Auburn, ME 
Dragan Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
4 / 353ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 200  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course. You use every throw, every disc, length, vegetation obstacles, etc. etc.

Updating this review 2 years later. Went back to Maine in the winter this time. Owner was very friendly and welcoming. He maintains the course even in Maine's brutal winters. Clears tee pads, etc. I've given ratings bumps for course maintenance at places like Bracket's, I think this course deserves the same bump (I upped it a half star). It certainly helps paying $5 when you know it goes to good people who are helping your disc golf experience, especially when they're doing it in freezing icy conditions.
Cons: Swampy. Pay-to-Play
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I think it just shows the difference in people's ratings. It's shocking that this course would rate higher than Hornets Nest, Waller Park, Idaho State. It plays more like Arcadia Lake (OKC) or a swampy Killens Pond (DE) or Davidson (NC).

I've been trying to figure out the most objective ratings system I can come up with. I don't narrate the entire round, but I want to give an idea of what you're driving to if you've never played the course before. The reviews I've seen seem more like cheer-leading the local course. If you give this course five stars, you'd have to give Sipapu/Nockamixon/Humboldt a hundred stars.

Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - it does have a good mix of shots. Good use of the vegetation and other obstacles. You'll need to bend a disc every which way. Just nothing spectacular.

Variety (distance) - 3/5 - there's length. And it's sprinkled in, instead of just getting longer as you go. Lots of short holes. Fun for ace runs but it can have a pitch-and-putt feel to it at times.

Beauty - 2.5/5 - Hills, shrubs, green grass (seasonally). It's as good as you'll get in this part of the state.

Trackability - 3/5 - It's not too far from I-95, makes it an easy play on road trips. The holes flow well enough too.

Lost Disc Hazard - 2.5/5 - lots of shrubs. If you're accurate and/or persistent, you'll be fine. Just be sure to watch errant throws all the way through til the end.

Vibe - 2.5/5 - to each his own. Seems like the locals love it. I had a nice time. The swampiness doesn't bother me when I know to expect it. Summer bugs too. Not too crowded, though there were some folks there to tour guide you or chat local courses with.

Safety - 4/5.

21/7 = 3.00

It's a nice course. I'll play it again when I'm in the area. I'd hate to offend anyone who plays, designed, or maintains it, though I'd also hate to send people on long expensive journeys for courses that don't live up to their ratings.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 played 100 plus here

5+    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kfitz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: ob adds difficulty which allows the most experienced player to come out and play with noobs or gf. lots of dueceable 4s, got one par 4 ace out there, have seen two others, plays easy on the body
Cons: kind of easy and that fabled second coarse that ive been waiting for doesnt seem to be coming....
Other Thoughts: leagues are fun

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 yeah, what he said

5+    9/26/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All around nice course. The guys do a great job of keeping the course clean, and well maintained.

Nice pads, easy to see most baskets, but with a bit of a challenge on some holes.

A nice mix of woods, and fields.
Cons: To damn wet, to often.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, nice crew, nice escape.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wear boots

5+    8/30/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: danman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Perfect layout not to wooded but not to open.Very helpful staff and pro shop.
Cons: This course is very wet year round you definitely want to wear boots or expect to have wet feet.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite course of the 4 that I play on a regular basis. I shoot under par there almost every time, but its not an easy course by any means. Its very well maintained, but they do have drainage issues. It is $8 to play all day which is one of the most expensive coursed around but its worth it

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golf's Putt course of Disc Golf

1    4/23/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: deafaliendisc
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It looks like Golf course in putter design.
-It have small concrete near by each basket to tell you where the next tee is. Instead of nail the wood with arrow shape. Easy to follow around.
-Red color on top of each basket. Easy to spot feel like, that it was heated by Red Dragon flame on it! :-)
-big red garbage can on every tees. With every tee number on it.
Cons: -Need little bit more challenge (possible in summer time with more trees to blossom out)
-Lots of watery and mud on the course during early spring time. (That's expect in state of Maine)
Other Thoughts: The tee with each design of course need stronger plastic to press on avoiding snow or rain for wet to getting through. So it cause fading..

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Fav's

5+    6/6/2008   3/19/2009
Review By: ShortBusDiscGolf
Played: 182  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome layout and design. Bring a couple 'Trick Shots'.....and some arm. Hole 16 is one of my favorites in all of disc golf. Great signs and trash cans. Gordy is the man!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Some drainage issues, but so what. More benches please. $5 to play, but totally worth it.
Other Thoughts: A must play while in Maine.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dragon Field is great

6/20/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: capedcodder
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has everything you could want in a course. Well maintained with very clear OB areas. Easy to navigate with clear markings. Also, a couple of very creative holes with some fun suprises.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop attendant was awesome. Not only did he help us with our Maine disc golf tour schedule but he played a round with us as well. The guys at Dragon are the ones to talk to about Maine disc golf.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.