Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: Big Wave Dave Hole #12
3 / 280ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 329ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Potential

5+    6/29/2017   6/29/2017
Review By: Jeremyallann@aol.com
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Great signage
Amazing views
Nice technical holes
Cons: Poor layout, too many holes right on top of each other.
Crowded course
Other Thoughts: This could be a great course. There are some very cool holes here but the layout needs to be reworked. I know the locals love it but it's time to tear it apart and draw it up again. There is plenty of room to make a great 18 hole course.

Watch your head

1    5/27/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: jmadersky
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenery
Has tee boxes
Tons of trash cans
Cons: So many crossing fairways, this place is dangerous. I would not recommend on a busy day. I have never been to a course where the tee shots cross other tee boxes, pins that are near or beyond other tee boxes, blind tee shots towards other baskets. The design flaws made my round uncomfortable.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Got my first ace here!

1    5/3/2017   5/7/2017
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well since I got my first ace ever here i was pretty stoked on that!
- Free
- Lots of trash cans
- Nice scenery
- Cool people
Cons: - Middle of the course gets little tight with holes throwing at each other
- Can lose disc pretty easily with lots of tall grass, river, and bush
- Most holes are pretty short
Other Thoughts: All and all fun course nice to play while in town!
Wish there were a few more holes around 400' or over.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid technical course

1    4/6/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good variety of technical shots, most < 350'
- Nice scenery, with mountains all around
- Many shorter holes, but technical, not boring
- Big concrete teepads, and well-made signs with helpful pin location indicators
Cons:
- Holes 6, 7, and 8 were partially removed, remapped, or otherwise unnavigable
- Holes 9 and 10 completely shared a fairway, there's no way to play those simultaneously
- Other areas where overlap could create congestion
- Not a lot of big distance, but enough to challenge most ams
Other Thoughts:
I played this course on a weekday morning, so I didn't experience the crowd issues that others have mentioned. It was a very nice course, and I would definitely play there again if I was in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Popular Boy

1    3/27/2017   3/27/2017
Review By: nightwing
Played: 176  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -SHOTS!!! More good shots than most 'Park Courses'.
-Designed for challenge and interest.
-Setting....grass, trees, roaring creek....nice
-Tee signs...graphic, full color, useful
-Benchs, practice baskets, concrete pads etc
-Location...playable all winter and in town
-Mostly 4 pins per hole with great variety
Cons: -Crowds...the place is popular for a reason
-Maybe kind of a 'Boy's Club Party Scene'?.
-Some tight and even criss-crossing fairways.
-Only 1 teepad per hole. Mostly Advanced or Intermediate
-So not a really beginner or pro friendly course.
-Could make use of more water hazards
-A few casual park users were on course.
Other Thoughts: Since recent reviews have trashed this course, let's start by saying that if you expect an uncrowded, polite and pristine family atmosphere, you might go to the nearby U.Utah course. Both courses serve different Disc needs well. This is clearly a 'Player's Course' and yes some players can be 'Course'. i heard plenty of basic 'Smack' talk but nothing negative.

HINT: If you can't arrive with a group that suits you, hang out throwing practice putts and chatting on Tee #1 til you hook up with a group you like. It worked for me and it almost always does whereever you go.

My group was a 4-some that grew to 6: mostly 'Advanced' players who were happy to show me around. The tee signs seemed to be great, although I didn't need them with all the local dudes. There were benchs and logs enough for a large group to rest and the pace of play seemed good with no one on us or holding us up even though the course was full up.

Many reviewers complain about the layout. Two holes near the new school have been dropped. While there IS a criss-crossing fairway, it did not appear to present a gross safety issue, Both holes were interesting and players seemed to be aware of each other. (Compare to De La in Santa Cruz Ca., which is just plain dangerous.)

This course is deceptive. I got LOTS of birdie putts but not that many easy ones. A nice, compact challenge but if you are a pro and can throw an easy Buzz over 300 you might torch the place. We collectively shot about 2up to 5 down which probably rated about 875 to 950 or so.

Given that Solitude, SLC area's premier course, is closed all winter, Creekside serves a purpose for real players year round. But take your time picking your group. This isn't the 'Family Frisbee Park', it's a Disc Golf Course and I enjoyed a little give and take with the local bros.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course but a bit congested

1    2/20/2017   2/24/2017
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 46  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good quality baskets.
- Tee signs for every hole with a dial indicator showing which configuration the hole is in.
- Tee signs include par, distance, and hole diagram.
- Concrete tee pads in good shape.
- Nice mix of long/short, open/wooded.
Cons: - One design flaw of this course is the heavy congestion around the middle of the course - crossing fairways (7/8), fairways and baskets on a number of other holes are pretty close. This causes a safety concern for other disc golfers.
- Due to the heavy congestion (and the renumbered tees) it was a little confusing when trying to find the next tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Could be good

5+    8/26/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: Keasto
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 27.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Tee signs
-Plenty of ace runs
-Nice creek running through park
-Trash Cans
-Bathroom
Cons: -Poor local community
-Many locals are more likely to try and get you to leave the course than let you join in with them.
-Rampant drinking and smoking
-Very short holes
-New school just built next to park. 2 holes shut down to prevent discs from going onto school property. Kids from the school now run free though the course during recess. Very dangerous because of the drug and alcohol abuse, not to mention flying discs.
-Dogs running free everywhere despite park rules against it.
-some local police officers even play the course, but it seems that officers turn a blind eye to all the drinking and smoking and dogs running off leash.
-some tee signs are very confusing and it is common to see new groups of people walk to the wrong hole.
Other Thoughts: There are some very awesome locals who respect the rules and want the best for the park.
The course really needs to be redesigned now that the school has been built.
Hopefully some day the police will crack down and start giving out citations and arresting the ones that take advantage of this park. It is possible that this course COULD be appreciated by the greater community if all disc golfers followed the local laws.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but Consistent

2-4    7/2/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: samillerggiw
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely wooded area.
The holes that use the hill and river add some variety to the course.
Nice signs, pads, and easy to traverse course.
Decent length.
Multiple pin locations and a unique tall basket.
Cons: Other than the few hill/river holes, most of the other holes are essentially the same. The course also favors forehand throws strongly.
Some signs indicated the wrong tee positions.
The disc golf course can get very crowded and other players/pedestrians are not particularly courteous.
Other Thoughts: The river is very hard to find discs in, so it's better to throw safe.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still fun, but...

5+    6/17/2016   6/18/2016
Review By: Webslinger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Quality tee signs
- Concrete tee pads are in good shape
- Nice benches
- Multiple pin positions
- Wooded, technical shots
- Baskets are easy to locate with orange colored banding
- Layout and design is excellent
- Great views of the surrounding mountains; especially Mt. Olympus
Cons: - Poor use of quality tee signs
- Crowded with some groups numbering 6-10 players
- Poor disc golf etiquette in general
- Drinking and smoking though park rules specifically forbid it
- Off leash dogs that roam (against park rules) paired with irresponsible dog owners
- Heavy pot smoking throughout park, especially holes 4, 5, 10, and 15
- Area around holes 6 through 8 is a smelly, muddy swamp
Other Thoughts: Tee pad signs are the best in Utah. Each sign marks the distance to each pin placement and has a round, metal pin marker on the sign to indicate which pin placement is in use (very handy during the spring and summer months when the course is in full bloom and baskets can be hard to see). Baskets are moved frequently on this course, which keeps it challenging, but whoever it is that takes the time to move the baskets does a poor job of adjusting the pin marker dial on the tee sign to correspond with the new basket position, therefore the pin marker on the tee sign is unreliable; go figure!
The hillside (top, east and west slopes) along holes 6 through 8 are a muddy, smelly and slippery mess. I don't know if that has anything to do with what appears to be a school under construction on the west side of these same holes, but it has become a hazard. Though I haven't seen it to know for sure, it appears the sprinklers are being left on overnight; much too long and frequently, unless there's a broken water pipe that is the culprit. It has been like this for a few weeks now and hopefully will be corrected soon.
Disc golf etiquette at this course is about the worst I have ever seen in any sport. The drinking and pot smoking is surely responsible for the poor behavior, occasional confrontations and horrendous use of the 'F' word throughout the course. Not sure which is worst, a newbie that is ignorant of course rules and etiquette or a local, experienced player that knows course rules and etiquette and just doesn't care. Also, bringing your dog is fine, but being a responsible dog owner is paramount. There are way too many dogs that roam off leash and are a nuisance to other disc golfers. If you don't understand what it means to be a responsible dog owner, or you just don't know how, then leave the dog at home, or better yet...don't get a dog.
If you want to bring your family, a group of scouts, students, boys/girls club, or work employee party to experience disc golf firsthand, this is NOT the course to play. The lack of etiquette can make the whole experience disappointing.
Creekside is a classic course that is home to a grade 'A' annual tournament. If the locals would take some pride in their appearance and behavior, it would make a world of difference.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite in the country

5+    4/1/2016   4/24/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 99  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I travel 100% for work, and have played a lot of courses from Cali to Texas, but this one is my favorite.

Long course.
Concrete pads
Trash Cans
Benches
Good mix of ever type of shot
Cool creek shots
Ace runs that you can be proud of
Huge league mini tournaments.

Just a unique course with a lot of cool shots.
Cons: Gets a little crowded.
Once all the fish were dead in the creek and it smelled pretty bad.
A few walkers on the course, I nailed some chick from like 400 ft out on hole 10 once. I never even saw her until it was way to late. she got pissed and threw my disc
Other Thoughts: Cool Rotating tall basket is in a diff spot every time I come to town.

Have fun on this one.
The "Kraken" on hole 4 is cool.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.