Rattan, OK 
Dinosaur Valley Share
Uploaded By: Pizza God Hole #5
3 / 121ft.   3 / 154ft.   3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
DV DGC - best course

5+    6/11/2022   6/22/2022
Review By: saylor
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 32.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: every hole requires a different style of shot
course is flexible with 3 tee placements per pin
its always maintained and playable. seans motto is if you stay on the fairway nothing will get you.
you can rent the whole place for a private golf course and cabin to stay in.
Cons: ticks.
chiggers.
ticks.

i should stay on the fairways more...
Other Thoughts: this place was and is built out of love for the frisbee. that simple. its disc golf paradise.

sean and the other people that helped build this course are all frisbee golfers from the late 1980s. before then we all played park frisbee and object golf in our neighborhoods and at the local lakes with all the old hippies.
we played frisbee since we were kids. and we still play today.

and this course, with seans unbelievable determination and dedication, is the result. thanks seanry!

this course is a technical woodsy course where you have to pick a line. each tee is totally different - it could be uphill or downhill and hyzer or anny - theres not really any flat straight shot. maybe the gun range 300' hole is the flattest.

hole 10 is a steep downhill thats alot of fun.
hole 16 has a seasonal creek that is an S pattern so you cross it 3 times and land on a peninsula.
hole 9 and 18 are steep uphills hole 9 is blind its so steep.

its a small course and can be ran with mids and putters, but most people pull out drivers to try to hit some of the lines you need to hit.

usually its punishing if you miss your line. there are several OBs and woods you dont want to get stuck in.

DV is under continual upgrade and more holes are getting carved out TBD / TBA. i promise.

id have to ask sean but i think all the baskets are tournament pdga approved targets now - all the temps and mixed baskets have been upgraded.

DV is in great shape i just played there last weekend. bring water its hot.

DV is in SE oklahoma, about 2hr northeast of DFW. its not a bad drive especially if you stay overnight.
if you are anywhere near rattan OK you need to contact sean and go play this course. its remote, out in the country. its quiet. theres nature. its peaceful and private. theres no multi use jogging trails or park users or loose dogs or cars or traffic or city noise or any of that.

just disc golf.

- saylor

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

I Wasn't Expecting to Actually See Dinosaurs...

1    12/3/2021   12/5/2021
Review By: EspressoPatronum
Played: 119  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 16.9 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- private course you will generally have all to yourself
- very well maintained course with no notable upkeep issues
- 3 tees per hole, more so for shot variety than major differences in skill level
- Innova DISCatcher baskets in great shape
- excellent use of next tee signs throughout course (one of the best I've seen)
- benches at some holes
- course map at beginning of course
- cabin available for rent on property
- front 9 has some good technical challenge, while back 9 has more length
- some decent elevation change on front 9, and some truly great elevation change on back 9
- great all around use of the land available
- lots of cool exposed rocks add to the "dinosaur valley" feel and unique attributes of course
- small creek on back 9 adds a water hazard, although it was dry in December
- dedicated disc golf space with virtually no safety hazards
- very forgiving undergrowth makes it easy to find discs
- more improvements to come in the future
Cons:
- natural tees, some of which can be uneven
- tee signs are pretty primitive and only show number and distance
- in the middle of nowhere (aren't a lot of the best courses?)
- some players may consider the front 9 too short
Other Thoughts:
I made arrangements with Sean (owner) in advance to play Dinosaur Valley when I drove through Oklahoma, and I'm so glad I did. This course is a hidden gem not many people have played. This is such a cool, unique course and you wouldn't even know it's there. The front 9 is short, but has enough technical challenge that I really enjoyed it (and it was nice after already playing 45 holes earlier in the day). The back 9 really cranks up the challenge with longer holes and major elevation change in places. It's a great use of the available space.

I really don't have many cons here. The natural tees aren't ideal, but given it's a private course it's understandable. Holes 12, 14, and 17 had concrete tees, so there may be more in the future. As long as you can deal with some rougher, uneven tees, it's worth it for the fun of this course. It's pretty isolated, but I find so many of the good courses are, so you just have to be willing to make the journey.

There are small dinosaurs interspersed throughout the course, as well as a large metal sculpture of one near the middle. There's also a lot of Texas-themed decoration. The course is in Oklahoma, but I have to wonder if the owner is a Texan. Look for the Texas armadillo.

The one safety hazard I noted was that the walk to hole 18 crosses the hole 11 fairway. Given how limited the course use is, it's a very minor issue, but something to pay attention to. I really enjoyed hole 16, while is a shot crisscrossing over a creek with lots of OB water hazards and a pseudo-island landing by the basket.

I loved all of the elevation change, the exclusivity of the opportunity to play the course, and how quiet everything was. The fairways are well maintained and the next tee signs are next level. I've never seen a course in over 100 played that had the navigation documented as well as this one, which is really appreciated on a course you've never played.

Amenities were a little lacking, which you'd kind of expect given what this course is - not much in the way of garbage cans, no restrooms (unless you're renting the cabin), etc. Just something to be aware of.

This may be my favorite course I played on my trip to Texas and Oklahoma. While Selah Ranch is way more well known and revered, I think I had the most fun at Dinosaur Valley. It's clear Sean has put a lot of effort and passion into this course and it's undoubtedly produced enjoyment for many people. Sean did also hint to me that he's acquired more land and there may be another course on this property in the future - making the cabin rental onsite even more appealing if you're so inclined. Dinosaur Valley is definitely worth the trip.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fun course in the woods

1    7/6/2021   10/4/2021
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 1226  Reviewed: 433  Exp: 34.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees with mostly different looks at each basket.
You will have the course to yourself if you stay here.
While not a long course, you will need several different types of throws.
Cons: Most of the course is pitch and putt, but at least it is through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Private course owned by Sean Montgomery.

There are 3 sets of tees marked on the course. Red, then Blue which are mostly longer versions of the red tees. Then there are the white tee's which mostly use a totally different line to the basket, almost making it a totally different course.

Then there is a quick 9 using the front 9 you could play. It is was even marked for night golf.

There is a cabin you can rent and stay at the course. If you rent the cabin, you get the course to yourself.

There has been a few events out here this last year. I bet it is a great place to hang out with friends and play.

As far as the course. it is a pitch and putt course for the most part. You can play the front 9 with just a putter. The back 9 does have some longer holes, but I found myself only using a driver for distance on one hole.

This course is really a technical course though the woods. Lots of variety in the shots. The course is built on a hill so you do have some variety there in elevation.

This course was built for Sean and his friends to have a place to hang out and play disc golf. he has opened it up to others and it would be worth renting the course for a weekend get away.

Would I play here again? Yes, I very much want to play this course again. I had been playing all day and was dehydrated and didn't bring any water with me. I wanted to play each tee and had planned on it, but was do exhausted after playing the red tee's I went home. I want a chance to hit the Blue tee's and White tees someday. While I would not call it a "destination course" I would say it is worth your time to contact Sean and play the course.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    11/15/2020   6/15/2021
Review By: Mal14
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Great variety of short wooded holes and longer and more open challenging holes. Also multiple tee pads for each hole to give it even more variety and different degree of difficulty. Privately owned land where no one will bother you. Some great views on a nice piece of land with a great owner!
Cons: I lost to Tim

4 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.