Riverton, WY 
Central Wyoming College DGC Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #16 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
CWC

1    5/24/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: chevis
Played: 76  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mixture of shots: long, short, left, right.
-Mowed grass (mostly)
-Lots of parking (might be full when school is in)
Cons: -Tees - a board in the ground, hard to find.
-Navigation - with nothing to spot from a distance you have to walk around looking at the ground for the next tee.
-Safety - plays across a campus, so on a busy day there is a danger of hitting people; Particularly 15 and 17. 15 plays through volleyball and basketball courts and 17 plays right by a door (mid fairway) that is blind to the tee and the people that come out that door.
-No elevation
-11,12,13,and 14 are in an unmowed field.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with low expectations because of the low rating and had a great time because I was expecting so little. Yes the tees are hard to find and the baskets in disrepair, but the day I played there were almost no people on campus so I had the place to myself. The map here gives a good idea where the tees and baskets are, so it wasn't all that hard to follow. There are a few new buildings and tennis/basketball courts, but the course is still the same. I couldn't find tee 6 as there was a new building and sidewalk where the tee should be, so I teed from the sidewalk where I thought the tee should be. Most holes are pretty wide open. When I played there was a pretty good wind to challenge me. There are a few baskets close to o.b.(roads), so I did land out once. I found the baskets to catch surprisingly well for being single chain, a few of them are high. The standout hole is 17, not because it's a good hole, but because someone could get seriously injured if they come out the door when someone has already thrown their drive. I took the obvious open rhbh route that goes beside the building, and had no clue there was a door mid fairway. When I walked down the hole I was floored that someone would put a hole here. There is no way someone on the tee or coming out of that door would see a collision before it's too late.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long Open Throws, Good Luck Finding Tees

1    9/26/2015   9/26/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 185  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a tough course for me to review. We started off trying (and failing) to find tee positions, so just played from the previous baskets. At the fourth hole a local (Ivan) joined us and it was smooth sailing as he knew there each tee was. Until he had to leave around the tenth hole and we were back to guessing.

The first six holes play around a large turf area near the parking lot. Mostly wide open throws across lush green grass. Holes 7 - 9 play around a large parking area with quite a bit of OB (if you count roads and parking areas.). Holes 10 - 14 play back and forth across a rough patch of land near the tennis court. The remaining holes play around the back of the buildings and back toward the parking lot.

Lots of holes in the 300' - 500' range with a couple near 600'.
This is definitely a course for those who like to throw long, open drives. Some basket placements are tricky due to placement near roads and parking lots, but there are few trees to deal with.
Cons: Best of luck locating the tees. They are simple timbers embedded down into the grass, and there hasn't been any trimming in the recent past to help find them. A couple are missing altogether, and the local guy I joined indicated thing like "we use this line on the sidewalk" and "we tee from this clump of grass". Without local knowledge you will not be able to play this course as designed.

Baskets are homemade and have large enough gaps in the tray for your disc to fall through which can be funny (!?!). Otherwise they catch fine. Baskets on Holes 4-6 are set on raised stands so are a good bit higher than normal.
Other Thoughts: As a travelling disc golfer the navigation issues at this course make it tough to play. The map is useful in telling you where to look for baskets, but the tee markers are practically invisible, and in some cases don't exist. You are left to guess at where to tee off from, and that gets frustrating fast. I was lucky enough to run into a local who played about half of the course with me. Otherwise I probably would have given up at some point.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 135  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 somewhat decent shots, thats about it.
Cons: Crappy baskets, no signage except the numbers on the baskets, hard to find the 'tee boxes', mostly all boring straight shots, not much close parking.
Other Thoughts: Play the sunset park course instead.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice local course

2-4    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: futang44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, long and beautiful. The campus activity center offers a scorecard with a map on the back.
Cons: Holes 4, 5, and 6 are missing, as well as the pad for 7. Campus can sometimes be crowded. It is nearly impossible to play the first time without the map. Most pads are hard to find/missing... The homemade baskets have slots on the bottom that a disc can (and will) fall through...
Other Thoughts: I was not expecting a course this nice when I got to Riverton. They really need to update the course with the missing holes and more clearly marked pads. If that was done it would for sure be a 4!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 local

5+    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: bubbaarmy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: long holes, beautiful setting, hard to play if its windy outside.
Cons: college is under construction so front 9 is actually front 4. tees are hard to find because they aren't concrete and are sometimes burried in grass or dirt.
Other Thoughts: very fun, fairly long course to play if its not windy! you can get a course map if you need one in the activities shop located inside the college by the cafeteria.

 Fun at Sunset

7/14/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: macilsoul
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting on the front nine. Good baskets, don't let "homemade" description scare you away. I really liked the first few baskets set in the front of the college. Very nice setting.
Cons: Course doesn't require a wide variety of shots. Tees are difficult to find, in fact, I never found the tee for #9. Tees are also difficult to see since they are simply toe boards at ground level.
Other Thoughts: Play on a later summer evening and get a map. Bring a trusted mid range and a couple of drivers at either end of the stability spectrum.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center