Santa Barbara (Goleta), CA 
Evergreen Open Space Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
I like this course

5+    4/11/2017   4/12/2017
Review By: The Katana Kid
Played: 75  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you favor a left to right shot, which I do, then you'll like this course. For every one right to left shot (1, 2, 5, 8, 12, & 18) there are two left to right shots (3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, & 17).

If you go first thing in the morning, which I do, then there's usually no one there.

There are several very challenging holes:
#8 is a tunnel shot up a hill, but there's trees inside the tunnel. Last week I was 4 over on this hole, and only 3 over for the rest of the course. But yesterday I barely missed a birdie when my fairway shot hit the chains from about 150'.
Also challenging is 13, which tees off from a hill and goes over a jungle/swamp to an unseen basket off to the right. When I first saw this I was a beginner and was amazed someone could get a disc over that. Now I can actually do it myself and parred this the last two weeks.

This course has only two (4 & 14) open field and roughly flat holes with grass, like are so abundant in other parks (yesterday I played Pritzger in Santa Maria and that's mostly what it is) but even these two holes are interesting: 4's basket is at the bottom of an ivy slope which comes down to that grassy flat field and 14's basket is nestled againat the woods with the grass leading up to it.

I like the dreaded "cauldron" with crossing fairways, but in all fairness no one has ever been there early in the morning when I'm playing so I get the good without the bad. The cauldron starts with 10, down the hill against the jungle/swamp and to the right. There's a cluster of trees to the right blocking any normal backhand right to left. So a forehand fling is preferrable, at least in my arsenal, but a lititle too far and you're in the swamp monster that eats discs. Number 11 is the next of the crossing fairways, but another challenge down the hill and to the right between trees to reach the basket nestled into some trees on a slope. Number 12's basket is in a ring of trees, which is a challenge, at least for me, to get inside. I got in yesterday but missed my birdie putt. Then you end the cauldron holes with the signature 13 (I was talking to a guy recently at Rabbit Flats, another cool place, and the main thing he remembered about Evergreen was 13).

It's the variety of this course that makes up it's inimitable character. The woods on a hill for 8 and 9 with a creek at the bottom to punish your errant throws. When you do well (yesterday I birdied 9) then you feel you earned it more than a simple pitch and putt. The swamp hole (15) literally leads you through a swamp with boards to walk on then the basket is under some trees with a creek behind it that'll grab your disc if you're not careful. Fortunately the swamp's been dry lately, even with all the rain, but the reeds/weeds are high and hide discs here. 18 is a nice finish from the right to left under a low hanging tree and around the woods that blocks your view of the basket. If I get a par here, which I did yesterday, then I'm happy but better players should birdie this. An ace is impossible.

There are 2 porta potty bathrooms. One is near the tennis courts at the 1 and 3 tees. The other is near the jungle gym by the 5th tee and about halfway between the 5 minute walk between your finish at 18 and getting back to where you parked at #1.
Cons: There is no signage at the tees. This would be a GIANT improvement.

The layout of 14-18 Is counter intuitive. For example, the 14th tee is not the tee next to the 13th basket, that tee is for 17. And the 15th tee is not next to the 14th basket, that tee is for 18. Some locals helped me. Now that I've got it figured out I actually like it, but this negative would be greatly reduced with good signage at the tees and a next hole arrow in the baskets.

There are long tees for the better players but not easy to find. I'm aware of ones at tees on 3, 4, 10 and 16, but there may be more.

The concrete tee pads aren't great, but they're fine with me.

The walk from 18 to 1 is also fine with me, but I can understand complaints about it. This problem, unlike tee signage, is unfixable.

Blind shots on 5, 13, 14, and 18 are a problem. My goal on 13 is to get my disc to fly across a path I can't see from the tee. So I try to look before throwing, especially since two friends told me of disc to people contact on other courses (One hit a two year old resulting in a bruise and a letter to the city from a mad mom. The other from a guy who told me his disc hit someone in the forehead and the gash/bleeding was so bad the person went to the hospital). I don't know how to solve this blind shot problem which crosses walking paths that people walk on without just being aware and being careful.

There are not multiple basket positions but that doesn't bother me. I guess it just means less maintenance is required for the course.

Poison ivy is there and I've been slightly affected by it on a rare occasion, but it's not a serious problem.

There are a lot of places on this course you can easily lose your plastic. So you better keep a focused eye on where it's going, which is true on all courses, but especially here.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot and I play it a lot. It is anything but boring. I wonder who would need to get the ball rolling to get signage at the tees.I have heard there's a good group of locals here, but I don't know who they are.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Place

5+    9/20/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Quiet course with typically short waits (quick but fun round)
-Worth playing 2 rounds back-to-back
-Above average terrain and tree density variation
-Above average ground conditions (except the swamp hole)
-Fun for all skill levels (except the swamp hole)
Cons: -The swamp hole
-Finding the basket can be difficult if you've never played it
-Can be difficult to locate a disc at twilight
Other Thoughts: This was the course I learned on both when first starting out, and when I broke my right wrist and learned to throw left-handed. Was a fun course when shot -4 (after a year's experience) and still fun when I shot +27 (1st left handed round).

P.S. If you find my Starfire on the swamp hole, please call the number on the back!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Super fun

1    2/12/2011   2/13/2011
Review By: Pottersmash
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of wide open shots to let it rip, short shots, fading blind shots, and wooded shots.
-With the map that you print out from this site it was easy to find everything and see what the throw was going to look like.
-Locals were really nice to let me play through
-weather was warm and sunny, we played around 2:30pm and wind wasn't bad at all.
-beginner friendly, yet challenging enough.
-my wife got her first par here!
Cons: -there definitely is a group of stoners that hang out between 7 and 8. I read that in someone else's review on here and just laughed when i saw it in person.
-the walk back is kinda long
-it got fairly busy, but we never waited longer than a few minutes at one hole. no biggie
-there's crossing fairways between 10-13, but its not that bad because everyone else knows that. so people are pretty cautious most of the time and take their turn at the right time. This was honestly my biggest concern coming to the course but it wasn't bad at all.
Other Thoughts: I can see how some really experienced disk golfers may see this course as not being SUPER challenging, but for me it was a gold mine! I have around 6 months of experience and I had such a blast. The mixture of somewhat challenging elements, yet not too bad to where it's frustrating was nice. I ended the day with +1 which is the best i've ever done playing a course for the first time. I'm definitely coming back to this course next time I come through SB.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    7/1/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Vince Klortho
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing variation of long and short holes, great use of elevation and natural topography, beautiful setting. Friendly locals, plentiful parking and great weather.
Cons: Pretty isolated in a residential community, far from restaurants and things like that. Can be somewhat tough to find off the freeway if you've never been there. Tees are poorly marked and can be confusing without a map or a local. Hole 8 should be at least a par 4 - it's much, much more difficult than any of the other holes. No variation in pin placement. When you finish the round it's a long walk from 18 back to where you parked on 1.
Other Thoughts: My home course, where I first learned how to play. I play this course 2-3 times a week and never get bored.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 local course- good

5+    12/3/2008   12/5/2008
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: so this is my local course. i play very often and am recent to the sport. the holes range from longer holes on the front and very back with several mid range holes inbetween. wind is never much of a problem. rang from some hills and trees. the local stoner, drinking kids on 15 were kicked out by the cops and have not been there for over a month. most locals are nice, although some a pre-Madonnas
Cons: so local's take for ever to play, and others come in groups of nine which slows down the game play. also holes 10,11, and 12 overlap each other. some stoners do take puffs in the woods on holes 8/9. 13 is difficult for beginners, you cannot see the hole from the tee. it is over some swap land, known for swallowing disc. hole 15 is hard to find, and difficult to play after rain. hole 18 is difficult for it curves to the left and once again you cannont see the chains.
Other Thoughts: i play this course 3 times a week. i get together with buddies and play a round. all time low of -4 for our group, a couple of us average under par. some disc have been lost also found and good people return or at least found disc.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.