Wexford, PA 
Knob Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 130ft.   3 / 167ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Course Is Great But Children's Play Area Is Even Cooler!

1    7/20/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1025  Reviewed: 972  Exp: 39.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Knob Hill DGC is located in the Knob Hill Municipal Park. The course is back at the end of the road just past the awesome looking children's play structure. There is a restroom at the start with a bulletin board on the side of it. A practice basket is here. Follow the trail about 50 yards to reach the first tee. The course has nice, extra long concrete pads for both the Blue (longs) and White (middle) tees while the Reds (shorts) mostly don't have a pad (a couple old red tees at the end do have concrete) and are designated by a stake with red on the top. The tee pads are well built with the concrete has a 6" border of gravel and then both are bordered by railroad ties. You never feel uncomfortable teeing off from these. The tee signs for the Blues and White are metal, nicely colored and have a hole map. The Blues are blue at the top while the White are, Surprise! white on the top. The tee signs use the bolt system on the sign for designating with position the basket is currently set, A-B-C. I played the Whites and I think they played at a difficult recreational level. I'm not sure what you would call the Blues, either intermediate or advanced. Whatever, they looked mean to me. Knob Hill has these pretty, light green prodigy baskets. They are very sturdy looking. There are benches at many holes, garbage cans everywhere and in a first for me, there were some recycling tubs at some holes. Way to go green, Knob Hill.

# 1 plays 410', 235' and 240' through a grouping of trees. # 10 from the White tees is 342' uphill around a corner. # 12 is 281' with a slight anhyser needed and a smallish window. # 17 is a fun 253' downhill Ace run. It's totally open. # 16 from the Blues looks tough with a steep uphill throw needed through lots of trees.

But for me, easily the signature hole is # 9. From the Whites, it's 370' downhill through some scattered trees. It's just a classic, beautiful green fairway.
Cons: What cons?

Being picky, there was one basket which had a slight lean like someone had been jumping on it. Sorry, I forgot to make a note of which hole it was.

The course was muddy/boggy in places, especially for late July.

The course shows signs of erosion in many places. Obviously, it gets a lot of use.

I think this course could really benefit from about 10 yards of woodchips to be spread over some of the wet/boggy spots and to be spread around the baskets. I believe most county park departments have a pile sitting around somewhere as they are always chipping branches or fallen trees. Contact either the county road crews or the parks department to inquire about them donating a truck load.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. I especially love beautiful green courses and I especially love courses with rolling hills. Knob Hill combines probably my two favorite disc golf course elements. Throw in one sensational downhill (9) along with a couple fun, downhill Ace runs, a couple open bomber holes and some tougher uphill holes and you have the ingredients for one really nice course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good course

1    9/3/2016   10/20/2016
Review By: Jcmb
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple pins and tees. Well maintained and easy to navigate. Set up for multiple types of shots. Not too challenging but enough to keep you on your toes. good mix of Holes.
Cons: lots of up and down hills gets tedious. tee pad in the middle of the parking lot and a few holes feel like repeats. Lots of foot traffic through the course that was not other players not sure if that is typical or not.
Other Thoughts: It was fun and I will play it again. Could use a few more benches along the way with all the up and down hill. Take lots of water

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Mother of Deer Lakes Park

1    10/7/2016   10/14/2016
Review By: Mark R
Played: 95  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic, old-school (designed in 1994) city park-style disc golf. Three sets of cement pads (red, white and blue, in order of increasing difficulty) offer optimal challenge for nearly any player. As is the case with Deer Lakes Park, the major river valley hills in the area provide excellent disc golf topography, in addition to course diversity. The deeply-sloped, grassy terrain provides lots of entertaining drives, both uphill and downhill. The irregular steepness of some of the hills creates somewhat deceptive slopes that can surprise you on upshots, adding challenge and fun. The tree density of the middle portion of the course is near-perfect, rather than being completely open and prone to windy conditions. Holes 7 and 8 are the most wide-open holes, but are still somewhat shielded from high winds and have undulated fairways, keeping things from getting boring. Hole 9 is a thrilling downhill bomb shot with great tee and pin positions that put trees and shrubs in the way, but is still very fair. Hole 10 is a tough uphill drive that requires a huge RHBH spike hyzer, but won't kill you if you miss it. Holes 11 and 12 have the most steeply undulated fairways, as well as blind pin positions that keep the fun factor elevated. Holes 13 and 14 wind around creek ravines and are well-shielded by huge trees, but are not too tight and reward skillfully placed drives. A free course with newer, bright-green Prodigy baskets.
Cons: Course starts with heavily-wooded holes that underwhelm slightly, sometimes giving you a beating you might feel you didn't deserve. However, the course rapidly improves starting at Hole 5, continuing through most of the rest of the course. Holes 7 and 8 are a little too close together for comfort, with neighboring fairways in opposite directions. The parking lot is a bit inadequate for heavy disc golf traffic. Has a couple of holes that feel slightly like filler holes (4, 17), but are good enough not to ruin the experience. The out-of-bounds road bordering Hole 18 seems slightly forced, adding challenge but not adding to the fun factor.
Other Thoughts: Another solid hit in the greater Pittsburgh area, making the area a natural disc golf destination. Those used to driving in flatter-terrain areas might be slightly flustered by winding roads in the area, including the one leading to this course. A great course overall, perhaps not quite up to usual 4.5 rating standards but definitely better than the ~4.0 composite rating on this site.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

1    8/10/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 93  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice green cut fairways
Marked pretty well
Concrete pads, and fun shots with elevation and large trees
Cons: Some huffing and puffin type fairways so wear good shoes and bring water.
Lost a disc on the hole with the big elevation change, and the basket by the woods and creek.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug sprat and water
Much better then other courses in the area.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

1    8/10/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 43  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Prodigy Pro DG T1 baskets
- Multiple tees
- Multiple pin locations
- Beautiful park!!
- Great use of the terrain - I loved Hole 16 (throwing straight up a steep incline over the parking lot).
- Great variety of short/long and left/right doglegs.
- Tee signs on every hole.
- Every hole makes sense...there are no holes that make you feel like you have to get lucky to have a good shot.
Cons: - Lots of thorns in the rough...stick to the fairways as much as possible.
Other Thoughts: - We don't see too many courses like this in OK. I could play this course everyday - to have the chance to play this beautiful course everyday would be incredible. Thanks for building such a nice, well-though-out course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Example of a Pittsburgh Course

5+    11/26/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: 8putt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you from start to finish. You will be required to throw every type of throw in your bag whether it be big Hyzer bombs or tight straight backhands or a long sidearm. The course has great variety between wide open holes where you can air out (7,8,18,) or tightly wooded holes (1-3,12-15), knob hill gives players with smaller arms more chances than a lot of other courses. Overall, knob is a great example of the great courses that the Pittsburgh area has to offer.
Cons: Most of the cons that will be listed are going to be quite nitpicky.
- The course can very easily become wet after even the slightest bit of rain so come prepared.
- The prodigy baskets are very unforgiving and require a large amount of precision.
- The course is usually crowded (Usually the people are nice enough to allow fast people through)
- Once you start you pretty much have to finish because there are no places to stop (There are very easily skippable holes though)

These are all very nitpicky and should not distract from the quality of the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are a Pittsburgh native or you are visiting the area, don't cross this one off your list. While you can very easily be distracted by other great courses in the area (Moraine, Deer Lakes, etc.) Knob is equally as great. Definitely a must visit.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course worth the drive!

1    10/25/2015   10/25/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a hard park to find with playgrounds and lots of other activities. Very nice course with about every shot in the bag(uphill, downhill, right turn, left turn). Very nice layout and good use of the terain. Large cement tee pads that are longer than other courses I've played. Hole placement is marked on tee pad signs so you know of the 3 possible hole options where the hole is at. Course looks well maintained with not much garbage.
Cons: Most holes only have two tee pads, no third for women. Course seems like it is pretty busy all the time. A round might be slower going than one might anticipate. If course is wet, some of the holes at the bottom of the hill's can get a little muddy and slick. Some holes are kinda compact so watch out for others before throwing. There are no
par 5's on this course. Parking lot is rather small.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed this course. Definitely worth the drive in my opinion. Will be playing this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Worlds Courses, favorite in PA

1    8/15/2015   8/31/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 78  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There was a good entrance after passing playgrounds, pavillions and large parking lot, you see a sign for the course, and there is a parking lot at the end of the road with a board and practice basket with yardage markings around the basket
- Playgrounds and pavilions show that it's a good place/park
- Large grassy areas looked maintained, while the wooded areas have pretty big fairways and pathways in between holes (actually saw people maintaining one of the later holes)
- 3 tees on each hole (flypad for longs/blues, concrete in good shape for mids/whites and natural for shorts/reds)
- 3 basket positions on each hole, some with lots of yardage between positions, giving completely different hole types
- Detailed tee sign at each white tee (probably the most commonly used tees) showing the par, nice hole map, location of all 3 tees and pin positions, flight paths, next tee arrow and distances from each tee to each basket
- Course flows good and there aren't really any long walks between holes, a walk from parking to tee #1, but not too bad
- Nice hole setting variety - some holes are open, some are heavily wooded, many are both, but you experience that most with blues
- Hole designs surprise you with a lot of shots
- There were plenty of just great disc golf holes - I really liked hole #6 - the downhill hole where you have to watch out for some trees close to the tee, then it opens up where your disc needs to settle near the pin put on the edge

Cons: - Nowhere near the parking lot until 16
- Seemed too easy for pros on certain holes, pros would completely rip up the course because the challenge factor isn't too hard
- 16 crosses over the road at the start, not good if a car comes
- White tees have good tee signs, but the reds are hard to find and laminated paper stapled to a wood post
- Hard to find the first tee without a local...need more help to find the first tee
Other Thoughts: Great course! I played all of the worlds courses but Slippery Rock and I liked this best. Unfortunately, the pros couldn't play this because it was too easy, but I would like to see someone good play Knob Hill. Great course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I LUV KNOB HILL

5+    8/4/2015   8/20/2015
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 38.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review refers to the Blue Tees layout at the 2015 Worlds. Delightful course featuring tight woods, open field crushes, well designed fairways and well placed pin positions that demand a variety of tee shots and approach shots with plenty of nasty rough and some OB tossed in for added effect. I threw every shot in my bag (and wished I had a couple more!). Will test your patience, especially if you hit early trees (especially hole 3). Work on your forehand roller to help get out of jail. This course demands your full attention. Top players can shoot in the low to mid 50s, but if you are off your game you can easily shoot in the mid 60s.
Cons: Can be muddy (thank goodness no rain during Worlds!). Too much traffic near the mid-point, with the long tees of 9 and 11 close together (and close to the basket of 10 and the fairway of 5). Although it would make the course easier, the short tee of 9 would fix the traffic problems and provide one of the more enjoyable shots on the course...a beautiful downhill ace run where the flight of a disc can be enjoyed (or cursed if it sails into the nasty stuff behind the basket).
Other Thoughts: I first played Knob Hill back in the late 90s, and have always counted it among my favorites. After 15 years I wondered how it was holding up, and I was super happy to see how great the course was looking and how much hard work had gone into preparing it for the Worlds. Super kudos to all of the volunteers for their hard work and dedication!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

"Hill" of a course

5+    4/11/2017   8/9/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 37  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2017
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everybody who plays disc golf, has a course that started it all. It could be a nine hole pitch and putt, a five disc wonderland, or everything in between. Knob Hill was the course that started it all for me.

I have written and rewritten this review, and it never seems right. To me, it's perfect. I have spent days on the course, held tournaments here, played leagues, and put blood sweat and tears into keeping it maintained. So here it goes, Knob Hill.

Knob Hill combines woods golf with park golf. Playing through a 100+ acre suburban park 20 minutes outside of Pittsburgh, it shows the beautiful nature of Western Pennsylvania. Rolling hills, waving trees, and luscious green grass.

The course itself is well maintained by the local club, one I am part of, and the pin positions change often, as well as trees are trimmed, and improvements are made.

The holes, while mainly Par 3 and Par 4 golf, provide a unique challenge that can be accessible for anybody depending on pins. The trees were placed well, and there are no holes that I feel are too hard.

The prodigy baskets are only 2 years old, catch fine, and are visible, even though they are green.

Two concrete tee pads on each hole are always a plus. The whites are great for amateur players to provide a challenge, as well as give pros a chance to score well. The blues are high-caliber and worthy of professional tournament play.

The tee signs are full color, provide accurate information including par, distance, and a pindicator telling you which position the basket is in.
Cons: Park disc golf usually has the same cons, as well as each course has individual cons. For park courses, including Knob Hill, it is very possible that the course is very crowded, with either players or parkgoers, you must be patient with everybody. People can be a nuisance, I know, but wait your turn.

Another common problem with park style courses is length. Knob is not a pitch and putt, don't get me wrong, but it would be nice to have more true par 4s and 5s rather than gimme birdies on 500 footers. Moraine and Deer Lakes can provide these types of holes, if you are interested.

Knob is known around the area as the wettest, muddiest, worst drained courses in the area. After a harsh winter, a weeklong rain, or any weather event, the course can be a sloppy mess. This has hurt tournaments and leagues by making the course almost unplayable come early spring.

Hole 16 white tee plays across hole 18 fairway, and 16-18 are probably the most boring holes on the course. They are all wide open for the course, and mostly play as filler holes, but they can provide challenge with steep hillsides and OB.
Other Thoughts: There comes a day where you have to look at your home course from an outsider perspective. You have to see what is really wrong or right with the course to get a true feel for how it compares. I am truly blessed with the opportunity to live by such amazing courses, but I know it can be better. However, I truly feel that Knob Hill is right up there with the best of them, a true gem.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.