Santa Barbara (Goleta), CA 
Evergreen Open Space Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #9
3 / 158ft.   3 / 158ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
I like this course

5+    4/11/2017   4/12/2017
Review By: EdMiller
Played: 50  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you favor a left to right shot, which I do, then you'll like this course. For every one right to left shot (1, 2, 5, 8, 12, & 18) there are two left to right shots (3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, & 17).

If you go first thing in the morning, which I do, then there's usually no one there.

There are several very challenging holes:
#8 is a tunnel shot up a hill, but there's trees inside the tunnel. Last week I was 4 over on this hole, and only 3 over for the rest of the course. But yesterday I barely missed a birdie when my fairway shot hit the chains from about 150'.
Also challenging is 13, which tees off from a hill and goes over a jungle/swamp to an unseen basket off to the right. When I first saw this I was a beginner and was amazed someone could get a disc over that. Now I can actually do it myself and parred this the last two weeks.

This course has only two (4 & 14) open field and roughly flat holes with grass, like are so abundant in other parks (yesterday I played Pritzger in Santa Maria and that's mostly what it is) but even these two holes are interesting: 4's basket is at the bottom of an ivy slope which comes down to that grassy flat field and 14's basket is nestled againat the woods with the grass leading up to it.

I like the dreaded "cauldron" with crossing fairways, but in all fairness no one has ever been there early in the morning when I'm playing so I get the good without the bad. The cauldron starts with 10, down the hill against the jungle/swamp and to the right. There's a cluster of trees to the right blocking any normal backhand right to left. So a forehand fling is preferrable, at least in my arsenal, but a lititle too far and you're in the swamp monster that eats discs. Number 11 is the next of the crossing fairways, but another challenge down the hill and to the right between trees to reach the basket nestled into some trees on a slope. Number 12's basket is in a ring of trees, which is a challenge, at least for me, to get inside. I got in yesterday but missed my birdie putt. Then you end the cauldron holes with the signature 13 (I was talking to a guy recently at Rabbit Flats, another cool place, and the main thing he remembered about Evergreen was 13).

It's the variety of this course that makes up it's inimitable character. The woods on a hill for 8 and 9 with a creek at the bottom to punish your errant throws. When you do well (yesterday I birdied 9) then you feel you earned it more than a simple pitch and putt. The swamp hole (15) literally leads you through a swamp with boards to walk on then the basket is under some trees with a creek behind it that'll grab your disc if you're not careful. Fortunately the swamp's been dry lately, even with all the rain, but the reeds/weeds are high and hide discs here. 18 is a nice finish from the right to left under a low hanging tree and around the woods that blocks your view of the basket. If I get a par here, which I did yesterday, then I'm happy but better players should birdie this. An ace is impossible.

There are 2 porta potty bathrooms. One is near the tennis courts at the 1 and 3 tees. The other is near the jungle gym by the 5th tee and about halfway between the 5 minute walk between your finish at 18 and getting back to where you parked at #1.
Cons: There is no signage at the tees. This would be a GIANT improvement.

The layout of 14-18 Is counter intuitive. For example, the 14th tee is not the tee next to the 13th basket, that tee is for 17. And the 15th tee is not next to the 14th basket, that tee is for 18. Some locals helped me. Now that I've got it figured out I actually like it, but this negative would be greatly reduced with good signage at the tees and a next hole arrow in the baskets.

There are long tees for the better players but not easy to find. I'm aware of ones at tees on 3, 4, 10 and 16, but there may be more.

The concrete tee pads aren't great, but they're fine with me.

The walk from 18 to 1 is also fine with me, but I can understand complaints about it. This problem, unlike tee signage, is unfixable.

Blind shots on 5, 13, 14, and 18 are a problem. My goal on 13 is to get my disc to fly across a path I can't see from the tee. So I try to look before throwing, especially since two friends told me of disc to people contact on other courses (One hit a two year old resulting in a bruise and a letter to the city from a mad mom. The other from a guy who told me his disc hit someone in the forehead and the gash/bleeding was so bad the person went to the hospital). I don't know how to solve this blind shot problem which crosses walking paths that people walk on without just being aware and being careful.

There are not multiple basket positions but that doesn't bother me. I guess it just means less maintenance is required for the course.

Poison ivy is there and I've been slightly affected by it on a rare occasion, but it's not a serious problem.

There are a lot of places on this course you can easily lose your plastic. So you better keep a focused eye on where it's going, which is true on all courses, but especially here.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot and I play it a lot. It is anything but boring. I wonder who would need to get the ball rolling to get signage at the tees.I have heard there's a good group of locals here, but I don't know who they are.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

beat expectations

1    6/20/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a good challenge for intermediate to good players.
requires a lot of different shots.
Cons: not for beginners
portable bathroom was hard to find
run down park and neighborhood
Other Thoughts: after reading reviews i had very low expectations. course exceeded expectations. i will play again. navigating the course was a challenge, but i thought the challenge was fun and the one local guy i ran into was super nice as far as explaining 14-18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A lot of potential

2-4    3/1/2016   4/28/2016
Review By: ShortyToThrow
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful holes in the tree grove.
Not busy with disc golfers.
Neighbors and walkers friendly.
Short drive to the beach-the Gold Coast!
Cons: Layout can be confusing first time there.
Intoxicated homeless/loiters become unruly.
Tee pads and baskets need maintenance.
Four fairways crisscross.
Poison Oak.
No restrooms-1 portable john only.
Other Thoughts: Some course maintenance and a course redesign from the locals could really bring the course to another level. The rest is in the hands of the municipality-building actual restrooms, managing the poison oak and getting the homeless/loiters to behave.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs Love

5+    1/29/2016   1/29/2016
Review By: CIDG
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good use of possible space provided
-Accessible from 101
-Santa Barbara area
-Errant throws can be severely punished on some holes
-OK variety of holes
-Decent baskets
-Holes up to 360 feet (Hole 4)
-Some elevation shots (albeit small)
-Awesome Eucalyptus grove
-Water can come into play
Cons: -Some teepads are the worst I've ever seen (Hole 12)
-Confusing where to go next
-The Cauldron: a bowl shaped area with FOUR criss crossing fairways
-Highly geared towards shots that finish right from the teepad (RHFH/turnover or LHBH)
-Zero signage
-First hole desires a RHBH hyzer straight towards houses
-Practice basket is Hole 2 basket
-One port-o-potty for restroom
-No drinking fountains
-Few trash receptacles
-Recently (1/29/16) some homeless people have been creating a stir (i.e. getting very inebriated) to the point where Sheriffs have been foot patrolling the Eucalyptus grove, removing some local seating @ Hole 9.
-About 3 Eucalyptus trees have fallen, blocking the path to hole 8
Other Thoughts: This course can be an enjoyable 18 holes if you're in the area. The whole part of the course with the criss crossing fairways is nonsense. If you don't have a RHBH turnover, RHFH, or LHBH shot dialed, this course will get under your skin. There are great challenging shots to keep things fun. Santa Barbara/Goleta has to be one of the most beautiful places in the US (if not world.) Everyone can appreciate walking through the Eucalyptus grove.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm... Let's see if I can be nice here

1    7/12/2015   7/14/2015
Review By: corin_brown
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course. Proximity to the 101, Santa Barbara, wine country and the beach. There are 18 intact tee pads & baskets. Most of the holes, on their own, are an interesting challenge. Variety of holes.
Cons: The layout is alllllllllllll effed up. Worst laid out track I've ever played. Many holes cross each other to much negative effect. Many tee pads & baskets were difficult to find. The 18th basket is a good 5 minute walk from the tee box for 1 and the turn is nowhere near the tee box for hole 1 either. And this course is dangerous to pedestrians. Pedestrian walking paths snake all through this course and due to several blind holes, there's no way of knowing if pedestrians are in the way when one is teeing off or throwing on these blind approaches. Another con is the neighbors. This course skirts many home and I had a couple of uncomfortable interactions with neighbors & dogs because of their proximity to the course.
Other Thoughts: I played this course only three times, for the three rounds of the 2015 Evergreen Open this past weekend. First, I would like to compliment the TD's and the club for putting on a great tournament. My comments about this course are confined to the course alone, not the people responsible for the tournament, who are great.

Also, the designers probably could not have done any better designing or building this course, considering the limitations of the site they had to work with. Evergreen is an example of how the restrictions & limitations of a site can really affect the end product.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly marked

1    2/9/2015   2/10/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. Variety of holes. Good distances. Not a lot of people on course. Possibly an ok course if you know where the holes are.
Cons: Lots of blind baskets. No hole signs. Tees are broken up and hard to find. Swampy ravine area. Some tees are not long enough. Long grass/weeds. Grass holds moisture making this course very wet during rainy season. Some tees are just part of a side walk marked in a faded yellow line. If you throw into trees you can easily lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Back holes are very difficult for beginners. Hole 8 is extremely difficult and should probably be a par 4. Holes 14 through 18 are very confusing on which tees go to which baskets. Hole 13 is a completely blind tee shot over a swampy ravine that can prove near impossible to clear for a beginner. It is probably a fun yet somewhat challenging course for the more experienced player.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Place

5+    9/20/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Quiet course with typically short waits (quick but fun round)
-Worth playing 2 rounds back-to-back
-Above average terrain and tree density variation
-Above average ground conditions (except the swamp hole)
-Fun for all skill levels (except the swamp hole)
Cons: -The swamp hole
-Finding the basket can be difficult if you've never played it
-Can be difficult to locate a disc at twilight
Other Thoughts: This was the course I learned on both when first starting out, and when I broke my right wrist and learned to throw left-handed. Was a fun course when shot -4 (after a year's experience) and still fun when I shot +27 (1st left handed round).

P.S. If you find my Starfire on the swamp hole, please call the number on the back!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Forehand Course

5+    4/29/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: rakemucker
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of short and longish (400ft) holes, in a public park, but the public is usually easy to avoid.
Cons: No signs, slow play by large groups, poison oak, difficult to navigate without a guide or map.
Other Thoughts: Great course for forehand drives. Hole # 8 is a bear.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long tees are better

1    4/13/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi-use park, though most of the holes have little conflict with other park users. There is a little bit of elevation, especially in the middle section of the course, and it's used pretty well to add some fun and variety. There's a decent mix of more open shots and holes where you have to hit a gap or place your shot well to have a good look at a protected pin location. Several holes have enough rough that you'll really pay for an errant shot, and they force you to choose between going for the pin or laying up and knowing you'll stay out of trouble.

The lengths are fairly short from the main set of tees, there is more variety from the longs the locals have marked. The short tees are concrete or pavers, and seemed to be in good shape. The baskets are in fine shape and catch well.
Cons: The course had a lot of right turning holes, I threw the same turnover shot a lot and I would have liked a little more variety. The longs offer a nice challenge, but are not well marked and add some extra crossing fairways and safety concerns. Even from the shorts there are several places where holes play over one another or throw blindly into other fairways.

The walking path is in play on several holes. It didn't seem to be heavily used, but there's still some potential for issues. There is no signage, and the flow of the course is not easy to follow. Without a guide I would have spent a lot of time figuring out where to go next. The grass was overgrown in many areas, making discs tough to spot even in the middle of some fairways. There is a lot of poison oak here, keep an eye out whenever you leave the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the lengths and challenge appropriate, though the overgrown fairways might be a little frustrating. More experienced players won't find a ton of variety or challenge from the short tees. The long tees are much more challenging, but still lack a little in variety and are not easy to find without a guide. If you're in the area, this course isn't a bad place to get in a round, especially if you can get a local to guide you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An OK City Course

1    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 7.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Open & Wooded Holes
-DISCatchers
-Defined fairways
-Very few blind holes
Cons: -Thick, swampy brush with poison oak and spiders
-Multiple major fairway crossings
-Long walk from end of course
-No vertical signage (bring a map and you will be FINE)
-Concrete tees can be deceivingly slippery. Watch your step, even in dry weather.
Other Thoughts: Evergreen Open space plays through a city park that first plays through an open, grassy part of the park; then continues to an area that is partially wooded with thick brush and eucalyptus trees next to a swampy stream. The course ends with a section that is both grassy and woodsy.

The first five holes give the player an opportunity to warm up their throws as very little plays in the way of your throw. There is not any tee protection or fairway protection, and in nearly every case, very little pin protection. A good section of the course to hone in on your lines, as you will need them later.

As you are introduced to the wooded part of the course, a couple of birdie holes play through a secluded yet fairly open area below some homes. Beyond these is fairly difficult hole 8, which is an S curving fairway though some substantial coverage.

Holes 10 through 13 all play in a bowl shaped area of the park that is mostly grassy, but has a few trees scattered about. The bottom of the hill is home to the swampy creek, as well as some reeds, smaller trees, and intermittent poison oak. Discs accidentally thrown this direction are not always hard to find, but not necessarily easy to get to. These four holes fairways literally play right over each other. The pins and tee pads basically form a circle around the bowl.

Hole 13 is a fairly difficult shot over the creek into an area where holes 14, 16, and 17 play. While the fairways are not cris-crossing each other as in the previous bowl, they certainly play right on each other fairly tightly.

Hole 15 plays in a wooded area that was swampy at the time of our visit and we decided not to play it. A very narrow boardwalk is the only means of transportation through the swamp and any step off of it is a guaranteed wet foot and maybe leg. Hole 16 begins in the swamp but it is a very safe throw to return it to the grass.

Hole 18 plays down a road and ends near a bridge. Cross the bridge, follow the trail up the hill, walk down the street, make a left, and walk another 5 minutes or so and you will return to your vehicle.

The course plays well under par for any golfer that knows what they are doing, and can be a very competitive fun round for those just starting out. There were very few complaints from us as we played, and the environment seemed nice enough. We played in the morning and saw a few other groups but fortunately there were no backups and nobody was playing the other holes where they all cross each other. I don't know if this is the norm but I would imagine the back half of the course being a nightmare with any population on the course at once. This is a great course for the community of Goleta and provides all of the variety necessary for a memorable 18 holes; however the traveling golfer has very little reason to stop by considering the other road trip worthy courses in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.