Wexford, PA 
Knob Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
4 / 296ft.   4 / 378ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Western PA Is LOADED

1    9/18/2018   9/18/2018
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 110  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + I'm on my third trip to Western PA and I continue to find terrific courses at every turn! Knob Hill is a large chunk of land just a short drive from Pittsburgh. Features everything from trails, to nature areas, to ball fields and more.

+ The amenities are top notch (besides the horrific restrooms). Two high quality signs for every hole, as well as a basic sign for the red tees. You'll find concrete tees and Prodigy baskets on every hole as well.

+ I love Gary J Dropcho designs, and he was a part of the team that created the course back in the 90s. Great mix of elevation, hole shaping, and tree coverage.

+ I'm not a huge fan of multiple pin positions, but there's three of them here if you're a local who likes to change it up. Each tee sign has a marker that tells you which basket is in play.
+ Just like all Western PA course I've played, navigation is top notch. There's no way you'll get lost playing here!
Cons: - Knob Hill is very, very solid but there's not enough "wow factor" for me to put it much higher than a 4.0. Nothing too wild, besides a few fun downhill shots. With that being said, I don't have too much to complain about.

- #16 and #18 cross paths on a blind hill. Also, #18's basket looks like it was hit by a tree as it's severly dented and leaning to the right.

- Unfortunately, there's other people using the area so watch for dog walkers, hikers, picnickers, etc.

- I'd rather take a dump in the middle of the freaking parking lot than step a foot in these bathrooms. They're nasty, smelly, bug infested hell holes that nobody should step foot in. If the local prison turned these bathrooms into prison cells, the crime rate in Wexford would drop by 40% because nobody would want to go in that place.

Other Thoughts: Knob Hill is very solid, and compliments the surrounding courses well. Western PA is loaded with awesome places to throw!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

You need all shots

2-4    9/5/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 58  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love the prodigy baskets and that lime green stands out well. I think it is a well laid out course and they knew what they were doing when they built the course. Lots of variety in your shots
Cons: Tee signs were not that great, had a good system for let you know where the pin was at but it wasn't always correct. Holes 13 and 14 get supper muddy.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 has potential to hit a car if your not careful

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great course

1    8/10/2017   8/10/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Knob Hill is a mixed course with some wooded holes, some open holes, a lot of elevation change, some OB, and a little bit of water that comes into play. The course started out with a string of very short open holes, but opened up after that and had a couple of very memorable and challenging holes. Most of the holes had a unique character and feel to them, with a variety of challenges.

My main complaint with the course is the limited parking. The parking area was full despite not many people being on the course when we played. Additionally, Hole 18 plays alongside the road were many cars were parked, and the fairway is on a steep hill sloping down towards the road. It would be very easy to have your drive fade out too much and carry down the hill to the parked cars. One of the other holes (16?) also played directly across the 18th fairway, which caused a backup even though there weren't a lot of groups at the course while we were there.

Overall, I think it's a very solid course. I imagine it gets busy on weekends, but it's worth taking the time to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Course Is Great But Children's Play Area Is Even Cooler!

1    7/20/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1324  Reviewed: 1267  Exp: 40.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2017
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Knob Hill DGC is located in the Knob Hill Municipal Park. The course is back at the end of the road just past the awesome looking children's play structure. There is a restroom at the start with a bulletin board on the side of it. A practice basket is here. Follow the trail about 50 yards to reach the first tee. The course has nice, extra long concrete pads for both the Blue (longs) and White (middle) tees while the Reds (shorts) mostly don't have a pad (a couple old red tees at the end do have concrete) and are designated by a stake with red on the top. The tee pads are well built with the concrete has a 6" border of gravel and then both are bordered by railroad ties. You never feel uncomfortable teeing off from these. The tee signs for the Blues and White are metal, nicely colored and have a hole map. The Blues are blue at the top while the White are, Surprise! white on the top. The tee signs use the bolt system on the sign for designating with position the basket is currently set, A-B-C. I played the Whites and I think they played at a difficult recreational level. I'm not sure what you would call the Blues, either intermediate or advanced. Whatever, they looked mean to me. Knob Hill has these pretty, light green prodigy baskets. They are very sturdy looking. There are benches at many holes, garbage cans everywhere and in a first for me, there were some recycling tubs at some holes. Way to go green, Knob Hill.

# 1 plays 410', 235' and 240' through a grouping of trees. # 10 from the White tees is 342' uphill around a corner. # 12 is 281' with a slight anhyser needed and a smallish window. # 17 is a fun 253' downhill Ace run. It's totally open. # 16 from the Blues looks tough with a steep uphill throw needed through lots of trees.

But for me, easily the signature hole is # 9. From the Whites, it's 370' downhill through some scattered trees. It's just a classic, beautiful green fairway.

One more thought! The course is practically litter free. One of the cleanest courses I've encountered. Kudos to whoever is doing their best to keep this course so clean and attractive.
Cons: What cons?

Being picky, there was one basket which had a slight lean like someone had been jumping on it. Sorry, I forgot to make a note of which hole it was.

The course was muddy/boggy in places, especially for late July.

The course shows signs of erosion in many places. Obviously, it gets a lot of use.

I think this course could really benefit from about 10 yards of woodchips to be spread over some of the wet/boggy spots and to be spread around the baskets. I believe most county park departments have a pile sitting around somewhere as they are always chipping branches or fallen trees. Contact either the county road crews or the parks department to inquire about them donating a truck load.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. I especially love beautiful green courses and I especially love courses with rolling hills. Knob Hill combines probably my two favorite disc golf course elements. Throw in one sensational downhill (9) along with a couple fun, downhill Ace runs, a couple open bomber holes and some tougher uphill holes and you have the ingredients for one really nice course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    9/3/2016   10/20/2016
Review By: Jcmb
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple pins and tees. Well maintained and easy to navigate. Set up for multiple types of shots. Not too challenging but enough to keep you on your toes. good mix of Holes.
Cons: lots of up and down hills gets tedious. tee pad in the middle of the parking lot and a few holes feel like repeats. Lots of foot traffic through the course that was not other players not sure if that is typical or not.
Other Thoughts: It was fun and I will play it again. Could use a few more benches along the way with all the up and down hill. Take lots of water

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mother of Deer Lakes Park

1    10/7/2016   10/14/2016
Review By: Mark R
Played: 98  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2016
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic, old-school (designed in 1994) city park-style disc golf. Three sets of cement pads (red, white and blue, in order of increasing difficulty) offer optimal challenge for nearly any player. As is the case with Deer Lakes Park, the major river valley hills in the area provide excellent disc golf topography, in addition to course diversity. The deeply-sloped, grassy terrain provides lots of entertaining drives, both uphill and downhill. The irregular steepness of some of the hills creates somewhat deceptive slopes that can surprise you on upshots, adding challenge and fun. The tree density of the middle portion of the course is near-perfect, rather than being completely open and prone to windy conditions. Holes 7 and 8 are the most wide-open holes, but are still somewhat shielded from high winds and have undulated fairways, keeping things from getting boring. Hole 9 is a thrilling downhill bomb shot with great tee and pin positions that put trees and shrubs in the way, but is still very fair. Hole 10 is a tough uphill drive that requires a huge RHBH spike hyzer, but won't kill you if you miss it. Holes 11 and 12 have the most steeply undulated fairways, as well as blind pin positions that keep the fun factor elevated. Holes 13 and 14 wind around creek ravines and are well-shielded by huge trees, but are not too tight and reward skillfully placed drives. A free course with newer, bright-green Prodigy baskets.
Cons: Course starts with heavily-wooded holes that underwhelm slightly, sometimes giving you a beating you might feel you didn't deserve. However, the course rapidly improves starting at Hole 5, continuing through most of the rest of the course. Holes 7 and 8 are a little too close together for comfort, with neighboring fairways in opposite directions. The parking lot is a bit inadequate for heavy disc golf traffic. Has a couple of holes that feel slightly like filler holes (4, 17), but are good enough not to ruin the experience. The out-of-bounds road bordering Hole 18 seems slightly forced, adding challenge but not adding to the fun factor.
Other Thoughts: Another solid hit in the greater Pittsburgh area, making the area a natural disc golf destination. Those used to driving in flatter-terrain areas might be slightly flustered by winding roads in the area, including the one leading to this course. A great course overall, perhaps not quite up to usual 4.5 rating standards but definitely better than the ~4.0 composite rating on this site.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    8/10/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 108  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice green cut fairways
Marked pretty well
Concrete pads, and fun shots with elevation and large trees
Cons: Some huffing and puffin type fairways so wear good shoes and bring water.
Lost a disc on the hole with the big elevation change, and the basket by the woods and creek.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug sprat and water
Much better then other courses in the area.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    8/10/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Prodigy Pro DG T1 baskets
- Multiple tees
- Multiple pin locations
- Beautiful park!!
- Great use of the terrain - I loved Hole 16 (throwing straight up a steep incline over the parking lot).
- Great variety of short/long and left/right doglegs.
- Tee signs on every hole.
- Every hole makes sense...there are no holes that make you feel like you have to get lucky to have a good shot.
Cons: - Lots of thorns in the rough...stick to the fairways as much as possible.
Other Thoughts: - We don't see too many courses like this in OK. I could play this course everyday - to have the chance to play this beautiful course everyday would be incredible. Thanks for building such a nice, well-though-out course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  A Good Example of a Pittsburgh Course

5+    11/26/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: 8putt
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you from start to finish. You will be required to throw every type of throw in your bag whether it be big Hyzer bombs or tight straight backhands or a long sidearm. The course has great variety between wide open holes where you can air out (7,8,18,) or tightly wooded holes (1-3,12-15), knob hill gives players with smaller arms more chances than a lot of other courses. Overall, knob is a great example of the great courses that the Pittsburgh area has to offer.
Cons: Most of the cons that will be listed are going to be quite nitpicky.
- The course can very easily become wet after even the slightest bit of rain so come prepared.
- The prodigy baskets are very unforgiving and require a large amount of precision.
- The course is usually crowded (Usually the people are nice enough to allow fast people through)
- Once you start you pretty much have to finish because there are no places to stop (There are very easily skippable holes though)

These are all very nitpicky and should not distract from the quality of the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are a Pittsburgh native or you are visiting the area, don't cross this one off your list. While you can very easily be distracted by other great courses in the area (Moraine, Deer Lakes, etc.) Knob is equally as great. Definitely a must visit.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course worth the drive!

1    10/25/2015   10/25/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a hard park to find with playgrounds and lots of other activities. Very nice course with about every shot in the bag(uphill, downhill, right turn, left turn). Very nice layout and good use of the terain. Large cement tee pads that are longer than other courses I've played. Hole placement is marked on tee pad signs so you know of the 3 possible hole options where the hole is at. Course looks well maintained with not much garbage.
Cons: Most holes only have two tee pads, no third for women. Course seems like it is pretty busy all the time. A round might be slower going than one might anticipate. If course is wet, some of the holes at the bottom of the hill's can get a little muddy and slick. Some holes are kinda compact so watch out for others before throwing. There are no
par 5's on this course. Parking lot is rather small.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed this course. Definitely worth the drive in my opinion. Will be playing this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.