Clearwater, MN 
Airborn Disc Golf - Timberwolf Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Most Prodigenous

1    6/1/2020   6/29/2020
Review By: davebts77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Plays like a pro course where you need to bomb and set up shots.
Tons of water in play.
Throwing up to bolf greens is always fun.
Holes 7, 8, 12, 19 are all signatures.
Cons: Bugs
Golf carts would tip this experience over the edge.
Other Thoughts: Thanks.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/22/2020   6/22/2020
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 447  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Airborn disc golf's Timberwolf course is the longer of the 2 courses onsite, by quite a bit. This is a championship caliber course that plays along the Mississippi river. $10 for all day play or $5 after 5 PM. This is on the higher side as far as courses I've played. Actually only Visionquest was the same $10 fee. It's worth it though, with 2 quality courses to play.

The tee pads are an astroturf type material. These worked really well on a very dry day in June. Can't speak on how they are if it's wet out but they seemed like they'd be alright. These are plenty long and wide enough. I'd guess 5'x10'. The old cart path is used as the tee pad in a few spots as well.

The Prodigy baskets are top of the line. Love these things. I've only ever had the opportunity to play on these a few times. Some of the best baskets out imo. They're powdercoated orange too, so they really pop out. The Lynx course has yellow baskets so they're easy to differentiate between the two. Awesome baskets.

The tee signs are pretty basic as of now. I assume they'll make more permanent types eventually, as the course is still in it's infancy. As it stands now they just have the hole #, pars, distances from each tee and a pretty basic hole layout map. These also have a picture of either a Timberwolf or Lynx on them designating which course it's for as well as the hole sponsor. Good enough for now.

The hole lengths range from 269' on hole 16 all the way up to 917' on hole 18. This is the longer of the 2 courses here with all but 3 holes being 300' plus. This course rewards big distance, but you need accuracy on most holes as well.

Water comes into play the majority of the holes as well. There are numerous ponds throughout and a creek meanders it's way throughout coming into play on quite a few holes. Hell, there's 2 different ponds in play on hole 18. It tries to lull you into complacency on holes 14 through 17 with 300'ish shots only to drop the mic on you with a 900 footer. take that.

There's a pro shop and restrooms available at the parking lot. I didn't get a chance to visit the pro shop since it's closed on Mondays and Thursdays. But it's always cool to have discs available onsite. Probably saved myself some money anyway by it being closed. The course is in year round which is cool.
Cons: This course is not beginner friendly or for people who don't throw 400+ for the most part. And that's OK, that's what the Lynx is for.

As I mentioned earlier, The tee signs themselves are great with the information they have on them, however, these won't last too much longer the way they're set up. I'm sure a more permanent sign is lined up for the near future. But as is, all it takes is one fool to pull a sign out and first time players will be left in the dark.

I like the tee pads for the most part. At least the material they're made from. A couple are set up on sandy ground and feel soft and lumpy. Kind of strange feeling for your run up. I don't remember if it was on this course or the other, but a couple of the cart path tees were on an angle and weren't ideal. These are also much shorter, only the width of the path. Not a huge deal but mildly annoying.

A little repetitive feeling in spots. Long throw after long throw in a huge fairway. It's what you expect but it becomes a little monotonous in areas. If I threw 500 feet it'd probably less of a con but most of us don't.
Other Thoughts: I was pretty excited to play this course and it did not disappoint. It's what I was expecting it to be. Long, open, air it out disc golf. Which is not really my favorite since I can't throw very far, but I had a great time here. I wouldn't consider this a destination course but it's definitely worth a stop if you're nearby. Especially for the big arms out there. It's a good contrast to a lot of the other courses around the area which tend to be more wooded. It's not my favorite course ever but I'd play it again anytime. I think it's only going to get better too.

If you're hardcore into disc golf and you've never been to the Twin Cities, you don't know what you're missing. The golf up here is ridiculously good. This is just another great addition to an already robust number of amazing courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic course with epic holes

1    5/4/2020   5/4/2020
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 173  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 16.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is part of a 2-course 36-hole complex built in a defunct ball golf course along the Mississippi River. The two courses have different color Prodigy baskets orange and yellow, to help navigation. Timberwolf uses the orange baskets, and is the tougher and longer (by about 2000ft) of the two courses.

The holes are set among old ball golf fairways, and several of them use ball golf routes that are also great for disc golf. There are a couple of epic signature holes: Hole 8 is an uphill par 3 to an elevated green with a pond in front of it, separated by a huge retaining wall that will knock any low or short throw into the pond. Hole 12 is a par 4 that uses that same pond on one side, a creek at mid fairway, and the Mississippi River on the other side to create a tough challenge to control the landing. These two were my favorite holes on the course.

Hole 18 is also fantastic, a big par 5 with two pond crossings. The first is from the tee and you can get across with a 280 foot throw or bite off as much distance as you want. For the second pond crossing on the approach to green, the water can be blind from the fairway depending on how far back you are. The shot(s) in between the water have to be well-placed if you want to execute your own plan on this hole, otherwise the hole will define your plan for you. Excellent par 5 hole; it really forces you plan ahead, yet be flexible to change your plan if any shot is not executed.

The rest of the holes are a mix of open holes with a few that are lightly wooded. The open par 4s require care in how and where to land the disc for the next shot. Several holes have ponds and creek as water hazards with significant lost disc potential, made tougher by the difficulty judging distance on this style of course. Several baskets are placed to force careful control on drives/approaches toward the edge of a pond (holes 2, 6, 15, 16, 17) or death putts on hillsides (holes 7 and 10). This is a big difference from the other easier course.

An interesting and unique design feature is that the two courses are interwoven, so that you can see parts of the other course from the course you're playing. If it's poorly designed there could be interference, and I didn't notice any problem like that at all.
Cons: A few too many wide open fairways for my taste but that's not really part of my numerical rating.

Non-uniform tees are not ideal. Some are using the old cart path concrete, some have artificial turf, and some are natural with bare dirt or golf grass...mud could be a problem. If there were upgraded and consistent tees I'd probably change my rating of this course to a 5.

Some spots on this course look like they could hold water from Mississippi flooding.
Other Thoughts: The complex has a huge amount of space and could easily accommodate big festival-type tournaments. There is only a small parking lot and the overflow parking area is in a low grassy field that looks like it could retain water. It was dry when I was there, but I wonder how that overflow parking would fare in wet conditions.

Distance on signage was suspect in many cases. They are temp signs so it can be easily fixed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Airborn Disc Golf - Timberwolf

1    4/25/2020   4/26/2020
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 82  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 25.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long course with a nice variety of holes. This is not a casual rec player course, it is brand new and you can already imagine future tournaments.

Every hole was challenging in its own way, but it very much leans into length, with plenty of water hazards.

Overall it is a great course and will soon be counted among the top courses in Minnesota.
Cons: It is a new course, so there are a few rough spots. The flow is a bit off in a few spots, with a couple of spots where it felt like the pad for a following hole was in danger from an overthrow on the previous hole. Also, navigation was a bit dodgy in places.

The only other con I can think of is I can't think of a single signature hole. Plenty of very good holes, and on replay I might change my mind.
Other Thoughts: I want to play the course a couple of more times and plan on coming back and updating my review with more specifics, but I wanted to get at least one review on the site for this fantastic course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.