Powells Point, NC 
Currituck County Rural Center Share
Uploaded By: lee76007 Hole #17 (Taken 12/2021)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Disc Golf in the Land of the Wild Goose

1    4/11/2022   4/29/2022
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 491  Reviewed: 463  Exp: 18.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In what could easily be a neglected disc golf course off the beaten path in the shadow of the Outer Banks, you instead have a surprisingly fun mid-level course. Color me happy for the slight detour to check out this one.
- If you want to build a short to mid-range, casual level course, this is a great example of how to do it right. 5200 foot length course. Only one hole longer than 400 feet. Very few trees on the course itself.
- With the lack of obstacles on the course itself, this somehow has excellent variety. From the tight fairways (#2, 3, 13, and 14) to the holes with mounds (#5 & 8) to a water hole (#8, again) to ace runs/park-able birdie holes (#1, 7, 11, 13, 15, & 16) to the longer, air-it-out holes (#4, 10, & 18), there's some nice variety.
- The appeal of this course really is the stroll through the entire park. Horse riding rings, trails, kayak/canoe sound access, playground, and more. This is a nice small town course.
- If you like all things equine, here's your course. Horses, for the layperson. From the smell of horses and hay to the horse droppings. There's a lot of horse amenities here except for a Burger on the Go franchise.
- I like the hidden, in the far corners of the park holes. #7 plays alongside the park fence. And it's hidden behind a mound. It's a disc golfers dream: being hidden from everyone else. #13 & 14 also play along the backside of the park. And #6 seemingly weaves alongside the fence, except where it jetties out and gives you a tad more fairway.
- I'm guessing the course isn't often crowded. Casey Logan's course (and parking lot) was packed one day earlier. Here, we were the only car in the park. There were more mowers running than there were cars in the parking lot.
- Excellent course for beginners/casual players. 12 of 18 holes are shorter than 300 feet. As long as players avoid the fenced off areas, this is a great course to introduce new players to the game.
Cons: Lack of challenge. Advanced players are going to be double digits under par. I was only a couple under par due to part to my anemic putting. And due in part to 15 - 20 mph winds.
- Signage needs to be improved. Each basket has a marker pointing you to the next tee. Very helpful, right? Well, when you have a long transition between tees, not so much.
- Along those lines, no tee signs/markers. Tees have a marker on the ground. So, you can be 40 feet away from the tee and not see it. In other words, new players need the UDisc app or at least a printed course map.
- Without tee signs or maps, navigation can be confusing. On #4, for example, the closest basket to you is for #5. Immediately after #16, you see one basket close to you and one further away. Intuition would lead you to believe you're throwing to the further one first, and turning around and coming back to the closer one. Well, you'd be wrong. After #9, would you be able to find #10's tee without a course map/app? Only if you're willing to waste time walking around.
- Lack of general amenities. Tees are rubber matting. Or paint on the road. Or possibly something else.
- I'd suspect the course isn't always available to play. If there are equestrian events, there will probably be trucks and trailers parked everywhere. I'm telling you, build a Burger on the Go franchise and the issue is fixed.
Other Thoughts: I generally liked the Currituck Rural Center course. It's basic, it's simple, and it's enjoyable. It's amazing what a good flow can do to a course's appeal.
- This is definitely a rural center. Driving from the Outer Banks, as soon as you drive over the Wright Memorial Bridge, you may as well be an hour from the coast. It feels like a different world.
- I think most people will like the two mound holes (#5 & 8). #8 is probably the course's most aesthetically pleasing course, what with the elevated tee and the water in play on the right side.
- I thought #1, 2, and 7 were all nice, basic layouts. #12 & 13 were my favorite back-to-back holes. Both in the 275 foot range (270 & 279 respectively). #12 is a dogleg right layout with the basket hidden from the tee. #13 is a slight dogleg left with woods and fence along the entire right side. And yes, my back-to-back birdies are clouding my judgement. That said, #12 is the best tee shot on the course.
- This is a good vacation course. If you can't pack your entire bag, you're in luck. You can play well here with only two or three discs. Honestly, if you can throw a mid-range between 250 - 300 feet, you can navigate the course nicely with a single disc.
- This course reminded me a lot of Scotland County in Laurinburg, nearly 5 hours away. I think I'm speaking to an audience of 2 with my comparison (Olorin and BraveThrower). Both are simple layouts. Neither is flashy. But I enjoyed both for what they had to offer.
- If you're in the area, sure, check it out. Just know, if you're driving here from the Outer Banks with the family, you're driving by a large water park. And, you'll be pestered with questions about going there.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

I want to like to course.

1    4/22/2022   4/23/2022
Review By: Stryker
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course to walk and is not too far off the main road.
The layout is very good, with perfect par for each hole.
No single hole provided a major challenge, but they all felt just challenging enough. It really was fun for throwing and playing. But...
Cons: There is literally 0 signage. The "disc golf parking" wasn't marked and is just on the grass. If I didn't have the U-Disc app, I wouldn't have found where to start.
The tees have nothing to show you where to throw. The front 9 have a plate on the ground to at least tell you which direction, but if there's multiple baskets or trees, you might not know where to go.
Finding the next tee is only guided by an arrow on the basket, but when there's no sign at the tee, it's very easy to get lost.
Other Thoughts: If you have a map or an app, absolutely play this course. I have heard it is still in progress, so hopefully the signs are coming.
The "water hazzard" is a good level of danger. Not bad if you're careful, but still pretty.
Be mindful of the tee pads. They are good and grippy when dry, but if you play with morning dew they can be just slightly slick.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Down on the Corner (of the horse corral)

1    1/18/2021   1/19/2021
Review By: aredoubles
Played: 240  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + CCRC is wide open and fun. This is a course that nearly all skill levels will enjoy. Beginners get to test their distance without having to worry too much about trees. More experienced players will have a few trees and fencelines to shape their shots by, while also factoring in the often challenging wind conditions.
+ Good mix of shot shapes required - right/straight/left fairways, all of which might play very differently when wind directions change.
+ Decent mix of shot distances as well. Shorter holes should be attackable for nearly all skill levels, while a few 370+ footers will test nearly all arms. I would've liked more par 4/5s, but the property is more tightly constrained by other activities than first appears.
+ A few small man-made hills add much-needed elevation, and are used well to create two fun downhill drives, and an elevated basket.
+ A few holes are a little more wooded, and inject a degree of technical skill on this otherwise open course.
+ Good Innova Discatcher baskets on every hole.
+ Arrows on the basket spokes point to the next tee, helping tremendously with navigation (but see below).
+ Tee signs (when available, see below) are sunken into the ground next to the teepads, and indicate hole number and distance.
+ Overall a very fun course, with no bad holes anywhere.
Cons: - As of Jan 2021, about a third of the holes have nothing to mark the tees, absolutely requiring usage of a map to figure out the course. Another third of tees have been framed out, but still use natural surfaces, and also have no signage. So only the first third of course have more-or-less finished tees with signage. This all will certainly improve in the near future, but until then visitors should be aware. Note that my rating of the course is almost entirely dictated by hole/course design, and better tees won't improve this score by a significant amount.
- Those few finished tees use an interesting perforated plastic/rubber surface that I've never seen for tees before. They felt a touch slippery to me, but aren't terrible. The tee signs include hole numbers and distances but no maps, which may have been nice for a few holes. So even these finished tees are a little imperfect to me.
- A few hole transitions are very long, and there are also quite a few transitions where you double-back on the direction you just threw from. Arrows on the basket spokes help with general navigation, but are unable to indicate the sometimes significant distances you must walk in those directions. The flat/level teepads and sunken tee signs are also difficult to spot from a distance. Generally the course flow and navigation experience was very uneven.
- Can become very wet and muddy after rain, in particular the walk between holes 8 and 9 is a mess.
- Players who lack experience with windy conditions may have a rough time here. It is nearly always windy in this part of the world, and that's exacerbated by how wide open and unprotected this course is. There are many places where your disc may catch a gust and sail over the fences and into the swamps.
- A few holes are nothing but short wide-open hyzers, and aren't particularly interesting.
- There are no bad holes on this course, but there aren't really any memorable ones either. The flat and open setting doesn't help to provide any unique opportunities.
- I wasn't clear on exactly where to park (ended up just pulling off onto the grass by hole 1), and whether I needed to sign in anywhere upon arriving. Events may also interfere with course availability at times.
Other Thoughts: The OBX now have a nice trio of complementary courses. There's North End Park in Manteo for absolute beginners, Casey Logan for technical woods golf, and now CCRC for wide-open fun for everyone.
One thing I'll want to keep in mind for future OBX visits is wind. On extremely windy days (which are pretty frequent here), CCRC might become a little too extreme for many folks, while Casey Logan could provide a nice refuge. On dead calm days, CCRC might be too boring, giving the edge to Casey Logan again. So it's those days with a slight breeze where CCRC might really shine, with the best balance of fun and challenge. And those kinds of days are not uncommon. It's nice to finally have decent options to choose from in this area!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf and Horses

2-4    11/20/2020   12/1/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 3.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is a mix of a few tee gaps, a few protected baskets, open, elevated tees, lightly wooded, and one heavy wooded hole.
-Holes 1-6 have rubber matts with hole number, par, and distance etched in front of matt. Holes 7-18 should be catching up soon. Holes 10-11, 16-18 have gravel or concrete close by if you do not want to use nature grass, until the rubber mats are installed.
-All 18 baskets are installed within a week prior to my visit. Follow the arrow at the bottom of the basket to next tee. All baskets can be seen from the tee area, except 6, 13-14.
-If you like open windy disc golf, this course is for you.
-A good course for beginners, and intermediate players. On strong windy days for advanced players.
-The primary purpose of the park is for Horseback riding and shows. The back nine meanders around horse pastures, corals, barns, horse stalls, and an indoor arena. A different kind of Disc Golf that I had not experienced before.
-The park is well maintained, has some water, cemetery, and very scenic.
Cons: -The course is still a work in progress. There is no post to mark tee areas, even for completed tees 1-6. There is nothing marked for tees 7-18. Especially important to use the map provided on this site and follow the arrow at the bottom of each basket to the next tee. It was easy to find the next tee area.
-The primary purpose of the Rural Center is for horses and shows. On those weekends Disc Golf may or may not be allowed. Its possible the open holes on the front could be used for parking. Some of the holes run along side of corals, horse stalls, and 11 has RV parking to the right. I WOULD CHECK the park calendar for any events, and call to inquire availability.
-There is OB along several holes, some into deep woods. I would not want to hop those fences to get a disc.
-There is some nice-looking water in the park, but it does not really come into play. Scenic next to 9 and 15 tees.
-On holes 1 and 5 you double back to reach the next tee. If players are ahead of you, your going to have too wait for them to clear the fairway to the next tee.
-No 9. For a fund raiser in October was a par 4 450 feet about with OB on the left and water on the right. I played it on my visit instead of the shorter Par 3 that now shows on the map and distance. Challenging to keep the disc clear as a longer par 4, as a par 3 just another hole. Maybe they will reconsider when they place the permanent rubber mats.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy my rounds on my visit. I found the course and park very scenic, and the back 9 meandering thru the horse obstacles very therapeutic to see horses next to the fairway and found myself looking back at the horses several times. I am a big fan of air bumps, and it was fun throwing off of the 5 and 8 tee mounds. The winds were calm, on my next visit I plan on returning with at least moderate winds. I did not find the course too challenging; I am used to playing wooded courses for the most part, but the change of pace was nice.
The scenery, air bumps and meandering among the horses on the back 9 is a 4.0 for me, and that is where I'm anchored at. It took an hour per round.
As mats are installed, any other navigational installments, I know the precise locations of tees, maybe more horses on the property and horse activity and another look at the course when green foliage returns. My overall rating should climb.
Notable tee pads:
No 3. OB on left, small size trees on right with mando with a 20-foot gap for a 100 feet Its to keep you from gunning at an open basket to the right.
No. 8 elevated tee pad at about 14 feet to an open fairway. Fun wind throws.
No. 11 coral to the left, and RV parking to the right. Makes it dicey if RV's are parked.
No. 15 Water inlet behind you, and horse stalls to the right. I like the look.
No. 17. Depending on exact placement of tee mat. You should be able to investigate the indoor horse arena. Its big! Regardless you will be able to look inside on your way to and from the tee.
No.18 Old Cemetery to the right of tee. I like history. Very scenic look to the basket, light wooded.
Notable Basket locations:
No 6 is tucked into a wood line on the left at 287 feet, you need at least 275 for a look at a birdie.
No. 13 tucked behind trees and brush on the left. Can hit a lazy left shot into basket area.
Notable Holes:
No. 5 at 342 feet there is all open space between tee and basket. What is unique is the tee is elevated on a mound at about 12 feet, and the basket is elevated on a mound at about 6 feet and is a roller. Halfway down the fairway is another mound. With a calm wind it was fun to watch air bounces from the tee. A strong cross wind could take you OB. It is a fun play, and first time on an elevated tee out in the open.
No. 14 at 185 feet is the only heavy wooded hole on the course. It doglegs left at about 80 feet out, and the rest of the way is the remainder of the distance. Tall trees at about 30 feet in height and heavy brush protects cutting the corner to the basket. Fairway is only about 20 feet wide all the way to the basket. Within the putting circle is a protruding limb on the left side that sticks about 5 feet out, I hit it on both rounds for my approach. It was a two-putter hole for me from the tee to basket.
Signature Hole: No. 10 at 370 feet is a straight shot to the basket. But the hole represents the primary purpose of the park, horses. Behind you on the tee, is a horse stall. The stalls are covered and painted red, something out of a magazine. To your right is a pasture that had about a half dozen horses, the tee is angled away from the pasture, but a wild throw could still get you there. To the left off the tee is a barn and another stall, a wild throw off the tee could hit them. Also, a good size tree past the barn. As your disc progresses down an open fairway, to the left is a riding coral and again only a wild throw will get you in the coral. The basket sits an open field with green grass. Very scenic.
Trouble Hole: No. 2 at 252 feet is straight down the fairway to the basket with only a 20-foot fairway. To the right paced at about 25 feet apart are mid-size trees, which to the right of is OB. To the left is heavy woods bordered by a white picket fence also OB. Right in front of the tee box at about 20-feet is a mid-size tree, to the left at another 15 feet is another two trees. The gap is small at about 5 feet and just a sliver to the left or go around to the right of the tree in front of the tee box making sure throwing a right to left. Hitting any of those three trees is a bad way to start, and lost disc potential to the OB left. It is one of a few tee shots I have now played where I had to stop and think "which way to go". The approach to basket still lingers the OB. I straddled the OB line to the right of basket on both rounds.


-


15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.