Grass Valley, CA 
Squirrel Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
What a fantastic surprise!

1    9/19/2017   9/19/2017
Review By: the_bird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a really, really beautiful little course. It has a great variety of terrain, lots of hills/undulation, tons of trees, and a beautiful little stream running through a few of the holes. Not to mention the course/park is kept in immaculate shape. I am really jealous that this isn't my local course!

The entire course is par 3's, but that doesn't mean this is a course that gives up an abundance of birdies. with all of the trees, and the super tight windows on almost every hole, I was really scrambling to try and make pars.

-Most of the holes play from 250 to 350 yards and require really precise shot making. I struggled on a number of the holes to get it up near the basket off the tee because of the tight throwing lanes, the ever present trees, and the numerous left to right shots off the tee (I don't have much of a forehand). Because of this I had a lot of challenging up shots for such a short course. It was really nice (and fun), because I really got to use every disc and shot in my bag, which is pretty rare for courses of this length that I have played in the past.

-The parking lot is right next to the first and 18th holes. It was nice not having to make a long hike to and from the car.

-The teepads are a really good length which was nice.

-When I played it most of the basket locations seemed to be in the hardest/furthest locations. I imagine it would play quite differently (and quite a bit easier) if most of the holes were at the "A" location.

-There were a couple 400-450 foot holes as well as a couple that played really short (around 175-200), so it was a nice little mix.

-I think it's a fantastic course for a newer (beginner/novice/intermediate player). It's a fair and super fun challenge for players like that, especially the newer players (like me!) I felt like I got my moneys worth for sure! I imagine for an advanced player that has great control, distance, and all the shots it would be pretty darn easy.
Cons:
-I had a little trouble finding the place. Make sure you pay attention to your directions and familiarize yourself with where the course it at. I ended up going in a big circle to get there.

-It was pretty crowded for a late weekday morning/early afternoon.

-There are a lot of really, really blind shots. So, if it's your first time you'll need to walk up the fairway before teeing up on a lot of the holes or you'll just have to press your luck. I was fortunate to pair up with a very cool regular after a few holes which helped out a ton. I met a few locals out there and they were all super cool.

-I felt like the course was pretty right hand sidearm heavy. So many of the shots out there were dogleg right sort of holes or holes with openings only for sidearm or sweeping annhyzers.

-For what seems like a really big park the course really felt like it was crammed into a fairly tight little area.
Other Thoughts:
Loved it. There are obviously things to nitpick, but all in all I really loved the course. I can't wait to go back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A personal favorite

5+    7/10/2016   7/28/2016
Review By: CK_Upshot
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Family friendly, set in a spacious park that also has a skate park and playground, among other amenities. Fair amount of parking, and not frequently crowded (based on my experience). The course is well maintained, and signage makes navigation fairly easy with the exception of a couple holes. Pretty much every hole has multiple pin locations, making for a variety of play. All shots play through the woods, although some are more open than others, with a variety of short to long and left/right shots. Benches and trash cans at pretty much every hole. Bathrooms, picnic tables and a putting green (with numbered markers) near first hole. Another course (Hanging Oaks - Penn Valley) within 10 miles makes for a fairly easy two-course, double round day.
Cons: The manzanita can eat discs if you are not careful. Some may find the course to be too short. Some may find it to be too wooded and technical. I don't happen to fit in either of those categories.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses that have played since I started playing the game. I live in the Sacramento area, and try to get up to Grass Valley (about an hour drive for me) to play this course at least 3 or 4 times a year, if not more. I like that you don't need a monster drive to succeed on the course. It takes skill (and a bit of luck sometimes) to have a solid round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/29/2016   5/29/2016
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 56  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-baskets with number placard on top
-great tee signs with washer marking which pin placement
-multiple pin positions on each hole
-variety of shots with plenty of elevation changes, water hazards and fairways shaped by manzanitas
Cons: -Navigation can be a little confusing in some places.
Other Thoughts: This is one my favorite courses in the area. It's well kept and gets upgrades once in a while, like an alternate tee that was added on #2 not too long ago. You definitely need a variety of shots for this course, each hole has placements that are left and right of the tee and the manzanitas can be punishing if you land off the fairway. Pairing this course with Hanging Oaks in Penn Valley or Auburn makes for a fun 36 holes on your day off, or playing this and Hanging Oaks on your way through the area is well worth the time. There are restaurants and a liquor store(that carries a small selection of discs) nearby, garbage cans and benches at most holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

1    7/24/2015   7/26/2015
Review By: Fat Dragon
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well-kept wooded course - scrub and brush are kept to a minimum so you rarely have to spend much time searching for discs after the inevitable tree kicks.
- Tons of pin positions that were all accurately marked at each teepad.
- Well-marked course with clear and accurate hole maps at each tee so you rarely have to search for the next teepad or basket.
- Two loops so you can play a short round or stop by your car halfway through a round.
- Multiple lines on almost every hole but very few gimme holes so there's always a challenge to be had.
Cons: - Few opportunities for big arms to bomb.
- Washers indicating pin position are loose and letters are written closely together on some holes - could easily get turned to the wrong letter and mislead players who don't scout ahead on some holes where the pin positions aren't visible from the teepad.
- Pretty basic baskets - not really a major con because they caught discs as well as most courses, but after a round on Delaveaga's posh Mach X baskets, there's definitely room for improvement.
Other Thoughts: Maybe it's because I had good company and a great round (by my standards), but I loved this course. I've played quite a few courses in CA, AZ, and TX, including several four or four-and-a-half star courses, but this was my favorite of them. There's a constant challenge on every hole as there should be on a wooded course, but unlike some courses, you don't have to climb into a ravine or through a morass of poison oak (we only saw one tiny sprig of it all day) or spend an hour searching through scrub to recover a shanked disc. This is a beautiful course, wonderfully maintained, and a great pleasure to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

2-4    5/23/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: GuidoPero
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course with a handful of open long drives and most with narrow pathways and some where spending an extra moment will be beneficial. Course is very well laid out with a great map showing pin locations.

Most courses I play are open with really long drives so this great for making accurate shots trying to get through the trees.
Cons: It took a few wholes to realize, on the pole with the map there is a 2" washer with A, B, C and some with D on them. On the pole is an arrow pointing to one of the letters. After whole 3 is when it clicked what that meant. It could be a little better labeling. Blue baskets are often hard to see with the sun shinning through the trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in the Area

5+    12/4/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 104  Reviewed: 36
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well marked, thanks to the new signs from TRULine Disc Golf.

The baskets are moved frequently to keep things from getting boring.

Terrain is varying, allowing for one to test skills.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if traveling through or to the area of Auburn, Grass Valley or Nevada City.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Technical Wooded Course

1    9/28/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 40  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course flows well through lovely scenic forest and a babbling brooke. It's a lovely idyllic setting well suited to tight, technical disc golf
- Healthy variety of lines and shots required. Enough elevation change to keep it interesting
- Great signage and quality teepads everywhere
- Holes 13 & 15 really stand out with the stream running through each. You throw across the river towards a basket on the opposite bank through the woods.
- Low probability of losing a disc while still punishing to bad shots. Fair but demanding design
- Lots of varied and smart basket placements make this course accessible and enjoyable to almost all skill levels
Cons: - I could have done without many of the "A" basket positions. They were sometimes super short <200ft and on the simpler side. I understand that they are targeting newer players with these positions but I felt the B-D positions could have accommodated that level player just fine. A few "A" positions required you to throw a putter through one line a trees. You make it through and you get a chance for a birdie. It glances off a tree and you're gonna get a par. Not especially satisfying
- Terrain and foliage are pretty uniform (wooded and hilly) throughout the course so you get a lot of 150-250ft tight wooded shots off the tee. A couple longer open holes to round out the course would have been ideal. A few too many mids/putters off the tee for my taste. Leave your distance drivers at home.
Other Thoughts: I'm very happy I visited this course. It's tight, wooded disc golf with well-designed holes. The additional of just 2-3 longer, open holes would bump my rating up to a 5 but even without those you'll have a very enjoyable round here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

1    6/28/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shorter technical course playing through a really nice forest. The fairways are clear, but there are some narrow gaps to hit and some brushy manzanita if you miss your lines. There's a fair amount of punishment for errant shots, but ample opportunity for creative recovery shots through the trees. There are some moderate elevation changes on a few holes, and they definitely add some fun drives.

The holes by the creek add some OB challenge and have the potential of rollaways with the sloped banks. There are multiple pins on all the holes, with a really good variety of lines available. You'll need a solid set of line shaping skills to score well here. The setup I played did a good job of mixing up left, right and straight shots. Having the alternates is a nice way to keep the course interesting for repeat play if they're moved often.
Cons: The course is pretty short overall, so for better players it won't test more than putter and midrange shots. The longer pins that do actually add some length had some weird lines, it looked like someone fell into the trap of making them "harder" without really looking at realistic disc golf lines.

The signs don't mark which pin placement is in use, that can make for some extra scouting when you have this many alternate locations. The fairways are showing a lot of compaction, and the holes by the creek have some significant erosion issues.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course. It might be a little punitive for really new players, but the lengths are reasonable and the lines are fair. More experienced players will find some fun short challenges but not a real test of their full range of skills. This course is worth a stop if you're in the area, it's got some really fun shots and it's a great walk in the woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A stroll in the woods playing disc golf

1    6/28/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: sumo21
Played: 32  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -You end where you start. Hole 1 and hole 18 are in the same vicinity, so you don't have to walk that extra distance to your car

-Bathroom's and a water fountain

-Very technical course that even a newbie like myself can play and do relatively decent

-Scenery can be a nice distraction, if you're having a bad game

-Nothing too steep, up or down, to worry about when maneuvering through the course

-Nothing really too long in distance, every hole seems to play about 200-350 on average. Although a few holes do have that near 400+ foot basket
Cons: -Some baskets you can't see from the tee, so you have to use the tee sign to estimate

-No basket indicator on the tee sign so you have to look for basket unless someone is playing ahead of you
Other Thoughts: Have a towel ready because your shoes and discs will accumulate the red-brown dirt that makes up the ground constituent of the course.

Make sure you look at the tee sign before your next hole. It will give you the general direction in which it is located.

Watch out for holes 13, 14, 15 which the creek comes into play. 13 and 15, you throw across it to get to your basket. One basket setting of 14, puts the basket near that creek, near the edge of the hill. Would love to play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Longtail Larry Leisure Loops

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A beautiful stroll winding through the gently-undulating landscape, containing many tall pines, hovering over some mid-sized hardwoods, supported by ever-present manzanitas, atop a thin blanket of pine needles - and throw in a clear-running stream for good measure,

Tee areas: each has a bench, a trash can, a teesign (which also indicates direction of the next tee), and flat, long, and wide concrete teepad, wider at the throwing end on those holes were multiple throwing lanes are available.

Two nine-hole loops. Practice baskets. Restroom. Shaded. Minimal chance to lose a disc.
Cons:
With five pin positions per (most) hole, typically not visible from the tee, it would be nice if the teesign indicated the current position.
Other Thoughts:
Obviously, with five pin positions, the length and shape challenges you face on any particular day could vary wildly - when I visited, the baskets were primarily in the longer positions, with an fairly even blend of lefts (most on the earlier holes the day I played), rights (latter half), with a smattering of straight shots needed from the tee.

While there are no extreme elevation changes, only a few holes are flat throughout - subtle up/down slopes, across valley, or up-n-over a small rise will greet you on most holes.

Throwing lanes are quite fair, as are the shapes - no pinball, no triple turns, no eye-of-the-needle, no 180s. All throwing lanes are reasonable w/o being automatic, contain more air than trees, and most mistakes, except the most egregious, will suffer a recovery.

Baskets are all quite approachable, with a few on slopes quite neat the stream - I went just over it on #14 :-), but rolled back into it on #15. :-(

I swung a bit out of my way to play the course, and am very happy I did so - also enjoying the eastward drive on route-20 afterwards. Natural beauty seemingly designed to host a disc golf course - a peaceful, pleasurable play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.