Cary, NC 
Diavolo @ New Hope Share
Uploaded By: aredoubles Hole #7
3 / 193ft.   3 / 251ft.   3 / 236ft.   3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Excellent course

1    12/1/2020   12/1/2020
Review By: David_George
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although it just opened, it is probably already the best course in the triangle, and has potential to become even better.
+ Great mix of wooded and open shots, long and short holes, par 3, 4, and 5.
+ Excellent tee pads, benches, and signage.
+ Great design of fairways that are challenging but fair, unlike some of the heavily wooded NC courses.
+ For a new course, it looks surprisingly beat-in, with little in the way of real rough. This is a credit to the hard work that went into preparing the course.
+ 22 holes of top-quality disc golf!
+ Plenty of parking (if you include the large Tobacco Trail lot across the street).
Cons: - Drainage seems to be an issue on several holes. We played 2 days after a heavy rain, and many areas were still pretty bad. More raised walkways are probably needed in the worst areas.
- Apparently it is usually very crowded, but we got lucky and didn't have to wait on holes. It still took 2 hours to play, so plan on spending quite a while when it is busy.
- On a number of holes you are throwing in the direction of a tee pad for another hole. I had two discs land next to the tee pad I was throwing from, and almost hit someone on another tee pad.
Other Thoughts: The problems are relatively minor, and surprisingly few for a new course. This has the potential to be the first truly championship-level course in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/20/2020   11/20/2020
Review By: aredoubles
Played: 179  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Opening to much fanfare in late 2020, Diavolo has instantly become one of the most popular and highly-regarded courses in NC.
+ A grand, majestic course that combines ambition, thrilling fun, and polish. This is as smooth of a course experience as you can possibly find, and is particularly impressive for something so large-scale, and freshly cut from the woods.
+ Excellent mix of both wooded and open holes, offering challenges in distance and shot-shaping. Fairways gently curve in a variety of directions, and all are wide and fair, with clearly defined lines and landing zones. Many holes feature several available fairways, which I always love to see.
+ Multiple par 4s and 5s are epic experiences, that will leave unforgettable signatures on the mind. In particular, hole 9 is a jaw-dropper, one of the best holes I've played in NC.
+ There are no bad holes on this course, somehow all 22 are excellently designed and fun to play, from start to finish.
+ Two sets of tees (and soon to be three) on most holes, that differ substantially. The white tees are suitable for pretty much all skill levels, being surprisingly friendly and smooth for newer players, yet fun and attackable for those more advanced. The blue tees are much longer, testing most players' distance, and often play from completely different angles and/or fairways than the whites, offering a very distinct experience. And you can easily mix and match combinations of the whites and blues in each round, to match your skill set and preferences.
+ Somewhat unique to this course are three 'fusion holes', where consecutive par 3s can be combined into longer par 4s. And these fusions are very natural to play, even including their own teepads and signage in some cases.
+ Massive tee pads, excellent tee signs, great Discatcher baskets, two 11-hole loops that return to the parking lot, two practice baskets, large benches, etc. The amenities on this course are great.
Cons: Though the following cons are somewhat nit-picky (it's a fantastic course!), Diavolo clearly has ambitions of being a championship-caliber destination, and therefore I think it should be judged against that standard.
- Though the fairways all curve gently in one direction or another, I still find myself throwing a straight fairway driver on pretty much every tee shot on the course, just on slightly different angles. Stable discs pretty much never leave my bag, as there are very few sharp angles to contend with here.
- With so many gentle curves, and the lack of sharp angles, some of the holes blur together a bit in my mind, particularly the par 3s. Though they're still very good holes, and the course has plenty of outstanding highlights, this is not a course where every single hole is memorable on its own.
- The long blue tees are nowhere near as challenging as I was expecting. The course designers were very aggressive in removing trees, and by North Carolina standards, the wooded fairways are wide and generous to a shocking degree, and sometimes barely feel wooded at all. In fact, some of the shorter white tees face a tighter fairway than the long blues, and those blue tees actually feel more attackable and scorable by comparison. Even if you do miss the fairway, all of the gentle curves on the course mean that you'll likely still have a very clear line to a par save. It's telling to me that touring pro Nathan Queen arrived to play the course blind, and immediately proceeded to shoot a stunning -17 from the long tees (on 22 holes). With practice, you'd expect some pros to consistently go even lower than that. Given its large scale and the opening hype, I was expecting a championship-caliber challenge, and I had visions of Idlewild, WR Jackson, or Nevin dancing in my mind. But Diavolo falls far short of offering that level of challenge. And given how packed-in the course is on its land, there seem to be few smooth opportunities to add more challenge, other than waiting a few decades for trees to grow back in. I'll concede that this is partly an issue with my pre-opening expectations, but I still think it's fair to say that the course is surprisingly soft for top players, who may want to seek tougher challenges elsewhere.
- The three 'fusion' holes ultimately aren't that compelling. Hole 10/11f is probably the best of them, and is better than the sum of its component holes. But, it is an identical twin to hole 22. Actually, it is more like a conjoined twin - the two holes perfectly parallel each other, from the adjacent tees, curving together down the fairways side-by-side, then finishing at adjacent baskets. As a result, the experience it offers is a repetitive one. Hole 13/14f is the roughest fusion, with an awkward shape and transition between the two component holes, and is my least favorite hole experience on the course. Finally, hole 17/18f is fairly good, but plays nearly identical to hole 12 (another repetitive experience), and I slightly prefer its two component holes separately. Ultimately, while the fusion holes were interesting to play once, I have found little reason at all to try them again. They're an interesting option to have, but no more than that, and if anything may add to navigation confusion for first-time visitors.
Other Thoughts: Diavolo has immediately opened to high acclaim across a broad spectrum of disc golfers. And that makes sense, given its polish and excellent design. It probably deserves a 4.5 - 5.0 for most people. But for my own personal tastes, based on the hype and the length of the course, I was hoping for much more of a championship-caliber challenge, and came away a little disappointed. I guess I'm somewhat of a disc golf masochist, as the courses I love most are those that challenge me at every turn, brutally punishing my mistakes, but offering sweet rewards when I do throw smoothly, and constantly testing my decision-making and mental strength. And by comparison, Diavolo is just too gentle and forgiving for me. Amongst other Triangle courses, East Clayton and Rock Ridge offer far more of a challenge, while retaining excellent design and polish, and I still personally prefer those over Diavolo for those reasons. But for folks who want disc golf to be more of a relaxing and purely fun experience, which is probably the vast majority of players, Diavolo has already emerged as the very best the Triangle can offer. And all my little complaints aside, this is still a course that I'll come back to over and over again, to enjoy some of the magnificent longer holes. I want to play hole 9 in an neverending eternity of disc golf heaven.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    11/14/2020   11/14/2020
Review By: david W
Played: 413  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 13.5 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diavolo has been at the top of my "can't wait to play" list for the better part of two years. A ton of work has gone into the design and construction of this course by Jay Pontier, the CADL team and other local volunteers. There is a ton of hype surrounding this course and it shows upon arrival with packed parking lots and groups scattered all over the course (a great "problem" to have if you want to call it that).

One of the standout Pros to Diavolo is the number of really fantastic holes on the course. There are a handful that would be signature holes on nearly any course in the country and I don't think many will dispute that claim. The 3 holes that stick out the most are the par 4 9th over the water with a dogleg, the par 5 16th, and par 5 finishing 22nd. Hole 9 is easily the most beautiful hole in the triangle and 16 is the most well manicured and ready to play long wooded holes I have ever seen on a new course. It is very clear that the wait was worth it when it comes to trimming and making holes feel "beat in" so to speak.

Tee pads are all very level and well made. I personally would prefer concrete but the course designer decided on rubber pads with fine gravel to fill which I cant say gave me any trouble. My biggest issue with these pads is longevity but with the care that has gone into this course, I feel confident that the pads will be well maintained.

The unique but very functional benches at the tee areas are great and the tee signs are very nice as well. I would have preferred larger hole distances which are nearly impossible to read from more than 10 feet away but with multiple distances listed per hole, this isn't a huge deal.

I really enjoyed the challenge of angles on this course. There are shot angles ranging from steep hyzers to big turnover shots and everything in between. You will have to have a full bag of shots to be effective at Diavolo.

The Bathroom and parking area is very nice. Additional parking across the road with multiple putting baskets that are nicely spread out is a fantastic addition especially when the park is busy or when tournaments are occurring.

I have to reiterate the level of attention to detail and level of manicured-ness this course has. For only being a few weeks old, it is quite possibly the best course I have ever played in that regard (out of the courses that I have played that were say...less than a year old). This is worth noting just from the standpoint of how many hours it takes to make that happen. Bravo to the entire team who helped get this course ready to open.

Special features: Diavolo features some unique elevated greens, natural rocks, and a few more hidden special features here and there that really add to the level of professionalism at Diavolo. While these things are relatively simple, they are all very well done and really add to the course which is flat in spots and really benefits from a few subtle challenges especially around the green area.

There are a lot of pros with this course so I may have forgotten a few here to be honest.
Cons: The biggest Con at Diavolo and a huge part of the reason I am only giving this course 4 stars is Course Flow. There are simply too many areas on the course where tee areas are too close to baskets, fairways are too close to each other, or some combination of those things are occurring.

In regards to course flow:
Hole 8 needs to be eliminated all together. The short basket position is way to close to 2 other baskets and hole 9's tee. In a tournament scenario, you could have 3 groups putting within 100 feet of each other which in my opinion is not something a championship or top tier course should ever have. From what I can also tell the planned 2nd and 3rd pin positions on that hole will create a crossing fairway (or very close to a crossing fairway) with the prettiest hole on the course (hole 9). Crossing fairways are a HUGE issue for me.

The 3 tee pad area for holes 10 and 22 is very unique and scenic, but is a backup/flow issue. Especially with Covid going on, I am not the biggest fan of 20 people being bunched up in this area. It was a cool idea but it isn't very functional on busy days.

Hole 22 has hole 8s tepid no more than 40 feet off the fairway which is blocked by a wire fence. Things like this are extremely annoying and just seem avoidable with small design tweaks.

Many of the front 9 holes are simply too close together. Obviously I am not in the know for what land was set aside for the disc golf course but instead of making a 22 hole course, I would have much preferred 18 holes that were a little more spread out. The first 5 or 6 holes feel especially pinched and our group had several instances where discs from other holes were in our fairway from bad throws and bad kicks. While these things do happen from time to time, an excellent course design doesn't exacerbate the chances of this occurring frequently which was the feeling our group had on the front section of the course.

I understand trying to milk every square foot out of a property but several times throughout the round, it seemed that holes were packed together a little too tightly.

Hole length: While there is a good mix of par 3s,4s, and 5s; there is a common theme of 320ish foot holes. I do think this will be less apparent on the fusion layout but several members of our group mentioned that they were throwing the same 1 or 2 discs on a lot of the par 3s because they were a bit repetitive with distance and angle. I do like that several of the holes did have dual fairways creating options for different shots/lines but I would have liked a little more par 3 distance variety. Maybe my mid will change as I play some of the other layouts and log more rounds in general.

Other Thoughts: Overall, Diavolo is a very very good disc golf course and one that was much needed in an area starving for more quality disc golf. I think Diavolo will be in the top 10 and maybe even top 5 for a lot of Carolina golfers.

So much hard work has gone into the course and it will be interesting to see what the course becomes after a year or two of play and maybe even some small tweaks here and there.

If the course flow and hole proximity issues were to be fixed I would have no problem bumping this course to a 4.5 which puts it in rare company with some of the best courses in the region. I don't think it has a legitimate chance at 5 stars as the property and space simply don't crack into the world class course category.

Again, thank you so much to everyone involved in the design and building process of this course. The triangle is going to benefit so much from a course of this caliber and quality and hopefully this will set a new standard for some of the future course projects in the area that are already in the works.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

New Crown Jewel of the Triangle

5+    11/7/2020   11/11/2020
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 170  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 10.7 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the one you've been waiting for.

After years of planning, designing, and an army of volunteers executing on the vision, Diavolo is open for business...and it's the perfect public course, a destination disc golf track that is not to be missed. Never in my life have I seen a brand new course open up without a single meaningful flaw, something that needs to be "beaten in," a tree or stump to be removed. It's just a perfect course. Period. It absolutely lives up to the hype and is one of if not the best disc golf courses in North Carolina, public or private. Make plans to play it...everyone else in the Triangle sure is! But even with heavy traffic and some higher-than-usual wait times for a typical public course, it's all worth it. Just a phenomenal course and disc golf experience.

+ There are so many pros to list, but the one that stands out most to me is just the thoughtful design and flow of the course. It's set up as 22 holes with front 11 and back 11 loops, both beginning at the parking lot, so you can play the front or the back first, depending on how busy the course is (and it will be busy!). If you don't have enough time for the full 22 holes, just play the front 11 or the back 11 (or the front 10 Fusion layout or the back 9 Fusion layout). There are so many options, loops, hybrid holes, pin locations, and layout options, I don't think you could ever get bored of playing this track. Here are the various options:

> 22-hole Blue layout (Advanced)
> 22-hole White layout (Intermediate)
> 22-hole Red layout (Rec; some holes shared with White)

> 19-hole Blue Fusion (3 sets of par 3 holes are fused into 3 par 4 holes)
> 19-hole White Fusion (same set of fused holes, shorter tees)

> Coming Soon: a Novice Loop hitting a sampling of Red layout holes

> The course is so well-designed and flows so well, you could easily bounce between different layouts, if you choose. You could play a Blue tee one hole and a White tee the next, no problem. And the Red and White layouts are not simply shorter versions of the Blues, they're truly unique layouts, sometimes with different angles, approaches, and fairways. Also, there are 2-3 pin locations for many of the holes, so even a hole you've played previously on a particular layout may have a totally different feel the next time you play it.

+ Risk/Reward elements - multiple elevated baskets, long holes that reward distance and accuracy, water holes.

+ This is a golf course that makes you play strategic golf, meaning you have to decide where you want to try to land the disc and execute the throw, decide how much of the par 4's and 5's to bite off from the tee, decide how aggressive to be with the risk/reward elements. Diavolo forces you to make golf decisions and execute.

+ Tons of excellent par 4's and 5's. This is the future of disc golf.

+ Excellent signage and directional arrows and paths. No detail was left out. There are double-decker benches on many holes, for sitting and leaning back to setting your bags on. I expect there to be many (A-Tier and up?) tournaments at this course. And it's designed perfectly to accommodate large fields. Several areas of the course have 2-3 tees grouped in a section (without sacrificing safety, flow, or causing confusion), so I imagine tournaments will have an incredible vibe to them, with lots of interaction between different cards.

+ Tremendous mix of hole designs, rewarding distance and accuracy: holes to bomb drives, holes to hit tight gaps, left-to-right, right-to-left, and straight. Open holes, wooded holes, and multi-shot holes that are open for one shot and wooded for the next. There are two true water carry holes (one is only a water carry from the Blue tee) and some of the most picturesque sections of the course.

+ Speaking of picturesque, the property is beautiful and the park is well-maintained.

+ Large, brand new, level tees for both the White and Blue layouts. (Final Red tees coming soon.)

+ Signature holes? Is it possible to have multiple? This course does. So many memorable tee shots and greens.

+ This track has something for all skill levels. It's primarily designed for Intermediate to Advanced players, but with Red tees and a Novice loop coming, beginners and Rec players will love this track too. And the Blue Fusion layout will challenge the Pros. Heck, I expect that with all the optionality of the course, multiple pin locations, and what now, there's probably a design in mind for high-level Pros too.

+ Plenty of parking right at the first tees (gravel lot) with an overflow paved lot right across the road (just steps away) for the rest of the park. There should be plenty of parking even for major tournaments. There's also a great, huge course map sign at the gravel parking lot.

+ Diavolo is a 10 out of 10 on the Fun Meter and 10 out of 10 on the Challenge Meter. If you think the White tees are too easy, play the Blues. If you think the Blue layout is too soft, play Blue Fusion.
Cons: If you're going to force me to come up with cons, here are the only ones I can think of:

- This will probably be a busy course for the foreseeable future (or maybe forever). This is without a doubt a destination course, so you will have out-of-towners as well as locals playing non-stop. Just be prepared to wait a little, but it's worth it.

- Maybe a little lefty-friendly, but that's a reach, to be honest.
Other Thoughts: Diavolo is a Cary, NC course, but just over the line in Chatham County. Amazingly, Chatham County now has two of the top 10 courses in NC (along with Rock Ridge...and yes, I'm assuming Diavolo will be top 10 as soon as it hits 11 reviews).

There's no excuse not to make it out to this amazing course. Thank you to CADL and all of the volunteers who put in countless hours to bring this track to life!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in the Triangle

1    10/31/2020   11/2/2020
Review By: Bneedh1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well delineated fairways, comfortable tee pads and fair lines even when tight. Water holes are very manageable yet exciting. Great features on putting greens (especially love the quartz elevated basket placements). Visually pleasing course with challenge and opportunity. Signage was great. We played from the blue tees and had no trouble navigating.
Cons: I thought there was one flow issue in regard to passing between basket and next tee pad. However with a 3 group or more back up for 20 holes that does expose any weakness in this aspect of the courses design. All of the other spots where discs could possibly come from another fairway were properly protected by well placed barriers.
Other Thoughts: This course is very good with a complete variety of shots from the tee. There are a couple holes that did not quite feel complete but it still plays well. I am excited to see what this course becomes over the next few years. Great job designer and volunteers you should be extremely proud!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

How do you pronounce this course?

5+    10/25/2020   10/26/2020
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 175  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2020
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diavolo will probably skyrocket into the top of NC disc golfers' favorite courses list and it's well deserved. Not since Rolling Pines has a course of this caliber debuted with so much polish and quality design. There are little to no "new course" issues that usually accompany a course like vicious rough, etc.

The design is good enough to merit in-depth discussion. From the Whites and Blues that I played, the course is 22 quality holes with well-defined fairways. Most courses struggle to have 18 decent to good holes and Diavolo has that plus 4 more. The only holes that can be subjectively considered ho-hum are maybe the shorter par 3 holes used to combine with the fusion holes for the 18 hole layout. But there was little to no "par 2" stench on them. Legitimate holes all.

The design has broad spectrum appeal. It's open enough and the rough forgivable enough to please everyone from noobs to chuckers. And the holes are long and technical enough to satisfy the more advanced players. As a player that throws every speed of disc frequently and practically a 50/50 BH vs FH thrower I was happy to find shots for all my discs. Distance drivers to putters all saw plenty of use. This is not one of those courses where you'd necessarily be safe to go without mids or fairway drivers, etc.

Pulling all these shots out of my bag means that the hole shapes had a great mix of variety. For sure there are plenty of holes asking for flip ups, flexes, sweepers, etc. Practically every conventional disc golf line is needed to score well here. Most of the holes offer multiple options to attack. Hole 8 in the A position (over the fence) was the only hole with a bit of an extreme line needed to reach the green comfortably. There's a great variety of distance also, from 230' hole 14 that's probably the most get-able (despite the slightly raised basket) to 939' hole 16 (entirely wooded!).

This is also a very balanced course in terms of open vs wooded. The most open hole is #9 with the pond to clear and plenty of field to land in. But even this hole isn't necessarily a mindless grip it and rip it affair. Between the fairway shape, length in relation to par, and the moderate amount of trees you always have to consider next shot placement.

Part of the reason this course looks so clean already is because it is almost entirely pine forest. Pines make great disc golf course trees because their limbs rarely grow low enough to affect shots, they don't bury discs in leaves, they're easy to keep clear of underbrush, and they're great obstacles. Diavolo is easy enough to navigate thanks to the fantastic signs and the two-tiered benches available at the tees are easy to spot in addition to their main job accommodating bags and rear ends. The baskets are new DisCatchers which can't be knocked really.

The multiple tee layouts also do a nice job of providing more variety rather than one being a shorter version of the other for the same hole.
Cons: There's not much. The only major issue is something the course can't really do anything about and that's the lack of elevation change. Diavolo is fairly flat, like a course closer to the coast (part of the reason it reminds me a lot of Castle Hayne). There is a bit of up and downhill though occasionally and the tee locations do a good job of making use of what elevation there is.

If you like to throw more extreme or unconventional lines like big flexes or flick rollers or hard-turning flares you might get a little bored. The holes are generally straight or curve very graciously in respect to how discs fly. There are plenty of trees though if you want to get creative. Also seemed to be maybe a little lefty biased.

Hole 12 has a tee sign info error. I think it says "white" on both signs at the white tee and the blue tee. I feel like I should get a reward for noticing the only goof-up.

Holes 12, 17 and 18 play along a popular gravel road. On a nice day, you'll probably have to be patient with dog walkers and joggers (especially 12). Some of the holes get a little close to each other, like hole 7's tees in hole 6's fairway, hole 10 and 22's tees are right next each other, and it's easy to accidentally walk into 9's fairway when leaving 8. On a busy day or during a tournament it might cause issues.

I'm not crazy about these kinds of tees (porous rubber mats over compacted gravel). The far ends of the course are a LONG way away from the bathrooms. A portable bathroom around that hole 13 to 21 stretch would not be a bad idea.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE: After playing the Fusion Blue layout, I have upgraded this to a 4.5. The Fusion holes makes this course feel like a legitimate championship course and I don't throw that term around lightly. They are challenging and fair holes that are a blast to play (if you like wooded golf).

This course is immediately the crown jewel of disc golf in the Triangle area. You could rate it higher than my beloved Rock Ridge b/c RR's last hole sucks, and higher than Buckhorn/UNC/Valley Springs etc b/c the design is more modern. This is basically the Rolling Pines of the Triangle.

.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Championship Caliber Course

2-4    10/25/2020   10/26/2020
Review By: zjones9
Played: 70  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great mix of open and wooded holes
-Really made use of the elevation and slight rolling hills. This is made even better by the tee signs, which include an indication of the elevation change from tee to pin.
-Essentially 4 courses that service the full spectrum from beginner (red tees), to intermediate (white tees), to professionals (blue tees or fusion layout).
-Signage is top notch. I mentioned tee signs with elevation already, but the do a great job with signs to next hole, as well as depicting various line options on the tee signs.
-Great variety of shot shaping, but not in a way that you need to get lucky. Every tree hit, or bad kick I got, was because I missed my line in some way. I never felt like I threw a good shot that got 'unlucky'.
Cons: -The only type of hole that the course is missing is the long par 3. I had originally rated this as a 5, but after thinking back through the rounds I played, I felt like in order to get that perfect rating (for me) it would need a couple of those longer par 3 holes.
-I personally would like the water to come more into play on hole 8, but that's more personal preference. *They do have a pin placement closer to the water (position C), but the basket was not there when I played and this might lead to safety issues with the blue tee on the next hole having to throw over/near the pin of 8.
-There are a couple of holes that use a single tee for Blue/Red/White. On these holes, the teesign only shows the color Blue, so it may be a bit confusing your first playthrough. Just know that UDisc had it mapped perfectly, so you can be confident you are teeing in the right spot if you follow UDisc.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast at this course, and can't wait to go back. If you are thinking about playing this course, do it!
FWIW: My distance maxes at 450ish, probably closer to just over 400 on golf shots. I think something close to that distance is needed in order to score from the Blue tees, especially on some of the par 4's and 5's. (Holes 9 and 16, I'm looking at you...)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Going to be an Elite course!

2-4    10/22/2020   10/22/2020
Review By: rwgatorfan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2020
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course opened today so the family went and played the "front 11." We absolutely loved it. Here are the pros
- Signs by the blue and white tee pads are the best I've ever seen. They show a detailed map with the trees where they are. They also show the elevation changes along the holes. I've never seen that before, but it is very cool.
- The course will likely be a pro-level course, but we played the red tee locations since I had the wife and kids with me. This is a very playable course for recreational players from the red tees. We were worried that it would be too hard for us, but it was very playable for beginners from the red tees.
- The blue and white tee pads are, of course, brand new and are in great shape.
- The course is extremely fair. Some of the holes are quite wooded, but they all give lanes you can hit if you throw well. We didn't encounter any unfair holes on the from 11.
- Number 8 is a very short par 3, but forces all players to throw over water. From the red tee, it's only like 100-120 feet to clear the water. The wife and kids didn't make that throw, but it was an easy traversal of the water for me.
- There's a mixture of short, tight North Carolina holes and long, open holes. It's nice to have the variety. Not many courses in the area offer that.
- There are THREE different practice baskets spread around. One is by the smaller course parking lot. The other two are across the street near the larger parking lot.
- There are very nice bathroom facilities right across the street from the course.
- Very cool having some of the combined holes to make the course more difficult.
Cons: Not much for cons. This is an awesome course. The cons will likely be fixed over time.
- Red tee pads are missing on most holes. I expect they'll be coming soon.
- It will take some time for the fairways to be beaten down. They're still a bit of an adventure to traverse in some places.
- The parking lot right beside the course is not paved and is quite small. It was completely full today, but it's very easy to park in the lot across the street.
- Paths are not quite beaten down either. The transition from hole 6 to hold 7 was confusing. It felt like we were supposed to either walk back up the 6th fairway or to switch over to the 7th fairway and walk up it.
Other Thoughts: Diavolo is now the closest course to where we live. It is a fantastic course. I'm sure it will mature and evolve into one of the best courses in North Carolina. Very happy to have it nearby. Kudos to CADL for all the work to make this happen.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.