Wellington, OH 
Findley State Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #12 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Good fun

1    10/7/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: colucc43
Played: 114  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well defined fairways in the woods
-course map on a board near parking lot
-navigation was relatively easy, especially with a picture of the map
-interesting variety of hole shapes (not the same straight forward woods holes again and again), some long tees mixed in which was welcome
-concrete tees on all holes, and the 4 long tees were concrete
-benches on many holes, felt like at least half of them
-easy to find from the park entrance with signage when you enter the park
Cons: -single chain baskets, not ideal if you're playing a round for score that you care about, but perfectly fine for having fun throwing in the woods
-some of the concrete tees are a bit short. not really a problem in most cases but some of them are quite a bit higher than the ground in front of them, which could make slipping off the end of them dangerous
-signage at each teepad isn't the best as the course has been redesigned and a number of the tee signs don't quite show what the hole is exactly like
Other Thoughts: Recently, lots of time has gone into this course in terms of creating better layout and it shows. This course is just plain fun. There really aren't any holes that are duds or just in place to get you from one hole to another, which is great. Really only one hole (the par four hole 7) could use a little more clearing for a more defined fairway; the shot from the tee is fine, but when you turn left towards the basket there's not much of anything.

This isn't quite yet a course you'd want to go out of your way to play, but it could get there eventually. If you're passing nearby and have some time to play its worth a stop. Happy to see some weekly scramble leagues popping up here too as the more interest the course generates with locals the more likely some of those relatively minor cons will get ironed out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Significant Improvements Made!

1    6/4/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 51  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course I've played thus far (No, I don't need to calm down). I haven't played this course until now despite only living 30 minutes away because of some of the negative reviews. But trust me, this is an epic disc golf experience.

NAVIGATION:

This is one of the biggest factors when I review a course. There are plenty of great courses out there that have suffered due to lack of simple signage. Findley SP was super easy to navigate. There were signs and markers on just about every basket directing you where to go. This made the experience so fun because you didn't have to worry about finding the next tee or throwing at the wrong basket. Just adding simple wooden signs goes a LONG way on a course, and somebody definitely was smart enough to realize it.

DISTANCE MARKERS:

This was the first course I've played in which there were distance markers down the fairway. These markers are only present on the par 4's, but are EXTREMELY helpful. What a great touch!

HOLE VARIETY:

I won't lie, the first few holes were pretty boring. But after that, the course is just pure straight up fun. You have different hole shapes, distances, and elevation changes. There was a new hole added in the redesign where the basket backs up to a beautiful lake.

SCENERY:

Besides #3, #17, and #18, all of these holes felt like they were in the secluded wilderness. There was no shortage of wildlife or great views here. If you have time, take a couple of the trails!

EQUIPMENT AND AMENITIES:

Concrete tees and great baskets. Benches everywhere, along with picnic tables, restrooms, and a drinking fountain. Can't get any better than that. There were bridges all over the course.

SIGNAGE:

As I said earlier, navigation here is flawless. See cons for my issues with the tee signs

PEDESTRIANS:

I had no issues with pedestrians that I could see being an issue for a long time (See a weird experience in "Other Thoughts". I was the only one on the entire course, despite great weather.

FUN:

I could see myself making the drive out here every week. Well designed and fun!
Cons: There were a few things that prevented me from dishing out my first 5.0 rating...

SIGNAGE:

Due to the redesign, some of the maps displayed incorrect information. While the hole numbers were fixed to be labeled correctly, the maps were numbered incorrectly. I also thought the maps were pretty basic.


Other Thoughts: The course underwent a major makeover from what I've heard, so the rating doesn't reflect the course. I wish there was one more hole by the lake, but the view from the basket for that hole is incredible.




Side Notes:

Amish Buggy Run-In:

This was truly a unique experience. After playing the course, I began walking through to take new pictures for the page. For some reason, there was a horse and Amish buggy right in the middle of the #1 fairway. Nobody in it or around it, couldn't believe my eyes!

Have a great day, and keep on discing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent wooded course

1    1/14/2017   1/14/2017
Review By: CJRacer19
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: It looks like someone has taken an interest in this course and improvements are being made. It's a wooded course with lines to hit and fairways, not a spray and pray course. I haven't played here in the summer, but it was nice in the middle of January.
Cons: The are a lot of downed branches and limbs in the walk ways. Tee signs will need updated after renovations are complete, some are inaccurate.
Other Thoughts: Could be one of my favorite local courses once completed.

Flinging @ Findley

2-4    9/24/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: kinger
Played: 50  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Loops around the parking area No.'s 1-10, 11-18.
~Solid layout
~Good tee posts & signs
~Concrete tee pads
~Fun 18 hole campground course
~Directional signs help with navigation
Cons:
~Baskets blend in with the background
~A few minor navigation issues, bring the map
~Handful of holes would benefit from additional thinning/clearing
~A couple too many short holes overall, long tees could cure this
Other Thoughts: We camp at Findley State Park a few times a year, so this course is a welcome addition to my stays. Nestled along a decent sized parking lot just inside the main entrance, the course winds around the surrounding woods with only a few truly open holes. Short to medium in length, what it lacks in distance is made up for with honest wooded fairways. Aside from the last hole, I felt all of them offer good lines off the pad. The course is in good shape, not too much undergrowth, and only some minor clearing on a handful of holes is needed. Midrange friendly, you only need a fairway driver for a handful of holes so a small travel bag will suite your needs. Good use of available elevation, most holes are extremely fun to throw. The baskets could use some bright colors to help them stand out as they blend in with the trees on many holes. Navigation isn't too bad, the map came in handy at times. My wife's 1st round was at this course and she had a blast, good for casual beginners & seasoned throwers alike...this course is well suited for this park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun @ Findley!

2-4    9/21/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Findley State Park is a very scenic place to play disc golf. Every hole has some type of wildlife that would attract nature loving disc golfers such as myself. Even though the course was on the shorter side, there were still some fun holes that provided a technical ace opportunity. One thing that stood out the most was the cleanliness of the entire park. There was practically no garbage/litter anywhere, so you can tell the course and park are both very well cared for. The tee signs were informational and accurate, but could use a makeover. Very nice concrete tee pads. There wasn't much pedestrian or golfer traffic so you will more than likely get to play at your own pace. The flow and navigation of the course was pretty good and easy to follow. There is a restroom on site, so you won't have to "make your own restroom", if you know what I mean ;)
Cons: It is just a very short course. There are only a few holes over 300 feet, so you can keep most of the discs in the bag. There were some pretty fun holes, but there was a lack in variety. Most of the holes were flat and straight.
Other Thoughts: This was a very well designed course, and I applaud both the designer and the people who help keep the area in phenomenal shape. I would recommend playing this course, maybe with your family or with beginners!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Corse.

1    8/8/2015   8/8/2015
Review By: Bigcountry54
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well marked for the most part
- Nice concrete tees
- Pretty walk
- Definite challenges each hole. You have to shape many shots!
- Easy to find in park
Cons: - Watch out for poison Ivy
- Some of the holes need to be cut back. Getting a little thick on the fairways.
- # 11 needs to be marked better since they changed #10.
- Several of the holes were the thing... straight. Would be nice to have a little more variety.
Other Thoughts: Overall, great course if you are in the area. Make sure you wear pants. You will be walking through some deep stuff.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's review

1    5/25/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: BluePhish
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage at every teebox.

A couple of fairly impressive signature feeling holes. One with a nice elevation change and one long narrow fairway that I dubbed "magnolia lane".

Cons: Trees are QUITE thick on many holes, creating a punishing feeling.

Was fairly muddy the day I played, not awful but squelchy in many places.

Many holes felt a bit same-ish.

A couple of holes play into or over pretty heavily trafficked areas, I ended up skipping one hole because a large gathering/cookout was happening right in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: An enjoyable round while travelling to Oberlin but probably not worth a long drive to experience. Some interesting challenges and a couple great holes made it memorable but not exceptional.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

5+    5/25/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: daleh2013
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Changes to holes #2 and #10 were exactly what was needed. The undergrowth removal on #11 and #12 was also a welcome change.
Cons: Have to watch for picnic folks on holes #7 and #8; tables are fairly close to the line of play
Other Thoughts: Many thanks for all the hard work that was put in; especially the most recent changes. Really makes a huge difference in how it plays as well as how it looks.

Hole #2 basket has been moved back into the tree line about 40 feet. Hole #10 is completely changed....Where the tee before was in the parking lot making it a short little tunnel shot it is now located in the woods across the street to the boat launch at the bottom of the hill across from #9's basket. Now, it's a 240' uphill dogleg left.

I'll agree with what others have said...not an overly long course but very technical. Shots and lines have to be thought about beforehand then executed properly to set up the next shot.

It is an excellent course; definitely worth visiting and placing in your favorites...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Findley State Park

5+    8/4/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: blando3281
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course mixed into a quiet state park with 18 holes throughout the woods.
Cons: Last time I was there the back 9 on the course was overgrown. Not the most challenging course but it is still fun.
Other Thoughts: Each year there seem to be more improvements to the course with upgrading tee pads, signs and etc.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice State Park

5+    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 83  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice state park, signs direct you all the way to hole 1. Layout just got revamped to help things flow a little better. Its also opened up some of the well known tight shots here. A nice wooden kiosk provides a map and some rules. Plays next to but not too close to a good size beautiful lake. Pretty wooded here all together, makes for a nice course to dial in your accuracy. Wooden tee plaques are in place, tee signs are not. Numbers have still been clearly written though. Fairly new DB-5 baskets I believe. Currently pink duck tape is very helpful in navigating the new layout. New layout offers great variety from righty to lefty shots!
Cons: Tee pads are natural all though all are in pretty good shape.(UPDATE 12-5-12) Tee pads are now concrete. Most holes have pretty poor rough. Leaving you with insane amounts of broken limbs to stand on. Fairways are cleared well though. Not to much elevation here, maybe 1 or 2 holes offer slight elevation. Located in the middle of nowhere!
Other Thoughts: Findley State Park is a great place to bring the family and spend the whole day. They have a amazing mountain biking trail, plenty of hiking, fishing, camping. They even rent out discs at the office. If your in the area I would definitely recommend checking out what this course is turning into.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.