Durham, NC 
Cornwallis Road Park Share
Uploaded By: KenanFlagler01 Hole #10 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 217ft.   3 / 376ft.   3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    9/16/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: southgrooves
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short technical course set in nice park in nice neighborhood. Park has restrooms, water, basketball courts, walking trails and a playground. It does not, however, have a parking lot. Parking is on the street on Wade.

Two concrete pads per hole. Red tees are a short confidence booster, Blues are a solid technical run through the woods. Decent use of elevation change and good use of available land. Hard to lose a disc except around #11-#13. Very easy to navigate.

Red - 4 Left, 9 Straight, 5 Right
Blue - 5 Left, 7 Straight, 6 Right

Some may count this as a Con, but I'm into the historical nature of things, so it works for me. One of the oldest courses around, built before the rise of the high-tech drivers, so it plays best with a mid and putter. Drivers ding all over the place out here and can make for some seriously difficult second shots.
Cons: Mach 2 baskets - maybe not a Con to some, but i don't like the shallower baskets and they are hard to spot in the woods.

Erosion - the front nine is all on one side of a hill that washes down to the area around Tee 1. Just looking at the tee boxes exposes how bad the erosion really is. Without some serious erosion control I fear this course may not be playable in another 10 years, definitely not the front nine.

Layout - the whole front nine and #14-#17 all play essentially on top of one another. A good tee shot is usually safe, but catch one of the many trees here and you never know what "fairway" you'll be approaching from. Also, the walking trails weave through the course as well, adding an extra level of both distraction and awareness.
Other Thoughts: Not a lot of variety and no "epic" holes, but great for a quick round or two, or to practice your short game.

Best Hole - #12 Blue, 231' over a creek, a small hill, and another drainage creek, to a basket on a short ridge on the edge of the woods.

Most Fun Hole - #10 Blue, 376' downhill off of a small ridge over a field to a basket nestled just to the left in some trees. Only true "driver" hole on the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  What I Play Most

5+    3/27/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: Sethster
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: Cornwallis is a small course that offers a quick round, and some variety.

There are 2 concrete teepads for all 18 holes of the course. While some holes are different (like hole 10), most holes don't offer much other than a little more distance.

The signage for each hole is decent, but with the shorter holes most are easy to spot anyway!

That being said, this is a short course! It is great to practice with lower drivers and mid-range discs. Aces are possible, and I have seen one by someone else, but they are just elusive enough to be difficult.

This is a great course to work of hyzer and anhyzer shots. This course has really worked my approach game!

The park has new playground, basketball court, walking trail, and a bathroom. It is tucked in a nice neighborhood with lots of street parking.

Very possible to shoot low scores, with many fair birdie chances!
Cons: The multiple teepads don't seem to add enough variety.

The 18th hole is close to the 10th tee, which can cause some confusion, if you are driving on 18.

The course can be very muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This course is one closest to my house, so I play it more than others in the area.

I enjoy the shorter, wooded course. Its fun to shoot for low scores. Don't expect to throw your long-bomb drivers(boss, nuke, katana, etc.) on very many holes.

Also, I played my first doubles there last weekend. Everyone was friendly and welcoming! After the rounds, they installed a new bridge to the tee for hole 12. It looks great!

 one of first 100 courses ever

5+    7/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great mid range course, or begginer. no hole over 300. very negotiable and fun. they do hav pro pads but not that hard. the locals are exclent and treat every one the same. watch out for a few people walking. easy 10 under from am pads.
Cons: short but that allows u 2 focus on your short game.
Other Thoughts: park never closes its in a nice neighborhood. GLOW GOLF

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun, birdie filled round

5+    12/3/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very short course filled with birdie chances. Wooded course with narrow but open fairways. Requires players to be able to move discs left to right and right to left to get close for birdies and ace runs. Can play entire course in less than an hour. Significantly different course from two different tee pads. Go real low from the reds and hang around par from the blues!
Cons: Course is crowded but play generally moves quickly. You really don't need much more than some mid range discs and bigger arms could play the entire course with a putter. Walking trail throughout course puts passer-byers in occasional danger and prevents dogs from running around off leash. If you're looking to stretch out your arm, head over to UNC or maybe even Valley Springs.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners and a fun course for advanced players to score low. Not as many ace holes as you might think considering how short the course is.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Short Course

1    12/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really surprised me. Usually the words "Heavily Wooded" turn me away from a course because they translate to "you will spend the entire game screaming as your disc collides with trees over and over and over...". This course, despite being considered heavily wooded, was not bad all. The fairways were tight, but were always wide enough to get your disc near the basket, even if your accuracy isn't perfect. The course had tee signs that clearly showed the hole layout and length. Also, there are two tees for every hole, so there are basically two courses here (though some of the alt tees are extremely close the the normal tees and therefore do not change the layout that much...). You could easily birdie all holes except for alt 10 and alt 18. Very few holes are more than 200 ft so its a short course and you could play it in about 45 minutes.
Cons: I played the day after it rained, and there was mud everywhere. The terrain was often slightly difficult to traverse because the mud was so deep.
Other Thoughts: When I played, there were two groups of about 5 kids below the age of 8 out there playing. They were playing extremely slowly, and the adults accompanying them never asked us to play through. I don't know if this kid traffic is a very regular occurence, but it definitely detracted from my experience. I'm all for kids getting into disc golf at a young age, but a group of six should always let a pair play through.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/28/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good short game practice, Nice wooded holes, Multiple birdie and hole in one attempts, Concrete tee boxes, alternate tees, no ground brush, never crowded.
Cons: Extremely short, non DISCatcher baskets some bent,
Other Thoughts: fun, nice course. Not too challenging good for practice and beginners, two very long holes if you play alternate number ten, and eighteen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too short

2-4    4/15/2006   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Occasional or beginner course

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in good shape and well signed. Holes are short-to-medium distances--including a few ace opportunities--with a variety of shot types needed. Pin positions do not change but there are separate red and blue tees for each hole. Nice course to get a quick and fun round in with practice on technical shots for veteran players. It's also a nice course for beginners to cut their teeth a bit and work on their game; it will provide challenges but is fair.
Cons: As others have mentioned it can get crowded and, because of being beginner and family friendly, can often lead to slow rounds for more experienced players. Also there is a walking path through the middle of the course so you have to watch out for non-golfers.

Most holes are tightly packed because it is a small course so it is easy to throw onto another hole's fairway. A couple of tees are alongside or in the throwing path of previous holes. 10's blue tee is particularly bad because it is actually between 18's tee and basket. You have to be fairly aware of the people playing around you to make sure a disc doesn't come for your head.

Others have mentioned that 5 is alongside Cornwallis Road and I agree that it is a poor layout choice. The shot required is a significant right-to-left shape and it is too easy to throw straight or turn it over right to send it spraying onto the road. There is a line of trees but they are not thick enough to consistently stop discs. To make it worse, the course is elevated from the road so it can be a bit of a pain to get down the steep hill.
Other Thoughts: I have to say that I do have fun here. For better players the blue tees provide a bit of challenge and the shorter holes make for plenty of ace or birdie opportunities and a good score for the wall when you're done.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/8/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 96  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Short and long holes
-Alternate tee boxes
-Score cards sometimes available
-Plenty of shade in the summer
-Fun course
-Weekly doubles, monthlies, etc...
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Can be difficult to find the next hole or exactly which basket you are going for on some holes
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course. Heavily wooded with a lot of technical shots. I would recommend checking it out

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great "Short Track" Course...

5+    11/22/2008   1/15/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cornwallis DGC is a great "short track" type of course, and is perfect for practicing your short game. The terrain is fairly fair-to-moderate, so you won't really need your hiking shoes on this course.

~ Concrete beginner and alternative tees.
~ Signage provides approx distances.
~ Perfect for a quick round on the weekdays.
~ Great for perfecting your game in heavily wooded conditions.

Cons: My major issue with this course involves the fact that for new players, this course can be extremely confusing due to it's layout.

~ Extremely crowded on weekends.
~ Heavy pedestrian and pet traffic.
~ Difficult to locate next tees due to overlapping fairways.
~ Extremely wet and muddy after rain storms.
~ Heavily wooded areas.
~ One hole requires banking your shot far left, otherwise you risk landing your disc on a major road (major hazard).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.