Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: xcad3ncex Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 251ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 313ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Very good park course

1    4/10/2018   11/15/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great city park setting
- Just look around you: mountains!
- Good mix of shots required
- Nice use of creek - it's not on the early holes, so it sort "sneaks in" to the hazards at various times during the round.
-9 and 10 are a really nice pair of short holes that are nonetheless challenging - and they sort require "mirror" shots of one another. It's unfortunate that they cross over one another so they slow the play it it's busy. But if it's not busy, you'll really enjoy this pair of holes.
- 16 is a gem. Risk/reward flirting with the creek.
Cons:
- I was really lucky to hook up with a local to guide me through the course. Multiple layouts (like when school is in session) and multiple pin placements really require familiarity with the course.
Other Thoughts:
- I was in the area on business, and planned my trip to include an extra half-day for disc golf. I'm really glad I chose Creekside: it has a very good mix of holes, and it's in a city park full of activity - so it added to my sense of "seeing Salt Lake City."

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Classic Local Course

1    6/6/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: golfbrewer
Played: 26  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2018
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a classic great disc golf course. Great technical shots, over water, tunnel, sidearm, thumbers, and rollers. Awesome that they change basket location often, so it is not always the same. Good signage and tee pads. I like the dial below the sign to tell you the Basket placement.
Hole 1 easy straight shot nice easy start.
Hole 2 Anhyzer shot or side arm tucked in the trees
Hole 3 Straight shot with a guardian tree. Good mid range shot.
Hole 4 Mid Range shot anhyzer with guardian trees. Well guarded
Hole 5 Elevated tee. Float a Mid range late hyzer around trees.
Hole 6 Wide open light anhyzer on a slight slope
Hole 7 Try to keep your disc right of the basket. Over shoot left you are doing down the hill
Hole 8 You can throw this one a little wide hyzer then up to the pin for a small uphill putt.
Hole 9 Slightly elevated tee. Throw over the river. Trees on both sides. Make your throw good or your in the river.
Hole 10 Slight elevated tee. Straight shot
Hole 11 Again slight elevated tee. Straight open shot. Mid range that will hold that line.
Hole 12 Straight fairway driver shot. Guardian trees at the basket.
Hole 13 Through 2 trees keep straight hyzer at the end.
Hole 14 Keep the shot low to get to the basket.
Hole 15S Straight disc or slight anhyzer will work. Tunnel all the way.
Hole 16 2 choices over the river hyzer back or safe shot to the open field to your left.
Hole 17 Anhyzer or side arm. Basket to the right nested in the trees.
Hole 18 Stable disc go right down the middle.
Hole 19 Hole starts pretty much open then tightens up at the end on the right with trees.
Hole 20 Open shot hyzer or straight your choice.
Cons: Heavily used course. Sometimes tee boxes are backed up. Probably this is one of Utah's local favorite course.
Other Thoughts: Found that all golfers that I have run into were very respectful, helpful, and watched were they were throwing. Holes are a little tight with other hole, but everyone is looking out for each other.

I like that there is multiple basket placement options. Course has a little of everything.

Recommend this course, local favorite.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential

5+    6/29/2017   6/29/2017
Review By: Jeremyallann@aol.com
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signage
Amazing views
Nice technical holes
Cons: Poor layout, too many holes right on top of each other.
Crowded course
Other Thoughts: This could be a great course. There are some very cool holes here but the layout needs to be reworked. I know the locals love it but it's time to tear it apart and draw it up again. There is plenty of room to make a great 18 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Watch your head

1    5/27/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: jmadersky
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenery
Has tee boxes
Tons of trash cans
Cons: So many crossing fairways, this place is dangerous. I would not recommend on a busy day. I have never been to a course where the tee shots cross other tee boxes, pins that are near or beyond other tee boxes, blind tee shots towards other baskets. The design flaws made my round uncomfortable.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Got my first ace here!

1    5/3/2017   5/7/2017
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 29  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well since I got my first ace ever here i was pretty stoked on that!
- Free
- Lots of trash cans
- Nice scenery
- Cool people
Cons: - Middle of the course gets little tight with holes throwing at each other
- Can lose disc pretty easily with lots of tall grass, river, and bush
- Most holes are pretty short
Other Thoughts: All and all fun course nice to play while in town!
Wish there were a few more holes around 400' or over.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid technical course

1    4/6/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 69  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good variety of technical shots, most < 350'
- Nice scenery, with mountains all around
- Many shorter holes, but technical, not boring
- Big concrete teepads, and well-made signs with helpful pin location indicators
Cons:
- Holes 6, 7, and 8 were partially removed, remapped, or otherwise unnavigable
- Holes 9 and 10 completely shared a fairway, there's no way to play those simultaneously
- Other areas where overlap could create congestion
- Not a lot of big distance, but enough to challenge most ams
Other Thoughts:
I played this course on a weekday morning, so I didn't experience the crowd issues that others have mentioned. It was a very nice course, and I would definitely play there again if I was in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Popular Boy

1    3/27/2017   3/27/2017
Review By: nightwing
Played: 225  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -SHOTS!!! More good shots than most 'Park Courses'.
-Designed for challenge and interest.
-Setting....grass, trees, roaring creek....nice
-Tee signs...graphic, full color, useful
-Benchs, practice baskets, concrete pads etc
-Location...playable all winter and in town
-Mostly 4 pins per hole with great variety
Cons: -Crowds...the place is popular for a reason
-Maybe kind of a 'Boy's Club Party Scene'?.
-Some tight and even criss-crossing fairways.
-Only 1 teepad per hole. Mostly Advanced or Intermediate
-So not a really beginner or pro friendly course.
-Could make use of more water hazards
-A few casual park users were on course.
Other Thoughts: Since recent reviews have trashed this course, let's start by saying that if you expect an uncrowded, polite and pristine family atmosphere, you might go to the nearby U.Utah course. Both courses serve different Disc needs well. This is clearly a 'Player's Course' and yes some players can be 'Course'. i heard plenty of basic 'Smack' talk but nothing negative.

HINT: If you can't arrive with a group that suits you, hang out throwing practice putts and chatting on Tee #1 til you hook up with a group you like. It worked for me and it almost always does whereever you go.

My group was a 4-some that grew to 6: mostly 'Advanced' players who were happy to show me around. The tee signs seemed to be great, although I didn't need them with all the local dudes. There were benchs and logs enough for a large group to rest and the pace of play seemed good with no one on us or holding us up even though the course was full up.

Many reviewers complain about the layout. Two holes near the new school have been dropped. While there IS a criss-crossing fairway, it did not appear to present a gross safety issue, Both holes were interesting and players seemed to be aware of each other. (Compare to De La in Santa Cruz Ca., which is just plain dangerous.)

This course is deceptive. I got LOTS of birdie putts but not that many easy ones. A nice, compact challenge but if you are a pro and can throw an easy Buzz over 300 you might torch the place. We collectively shot about 2up to 5 down which probably rated about 875 to 950 or so.

Given that Solitude, SLC area's premier course, is closed all winter, Creekside serves a purpose for real players year round. But take your time picking your group. This isn't the 'Family Frisbee Park', it's a Disc Golf Course and I enjoyed a little give and take with the local bros.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course but a bit congested

1    2/20/2017   2/24/2017
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good quality baskets.
- Tee signs for every hole with a dial indicator showing which configuration the hole is in.
- Tee signs include par, distance, and hole diagram.
- Concrete tee pads in good shape.
- Nice mix of long/short, open/wooded.
Cons: - One design flaw of this course is the heavy congestion around the middle of the course - crossing fairways (7/8), fairways and baskets on a number of other holes are pretty close. This causes a safety concern for other disc golfers.
- Due to the heavy congestion (and the renumbered tees) it was a little confusing when trying to find the next tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could be good

5+    8/26/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: Keasto
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 28.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Tee signs
-Plenty of ace runs
-Nice creek running through park
-Trash Cans
-Bathroom
Cons: -Poor local community
-Many locals are more likely to try and get you to leave the course than let you join in with them.
-Rampant drinking and smoking
-Very short holes
-New school just built next to park. 2 holes shut down to prevent discs from going onto school property. Kids from the school now run free though the course during recess. Very dangerous because of the drug and alcohol abuse, not to mention flying discs.
-Dogs running free everywhere despite park rules against it.
-some local police officers even play the course, but it seems that officers turn a blind eye to all the drinking and smoking and dogs running off leash.
-some tee signs are very confusing and it is common to see new groups of people walk to the wrong hole.
Other Thoughts: There are some very awesome locals who respect the rules and want the best for the park.
The course really needs to be redesigned now that the school has been built.
Hopefully some day the police will crack down and start giving out citations and arresting the ones that take advantage of this park. It is possible that this course COULD be appreciated by the greater community if all disc golfers followed the local laws.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but Consistent

2-4    7/2/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: samillerggiw
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely wooded area.
The holes that use the hill and river add some variety to the course.
Nice signs, pads, and easy to traverse course.
Decent length.
Multiple pin locations and a unique tall basket.
Cons: Other than the few hill/river holes, most of the other holes are essentially the same. The course also favors forehand throws strongly.
Some signs indicated the wrong tee positions.
The disc golf course can get very crowded and other players/pedestrians are not particularly courteous.
Other Thoughts: The river is very hard to find discs in, so it's better to throw safe.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.