Wellington, OH 
Findley State Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscinOhio Hole #8 (Taken 5/2018)
3 / 314ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 2
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great Redesign

2-4    4/21/2018   4/24/2018
Review By: axion
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of baskets, with longs being new Prodigy baskets.
Concrete Teepads on all holes.


Long but technical holes -- Multiple Holes that require 350-400' drives followed by a great second shot for the birdie.

Multiple holes where you are driving up or down hill.

Very well defined fairways, even though you are in the woods for 16/18 holes.

Multiple Tee shots that present options off of the Tee. There will be a straight ahead gap, or a hyzer gap on the same tee. But you have to pick one. Or a turnover line and a straight ahead line. Multiple shots where the tee shot is rather open, but your second shot has to pick one of the fairways to play.

Fairwarys are all cut out into the woods, which is amazing and had to be a ton of work

Trashcans and seating on most holes
Cons: Tee signs are not accurate or non existance, so without a local you will need to really pay attention to where you should be going, and finding the next tee is not always obvious
Other Thoughts: This is easily the best course I have played in Ohio outside of Idlewild.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Significant Improvements Made!

2-4    1/30/2018   6/7/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 82  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updated 5/25/18: The course has been separated into two fresh layouts: "Lost Island" and "The Classic 18".
The new layout (Over 1,000 combined hours of work by volunteers) is top notch and up there with the best I've played so far. You need to get out here!

NAVIGATION:

This is one of the biggest factors when I review a course. There are plenty of great courses out there that have suffered due to lack of simple signage. Findley SP was super easy to navigate. There were signs and markers on just about every basket directing you where to go. This made the experience so fun because you didn't have to worry about finding the next tee or throwing at the wrong basket. Just adding simple wooden signs goes a LONG way on a course, and somebody definitely was smart enough to realize it.

DISTANCE MARKERS:

This was the first course I've played in which there were distance markers down the fairway. These markers are only present on the par 4's, but are EXTREMELY helpful. What a great touch!

HOLE VARIETY:

I won't lie, the first few holes were pretty boring. But after that, the course is just pure straight up fun. You have different hole shapes, distances, and elevation changes. There was a new hole added in the redesign where the basket backs up to a beautiful lake.

SCENERY:

Besides #3, #17, and #18, all of these holes felt like they were in the secluded wilderness. There was no shortage of wildlife or great views here. If you have time, take a couple of the trails!

EQUIPMENT AND AMENITIES:

Concrete tees and great baskets. Benches everywhere, along with picnic tables, restrooms, and a drinking fountain. Can't get any better than that. There were bridges all over the course.

SIGNAGE:

As I said earlier, navigation here is flawless. See cons for my issues with the tee signs

PEDESTRIANS:

I had no issues with pedestrians that I could see being an issue for a long time (See a weird experience in "Other Thoughts". I was the only one on the entire course, despite great weather.

FUN:

I could see myself making the drive out here every week. Well designed and fun!
Cons: Updated 5/25/18

- A few of the Flat wooded holes can blend together just a little bit
- Signs are temporary, just laminated white paper with a very basic map.
- A few spots on the course will have some standing water and longer grass.
Other Thoughts: The course underwent a major makeover from what I've heard, so the rating doesn't reflect the course. I wish there was one more hole by the lake, but the view from the basket for that hole is incredible.

Updated 1/30/18: Tons of effort is being poured into this hidden gem! New baskets are coming soon. To reflect these improvements, my rating has been bumped up to a 4.5, and FSP is now on my "favorites" list.


Side Notes:

Amish Buggy Run-In:

This was truly a unique experience. After playing the course, I began walking through to take new pictures for the page. For some reason, there was a horse and Amish buggy right in the middle of the #1 fairway. Nobody in it or around it, couldn't believe my eyes!

Have a great day, and keep on discing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.