Wellington, OH 
Findley State Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscinOhio Hole #16 (Taken 5/2018)
4 / 402ft.   4 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fun in the woods

1    8/2/2018   8/2/2018
Review By: Tom McManus
Played: 219  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 41.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course(s) in the woods. There is a red course and a blue course with the blue being much more challenging. A great deal of work has gone into this course. Water comes into play on two of the blue holes. Some minor elevation changes. There are multiple baskets on many of the holes and multiple tees on several holes. Fairways are fair. Great job on having next tee signs on all the holes. Navigating the course is not an issue.
Cons: I played in August and the course was dry. It looks like the course could hold water in several spots.
Other Thoughts: Great wood carvings on several holes. Lots of love has gone into this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Redesign

2-4    4/21/2018   4/24/2018
Review By: axion
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of baskets, with longs being new Prodigy baskets.
Concrete Teepads on all holes.


Long but technical holes -- Multiple Holes that require 350-400' drives followed by a great second shot for the birdie.

Multiple holes where you are driving up or down hill.

Very well defined fairways, even though you are in the woods for 16/18 holes.

Multiple Tee shots that present options off of the Tee. There will be a straight ahead gap, or a hyzer gap on the same tee. But you have to pick one. Or a turnover line and a straight ahead line. Multiple shots where the tee shot is rather open, but your second shot has to pick one of the fairways to play.

Fairwarys are all cut out into the woods, which is amazing and had to be a ton of work

Trashcans and seating on most holes
Cons: Tee signs are not accurate or non existance, so without a local you will need to really pay attention to where you should be going, and finding the next tee is not always obvious
Other Thoughts: This is easily the best course I have played in Ohio outside of Idlewild.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Significant Improvements Made!

2-4    1/30/2018   6/7/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 105  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2018
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updated 5/25/18: The course has been separated into two fresh layouts: "Lost Island" and "The Classic 18".
The new layout (Over 1,000 combined hours of work by volunteers) is top notch and up there with the best I've played so far. You need to get out here!

NAVIGATION:

This is one of the biggest factors when I review a course. There are plenty of great courses out there that have suffered due to lack of simple signage. Findley SP was super easy to navigate. There were signs and markers on just about every basket directing you where to go. This made the experience so fun because you didn't have to worry about finding the next tee or throwing at the wrong basket. Just adding simple wooden signs goes a LONG way on a course, and somebody definitely was smart enough to realize it.

DISTANCE MARKERS:

This was the first course I've played in which there were distance markers down the fairway. These markers are only present on the par 4's, but are EXTREMELY helpful. What a great touch!

HOLE VARIETY:

I won't lie, the first few holes were pretty boring. But after that, the course is just pure straight up fun. You have different hole shapes, distances, and elevation changes. There was a new hole added in the redesign where the basket backs up to a beautiful lake.

SCENERY:

Besides #3, #17, and #18, all of these holes felt like they were in the secluded wilderness. There was no shortage of wildlife or great views here. If you have time, take a couple of the trails!

EQUIPMENT AND AMENITIES:

Concrete tees and great baskets. Benches everywhere, along with picnic tables, restrooms, and a drinking fountain. Can't get any better than that. There were bridges all over the course.

SIGNAGE:

As I said earlier, navigation here is flawless. See cons for my issues with the tee signs

PEDESTRIANS:

I had no issues with pedestrians that I could see being an issue for a long time (See a weird experience in "Other Thoughts". I was the only one on the entire course, despite great weather.

FUN:

I could see myself making the drive out here every week. Well designed and fun!
Cons: Updated 5/25/18

- A few of the Flat wooded holes can blend together just a little bit
- Signs are temporary, just laminated white paper with a very basic map.
- A few spots on the course will have some standing water and longer grass.
Other Thoughts: The course underwent a major makeover from what I've heard, so the rating doesn't reflect the course. I wish there was one more hole by the lake, but the view from the basket for that hole is incredible.

Updated 1/30/18: Tons of effort is being poured into this hidden gem! New baskets are coming soon. To reflect these improvements, my rating has been bumped up to a 4.5, and FSP is now on my "favorites" list.


Side Notes:

Amish Buggy Run-In:

This was truly a unique experience. After playing the course, I began walking through to take new pictures for the page. For some reason, there was a horse and Amish buggy right in the middle of the #1 fairway. Nobody in it or around it, couldn't believe my eyes!

Have a great day, and keep on discing!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Flinging @ Findley

2-4    9/24/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: kinger
Played: 56  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Loops around the parking area No.'s 1-10, 11-18.
~Solid layout
~Good tee posts & signs
~Concrete tee pads
~Fun 18 hole campground course
~Directional signs help with navigation
Cons:
~Baskets blend in with the background
~A few minor navigation issues, bring the map
~Handful of holes would benefit from additional thinning/clearing
~A couple too many short holes overall, long tees could cure this
Other Thoughts:
We camp at Findley State Park a few times a year, so this course is a welcome addition to my stays. Nestled along a decent sized parking lot just inside the main entrance, the course winds around the surrounding woods with only a few truly open holes. Short to medium in length, what it lacks in distance is made up for with honest wooded fairways. Aside from the last hole, I felt all of them offer good lines off the pad. The course is in good shape, not too much undergrowth, and only some minor clearing on a handful of holes is needed. Midrange friendly, you only need a fairway driver for a handful of holes so a small travel bag will suite your needs. Good use of available elevation, most holes are extremely fun to throw. The baskets could use some bright colors to help them stand out as they blend in with the trees on many holes. Navigation isn't too bad, the map came in handy at times. My wife's 1st round was at this course and she had a blast, good for casual beginners & seasoned throwers alike...this course is well suited for this park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.