Yadkinville, NC 
George Sappenfield DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscGolfCraig Hole #5 (Taken 12/2020)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Summer of George

1    3/21/2021   4/3/2021
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun, fairly easy course in the middle of the rural Yadkinville area. This is a great introductory course for newbs, potential lady friends, and anybody else you're looking to impress with your 250'+ bombs. Lots of open holes with ace potential, a smidgen of elevation change and occasional trees to avoid. The wooded holes are short but still solidly fun and not too easy. This is basically Yadkin Co. DGC with training wheels.

The course is a decent 50/50 blend of field holes with pesky tree lines and technical, wooded holes. This variety gives it more cool points than most of your mediocre courses. It's also a very solitude course with seldom other players and especially other people in general since there's nothing else in this park. That is actually really nice in these Covid times and the surge of traffic.

The holes are fairly straightforward and unremarkable in terms of novelty but they're certainly better designed than your typical "park employee/boy scout that just did 5 minutes of online research about disc golf" type courses.
Cons: One of these holes needs a polesaw in the worst way. It's a left to right downhill into the field but there is no ceiling whatsoever to work with. Massive skips or cut rollers are your only two options. This was the only hole that made me go "Hmmm."

There's a bathroom onsite but if you're a big amenities guy this isn't your cup of tea RN (right now).
Other Thoughts: Good baskets, tees, signs, easy to navigate, all the essentials.

My crew played Ript Revenge here and it was a blast, great course for spicing up with a game or side bets, etc. It's not going to attract anybody looking for a lot of challenge but it is a good track for testing out new discs, form work, etc.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun rec-level course, just not quite Yadkin County Park.

1    12/28/2020   1/8/2021
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 431  Reviewed: 411  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2021
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wanted excited to play Sappenfield. Coming off 421, as I'm driving through rolling fields, I'm imagining the possibilities. Then, there's a long park road to the parking lot. "Look at all this land for a course'' I think. And there's a giant pond on the property. Oh, the possibilities. And yet, the course doesn't utilize all that it could.
- This is a nice midrange course. There are some fun and/or challenging layouts. They're spread throughout the course. So you never go too long before another jolt of fun.
- Course has a decent mix of open and wooded hole although it is more open than wooded. The front nine is mainly open; the back nine has more wooded layouts.
- Hole #2 is your first good layout. It's a 270 foot layout that starts in the open with the final 40 feet nestled in the woods. There's a transmission tower blocking the direct line to the basket so you've got to judge your line.
- #3 - 5 play through an orchard/rows of trees. If the trees grow, these will all become tougher layouts. #6 - 11 all play in or alongside an open field. #12 - 17 are wooded layouts, then #18 ends back up in an open field next to the parking lot.
- #5 & 6 are the best back-to-back layout on the course, and may be the best two holes on the course altogether. #5 is easily the hardest hole. From the long tees, it's 444 feet, and is an s-curve layout with woods/thick stuff running the entire right side of the fairway, and the rows of trees running the entire left side. If you stay on the fairway, it is a blind tee shot so if you sail right, you won't immediately know without a spotter.
- #6 is a fun, downhill tee shot with an extreme dogleg right bend to it. I thought I threw my tee shot with enough curve to it and I was still 75 feet from the basket. It's going to take a great tee shot to see a birdie putt. The only downside is that it's an easy 3 so there will be very little scoring separation here.
- #7 is a scenic tee shot. #10 is a fun, short downhill tee shot. This is one of several ace run holes on the back nine. In Springtime, I think #11 may be the most picturesque hole on the course. You tee off with a creek to your right. A left-to-right shot is required to get to the hole, which is slightly tucked behind several trees. If you don't get within putting range, you're better being straight or slightly left than short, right.
- Some people will like the short uphill layout on #12. It's only 144 feet, but it's probably a 20 foot elevation increase from tee to basket so the hole plays much longer. And with that pitch, you can fire straight for the basket as you won't sail long.
- Great, excellent tee pads and tee signs. Tee signs make this course easy to navigate blind.
- Complete seclusion. There's no sign of this land being used for anything other than disc golf. I was the only vehicle in the parking lot and enjoyed the total relaxation and calmness.
Cons: The biggest negative about the course is that the simple, easy layout was built a few too many times when a better, tougher, more memorable option was available.
- To varying degrees, six holes (#6 - 11) essentially play in one open field. Yes, I get that only #7 & 8 are wide open, the other four holes predominantly play here as well. When your tee shot lands in the field, you're considered a field hole.
- #1 & 18 are both simple open layouts too. Bookending this course with the two simplest holes is a bit disappointing. You could just as easily begin on #2 and start the round with a bang.
- The wooded holes on the back nine (#12 - 17) are all shorter, birdie/ace runs. The longest of these six is 201 feet, with the six averaging 169 feet. That's compared to 231 feet for the other 12 holes.
- There seemed to be vast expanses of land that weren't used. I could be 100% wrong and this was the only land available for the course. But, when you can see Lake Hampton and Cranberry Creek (thanks Google Maps) from the course, it makes you wish a couple of existing holes were removed and other aspects of the land utilized.
- No amenities on the course itself. Trash cans and bathrooms are back in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: I was hoping Sappenfield was going to be something special. I was hoping it would be every bit as good as Yadkin County Park's course. Instead, it was a step down from that layout.
- Across the lake is Yadkin Memorial Park. That's not to be confused with Yadkin County Park, where the other course is located. And to top it off, there's also a Yadkinville Community Park back in town. Got it?
- The course is one single loop. #7's tee is the furthest point from the parking lot. It's not a major issue as I was able to knock out 18 holes in less than 40 minutes.
- Several holes have short tees. With #5 & 7 being the only two holes longer than 300 feet, short tees aren't needed on most holes.
- #16 is the best of the wooded holes on the back nine. It's a split fairway, allowing players to take the straight, narrower line or the wider line further out to the right.
- This is a good course for casual and beginners. I'd feel more comfortable bringing a new player here than Yadkin County or Davie.
- The course is much higher on fun than challenge. I was looking for more challenge, but I had fun. Lots of birdies will do that. Enjoy the course for what it offers and you should enjoy a round or two here.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Excellent New Course!

1    10/21/2020   10/21/2020
Review By: kvillegreek
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2020
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Signage- Terrific layout- Concrete Tee Pads- Nice mixture of open and wooded holes- Easy enough for a beginner to not get too discouraged but challenging enough for advanced players to make it worth the trip. -
Cons: - Can be a bit swampy after a good rain- First few holes feel repetitive - Fields could use mowing. The only time we had trouble finding our disc was in the middle of a high grassy field.- A couple of holes on the back nine are really short (145, 155)- Needs a bigger sign at the entrance to the park. It definitely feels like your lost when you arrive.
Other Thoughts: Overall our group really enjoyed the course. Its definitely one that we will add to our rotation of courses. It complements the other Yadkinville course nicely, which can be a bit overwhelming to newer golfers.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.