some pedestrian traffic. There are some nice random ditches around the course that prevent straight line walking in a couple of spots from one hole to the next. There are a lot of mando signs around the course. Most are in play and really do not add a whole lote to the course. Some mandos are apparently for only the long or short tees but there is not much to tell you about this.
Other Thoughts: The course has undergone a redesign this year as part of the course was wiped out by major flooding this past spring. The course itself is really nice with the supposed new and redesigned holes playing well. Rumor has it that the course is typically more windy in the morning than later in the days becasue of where the course is located. Wind makes the holes along the river very interesting. Between I-70 and the course you will pass a number of farmers fruit stands which are well worth the purchase if you are there in season. This area is also known for its wine vineyards and there are a couple of tasting rooms to stop by as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in western Colorado.

1    4/25/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 47  Reviewed: 34
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course along the Colorado River which was once the place of the Colorado State DGC and I can see why. Great views of the nearby mountains, mesas, and the river itself. The park is easy to find and a sign is posted at the beginning of the course to show the overall layout of the course. The shots are a nice mix from open meadow to tighter wooded shots and a few have the river in play. Holes are mostly in the 250-350 range, with a few being longer. The tees and baskets are very nice and everything is well marked with signage. About half of the course has alternate pads for amateurs and most holes I noticed had multiple basket locations. Nice public park nearby with bathrooms. Two parking areas and two practice baskets are nice, with potential to use one as an alternate location for #18. This course can be enjoyed by beginners and pros alike.
Cons: This course can be crowded with pedestrians getting in the way on the back nine. The course is mostly flat with few elevation changes(this can be a plus if you have a stroller or push-cart). The river doesn't come into play as much as desired, like another reviewer said.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a must play if you are heading through the area on I-70.

Favorite holes: #3, #4, #5, #16

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Riverbend

1    10/10/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: FonzTYC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great course. Good mix of distance and accuracy holes. Amazing scenery and a breath taking view of Mt.Garfield.
Cons: Lots of dogs running around with no leashes picking up your discs.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the Grand Valley Disc Golf Club for and awesome course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just played it

1    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much has already been said. Make sure you take a look at previous reviews. This course is very challenging. Maybe not so much challenging as it is terrifying. There are so many ways to lose a disc that even just as a casual round I really felt the pressure. There is the Colorado River on all of the back nine, a deep and swift irrigation canal on the front nine, and a murky, marshy creek down the middle that plays on nearly all of the holes. There is even a "canyon" filled with water near the basket on eight. If I had known it was there when I threw my tee shot I would have certainly either thrown way short or gone in and lost my disc. My wife put a disc in the Colorado on twelve and she skipped most of the remaining holes. Twelve threw slightly away from the river and she still bounced in so she found a new way to lose a disc. It was either thirteen or fourteen the tee and basket were both just a step from the steep bank of the Colorado. How do you play that with any confidence? There were nice tee pads and most holes had two tee positions. Most holes had multiple basket locations. The scenery is spectacular. Definitely a top-notch course.
Cons: It gets very muddy on the lower grounds, but it wasn't too bad. Russian Olive trees suck! Look them up. They really suck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the valleys

5+    4/6/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Brad T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice setting near the river. Seen a few friends toss a couple in the mighty Colorado. Long open shots and some through the trees so you get both. All other reviews hit it right. There is a practice basket by parking lot you can warm up or toss a game of horse at the end.
Cons: No bathrooms in the middle of the course, so use the ones by the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Traveling through I-70 stop and give it a toss.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tournament Course

2-4    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very beautiful setting. You keep looking up at the Mesas and say "It's great to be playing disc golf here!" I played this in a tournament after a very unseasonal set of rainy days. This added a lot of additional challange. If you threw the disc into the Colorado River, it was intantly on its way to Mexico. Also, the small, very still, swampy creek that runs down the middle could prevent you from ever seeing your disc if you hit that because it was so merky. So, it made the course extremely challanging and fun to play.
Cons: I played it under tournament conditions. The sidewalk and the side of the sidewalk that the basket wasn't on was OB. This made hole 15 VERY difficult for us shorter arms. But, I can't complain about that it is just more motivation to learn my X-step. Hole #4 also was extremely difficult for shorter arms. Both holes didn't have an conservative path. There are a lot of Russian Olive trees along both the creek and the River. You have to be very careful of their thorns.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course, it is great for tournaments. I understand that for the Colorado open they made the fairways even Tighter. It is really scary to be throwing at the Colorado river on hole 11, this sticks with you on most of the back 9, making it exciting, because in the back of your mind you are thinking "If my disc doesn't hyzer back onto the course I will never see it again!" If it is sunny, bring lots of water and wear a hat, this area can dehydrate you pretty fast!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.