Vicksburg, MS 
Halls Ferry Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Shadrach3 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2020)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
What a mess

1    6/7/2021   6/12/2021
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 1051  Reviewed: 400  Exp: 33.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has 18 very nice Mach X baskets
8 of the baskets had the hole numbers on them.
Several of the tees had large corrugated board tee signs with a very large hole number and the distance listed.
Most of the "front 9" tee's had a bench near them.
Large parking area
Great Kiosk
Cons: Back 9 is not marked as far as what the map shows, except hole 11 I did see some flags.
Long walks between holes including having to cross a fairway
Holes near baseball fields and tennis courts
Other Thoughts: This course is a hot mess.

There is a great map and Kiosk at the parking lot and hole 1 is right next to it. But there are a few things you should know before you play here and you will notice it on the map. This is really a 9 hole course with two sets of tee's and 2 sets of baskets on each hole.

Holes 1 to 9 are the same fairways as hole 10 to 18. ONLY hole #4 is suppose to use the same tee box for 4/13.

Here is the kicker, the baskets for the "back 9" do not have number plates on them. (hole 5 also does not have a number plate)

I could only find hole 11's tee marked with flags. I didn't actually see any other tee's marked other than the main 9 holes.

Now that I have that out of the way, course flow is a major issue here. After playing hole 1, you walk way down and almost throw back to basket 2. then you walk around the maintanance shack to play hole 3. Walk around the fire station to play 4, up to the top of the hill to play 5, walk across #3's fairway to throw #6 (which is not marked correctly on the map BTW) walk around and all the way across the parking lot to play the super long 850ft hole 7 (again, not marked on the map correctly) then 8 and 9 flow pretty good.

Now when I played, I had the park to myself. because it had just rained cats and dogs. So other park users did not come into play. However if there are some games going on, this course is going to be next to impossible to play, specially hole 1 where you can't see the basket due to the hill.

Here is another kicker, there were 18 more baskets in the maintenance area. Not sure if they plan on putting even more baskets out in this park, or if there is soon to be another course in Vicksburg.

Would I play here again? no, I would skip this one. If I lived here locally, its better than nothing. But the course was a lot of walking for not being a good course.

Get some tee pads, just set them up as pro and am pads with the baskets as short and long. Trying to number them limits what you could do, 36 different combinations between two sets of tees and 2 sets of baskets.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tricky Course

1    5/8/2021   5/17/2021
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 752  Reviewed: 375  Exp: 28.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Keep in mind that when you come to the park , wrap around it , keeping it to your right . You will eventually see a large gravel lot with a kiosk with a map . Take a picture of it . It seems as if some locals are trying to keep the course improving .
The Equipment - The tee pads ( 2 for some holes ) are natural . There is a kiosk at the spacious parking lot . Make sure that you take a picture of it on your phone . You will need it . The baskets are Mach 10 , and there are 2 baskets at most holes . A couple of wood benches are present here . The signage is lacking , mostly cardboard with distance and Hole number . There were no bathrooms present or open while I was there
The Landscape - Even though the course sits in the middle of ball fields and tennis courts , there is some surprising elevation here . I think the holes 3 and 4 were the only flat holes .The only water that I spotted was some water to the right of basket #3 , hidden in the trees and brush . Don't risk your disk by throwing wide right to left . The grass was a little high in some spots , but they had a lot of rain in the previous week . The holes play mostly in , out and around the many fields that occupy the park .
The Highlights . Not a lot here to qualify as a highlight .Hole 1 was a decent starter hole , going 365' over or around a decent sized hill .
Signature Hole - Mine was the par 5 7th hole . Starting on a slightly elevated tee in the upper corner of the park . you thro down to level ground , the shooting upward to the basket sitting on the top and side of a large hill ( 850' ) .
The Time - It took me about 40 minutes to play here , but some of that time was looking for the next tee pads . It should take a foursome maybe 45 minutes to play here ( solo 30 minutes or so for the locals ) .
Cons: The Equipment - I liked the 2 basket setup , reminding me of some Florida course , but the natural dirt pads will be hard to play from after rains . The signs need to be batter , along with some Next Tee signs to keep players on course .
Course Flow - This course is everywhere . You have to cross fairways ( 5-6 ) and it would be easy to walk around aimlessly if you didn't have a phone to take a pic of the kiosk ( why no online map ? ) .
Danger - The park was windy the day I played here . Discs can easily be deposited in the fencing of the fields . Kids playing around the course could be accidental obstacles .
Other Thoughts: I have to give credit to the local club or park district for making an attempt at not only securing this 9 hole course , but trying to expand it to an eventual 18 holes . Judging from the tee pads and overall appearance , I don't think that this course gets much play yet .
My Recommendation -- Not a course to go far out of your way for . Good for locals to learn on with some okay distance at over 3000 total feet . This might be a course to get a good leg stretch on after visiting Vicksburg Military Park just up the road . It's up to you .

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Halls Ferry

1    3/14/2021   3/15/2021
Review By: aclay
Played: 208  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Good land for disc golf. Elevation is probably the best point. Every hole except 4 plays uphill, downhill or on the side of a hill. Because of the hills, rollaways are a real possibility, so shot placement is very important.
-- Every hole has two tees and two baskets to offer a variety of challenges, but many of the baskets are too close to each other.
-- Doesn't favor one throwing style.
-- Map and nice parking lot near hole 1 on the southeast side of the park.
-- Practice basket.
Cons: -- Safety is a big issue in the crowded multi-use park. Several holes have you throwing over or around a ball field. In addition to the ball field, there are tennis courts and a walking path. The disc golf course is really packed into an area that was already crowded. The potential to hit someone with a disc is high.
-- Signs are fairly large, but they are just cardboard with basic information and no map.
-- Tees are natural and marked with small flags in the ground. I doubt they will hold up well.
-- Navigation/course flow is not good. 3 to 4 is awkward, the walk from 5-6 is long and you cross about 100 feet of swampy land beside a ball field fence.
Other Thoughts: -- The overall course is worse than the sum of the parts here. The holes can be fun, but the flow and safety issues are a big negative.
-- Don't use the address to get to the course. It will take you to the opposite side of the park from Hole 1.
-- Markers on the south side of the park indicate that a back nine is being planned. I imagine those second baskets per hole on the front will be moved to the back nine at that point.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Inclines and Infields

1    7/31/2020   8/3/2020
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 189  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 2.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A slopey open course with adequate length, playing through a crowded baseball complex.

-Elevation: A strong suit of Halls Ferry. Except (4), every hole plays with significant hillage, whether up, down, on the side of a hill, or parallel to restrict the fairway. Adds a lot of interest.

-Multi-Tees/Baskets: Every hole has two tees and two baskets to offer a variety of challenges. The current signage, at the long tees, describes a mixture of short and long basket placements.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: Despite the substantial lack of fairway trees, there's plenty of shaping required. Hills will render some options absurd, baseball fields create artificial fairways, and (3), (6), and (9) have tree lines on one side of the fairway. All the distances are reasonable, especially since shorter shots will require angle control to avoid rollaways. There's a mix of left, right, and straight, and one par-5 along a long hill adds pleasing variety.
Cons: The unusual combination of cramped and open.

-Safety/Multi-Uses: Quite a few holes play alongside or near ballfields, rendering the course unplayable during league play. (2), (4), and (9) have routes playing over outfield walls, with marginal danger on basically all the other holes. Other park features like gravel roads and walking paths also come into play. Choose your time of play wisely, and I don't advise a beginner.

-Signage: Not adequate at the moment. There are some flimsy tee signs with #, distance, and par, as well as flags to mark artificial tees, but neither looked like they would last a year. Especially with multiple tees and baskets, some good signage would go a long way.

-Navigation: Substantial flow issues. Very unclear transitions, most notably from (3)-(4), where next tee you can see is actually (6), necessitating a fairway cross from (5)-(6). Then there's a very long walk from (6)-(7). I recommend using UDisc.

-Tight Lines: (4) and (9) have unbelievably tight lines behind outfield walls. I think a good player will want to throw a high hyzer straight over the ballfields, which seems like a bad thing to encourage in a course design.

-Exposure: Gets hot in the summer with virtually no shade. Wind was manageable on my appearance, but might get worse.
Other Thoughts: Halls Ferry is actually a pretty fun little course with a bit of shaping and a lot of terrain management. I enjoyed it. However, the way it has been cramped into the park will make it difficult to navigate and unsafe when you don't have the course to yourself, and there aren't any tree challenges on the fairways. I give it a Reasonable for the fact that it's fun to play at low-traffic time.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.