Disc Golf Center
Mobile, AL 
Cottage Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #16 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Cottage Hill? More like Cottage Flat

1    9/30/2017   10/5/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 137  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- technical and challenging fairways
- clearly defined fairways
- multiple tees per hole
- plenty of shade throughout the course
- some holes had multiple baskets
- information kiosk at beginning of course
- practice basket
- plenty of parking
- easy to follow layout
- numbered baskets
- easy to follow layout
- garbage cans
Cons:

- course run down, full of trash
- course close to multi use park, some pedestrian spillover on to the course
- many repetitive, sometimes uninspiring, holes
- not a lot of distance variety
- flat course
- awkward shaped and short trapezoid tee pads, some worn out
- tee signs were hard to read, lacked information
- not many benches
- baskets need a splash of color, hard to see in woods
Other Thoughts:

Cottage Hill is a tight, technical style course that rewards accuracy and consistency over power. The flat landscape features fairways that average around 225ft from shorts and 280ft from longs. It's one of those courses that renders your favorite distance driver useless and makes an understable mid worth its weight in gold. The name of the game at Cottage Hill is throwing productivity from the tee pad. Failing to do so will likely cost players a stroke or more of scrambling, especially on the "longer" holes.

Personally, I like these types of courses. Players with strong fundamentals will enjoy the fairway technicality. Strong players that lack finesse, probably less so. The tight lines were challenging. Most holes provided enough clearly defined fairway space to make a line to the basket. Walking up the fairway may be necessary for a few holes, either to take a peek at the basket or to see the line you'll be throwing.

I imagine this course hasn't changed much in the last 20 years by the looks of fairways and equipment. To be honest, I wasn't a huge fan of the tees. The short, tapered, conglomerate pads were awkward to throw from. I couldn't comfortably x-step on them, both because of the trapezoid shape and the overall shortness. Many of the signs were unreadable, but navigation was intuitive enough to walk the course without too much of an issue. It was hard to tell if vandalism or neglect were to blame. Almost every hole had some sort of trash on it.

The course is located on a multi use park with an assortment of other activities. I had to wait a few times for random walkers, even though the courses is on a pretty specifically disc golf section of the park. I imagine these non disc golfing pedestrians being responsible for a portion of the littering, especially on the holes near the parking lot. One thing that I found annoying, which is not really course related, was that during my visit an ice cream man had set up shop in the parking lot near the course. I could hear his music from every corner of the course. If that's a regular occurrence I'd list it as a major course con.

Overall, I enjoyed my visit to Cottage Hill Park. The 3 things that prevented me from giving this course a higher rating were the overall lack of fairway variety, lame tees, and the gloomy condition of course equipment.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fair?

5+    1/22/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: tbh0002
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are some very cool "Roc" shots requiring a variety of shot shapes.
Cons: There are several holes that you better be "livin right" to get off the tee.
Other Thoughts: First off... I am no rookie. I have played courses all over the southeast and used to play as a pro (990 rated, for what it's worth). I have played many "tight" courses and understand the difference between skill and luck. This course has many holes that require alot of precision but there are some holes that Ken Climo would admit was lucky to get through the "fairway". I follow that statement with this. You can play some of these type holes as two shot holes and still walk away with a 3 with a well controlled upshot. Summing up, You should be prepared to beat in some discs at this course and if you play this course smart you can definitely shoot 7-8 under. But if you shoot way over par... don't give up hope this course can defeat even the most seasoned pros.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ummm, yea

1    1/7/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: Manson
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with narrow fairways makes accuracy much more important than being able to drive a long way. Nice park and the course itself has a certain woodsy charm which I like. Reminds me of a couple of my home courses, just a bit more difficult. I like a mid range challenge, especially coupled with a round at Langan the same day, which works the long drive game.
Cons: Trash. Lots of it on the fairways and off. Crowded. Don't get me wrong. It excites me to see so many folks out playing a round but when families have 4 year olds throwing and holding up a train of people behind them, learn to offer to allow others to play thru. The large # of people playing takes me back to the trash thing. Doesn't anyone see all the trash but me? Bring a bag and pick it up! Jeez. Kills me that everyone wants to use a course for free but will not lift a finger to keep it nice. Grafitti. Lots of that too which makes a course have a trashy feel to me. Tee pads are concrete-great. Small in most cases-bad. Exposed tree roots around tee pads makes follow thru at times hazardous. Lots of stoner types here. Lots. Next tee signs pointing out direction would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Played this along with Langan/Municipal park on same day as part of road trip. This course was by far the trashiest I have played. If the course was better kept up and dumbasses didn't grafitti everything here, I would give it a higher score and come back. As it is, no to both.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/23/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: Christopher Kelly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's nicely shaded? There are easy birdie shots. The tees are cemented.
Cons: Navigation in between holes can be gruesome. HEAVILY WOODED. The people that attend this course are all either drunk or under the influence of another substance. There are benches, but they are defiled. The trashcans are full or overflowing with garbage, mainly beer. The trashcans also have a lot of writing all over it, usually themed by the Alabama Crimson Tide. The cemented tees are breaking and are very small and tight to begin with. Be aware of roots and other things sticking out of the ground, can cause injury.
Other Thoughts: The best thing about the courses within Mobile is how close they are to one another.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cottage H*ll lives up to its name

1    2/10/2007   8/21/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 107  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cottage hill is a very technical golf course that requires the utmost attention off the tee andperfection with any and every shot. Alternate tees allow you to choose between playing a shorter am or longer course pro course which is great for any taxing course.
Cons: Too many fairways when played from the pro tees required a bit too much luck for my tastes. Very narrow fairways may work for the few holes under 300 ft, but beyond that lines are very tough to spot if you're an out of towner just trying to grab a quick round. Its VERY easy to lose a disc in the brush around the fairways which are lined with thorns and tough to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I played this course late in the afternoon following an interview just before driving back up to Birmingham. Its also been a couple of years since I last played it so some of the critiques may be outdated. In my opinion though I made the wrong choice of courses to play in mobile that day. I only had time for one and chose this one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/24/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 129  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like tough wooded courses, then this is the course for you. This is a pro level wooded course, where accuracy is of the utmost importance and par is a really good score. There are long tees on several of the holes and novice tees on the harder holes, which makes this course fun for a wide range of skill levels. The variety is good, with a great mixture of long and short shots, easy and tough holes, as well as some very interesting shots forced from the tee. There are nice long tee pads on every hole and several benches throughout the course. There are also bathrooms a short walking distance from the course. The many trees and thick canopy pretty much block most wind and sunlight, which makes for great shade, but no breeze during the summer months.
Cons: With thick shule, lots of trees, tight gaps, and lots of chances for lost discs on errant shots, this is a really tough course for newer players. This is not a con for everybody, but you should know what you are getting yourself into when you play this course. The last time I played the course, it was very trashy, with trash everywhere it seemed. There were trash cans, but a couple of them were full and overflowing. Navigation can also be very tricky on several holes. You must pay attention to the little yellow wood posts with arrows telling you which way to go for the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This course has good balance in different types of shots, but there does not seem to be a lot of mid level shots. It seemed like either every hole was a short pitch and putt birdie hole or a very tough, try and get your par hole, with almost no in between. Overall, this is probably the toughest pure wooded course I have played, at least when played from the long tees. The best thing about this course and the area of Mobile, is how each course seems to compliment the other. Just a few miles from this course are 2 fairly open courses in USA and Langan Park. If you are in the area, there is something for everybody in this area and if you like wooded courses, then this course is worth a visit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    10/11/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice disc catchers on every hole. It does have multiple tee boxes and approaches that make the course vary in length and play.
Cons: I found this course a little confusing to navigate and the big painted arrows help a little, but made for a ghetto feel. This course demands skill and finesse at every turn which I think makes it unsuitable for beginners to have any real fun. The trash is unbelievable and puts a huge damper on what would otherwise be a real nice course.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes appeared grossly over grown to me and make for a normal throw off the tee almost impossible. Bring extra discs as you may lose one in the dense underbrush if you miss the fairway.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ShaunR Says

7/14/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: ShaunR
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked tight fairways and plenty of oppertunity to add strokes to your round. It is not a long course but somewhat technical. This course is a must if you are in the area dur to the fun rating. Right to left Left to right not much rolling to be done here.
Cons: Lots of trash lying around. so 2.5 is all I can muster.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back. Hope the trash is gone.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.