Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #4 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great Technical Course

5+    4/8/2017   4/13/2017
Review By: Brave_Sir_Robin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Good signage indicating distance, par, and normal lines (RHBH) off the tee.
+Long poles around the water holes to retrieve discs within 3-5 feet from the banks.
+Course flows easily from one hole to the next, including the alternate holes (11A and 18A).
+Players have to rely on more technical, controlled shots versus distance on most of the holes, especially on the back 9.
+Front office area has a vending machine for new discs (price ranges vary) and will contact you if your disc is returned.
Cons: -Not a left-handed friendly course (most courses in South FL are not, though).
-The park is by the railroad (Tri-Rail) track, which runs by the area occasionally and distract non-seasoned players.
-Hole 17 is right next to aforementioned train track and poses a big risk of losing your disc over the fence.
Other Thoughts: I like playing this course on the run, especially because it is shorter than most of the other South Florida courses and doesn't take as much time to put in 18+. My discs seem to love the copious amount of trees on the back nine. However, this course does help in learning form and control, especially when working to fine-tune your approach game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Best Course in South Florida

5+    3/11/2017   3/13/2017
Review By: demamazins
Played: 87  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced course. Course flows easily from hole to hole. Short to long shots form each hole, ranging from 175 to 350 feet. The course is mostly wooded, highlighted by a pond which articulates several hole positions offering several shot selections, whether forehand or backhand. (1, 4, 5, 6, 7). The course is frequented by several local and seasonal players whom call this course home. League on Sundays at 10:00 AM EST, Random Doubles. Best way to draw one of the local Professionals' and help your game soar. A favorite of mine and soon to be yours!

Lost Discs are returned to the Park Office, they will notify you of your property. Please properly mark your discs.

All discs must be picked up at the Park Office.

Cons: Bathroom amenities are only available between tee-pads 6,8, 18 and Gumbo (20). minus a half star.
Other Thoughts: Great community of athletes. Well organized. Always Fun and Enjoyable.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

5+    2/19/2017   2/19/2017
Review By: Jswizz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick to play in a small group. Alot of challenge in a small package I believe it's a 20 hole course. Water shots, wooded finesse shots, a couple wide open shots.
Cons: A few REALLY obstructed shots, limited parking, long fences to lose your discs over.
Other Thoughts: This park can be played fast. It's a good park and I enjoy playing it. It has forced me to learn how to play better. The front end is pretty open but sports a water hazard that can eat your discs if you land it deep, keep it close to the edge and you will probably be able to locate it as it doesn't get deep quickly. Much of the course starts in the back end of the park I think it starts at hole 9 and ends on a drive back to the main parking lot on hole 20. The back end is unforgiving, it has coined the nickname treesterlin for a reason. Miss a gap and you will hit a tree harder than a lumberjack. There is a decent amount of foot traffic but most of it stays out of the way in the designated picnic areas that are pretty much out of the way from the fairways. Play it enough and you will run into a clueless park patron wearing headphones completely oblivious that you are trying to play. Most people that play are not squids and will return a found disc to the main office so there is a fair chance you will get a lost disc back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good to go

1    1/19/2017   1/19/2017
Review By: CudBNAce
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good signage to indicate next tee placement. Well kept (except hole 17 needed to be mowed). The course will test your accuracy as you transition into the back nine. Nicely poured concrete pads.
Cons: Not a very long course. You will use a lot of your mid range discs as well as your putters.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Pinball Wizard

1    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This slightly different Broward County course offers a more technical kind of experience. One set of tees and two pin placements on most holes (short and shorter) make the tech shots a little more forgiving if you get a bad tree bounce. The fun comes into play near the end of the course when the fairways get overrun with trees creating some fun pinball style bounces that could be beneficial and even lead to an ace! The shade is also nice. This is a good summer course for Florida.
Cons: The course is a little tight and set in a heavily used park. Some of the fairways are a little close to each other.

Hole 1 was a double water carry with trees in your face, forcing a low throw or some other kind of local route that I couldn't see. Rough starting hole! Might want to bring some floating discs.

Navigation may be a little tricky for 1st timers. I recommend getting a map, or better yet, playing a round with some of the friendly locals.
Other Thoughts: Another solid Broward County course that pairs well with the Tradewinds course for a fun day of DGing.

Unless you have telekinesis, your discs will hit trees here. Bring your sturdy discs to this course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

worth checking out.

2-4    6/28/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: domromer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course with cool tropical plants and trees.

Iguanas running all over the place.

Scenic and not far from the beach or city stuff if that's your thing.
Cons: Some uninspired holes that play back and forth across a field and a few that play along a fence line.

Looks like it would be crowded on a weekend with other park users.
Other Thoughts: I stayed at the camp ground in my rv and played two rounds. Overall an entertaining course and there is camping with full hookups. I'd say it's worth checking out if you are in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Technical-Wooded Course!

2-4    1/24/2016   1/24/2016
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded course in south Florida!
- Tight lines off the tee; the course demands percision accuracy.
- Good mix of both hyser and anhyser lines.
- Water adds a good (but not impossible) challenge for 4 holes and then the rest are wooded.
- Plastic poles with bolt at each water hole allow for assisted disc retrieval.
- Good map at the start; signs, tee pads, and pins all in good condition.
- Clean and very well maintained with bathrooms and trash cans.
- Friendly/helpful locals!
Cons: - Course not ideal for beginners because of the narrow fairways and tight wooded lines.
- The course is short; none of these holes will test your arm (for distance).
- Close fence line on a couple holes presents a problem; the fence along the 17th hole is also barbed.
- Possibility to throw near campsites and walkers.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: It is a wooded course in SOFLO so you got to check it out. Hole 18 was my favorite because of the beautiful trees and incredibly tight fairway. This is a great course to work on the timing of your release.

This is a good technical course, which compliments Tradewinds since it is a big open course only 15 minutes away. Playing both Easterlin and Tradewinds in the same day made for a great day of DG!!! I will be back to Easterlin soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Course

2-4    1/17/2016   1/18/2016
Review By: hazimwood
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean
Well maintained
Bathrooms and water fountain available.
Good mix of left and right shots
benches at each tee pad
Trash Bins everywhere
Concrete pads
lots of tight technical shots through the woods
Locals were nice
Beautiful trees and wildlife

Cons: Course design had people throwing towards one another several times.
Water challenge has no build up, it consumes most of the first 5 shots.
Water is hard to deal with if you have to, even rollers vanish in it..VERY murky. No gators though so people were giving it a go.
Finding some pads is not that easy but the course is so tight that you will eventually find it.
Tee pads were close to the previous pad's basket, causing concern.
Other Thoughts: No Open Bomb shots (You don't really even need a driver here)

This course has really short shots (250' avg?), so you wind up finishing it faster than you expect and you'll want to play another round because you have so much time left. An hour away from my house, so I may only visit here for events.

Overall, It was a pleasant course. No Epic holes really, just nice short shots that sometimes require some finesse and a few over the water that require a little more oomph.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easterlin

5+    3/12/2017   12/12/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 101  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a short 20 hole course with several holes offering two tee pads and rotating pin positions. Pond provides water challenge on holes 1, 4-7, while the rest of the course (save 8) is rather tight. Good mix of left/right turning holes and some straight fairways that are tight. Baskets catch well and are in good shape. If you lose a disc in the water, chances are good you'll get it back, locals dive every few weeks and turn found plastic into park office. Just a nominal county park fee on weekends and holidays to enter. Plays quick. A single can get through 20 holes in probably an hour.
Cons: Unless you're playing the long pads and come on a day when everything is in the long, you can leave those bomber discs in the car. Not necessarily a big con. 17 has a fence that is a no-fly zone (not just OB, but once it crosses over the fence you are out)...while I see the need for it to be that way, just keep that in mind...some holes play a little close to some picnic areas and a playground...be careful playing those holes. No elevation change (but come on now, it's south Florida...)
Other Thoughts: Good course with lots of shade for those hot and humid south Florida summer days. Easterlin carries its own little niche in the group of Broward County park disc golf courses...it's no destination course, but it's worth your time if you have it, especially cause it can be played quick.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, great locals

1    10/4/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: gabereif
Played: 41  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Holes that bend left and right
-Active local crowd of friendly, dedicated golfers
-Color score card and map available at entrance
-Almost every hole has a fair line
-Nice use of water and trees to add challenge to an otherwise flat plot of land
-Plenty of birdie opportunities if you hit your lines
-It's pretty easy to find discs in the rough
-No fire ants, unlike other courses I've played in FL
-While there is only one tee per hole, each hole has multiple pin positions and they supposedly change them regularly.
Cons: -It's pretty easy to lose discs several of the water carries.
-Navigation would have been hard if I hadn't played my round with a really nice group of locals. I can't detail this because I was chauffeured from hole to hole by four great guys.
-The fairways are a little too tight on a couple of holes, but this course is about accuracy, not distance. And you don't get punished that badly for missing your line.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting family. I showed up at 8AM on a Sunday and there saw one group of 10 people and was quickly invited to join another group of 4. I had a fantastic time playing with Dan, Jake, David, and Paul. Great guys and they took great care of me. Hanging with them made navigation a breeze, they showed me the lines on every hole, and helped me look for my disc that went in the lake.

Most of the holes are about 250 feet. Trees and water carries add challenge to the course, which is a nice change of pace compared to Tradewinds. I really like the flow of the course and how there are no long walks between holes. It's scenic and the shade is very pleasant. The cypress roots are really cool. The $1.50 I spent was a total bargain. This makes for a great local course and certainly worth a 30 minute drive for someone in the area. It's right off I-95 and anyone looking to play should make the trip.

This course could easily reach a 3.5 if navigation was improved. The tee signs are good, but it's hard to find the next hole and see some of the baskets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.