Camden, NC 
Camden Community Park Share
Uploaded By: lee76007 Hole #5 (Taken 12/2020)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Toe board about 20 feet past 4 basket.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Corn!

1    8/17/2022   8/18/2022
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 192  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2022
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Camden Community Park isn't a course you're going to travel to, but if you're passing through or live in the area, it's worth bagging if only to practice and see some corn.

+ The cornfield backdrop on the first few holes is unique, picturesque, and fun. I especially enjoyed hanging my disc on a hyzer line out over the fields and praying it made it back to green grass. I've seen enough horror movies to know not to go hunting for a disc in a cornfield. It's not worth my life.

+ Overall, the park is pretty and well-maintained.

+ This is a beginner-level course, so it is good for that goal -- or to practice your short game.

+ Ace runs...on maybe 8 of the 9 holes?

+ Navigation is easy as the UDisc map is accurate and natural tee areas are well marked, for the most part.

+ It's really windy out in this part of NC and that is an added challenge on this open course.
Cons: A destination course, this is not. But a round of disc golf amongst the corn beats working.

- Short, easy, beginner course. It won't challenge advanced or really even intermediate players.

- The early holes are wide open with the only "obstacle" being the cornfields, if you choose to test them or fly over them.

- The wooded holes are very, very short.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I played this course as it was unique and care went into creating it and maintaining it. It was also fun. There certainly aren't many other options in this part of North Carolina, so if you are around, it is well worth the stop.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Corn Holes

1    6/17/2022   6/30/2022
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 491  Reviewed: 463  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2022
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The appeal of Camden is entirely based on the cornfields. When the crop is tall, it's an outstanding backdrop. When it's been harvested, as the pictures show, this course is mediocre at best.
- Holes #1 - 5 all play in the open. #2 - 4 play directly along the corn fields and #5 starts alongside before turning away.
- #6 - 9 play in the woods. It's a different feel as these are short, basic layouts.
- #2 - 3 play parallel to the cornfields. #4 plays towards the corn, with a slight dip in fairway. #5 and 9 offer the doglegs on the course.
- Relatively easy course to navigate. Tees are marked by boards in the ground. Once you find the first hole, they're all easy to find until #9, which is a bit out of the way.
- Course is essentially removed from all other park activities. Maybe watch out for a walker; otherwise, you're good.
- Good for a quick round.
- Good for beginners and casual players. If they don't throw far, even a stray shot will be easy to retrieve from the woods or corn. If they're trying to air it out, well, a stray shot could be a challenge to find in the corn or the thick growth in the woods.
- Did I mention I liked the corn as a backdrop? It made each hole feel a little tighter. Corn is fun.
Cons: Course is very basic. I can't picture playing here in the winter and having holes #1 - 4 all being short and wide open.
- The wooded holes seem like the bare minimum was done to them. Sure, the holes could have been longer and tougher, but that would have required more time and effort for clearing. Instead, we're left with thee pitch and putt holes.
- Ummm, DGCR, #6 is not 330 feet. Maybe if you include the transitions from #5 to 6, then #6 to 7, that all encompasses 330 feet. UDisc lists the hole at 151 feet. Seems much closer to reality.
- An extremely basic, minimalistic park. There was a second lot near the ball fields. That was packed with cars, so maybe that's where bathrooms, trash cans, drinks are all located.
- Look at the pictures on this site for holes #1 - 5 with the corn already harvested. This might be one of the worst 9-hole courses in the state if that was its permanent status.
- #9 could use actual signage. It's a much sharper dogleg than I expected, with the hole further right than I was prepared for. It could be a good layout, but seems like it was never fully cleared.
Other Thoughts: I've played plenty of courses that play differently throughout the year. I thought Tidal Creek in Charleston, SC (West Ashley, technically) was the most extreme variance from Winter to Summer. This layout gives that a run for the money.
- If you like cool backdrops, this course offers something different. If you're a pro who only has eyes for the basket, you'll despise this layout.
- Course is essentially laid out in the shape of a horseshoe. You're walking about the length of two holes back to the parking lot. Just an observation.
- The best hole on the course is #5, which is still average at best on your standard 18 hole layout. Put that hole at Curritucky County Community Center, and it's not even in the top half of holes there.
- The best part of the course is that I got some cool pictures of baskets in front of corn. Great for Instagram. Not good for much else.
- Fun Junktion was better than this course. And, driving down the road to the Outer Banks or up to Virginia Beach would be an even better option.
- For me, it's a 1.5 rating with tall corn as a backdrop. Without the corn, it's a half point lower.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Tee Boards have a Secret

2-4    12/11/2020   12/24/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 3.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A variety of open, woods, open to woods, and two water holes.
-Variable lengths.
-Good for beginners, recreational, a few holes could be challenging for Intermediate.
-The flow is good the course runs counterclockwise.
-The course flows away from rest of park with some possible interference.
-Wind can play a big factor, the course is exposed to an open field for at least 1/3rd of a mile.
-A good practice course with the variable lengths, and variety of hole type.
-Good park maintenance. Holes 1-4 and 9 does not seem to have a standing water problem after a sold rain.
Cons: -I could only find tee boards for No. 1, 5, and 7-8. It seems that grass has overgrown the tee boards. Played basket to basket or what made sense where to play from.
-No hole signs can lead to confusion on where the tees and the location of a few hidden baskets in the woods.
-The first three holes are bland.
-There is a park map posted at the parking lot, but no info on disc course.
-The Tee Board Secret is where are they for the other holes? The big secret is for #6 and 9 where I felt like I was missing out on two solid holes.
-For the most part you are playing away from the rest of the park. Except No. 1-3 runs along side a track and field course that walkers also like to use. Those holes may not be available when there is an event in play. It is a long walk to retrieve a disc that has flown over the fence.
-There is an obstacle course that run along side 6-9 that was being in use just as I was finishing. Courtesy and a possible wait will need to be used when the course is in use.
-Drainage is poor in the woods for 6-8, very muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: I think the course is solid for its intended use at a small city park for those learning the game for recreational purposes and an education on how a course can be set up with the variety that Camden Community DGC offers. There are other courses to the south where I plan on playing in the future, and with Camden being only a mile off the Hwy, it would a great place for a quick stop to warm up.
The big mystery is the location of the tee boards for 6 and 9 and finding them could be a plus for intermediate players and the overall rating.
#6 at 330 feet, the tee board could have been 100 feet from any direction from the open, from where I ended up playing at about 230 feet on the other side of the walking path towards the tree line and basket. With basket in the woods, what a loss of more fun and possibly an exceedingly difficult hole with length.
No. 9 at 220 feet having not found the tee board and no clue where the basket maybe. I threw one disc parallel to the tree line in the open thinking the basket could be tucked into the woods. And a second disc toward the parking lot thinking the basket could be hidden behind an outlet building. The basket was tucked in the woods, for about 260 feet from where I teed from and a dogleg right at the basket.
With the variety of the layout, the potential of no. 6 and 9 with tee board location, and the surprise moments with No. 4 and 5 is rated at 4.0, and that is where my overall rating is anchored on. The overall rating could get a boost if those tee boards can be found and some navigation help with hole signs.
Signature Hole is No. 5 at 220 feet and the tee board is there! The distance seems more like 260 or maybe further. The tee is in the open and a lazy dogleg left with a shallow downward slope from about 60 feet out from basket. To the right from about 130 feet is a tree line. To the left is clear water and runs about 70 feet out. From the tee you can see the top of the basket. The basket sits on the edge of the woods. The hole represents all aspects of the course. From my approach in the woods, I heard a hollow thud throwing a putter. When I came over the rise, I could see water right in front of the basket about 4 feet across and few feet deep. The basket sits about 5 feet from the water. The thud came from wood planks shoring up the bank on the basket side with a few feet of dry land in front. The trench is used to drain water from the park to the swamp. What a surprise moment, a disc in the water would be a penalty stroke, and not seen from the tee.
Trouble Hole is No. 4 at 130 feet. It would seem to be easy for the tee board to be found, but no. I played from the No. 3 basket at about 180 feet. Deep clear water all along the left, and a corn field all along the right. Hit the water you can kiss your disc goodbye. When the stalks are high, have fun finding it. The fairway is only about 20 feet wide and a roller into the water all along the left. Basket sits in the middle. You can play the right as OB or the field can be playable. From the field you have a possible roller putt into the water. I decided to play OB and will stick to it on any possible future visits. At the tee, surprised to see the scene before me, and was not expecting it after the first three holes. I would imagine when the stalks are high for harvest, the hole would be scenic.






14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.