Manteo, NC 
Ace Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: diskobx Hole #4
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Out-of-the-way Fun

1    4/21/2022   4/23/2022
Review By: Stryker
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, but also fun for experienced players. Good layout that is very fun if you have a few minutes. Course felt well-kept and was very quiet.
Cons: It's only 9 holes.
It's a little out of the way.
It doesn't have quite as much substance as a full course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I usually only get this excited when they say the title of a movie in the movie.

1    4/14/2022   4/18/2022
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 491  Reviewed: 463  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2022
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I HAVE UPDATED MY REVIEW TO ACKNOWLEDGE RUDE ATTITUDES FROM LOCALS. Apparently DiskOBX wants me to be objective for my other 450+ reviews, but not so with his local course. 1400 feet of action packed, overlapping fairways apparently means it can only be a 4.0+ rating in one local's opinion.

Ace Run is a short, nine hole layout. When 150 foot holes are overlapping due to a lack of space, you know this course is tight.
- Quick round. I played two discs per hole and finished in 14 minutes. That includes 1-2 minutes walking around the course to find the first hole.
- Good for beginners. Longest hole is 203 feet. Average hole length (according to DGCR) is 165 feet.
- Leave the bag in the car. Carry one, two, or three discs. And that's simply if you want to throw multiple shots.
- Good for birdies and ace runs. Wow. I feel like Peter Griffin. He normally only gets this excited when they say the title of the movie in the movie.
- Holes #1 & 2 play in the same strip of grass going back and forth. Throw down the strip of grass to the first basket. Turn right back around and throw exactly where you came from. This is a pro because these are two of the most defined fairways on the entire course.
- #3 throws over the parking lot. Fun indeed! #4 & 9 also have defined fairways. As does #6. To recap: 2/3 of holes have clear fairways. That's...something.
- You're close to a bridge. You're near the end of the 543 mile drive on NC-64 from Murphy. You're on the Outer Banks.
Cons: The entire 'park' is 4 acres. The course itself occupies barely more than an acre. Not exactly the ratio one wants for a course.
- Every single hole overlaps with something else in the park: other holes, parking lot, shelter. On #7 the picnic shelter is directly between the basket and tee. Why?
- A shot 30 feet offline will end up on another fairway, hitting the shelter, hitting the bathroom, landing in the parking lot. (Hypothetically) if the parking lot has many cars in it, good luck throwing on #3, 4, 6, or 7.
- Yes it's good for beginners because it's so short. But, is this really the first impression you want to present?
- There's no clear fairway on holes #5, 7, or 8. You're just throwing, seeing how far you can get before hitting a tree, or just landing your disc. It's rare to have blind tee shots on 150 - 180 foot holes. Just saying.
- Not a lot of fun or anything memorable. Just a bunch of simple layouts.
Other Thoughts: Ace Run is a.....course. Very basic. Very unmemorable.
- The course used to be the final rest stop on NC-64 for drivers entering the Outer Banks. To their credit, they used the space for something positive. I just don't know if this was the best use of the land. Perhaps a playground would have better utilized the space.
- I visited the Fort Raleigh National Site across the street the day earlier. Walking through the woods, I kept picturing a disc golf course built in that space. Now, that would be a much better locale.
- Many difference in variety here is how hard you're throwing your putter. Are you throwing 100% effort? 75% 50%? Other than that, maybe a slight dogleg left or right. Maybe throwing a little higher above the picnic shelter. Otherwise, it's all the same.
- The parking lot itself takes up about 2/3 as much space as the course does. Just an observation.
- In my rankings of 450+ played courses, here are a couple courses I have rated just above and below Ace Run: Easy Bay (Georgetown, SC), Cameron Yards (Charlotte), Crookston (Fletcher, NC), and Coker College (Hartsville, SC).
- This is a good course if you need to stretch your legs as you're ending your 543 mile drive from Murphy. Quick explainer: NC-64 weaves back and forth across the state. If you want to see small town North Carolina, drive this road for hours.
- This course has a 4.1 rating on UDisc. Casey Logan is rated 4.3. You be the judge if these two courses are essentially the same.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Meh in Manteo

1    7/1/2021   7/7/2021
Review By: Doctordisc1965
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very concise course...maybe too concise and compact. Makes for a quick round. 2 ppl can run through in 30 minutes max. Manageable natural and man made obstacles. No super long throws required. Nice small park setting with bathrooms. Nearby Manteo is nice area to visit to/from DG course.
Cons: May be too compact a course if a few groups playing at same time since fairways and baskets of the 9 holes are sometimes very closely aligned.
Only 9 holes, so have to double up same course twice to get 18.
May not be challenging to the expert DG player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Sweet Rest Stop

1    4/6/2021   4/17/2021
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 3.1 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A short compact Par 3 course that offers an Ace Run on all 9 holes.
-The course offers obstructions with trees, shrubbery, and man-made objects. Good for playing approach shots from the tee. All skill sets will likely find the course entertaining and fun.
-Tee pads are a short field turf with what is likely a plywood platform underneath. Offering great footing. One of the best tee pads I have played on a 9-holer, and better than several 18-holers I've played.
-Hole information is on the tee pad, no map needed, all can be seen from the tee. Also an arrow on the basket point to next tee. The holes are all par 3's.
-Good navigation, most of the course can be seen from any tee pad.
-When floral is in full bloom, the course is likely to be very scenic.
-The baskets Dynamic Patriot stick.
-No. 7 has an alternate tee from the sidewalk to help avoid the picnic tables.
-The park is more of a rest area with only restrooms and a few picnic tables. Great stop for a break before entering the resort area with a round or for getting warmed up for Casey Logan and Currituck County courses.
Cons: -Too many obstructions on the fairways. Number 3 and 6 cross parking spaces. Picnic tables on 7 fairways. All hole's border parking or the road getting into the park and out. 1 and 2 borders a fence into backyards. You may find patrons strolling along the fairways.
-If you like throwing a full driver and mid, not on this course.
-If you use the alternate tee on No. 7, it will do you know good, the picnic tables are still in the line of sight and the basket is behind the picnic tables. It just lessens the angle to the basket.
-Both 1 and 2 share the same fairway, so if someone else is playing, you may need to wait a short time.
Other Thoughts: Ace Run is an entertaining short run, and fun! I had thought of just taking a mid and putter to quicken the round, so I could have at least 1 round at Casey Logan before the drive back home. But, as I looked around, I thought hmm I may want to take my bag. I played a lot of flick shots over shrubbery, around trees and obstructions. A good workout for the approach game, as if I were getting myself out of trouble, except it was from the tees. I ended up using 5 different discs from the tees. I disc up and threw nice and easy.
Yes, every hole is an Ace Run if you have the distance on the fly. I'm still looking for my first Ace, on this run I flew by the basket where it looked like the disc was going to drop in on holes 3 thru 5, and 7-8. Too much excitement and disappointment in such a short amount of time.
With an entertaining, fun, and creative course, a good work out for the approach shot, scenery, and heart stopping ace runs I anchored my rating on a 4.0. However, its very possible you may get shut out on several holes on a busy weekend at the park or rest area. On a Tuesday morning I waited on the 2nd tee for a garbage truck to clear, and on number 7 for a park service truck to park next to the restrooms. I ended up using the alternative tee to clear the truck with a 30-foot gap between the truck and a tree. I would not have thrown if it was a private vehicle. No. 6 fairway is straight down a row of parking spaces. As I was finishing number 9, I notice a twosome had parked car on the 3rd fairway, they were playing 1 not knowing they would have to move their car. I hope you get the picture. On a busy park day, you may not get to play all holes and maybe just a few, and that's not good. That knocks my overall rating down a bunch.
My round taking pictures, and the wait on 2 and 7 took 18 minutes.
Notable Holes:
No. 4 at 190 feet with a down hill slope, park road and trees on the right, basket straight ahead. I saw a wooden utility pole about 130 feet down fairway on the left with oak trees to its left and about a 15-foot gap. The pole was something different for me, and I decided to hit the gap instead of down fairway. I am a lefty and I managed to hit that gap and almost dropped it in the basket. The fairway is scenic, and so was watching the shot.
No. 5 at 142 feet the basket is straight ahead with a little lean right, but blocked by trees and shrubs. My first thought was there is no line to get there. But I looked up at 45 degrees and found a hole thru the branches throwing left to right. A flick shot with a driver, and another fun throw.
Signature Hole:
No 9 at 174 feet straight down tree lined, with a little lean to the right, and a gap to the basket with guardian trees. The gap is as narrow as 6 feet, and that tunnel starts off about 10 feet in front of you. An Ace is possible, but I thought nope, not me. I hit a tree about 130 feet down fairway.
Trouble Holes:
Both No. 1 at 176 feet, and No.2 at 203 feet both share the same fairway, and baskets are next to tees going both ways. Not a problem, but the fairway is only about 35 to 40 feet wide. On the side towards the parking lot, is the parking lot, cars if their there. I waited on a garbage truck playing 2. On the other side of fairways are a line of trees with gaps. Behind those trees is a fence, and behind the fence were backyards. An errant disc shot could be damage to a car, a lost disc in a backyard or some type of damage. Not exactly a warm and fuzzy feeling on the tee.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Watch for flying discs

2-4    11/17/2020   11/17/2020
Review By: FunkyDung
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro would be - it's a disc golf course where there are no other options. "Ace Run" is the most appropriate name for a disc golf course ever.
Cons: Biggest con would be the almost constant apologies you have to lay down for being in someone's way.
Other Thoughts: I'm in town on a late season vacation and thought I'd check out the two courses while I'm here. I'm very new to disc golf and wasn't in the mood to constantly search for my disc on the KDH course, so I came here. I've never seen anything quite like this. Like others have said, if you're not the only group on the course, you will be in someone's way almost constantly. On #1 and #2, you've made a great shot of your disc comes to rest on the opposite tee pad. They're literally right next to the opposing basket. On #6 you'll be throwing over parked cars no matter which tee you use. (The hidden one is across the parking lot) #7 has two pads almost next to each other, and you're throwing towards a gazebo. #8 also has two tee pads. I was there alone, and there was a father - son group playing. After getting in each other's way a couple times, we just played together. I'd say 9 holes takes about 15 minutes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/14/2020   11/14/2020
Review By: aredoubles
Played: 240  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + A very beginner-friendly course, and a good introduction to disc golf for people new to the game. If you or your family/friends are vacationing on the Outer Banks and curious about disc golf, or if you're a local just starting out, this is a very good option.
+ Very short holes, mostly under 200 ft., very reachable for beginners, and very quick to play. No reason to stop at just one round, you'll likely have time and energy to loop around as many times as you'd like!
+ Excellent DD Patriot baskets, and good turf tee pads. Stumps in the ground indicate the hole number and distance.
+ Very straightforward to navigate. If you're ever unsure, look for helpful arrows on the basket spokes to point you in the right direction.
+ Nice variety of shot shapes - straight, left, and right.
+ Though most holes are fairly open, a few are surprisingly technical, with some slightly wooded fairways, low ceilings, and the OB parking lot asking for specific shot shapes. Hole 9 is particularly challenging, with intimidating double mandos framing a straight tunnel shot.
+ A quiet, peaceful, and well-maintained park. A nice escape from beach traffic.
Cons: - With most holes under 200 ft., this course is not a challenge at all for more serious players, who will not see much reason to play here more than once or twice, beyond truly desperate ace bagging.
- Extremely cramped, with safety issues galore, that I can't even begin to individually list. I'm pretty sure that on every single tee shot on this course, you are throwing straight at/over another hole's teepad, fairway, or green. And in return, no matter where you are standing, you will probably always be in the way of other holes' shots. The course layout is basically a tangled mess of flying discs. While this is all fine if you have the course to yourself, just adding one more group of players adds significant issues. I had one other party playing the course at the same time as me, and our paths directly collided every few minutes. Once a third party arrived to play, I knew it was time to leave. Especially if you are new to the game, please put safety first, and only throw if there is no danger of hitting others.
- On top of those safety issues, cars in the parking lot and a small picnic area are also directly at risk of getting hit. Hole 7 has a mando to prevent throwing directly at the picnic area, but it's still pretty easy to unexpectedly kick or fade off early into there.
- Hole 7 has an alternate teepad that makes zero sense to me, I'm not sure what it's there for.
Other Thoughts: If you or your family/friends are completely new to disc golf, and would like a friendly introduction, this course is a fine and friendly place to start. But anyone who has progressed beyond absolute beginner status should hop over to the Casey R. Logan OBX course instead, which is much more of a 'real' course, and better showcases the possibilities in the sport. It's good for this area to have a 'training wheels' course like this, but hopefully you won't need them for long.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Putt-Putt

1    8/17/2020   8/21/2020
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 81  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 21.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time friendly, easy to follow, quiet, good practice course
Cons: Short holes, plays over parking lots and through picnic areas.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking to get away from the family beach vacation and show your more favored cousins/nieces/nephews how to play disc golf, then the course at North End Park in Manteo may prove a worthy outing. This course is in good shape, easy to follow, very short, has nice bathrooms, and will probably be quiet and relaxing for your visit. The course is a good OBX counterpoint to Casey Logan Park in Kill Devil Hills, which is first time friendly but not all that beginner friendly.

North End Park is on the far side of Roanoke Island on Business U.S. 64 just before the Old Mann's Harbor Bridge. So not much more than 30-40 minutes from most of the main OBX towns, but far enough away from both the tourist spots and even Manteo proper that the park will probably be quiet whenever you visit. And that's a good thing, because more than a few cars or picnickers will cause you to have to skip holes or rework your shots at least. I have never played a course that is set on less land and overlaps with parking lots and picnic shelters so closely.

Assuming the park is mostly empty, though, as it was on the August Monday I played there, and you can have yourself a fun time here. The landscape is flat, open to lightly wooded, and well groomed. With all but one hole less than 200 feet, this is definitely a no drivers course. But I did use all three of my midranges and got some good putting practice in, as there are enough obstacles and shot shaping needed to keep things interesting. If you follow the mandos (which have the coolest signs ever, BTW) and play the parking lot as OB, then you have like a Putt-Putt version of disc golf - par two and you have to find the right path to get there ("This is the way").

Still, a mando to keep you from throwing straight through the one picnic shelter in the park was a new one for me.

Overall, I rate this course as Reasonable, and worth checking out if you're in the main part of the OBX and want to get in a practice round or otherwise head over to Manteo for the shopping, walking, and history. Yes, it may be the shortest course you ever play, but it is still a worthy challenge to play it well - and follow the way.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Beginner Course! Nice Ace Runs!

5+    7/23/2020   7/23/2020
Review By: diskobx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Fun Beginner Course! Nice Ace Runs!. Good use of area. Good pin locations.
Cons: None really Yellow Flies in summer months. An additional nine would be great but not sure if there is enough room on property.
Other Thoughts: Fun! Nice quick pit stop.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.