Emporia, KS 
Emporia Middle School Share
Uploaded By: al birdie Hole #6 (Taken 8/2016)
3 / 130ft.   3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Below the Middle

1    9/3/2022   9/21/2022
Review By: Surge5
Played: 110  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 8.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *NOTE* When we visited during Worlds, holes 1, 2, and 16-18 were all unplayable due to construction on the front of the middle school. The hole numbers noted are the "short" layout.

Winding around the middle school and its athletic grounds, the course put in here is beginner friendly, but has a few challenges to keep everyone on their toes.

Two tees per hole, and the "longs" combine holes 10/11 short and 13/14 short and play two extra holes set in the woods. Beyond that it's mostly monger versions of holes but a few have some added challenge. Tee signs at each "pad" (grass tees) show distance and a map, but except for a few holes you can always see the basket from the tee.

Several low tree branches on 6-8 making the hyzer plays inaccessible. Really makes you focus on the short and straight game.
Cons: Eight holes play directly over the walking trail (some right down it in the case of 3 or 10/11). Early morning on a Saturday it was a popular spot with 6 or 7 walkers. Something to be aware of before throwing. Hole 14 is a hyzer play over the road. It should be a strong enough hyzer that the disc won't actually endanger any cars, but with the course being tailored to newer throwers it seems an unnecessary risk.

The line for hole 15 is... gone. Unless the line is to throw over the 50ft tall trees.

Walking all the way up the fairway of 3 just to play it. This is the only rough spot for navigation besides a few long walks, though.

The simplicity of so many of the holes. 5-12 should all be reached with a putter or mid by anyone with 6 months of experience, and from the looks of it 1 and 2 are the same. I know this is a beginner course but it's a vanilla beginner course.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent place to introduce beginners to the game, but unless you're just dying for another round save your time and go elsewhere. The course here is overly simple, very repetitive, trips over the walking path a lot, and currently a third of it is unplayable. If you do come and want a challenge, be sure to play all OB rules. It will squeeze some good out of a blander school course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Middle School Course

1    8/8/2016   8/8/2016
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 1248  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 39.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee Signs were clear and directed you to the next tee.
Course flowed fairly well and seemed appropriate for middle schoolers.
Used elevation and natural obstacles well.
Good for practicing approaching and putting in the wind.
There were 2 sets of tees, gray (short) and red (long).
Cons: Basket 16 quite close to bushes.
Other Thoughts: New baskets installed where baskets were previously missing.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Uh... What?

1    3/16/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a great idea to have a disc golf course on a school property. Hopefully this will help get more young people interested in the sport.
A great place to work on your very short game.
Cons: This course is insanely short. Some holes I wouldn't even count as getting an ace on if I hit it as it is so short.
The layout is very confusing in the middle part. Where is the basket for number 4? Where are holes 5-10?
I went on a weekend, but I would imagine the course would not be open when school is in session.
Other Thoughts: I played this course as a warmup for the other three in Emporia, and to improve my course count, but I honestly wish I didn't. It just wasted my time. The layout is quite confusing in the middle and the course is too short to even warm up on. This is a course to pass on, even if you are in town.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 neglected and forgotten

1    4/14/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 346  Reviewed: 285  Exp: 15.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -has signs and baskets
-never crowded (never played)
-good for introducing younger players to the sport, appropriate challenge for juniors
Cons: -hole 5 is either missing or well-hidden
-basket 13 is missing
-plays like a putt-putt course for anyone with a bit of experience. very short holes, few obstacles
-presumably not available for play during school hours
-seems forgotten and dilapidated but still in playable condition
Other Thoughts: This is a convenient course for the kids who go to school here or live nearby but it is not a destination for the serious golfer or even experienced amateurs.

The holes play around the periphery of the school grounds and are generally wide open. A few small trees come into play on a few holes and the wind is a constant factor. A few holes play across or near parking lots so you could play those as OB to up the challenge (barely).

This one is for kids, absolute beginners, or course baggers only. The only other reason to play is if you really want to try to score 18 down.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Need a warm up?

1    11/10/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: SteezeOG
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Never anyone else playing this course so I consider it a Pro. Decent baskets.
Cons: Very short and no real teeboxes. Layout is confusing and there are missing holes. Many of which because of construction on the school building. Too many other sports things to get in the way like a track, football practice fields, etc. Way too many dog walkers who don't pick up after their mutts...this means you will step in crap a lot.
Other Thoughts: This course used to be ok before they built all the other stuff in the same area. Trees along w24th ave are finally coming in to provide wind coverage. I can remember planing them 15 years ago when I was in middle school. Has potential but will never be great. Too many other options in Emporia but it's great for a warm up or cool down round. Plays like a par two course each one is very short but always windy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 SHORT

1    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 133  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flat, good for warm up rounds
Sometimes, too easy...
Nice land
Closed during the shook day
Good for speed rounds
Cons: Not much variety with the holes. Where is hole 5?
Not tough. I shot 10 under...
120 to 220 foot holes. Everything is an approach shot.
Other Thoughts: I used exactly 2 discs. 2 soft ions. This is a nice course, they did wonders with what they had, but they didn't have much. Worth a quick play. Besides, if your in emporia its not much of a drive.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Emporia Middle School

1    9/19/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: one19
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expansive area that runs around the periphery of the school. Grounds well-maintained. Hilly & rolling in some places, straight-forward others. Incorporates pine trees, weeping willows and others as various obstacles.
Cons: Some players might find the holes and layout a little "elementary" or a little on the short side.
Other Thoughts: I liked it a lot, it made me wish I was back in junior high, and could play disc golf in P.E. on my school's own course...Every school should be required to have a course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.