Rocky Mount, NC 
Farmington Park Share
Uploaded By: teej Hole #5 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A Solid Realignment Upgrade!

1    11/2/2021   1/25/2022
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 3.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A course with solid variety of heavy woods, lightly wooded meadows, creek comes into play on several holes, an elevated basket, one street play hole, and a few downhill and uphill holes. Majority of the course is scenic!

-If you have played here before the course has been realignment from holes 6 thru 10. Holes 6 and 7 have been stretched out to par 4's. Hole 6 tee to 7 basket, Hole 7 is now 8 tee to 9 basket. Hole 8 is the old hole 10. After the current hole 8 there are now 2 new holes 9 and 10. From 11 thru 18 just as you remember it.

-Some good stretches of scenery and challenging holes. Holes 6 thru 10 meadows and creek to woods. Holes 15 thru 17 more difficult and scenic with heavy woods to meadow and creek.

-New tee and directional signs coming in Spring 2022! Current tee signs have hole number, distance, par, and map. Baskets catch well!

-Navigation is a figure 8 starting clockwise and finishing clockwise. Suggest UDisc until the new directional signs are added in the spring.

-Farmington Park was my 6th and final 18-holer in Rocky Mount, and I rank it personally 3rd behind Nash Community College, and Sunset. The local club has done an outstanding job! On the realignments.

-From the bag mid's, and drivers.

-Beginners and Recreational are going to find mostly a pleasant walk but will be challenged by the difficulty of the course, and not to lose a disc. Intermediate and Advanced will find the course challenging enough choosing the correct disc on the more difficult holes and enjoy letting loose on the longer meadow holes.

Cons: -#18 the shortest hole is a weak finishing hole compared to the previous 17 holes played. Open tee to a basket nested in pine trees was my only birdie.

-Until the new tee and directional signs are installed in a few months' navigation can be confusing holes 6 thru 10. Old tee signs have been pulled, and a few remained with the wrong hole number. Use Udisc. This will no longer be a con after the new signs are installed.

-Holes 2 thru 4 in the heavy woods lots of overgrowth and they looked too scruffy. From hole 5 thru 17 the course show's its beauty. Perhaps the overgrowth will be taken care since the realignment is complete? To match the rest of the course.

-I didn't see them myself, but have seen photo's of snakes in the creeks along fairways.

-High lost disc potential for 13 of the 18 holes that play thru heavy woods and brush, and along the creek. A few of the others the potential is there.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the realignment at Farmington Park stretching out holes #6 and #7 to add on Par 4's in the meadows is a plus. Add on holes 12 thru 14 in the meadows is one of a handful of times when the more open holes won me over the wooded holes which I normally favor. If your taking risks, the course can become very difficult on most holes, but you may be rewarded with birdies. Pick your spots and you can keep it at par. My overall rating is based on the inclusion of the new tee and directional signs arriving soon, since the local club has fulfilled on the other two courses. My biggest personnel con will be the overgrowth on holes 2-3 and creeping in on 15-16. Even if those holes are groomed, I don't think there will be a bump on the overall rating?

My overall rating is anchored on the variety of the layout and difficulty, fun factor, and the realignment, and that will be a 5.0. The time to play was 65 minutes.

Notable Basket Placements:

-No. 4 at 277 feet is a straight away thru heavy woods to an elevated basket in the open C1. The basket sits 6 feet high, behind the basket is a road. Very narrow from the tee, and I was slapped down by an overhanging limb.

-No. 5 at 279 feet is a straight away hole with a narrow fairway trees all the way down left, and a creek on the right. A tree is right in front of C1, the basket is placed just 20 feet to the creek, on a slope to the creek going right. Putted for birdie out of the creek.

Notable Holes:

-No 6 Par 4 at 473 feet one of the realignment holes passing thru tree gaps and working your way around other trees and bushes. The hole is a straight away and slightly upslope about halfway down. Open meadow space on the fairway, but slopes towards the creek. The first gap of two trees is about 100 feet down, and 25 feet wide with overhanging branches. The second gap at about 200 feet down with two gaps covered by tree bushes. The first gap on the left is about 20 feet wide the second gap in the middle about 20 feet and you're going to be arriving very low to clear the first gap. About 150 feet from basket left center fairway is a huge tree bush, anywhere behind it you'll be blocked to the basket which sits in the open with heavy trees behind it. Beautiful hole!

No. 11 Par 3 at 293 feet is straight up hill thru a tunnel of about 15 feet wide until 170 feet out. Heavy trees and brush on both sides of tunnel. Opens to a street that is downhill, and no longer used for traffic. The basket is tucked to the left with guardian trees just off the street. Very intimidating hole from the tee. A late release went thru the trees on left, found disc in the street.

-No. 12 Par 3 at 346 feet is a straight away from the open tee a gentle down slope to a basket open but protected by guardian trees and bushes with overhang about 6 feet high, and the gap about 15 feet within C1. To the right a bulge of trees at 100 feet just short of fairway middle. To the left another bulge of trees to middle of fairway about 170 feet down, the gap between both bulges is about 15 feet, so need to work the disc.

-No. 16 Par 3 at 299 feet is straight from the tee until about 80 feet when theirs a dogleg right. On the right from the tee heavy woods and bushes with extended branches. On the left the creek runs middle left with heavy woods on other side of creek. As a lefty not too bad, for righties need a forehand here. The basket is set between two guardian trees.


Signature Hole:

No. 13 Par 4 at 573 feet is an open gentle upslope hole that doglegs right at about 320 feet. There are utility wires at about the 200 feet mark that crosses fairway, so if you tend to throw high tee shots, you may want to adjust. About 60 feet from dogleg are two bushy wide trees with a 10-foot gap, very small so I went up and over on my approach just needing about 20 feet. Past the gap the fairway narrows in the meadows, and your now downslope. The basket sits behind guardian trees to the left. I thought this was the most scenic hole on the course, and very challenging, going to the left or right of gap could cost strokes.

Trouble Hole:

No. 15 Par 4 at 431 feet from an open tee to a basket with a creek inside C1. From the tee there's a sharp dogleg left at about 200 feet with heavy trees and bushes on the right, to the left a creek that runs middle fairway all the way to the basket with heavy trees and bushes extending over the creek and branches extending from the left, only about 20 feet of room at the dogleg, and opens some to the basket. The basket sits across a cross section of two creeks with both in C1, and trees on the right blocking a putt basket high. The hole has a gruffy beauty to it, so maybe leave this one alone? A lefty late release caught branches and fell into the creek, my approach from the creek went into the second creek to the right of basket and managed a 2-putt.







11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

1    4/28/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 195  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2019
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: I seem to have very bad luck with Rocky Mount courses. I've taken about 3-4 trips out there and I've now played all 4 of the main courses, plus the 2 newer, beginner ones. Every time I've played, it seems to have been after a rainy day...or a flat out flood. I think my experience, and thus my rating, would be better if I had played on a dry, fall day without the summer underbrush and floody/muddy conditions. With that said, take my 1.5 rating with a slight grain of salt. Perhaps your experience at Farmington was on a day with ideal conditions and the course in good shape. On the day I played, unfortunately, that was not the case.

+ This course is challenging and has some unique holes. There's a good mix of hole distances, the types of lines you need to take, and open vs. tight fairways.

+ Decent navigation and tee signs.

+ I really liked hole 4. It has a triple mando through a man-made box structure, trees lining each side of the fairway, and an elevated basket over a rock formation. Fun hole.

+ I think I would have liked the creek holes were it not for the big negatives mentioned below.
Cons: Again, I think some of these cons -- and the reason I left Farmington with a bad taste in my mouth -- was due to the conditions I found the course in, spring of 2017:

- This won't be the case all the time, but when I played, the creeks were really high and there was standing water all over. Lots of mud too.

- The bridge is out at hole 6, so you have to jump the creek to get to the basket, then jump back across after teeing off on hole 7. The creek is wide enough and deep enough, at least when I played, that you will get muddy, if not wet, jumping across...especially if you have old man knees like me and can't jump.

- The grass and underbrush were out of control when I played. Really high and not fun to play in.

- There were 1-2 water hazard holes that just weren't worth playing to me. The risk of disc loss was very high. The trees and underbrush were too high and the flooded creek too close to give me a clear enough line where I'd be willing to risk losing a disc.

- The bones of the course are good -- challenging and nice layout -- but the water, mud, grass, and underbrush took away the enjoyment for me.

- Aesthetically, the course isn't great.
Other Thoughts: Maybe you'll have better luck than me and play Farmington when it's drier and cleaned up. As it was, I give it a 1.5, but I think the challenge and bones of the course warrant a 2.5 under good conditions.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Farmington

1    8/17/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: Weeluck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has good baskets and concrete tees. A good mix of trees and open ground. Enjoyable elements such as the triple mando and elevated basket.
Cons: I had a difficult time finding some baskets, even with decent signage. I spent a lot of time walking around looking for the actual basket for the hole I was playing. I spent a long time looking for the tee boxes and I think I actually missed one basket.
Other Thoughts: Although some of the elements were enjoyable such as the triple mando and the elevated basket, I felt most of the course to be frustrating to navigate. A typical 1 hour play time came in at 1 hour and 45 minutes due to all the extra walking I had to do in the attempts to find the baskets for the holes I was playing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NIce variety, lots of open holes.

1    3/29/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 380  Reviewed: 233  Exp: 19.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2020
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good shape, concrete tees, good flow to the course. Starts out with wooded holes, including a Triple Mando to an elevated basket, then mostly open holes, finishing with open/wooded holes.
The open holes in the middle do have trees, but they are mainly for shaping your shots, not for swallowing your discs. There is a creek that runs through this section that also requires some thought.
In addition to the Triple mando hole (#4), #15 is also an interesting hole. Level ground that follows the stream as it curves left, then you have to cross another creek that is protecting the basket, nice challenge on this hole.
18 is an interesting finishing hole. Plays left-to-right around the ballfield fence, then the green is in a wooded area. I normally don't like trees inside the circle, but these make this hole and probably provide some scoring separation, on the final hole.
Cons: Tee pads might be a little small, but no real big Cons.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course a lot. No elevation to speak of but, varied types of holes, the creeks to worry about, throw past a power tower, over large bushes in the middle of one fairway and a fast green on #17. My favorite Rocky Mount course, so far.
UPDATE 12/20: Not much has changed with this course, it is still fun to play! 4 wooded holes, 10 open/partially wooded, then 4 wooded holes with creeks in play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 11.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best course in Rocky Mount. Arguably the best course on 95 between Richmond and Hardeeville. (450-mile stretch) Nice mix of terrain with some open and some wooded holes allows beginners to play without boring experienced players. A dryish creek runs along several holes, offering an obstacle besides the scattered trees and hedges. It really shines 15 though. Instead of providing a linear boundary to the hole, it defines the fairway by continuously curving to the left. It meets another creek coming in from the side, putting the basket between them. 16 uses the creek well also, as it makes a narrow fairway even tighter with limited landing space.
The course plays in a few different parcels of land. The largest of them is bounded on one side by the creek and on the other by a road which doesn't come into play. 5-10 play down and 11-14 come back. These are the most open holes on the course. 11-14 play longer and offer some real chances to air out a disc with minimal obstructions. A lot of the obstacles here can be thrown over.
Prior to that, 2-4 and 15-16 are wooded holes in any sense of the word. Not overly tight, they nevertheless force your hand with defined flight-paths required. Pretty good stuff and the variety that both types provide makes for a fun round.
Cons: 17 and 18 play around the initial athletic field complex near where you park. They make for a pretty weak finish compared to what has come before. Other than that, it's a flat course that isn't too memorable. It's not brilliant but flawed course. It's a decent course filled with decent holes. You will probably have fun but you likely won't be clamoring for a return visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well built course

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 68  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 14.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice pads and baskets. Good signage. Nice mix of holes, and water in play on some give a nice challenge.
Cons: #4 could use some trimming, and could potentially be a par 4 with the elevated basket. Some of the other holes could use some trimming as well.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with great variety and easy to navigate. A bit less memorable than Sunset, but still nice overall.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/16/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: siknastyinstalr
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course that can be challenging but fun for all players. Course is laid out in a very smooth manner and holes transition well to one another. Nx-T signs on most of the holes to show you where to go next. Nice mixture of short par 3s with some longer par 4s in the mix.
Cons: Baskets are very old and alot of them are rusted. A few of them are also bent and crooked that can make it tough to putt sometimes. Grass is cut but only in the middle of the fairway. If your disc goes off track then you will be searching thru 2 to 3 foot high grass in search of your disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course to play if in the area and is fun to play all the way from beginners to advanced.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Farmington's Legit

1    6/21/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 383  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a great neighborhood park. There are a few other uses at the park including a playground and one baseball field but the disc golf course is the principle use. They have made full use of all the land available in the park and the layout is superb.
- Speaking of the layout, the course has a great variation of holes. 2-4 are tight wooded holes, with hole 4 incorporating a triple Mando window off the tee. Other portions of the course make great use of the creek that runs through the course. I also found the placement of the baskets to be nearly perfect.
- The tee signs are excellent, which is always helpful unless you are a local and know the course well.
- There are benches on almost every tee box, which is nice.
- Solid challenge, so a good course to keep coming back to improve overall score or make adjustments on each hole.
- Everything seemed to be well maintained including the open holes that require periodic mowing.
Cons: - Very few. I am a player who gets really peeved when I see litter on a course. Only saw a few pieces of trash but the course had trash cans every third hole so I still found myself slightly disappointed. Not nearly as bad as Sunset Park, which seemed to have trash all over, but still some room for improvement and I would hate to see it get worse.
Other Thoughts: -Rocky Mount seems to have a half way decent disc golf scene and this seemed to be the most legit of the three I stopped and played.
- Definitely try to take an extra 90 minutes to play Englewood Park which was only two minutes down the road. Another cool course in a neighborhood park.
- Would definitely stop by again if I am anywhere near the area and would recommend others to do the same.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's not a farm at all

2-4    5/25/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 179  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - Course plays through different sections of a park. Mixes up some open shots with a few slightly more wooded holes.

Good combination of hole types and lengths. The way it mixes in different holes and moves you through the park keeps the round interesting. There's one par 4 but like I said it has a nice balance of shorter and longer par 3's.

Also an interesting and balanced mix of obstacles and OB throughout. There's a creek system which comes in to play on 7 holes. The road plays an OB hazard role on a few holes. The course also has some hedge rows and large bushes that add difficulty.

The course does have some interesting lines and multiple options on holes that makes you think about disc and line choice.

Course flows pretty well overall, there are some spots where you cross streets which could be confusing to new players but wouldn't be difficult to figure out.

Some interesting basket locations with OB in play and some tucked in corners.

Atmosphere - The park has different sections and gives you diferent looks as you play through it. It doesn't give you a secluded wooded feel but a large portion of the course is reserved just for disc golf. Overall it's a nice looking course for the most part with some interesting features.

Equipment - Concrete tee pads of good size. Teesigns still on some holes. Most baskets are in good shape. Benches.
Cons: Layout - Biggest con here is that some holes just don't make a lot of sense due to overgrowth which takes away lines completely. A few holes are just dumb by design.

Some of the basket positions can be annoying, a good shot within 20' of a basket can leave you in complete jail.

There's some filler holes thrown in that are pretty open and straight with no real obstacle.

No elevation change at all really.

Overgrowth in places that causes lost disc potential.

Atmosphere - Ants, the biting sort. Some murky parts. Poison Ivy is abound.

Equipment - Some missing teesigns. One bent basket cage.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Rocky Mount. It's atypical in the way it' setup and that makes it more interesting. I like the balance it has more than anything.

Though as I stated it's got some downer points with holes that just don't make sense or need some upkeep.

My favorite hole is 15, it's a long par 3 with a creek running down the entire left and guarding the front basket location creating an island green almost.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Fairly Challenging course which I like.
- Very good mix of holes, from the woods, to wide open, to some very nice technical shots.
- Signs and benches at every pad.
Cons: - Better up keep needed.
- Bathrooms
- Rake those leaves away
Other Thoughts: Fairly nice course, reminded me of my home courses down here in Fayette-Nam the layout is good, but it is not taken care of very well. You can, and will lose your discs.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.