Disc Golf Center
Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: xcad3ncex Hole #1 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 348ft.   3 / 400ft.   3 / 369ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome Beautiful Course

5+    3/30/2013   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 73  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun. The holes have a variety of challenges which will make you use all kinds of throws and types of disks. They range from long open bombs to tight tunnels.

All the holes are well marked. Most of the cages even have bright pink flags on them to make them easy to see through the trees and such.

The cages are moved very often, making it different all the time so you don't get bored with it.

The people are friendly for the most part, but with some of the holes throwing at others it's important to make people aware that you're throwing. It's all about common courtesy.
Cons: As I mentioned several of the holes throw right at other tee pads. I didn't really notice it too much till someone from out of state mentioned it to me and I realized just how many times it happens. This problem is exacerbated by the following con:

This is one of the best courses in the state which has one big con, (thus the 4 instead of 4.5+), it attracts a TON of people.

This isn't all bad, I've played with some great people, but it also means that you have to contend with crowds, annoying and inconsiderate people at times, and lots of people leaving garbage, (which is usually quickly cleaned up).

I've also awakened a few bums who make the pad for 3B their bed some nights.
Other Thoughts: This park is beautiful most of the time. It is almost everything you could ask for in a course, except the crowds and the other cons mentions, of course.

Don't bother coming on Wed evenings unless you enjoy tons of young men and young women throwing with frisbees.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This is what disc golf is all about

5+    6/2/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: JakeLaPutka
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --It has Everything. Short, Long, Open, Wooded, Tunnels, Right, Left, Up, Down, Water, Mandys.
--Average of 4 pin positions per hole, always being changed.
--It is hard, but not so hard that beginners can't play. Is friendly for all skill levels.
--Water hazard that doesn't always steal your disc. about 60% of the time you can find your disc and wade in/use a stick to get your discs.
--Not really windy. Windy days will usually be guarded by the trees. Don't get me wrong though wind can come into play!
--Doubles is HUGE here every tuesday. Big payout usually, and great time to learn from better golfers. There is a B pool so less experienced players can play.
--Uses all the shots in your bag
--There is a bathroom and potable water
--A Disc golf park. Rarely (although it does happen) are there people in your way like walkers, runners, etc.
--Very well maintained by Team Utah Disc Golf, with garbage cans about every 5 holes and benches on 16/23 of the holes
Cons: Not too many.
--Crowds. No way to play a <2 hour round on the weekends. The front 9 is hazardous with 6's teepad being prone to shots from 4 and 5. Many people think 3A and 3B are "too hard" so they skip from 3 to 4, so often youre stuck playing through big groups twice. A lot of people are not very nice here. Lose your disc and get called back 2% of the time, Big groups not letting people play through, massive groups not splitting into 2 groups and holding everyone up.
--Conflicting holes can cause some positions to stay the same, for example hole 13 is almost always short because there is only 1 position on 12 that allows 13 to be in any other position than short.
Other Thoughts: The reason the cons did not bring this course from 5 to 4.5 is because they are cons that can't really be changed. I guess people could just be nicer haha. It is understandable why this course is so crowded because it is so awesome!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best use of flood basin ever

5+    9/17/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 259  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 37.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seems to have it all---open and grassy, wooded, volumnous creek, elevation changes, isolated holes, varied clientele, alternate pin placements. Not much pro/long-armed, but not really a family/beginner's course either. Most of the lovely, dewey field fairways are in the first 9; the holes start flirting with the creek about halfway through. The creek helps mediate the temp in the park, and can provide a cool dip on a blistering summer day, or steal your disc when its up and muddy. The trees start to really kick in and affect shots by hole #9, though #s 4 & 5 dance around the oaks a bit. I think its a great course with educational opportunities for the improving discer; if you can excell here, you should be able to handle all but the most overgrown, mountainous, abysmally long courses.
Except for 1-2, 15, and 17-18, you're pretty much hidden from the rest of the park, a nice amenity for those who like an "its MY country club" atmosphere. A nice selection of tees with benches, and the bathroom might be 300 yds. from the most distant hole.
Cons: Major hindrances are other discers [packed on weekends], other park users[dogs, kids, strung-out LDS/LSDers], obscenely hot temps in summer and fairway/tee encroachment. The creek can be hazardous in late spring-mid summer: if its muddy you should have your life insurance policy paid-up if you risk going in.
Other Thoughts: Too bad there's not another course of this style in the Greater Salt Lake area---the flatter, longer, blander courses are why this one is so popular.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun park course

5+    10/16/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park and great layout. Great concrete tees and challenging hole locations. Awesome little river runs along some of the holes. Great flow to the course and pretty hard to get lost.
Cons: Some areas of the park never seem to dry up and can be very muddy. Can be very busy at times and sometimes have to wait on holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really fun and challenging course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  FORE!

1    7/10/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: mallardthrasher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety from a few wide open holes to tight wooded fairways on the back 9 that require control shots rather than the monster drives on almost every hole at Valley Regional, Water hazards make it challenging and fun, No Joggers/Walkers to wait for or hit!
Cons: Lots of people, overlapping fairways and tees (You have to wait for people to tee of on the next hole before you can throw or else you may hit them in some cases). Sprinklers were going the whole time I was playing (very soggy back 9). Lots of discs flying in every direction on a few holes making it a bit dangerous. Confusing hole layout and lack of markings for someone that has never played the course before.
Other Thoughts: I have to say it is a cool course especially with the control needed to score well on the back nine. However, I am not a big fan of having discs thrown at me the whole time I was playing, but all in all it wasn't too bad. With as many people that were playing, it is a little too crowded for my taste, but it does help to not have the joggers and walkers all over that have no idea what is going on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside AKA A packed house

5+    6/27/2013   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Creekside is the staple course in Salt Lake for year round play.
-Multiple hole placement is a bonus. It's nice to show up even 2 days later and a few holes are in new locations. different hole location add different challenges to the over all excitement of this course.
-Trees, shrubs, water, mudd, and people add to the difficulty and fun of this course. You will hit a tree, you will hesitate before you throw over the water, and you will have to yell FORE because there are peeps everywhere!
I enjoy a challenge, therefore the difficulty and challenge of this course is a pro.
-One of the better courses to be able to use multiple discs that do different things to your advantage. And you will be able to throw your long distance drivers at least a few times.
Cons: -To. Many. Damn. People!!
-When it's nice out, it doesn't matter what time of day, this place is a mad house. A packed house! Prepare to wait. If you go with less then 2 people most groups are totally awesome about letting you play through. But still, it's a hassle.
Other Thoughts: You can't go wrong with Creekside. It's a legit, fun, sometimes difficult course. There are two bonus holes. hole 3a and 3b that are fun as well if you would like to play 2 extra holes.
Play with a group and enjoy taking your time. Or come with less then two and rip through all the tons of people and huge groups. Enjoy salt lakes staple disc golf course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good and challenging

5+    3/28/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: climbingbubba
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a lot of basket placements per hole so the course is rarely the same.

Has double tournaments every tuesday night which is always good times.

Very challenging with some heavily wooded holes.
Cons: Lots of places to lose your disc if you mess up.

Holes 4-6 can get backed up and you need to watch out for incoming discs.

Gets really crowded and it seems a majority of people there have no sense of proper disc golf etiquette.
Other Thoughts: Its a very challenging course that is probably the most frustrating one around. Due to this it definitely helps build skill and lets you take many interesting shots that you wouldn't encounter on more open courses.

Not my favorite around (I am still pretty new) but a must for anyone coming to visit salt lake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice technical course

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well marked and positioned. There are a number of different pin placements (up to 4 for each hole) making it nice for variety and a change up. The pins are moved very often and I've even seen it changed 3 times in one week.

The tee pads are concrete, and the course is really easy to follow. The terrain is parklike - grass with some trees. A small creek runs through the park (not too much of a hazard for experienced players - if a disc is thrown in, it is easy to fish out).
Cons: There are two main cons to this course: First - it is compact and there is overlap on holes. This wouldn't be a problem except for the fact that (Second Con) it is extremely busy. I've even shown up at 6:00 am and had to wait. Overall it is worth the wait though and you wont be disappointed in making the trip to the course.
Other Thoughts: Play this course, from the signature hole 12 through the tunnel of trees to the pleasant park like setting, you wont be disappointed with this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

2-4    8/5/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Forrest
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
Pros: Best course in the valley. The course is well laid out giving you grass/water/woods. Pretty much a constant shade for most of the course so it's not bad to play in the middle of the day. Concrete tee pads and benches at most holes.
Cons: Traffic. That's the main thing. This is a busy course since it is arguably the best in the valley. Some holes are too close, which causes some wait time between throws because it's easy to throw into another holes green. Heads up if you're allergic to cottonwood trees.
Other Thoughts: Great course and the whole valley knows it, so be prepared for a crowd.

 THE BEST COURSE EVER!!!!!!!

5+    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2010
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: there are so many psotions on ever hole now the lowest is 2 and the most is is 6 positions on one hole and tight fariways a couple of mandos on 13 long and short and mandy and 11 we have 2 new holes to the course betewwen 3 and 4 they are called 3-A 3-B. there are alot of shots rigth next to the creek so almost the hole course u can risk losing discs the course is a more accurate player in mind and over grown trees and u dont stay on the fairway ur SCREWED. this is my homecourse and im very blessed to live right across the street. with awsome cement teepads and signs we mow it every 2 weeks there is water by the first hole theres a practice basket
Cons: the only bad thing i can say it gets way to crowded
Other Thoughts: play tuesday doubles 5:00- 6:30 some time throught out the year is when we tee off
I have aced 14A 5/6/10 dx viking for my first ace 13Short twice champ groove 167 13th ace then with a discraft impact on 6/28/10 for my 19th ace 13 mandy champion orc for my 3rd ace 8/22/09 gumbputt for my 5th ace 10/09/09 the flx drone for my 8th ace 1/22/10
10A on 1/17/10 with a champion valkyrie for my 7th ace then 3b-a for my 15th ace with a first run cro on 5/31/10

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.